First of all welcome to this official thread for Celcom Broadband, a wireless broadband via 3G service. This thread is a place where all Celcom Broadband subscribers gather be it to show off their speedtest results or to rant. If you have anything related to Celcom Broadband which you would like to discuss on, do not hesitate to post it in here.
The Official Celcom Broadband Thread Guideline :
1) Do not spam especially with a zero value post. Example "Today's speed is bad", if you would like to say the speed is bad at least provide a screenshot of a bandwidth test result.
2) Do not treat this as a Kopitiam topic, serious offenders will be given a warning.
3) No flame baiting be it starting a flame bait or joining.
4) There are at times posts related to downloads via P2P programs, discussions on this must not go over the limits especially discussing on illegal/copyrighted materials.
5) Do not use any vulgarities or profanities. Action will be taken if you are found to have used any vulgarities or profanities.
6) Celcom Broadband agents and resellers are not to promote in here.
7) Last but not least, be friendly and make this place a better one for everyone.
-----
.:Celcom Broadband Coverage Map:.
http://202.190.116.141/CelcomCoverageIIPub...comCoverage.jsp
.:Celcom Broadband Packages:.
D68 (RM 68 - 384kbps)
Network - UMTS 3G
Maximum average speed - 47KBps
D98 (RM 98 - 3.6Mbps)
Network - HSDPA 3.5G
Maximum average speed - 1MBps (not sure)
-Package only- (Recommended)
D68 (RM 68 / month)
D98 (RM 98 / month)
Contractless
Can terminate anytime as you like
Advanced payment needed during registration
7 days money-back guaranteed applied
-Package with Modem-(Not Recommended)
D68 (RM 99)
D98 (RM 129)
Tied with 18 months contract
Can't terminate in contract period, or penalty will be applied and the modem need to return back.
Advanced payment needed during registration
7 days money-back guaranteed NOT APPLICABLE in this package
-----
.:Current Promotion (Not Recommended):.
Source : http://www.celcom.com.my/cep/xresources/Ce...promotions.html

--Compaq Presario CQ40 Notebook--
Intel Pentium Dual Core Processor T3200 (2.0 GHz, 667 MHz FSB, 1 MB L2Cache)
1024MB 667MHz / max to 2GB DDR2 Memory (1024 x 1 pcs)
160GB Hard disk
14.1" TFT WXGA high definition widescreen LCD panel with brightview technology
DVD +/- RW Double Layer Drive
802.11b/g Wireless
MS Windows Vista Home Basic
Intel GL40 Express chipset
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M
Altec Lansing Speaker
High speed 56K Modem
Integrated 10Mbps, 100Mbps LAN
101 key compatible keyboard, Touch Pad with On/Off button and dedicated
vertical Scroll Up / Down pad
3 USB 2.0, HDMI, RJ-11, RJ-45, VGA, 1 Headphone and 1 Microphone, Compaq Webcam
5-in-1 intergrated digital media reader slot
6 cell battery
33.4 x 23.7 x 3.3 cm (min.height)/4.0cm (max height)
From 2.29kg with 6 cell battery (weight varies by configuration)
One year International Limited Warranty (parts/labor/carry-in)
Free Nylon Carrying Case
Note: Celcom (M) Berhad reserves the right to revise the notebook model and specifications without prior notice
-----
.:3G/HSDPA Modem Shop:.
malaysia3g
ah_siau
andrewdavid
-----
.:Easy setup to connect to the Internet:.
Once you install the modem software and driver, all you need to do is set the below particulars in the modem dialer software.
APN : celcom3g
Number : *99#
Having frequent disconnection? All you need to do is open Command Prompt and type ping www.yahoo.com -t (for example) to keep your connection activity active.
-----
Side note : Celcom currently apply the 5GB monthly data bandwidth quota. If the user passes 5GB, their connection automatically reduced to slower speed. (in bolded and red-colour statement below)
In clarifying your concern on Fair Usage Policy, we wish to share with you that Celcom takes customer experience very seriously and we have implemented the 5G Fair Usage Policy to ensure all customer enjoy the services equally.
Customers that exceed the set 5GB allocation will not be charged extra currently. They can still enjoy their connectivity however Celcom reserves the right to manage the customers speed to a lower bandwidth.
Similarly, the speed will continue at the reduced speed allocation until the end of that particular calendar month. On the first day of each month, customer's bandwidth allocation counter will be reset to 0 and their speed will be reset back to their original subscribed speed.
Based on customer's current package, if they have subscribed Celcom Broadband Advance (3.6Mbps), the speed will reduce to 128 kbps and if they have subscribed Celcom Broadband Basic (384 kbps) the speed will then reduce to 64 kbps.
Roughly 5 gigabyte is about 1200 songs in MP3 format, or 5 two-hour movies, or 10,000 content rich websites like www.yahoo.com.
Additionally, we noted your invaluable feedback regards to 'Fair Usage Policy' with utmost concern and the issue has been extended to the appropriate department for their deliberations.
It is hoped that the above could clarify the situation.
It was a pleasure serving you and we wish to extend our heart-felt thank you for your continued patronage and contribution to Celcom.
Best regards
Norsuzila Shaari
Communique Resources Centre
Customer Service
Thank you for revolnia for extra info.
Customers that exceed the set 5GB allocation will not be charged extra currently. They can still enjoy their connectivity however Celcom reserves the right to manage the customers speed to a lower bandwidth.
Similarly, the speed will continue at the reduced speed allocation until the end of that particular calendar month. On the first day of each month, customer's bandwidth allocation counter will be reset to 0 and their speed will be reset back to their original subscribed speed.
Based on customer's current package, if they have subscribed Celcom Broadband Advance (3.6Mbps), the speed will reduce to 128 kbps and if they have subscribed Celcom Broadband Basic (384 kbps) the speed will then reduce to 64 kbps.
Roughly 5 gigabyte is about 1200 songs in MP3 format, or 5 two-hour movies, or 10,000 content rich websites like www.yahoo.com.
Additionally, we noted your invaluable feedback regards to 'Fair Usage Policy' with utmost concern and the issue has been extended to the appropriate department for their deliberations.
It is hoped that the above could clarify the situation.
It was a pleasure serving you and we wish to extend our heart-felt thank you for your continued patronage and contribution to Celcom.
Best regards
Norsuzila Shaari
Communique Resources Centre
Customer Service
Thank you for revolnia for extra info.
For Kuching people, especially who lives near or inside Universiti Malaysia Sarawak.
They already built a new tower at Taman Desa Ilmu (behind Everrise) to increase the available traffic, and also handle future traffics. The new tower will serve the customer early next year.
Pick a package that suits you. Recommended using any unlocked HSDPA modem, or any 3G-enabled phone as well. If you still 50/50 to subscribe, you can try other service first.They already built a new tower at Taman Desa Ilmu (behind Everrise) to increase the available traffic, and also handle future traffics. The new tower will serve the customer early next year.
-----
Now, start
This post has been edited by soundsyst64: Jan 30 2009, 01:25 PM
Nov 25 2008, 09:53 AM, updated 17y ago

0.0313sec