DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jul 9 2009, 10:24 PM
8,186 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Beaumont, Baile Ath Cliath, EIRE. |
I have a spare Monitor Audio speakers, so no problemo with that..!
Jul 10 2009, 07:58 AM
411 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
ht room and audio room together? the ht room only has a universal DVD player Pioneer DV-696AV lah. i will prefer one room at a time loh. still i am not against the idea.
so which date u guys is okay with? July 18th or Aug 1st? 18th will be better for me as i know i am free, Aug 1st still a distance away so other thing might come up. either way, the earlier u guys decide, the better lah. pls add to this list the item(s) u will be bringing: junchoon (host): Sony CDP, Pioneer DVD player, two floorstands (Epos M16 and Yamaha NS-555), BoomTube EX (w T-amps), rotel power amps, cat5 diy speaker cable. jazzy939: diy CDP, diy passive pre-amp, monitor audio speakers (floorstands?), GainClone? leeshock: tube pre xtorm: diy tube pre, and possibly TA2020 cheers, wps This post has been edited by junchoon: Jul 10 2009, 08:11 AM |
Jul 10 2009, 09:49 AM
3,160 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KLANG! |
haha ok its up to host...
18th i dont think i can make it for the ta2020 wah jazzy diy cdp? wow salutela...haha |
Jul 10 2009, 12:04 PM
941 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
18th i also cannot. 1st Aug maybe can:)
jazzy is the master of DIY :_) |
Jul 10 2009, 12:07 PM
junchoon,
The Monitor Audio is a 'bookshelf' design so, a pair of stands would be handy. I may bring along my STK amp though.