DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TSxtorm
post Aug 2 2009, 12:29 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haih,....sorry guys ended up buys for 4 days....damn tired

will try to get something up tomorrow, seems like i got no place to setup my system nicely, only computer table....
bsa12
post Aug 9 2009, 07:32 PM

562 posts

Thanks for the T2024. It sound great (with my simple set up: Sansa Fuze player, old sony mini compo. speakers and its cheap wire). It might be better when run in longer.

jazzy939
post Aug 10 2009, 08:50 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
Nothing yet on the TA2020? hmm.gif
kww
post Aug 12 2009, 12:32 PM

320 posts

Nothing better to do during last weekend, so I assign myself one simple project. Found an old transformer 240V AC to 12V AC. Decided to build a 12V DC voltage supply with it by using simple schottky circuit and RC filter. I compare it with PSU from laptop and the one from Jln Pasar to power TA2024. In my opinion it is much better than laptop PSU, it is close match to Jln Pasar one which cost me RM150. not bad for a piece of junk.

Out of curiosity I swap the t-amp with my 2 channels car amp. The stage is bigger, warmer, bass is heavier, deeper and lower with Jln pasar PSU, but with my own build power supply, the voltage drop when ever I turn up the volume, it certainly don't supply enough power to the amp. But 1 thing lacking from the car amp is the high, 2024 is much cleaner and details.

Anyone got any more tips to squeeze more juice from the transformer?

This post has been edited by kww: Aug 12 2009, 12:37 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 12 2009, 04:58 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

kww,
RM150 for a JP's SMPS/PSU? shocking.gif What you did you got?
How 'big' is the 12V tranny, interms of VA? I think the tranny don't have enough 'juice' ler..
kww
post Aug 12 2009, 05:52 PM

320 posts

jazzy, it was a Mean Well single switch power supply. Got it for 5-6 years.
I didn't understand your question on 'How 'big' is the 12V tranny, interms of VA? I think the tranny don't have enough 'juice' ler' you refer to the Mean Well or the one i build for testing?
TSxtorm
post Aug 23 2009, 01:59 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haiz.....20k volume is nto suitable for ta2020, its way too sensitive....even all the way down it will leak some out, or mayb i got a faulty volume, not even balance....

but initial impression, its alot better then ta2024, rm45 extra worth every penny. sounded wide and clear.......

more testing to be done, and installing in a car hopefully sunday evening biggrin.gif
gabanyayaya
post Aug 23 2009, 03:51 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Aug 12 2009, 06:52 PM)
jazzy, it was a Mean Well single switch power supply. Got it for 5-6 years.
I didn't understand your question on 'How 'big' is the 12V tranny, interms of VA? I think the tranny don't have enough 'juice' ler' you refer to the Mean Well or the one i build for testing?
i think he means is how many VA or Watt rating for that 12V tranny...

You better see the Amperage of that transformer if want to know....
KenC
post Aug 30 2009, 01:04 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 23 2009, 03:51 AM)
i think he means is how many VA or Watt rating for that 12V tranny...

You better see the Amperage of that transformer if want to know....
VA is approximation to Watt, easy to find out, 12V x rated current of tranny = VA the bigger the better,
T-amp 1amp cukup makan oledi, 30VA oledi good, 60VA better, 300VA become kow kow, 1kw lagi syok.

Try seal lead acid battery, bigger-is-better applied as well. use only 12V battery, at full charge its 13.8V any bigger you can have goreng T-amp for buka puasa...

Unless you are running class A, PSU must be rated for maximum power when using a regulator, if unregulated, tranny can be slightly smaller at operation power rating.

hope this helps

Ken

Added on August 30, 2009, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 23 2009, 01:59 AM)
haiz.....20k volume is nto suitable for ta2020, its way too sensitive....even all the way down it will leak some out, or mayb i got a faulty volume, not even balance....

but initial impression, its alot better then ta2024, rm45 extra worth every penny. sounded wide and clear.......

more testing to be done, and installing in a car hopefully sunday evening biggrin.gif
xtorm,
Film type POT are not balance or accurate at both extreme ends, normally both side also not balance and they are not suppose to mute the amp... its how they work... can not complain one... if want balance, make step attenuators... but they still doesn't mute the amp because they are still potential divider.

Add a mute switch or swith the amp off if you want to mute it.

Cheers

Ken

This post has been edited by KenC: Aug 30 2009, 01:16 PM
gabanyayaya
post Aug 30 2009, 10:01 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Aug 30 2009, 02:04 PM)
VA is approximation to Watt, easy to find out, 12V x rated current of tranny = VA the bigger the better,
T-amp 1amp cukup makan oledi, 30VA oledi  good, 60VA better, 300VA become kow kow, 1kw lagi syok.

Try seal lead acid battery, bigger-is-better applied as well. use only 12V battery, at full charge its 13.8V any bigger you can have goreng T-amp for buka puasa...

Unless you are running class A, PSU must be rated for maximum power when using a regulator, if unregulated, tranny can be slightly smaller at operation power rating.

hope this helps
Ken

can the t-amp survive at 300VA....? won't it explode or something.....
KenC
post Aug 30 2009, 10:53 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 30 2009, 10:01 PM)
can the t-amp survive at 300VA....? won't it explode or something.....
300VA or even 30kW transformers won't blow the amp up, any amp "take " power when they nedd eg, transient, big bass etc, the PS punya job is to supply what ever the amp need .. with ease... & forever the tranny will stay cold, this give the relax sound and stable bass... poorly set up won't show such difference. because the blurr sound can covers up severe flaws...

Hope this helps.

Ken
gabanyayaya
post Aug 31 2009, 05:41 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Aug 30 2009, 11:53 PM)
300VA or even 30kW transformers won't blow the amp up, any amp "take " power when they nedd eg, transient, big bass etc, the PS punya job is to supply what ever the amp need .. with ease... & forever the tranny will stay cold, this give the relax sound and stable bass... poorly set up won't show such difference. because the blurr sound can covers up severe flaws...

Hope this helps.
Ken
so in a case if you just wiring an amp like a diy amp, it wont blow should there's a mistake in the circuit for example.....maybe the worse is just a blow fuse...am i right here...?
TSxtorm
post Sep 2 2009, 07:23 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

wah....nice technical stuff...haha

im loving the ta2020, installing my friends car today hopefully, he is abit busy...

cleaner, wider, bigger compare to the ta2024 smile.gif
jazzy939
post Sep 2 2009, 11:50 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
been waiting for 'ages' for your 'report'... tongue.gif
TSxtorm
post Sep 3 2009, 08:24 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

sorryla bro, cant really do a real test, so just a quick report....

i got no space in my house to really setup the thing, just my speaker on my working table....sad.gif some of good stuff sitting under the bed even....sigh....
bsa12
post Sep 4 2009, 07:58 PM

562 posts

ran the TA2020 (got it from xtorm last Sunday). Only manage to listen for about 2 hrs. Yes it certainly better than TA2024 (which is also from xtorm): more dynamic, more detail, staging also better. While listen to live concert track, the clapping, and echos sound much real. (i not sure if this is all effect from the amp or cable, because i just change the audiophile grade cable at the same time).
TSxtorm
post Sep 4 2009, 10:03 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

definitely the ta2020, alot more improve components use biggrin.gif

grad u like it, rm40 difference is worth it!

btw wat cable u using now? drool.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Sep 4 2009, 10:05 PM
bsa12
post Sep 4 2009, 10:13 PM

562 posts

ACT AUDIO High Performance Speaker Cable. I have to turn up the volume knob to 01:00 or 02:00 o'clock only then can feel all the detail and dynamic. But, it sound slight bright at the moment.
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 11 2009, 05:08 PM

1,254 posts

i'm interested =) i am total noob and i've been making my audio system out discarded stuff trial n error
i live in subang jaya 017 374 1444 (Seow) pls call/sms for TT show and tell session
i make frequent trips to the scrap yard to salvage caps and stuff to shove into all my 12v 'fun project' audios
maybe you guys can 'show me the way' of hifi
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 11 2009, 05:13 PM

1,254 posts

i'm interested =) i am total noob and i've been making my audio system out discarded stuff trial n error
i live in subang jaya 017 374 1444 (Seow) pls call/sms for TT show and tell session
i make frequent trips to the scrap yard to salvage caps and stuff to shove into all my 12v 'fun project' audios
maybe you guys can 'show me the way' of hifi

59 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:32 PM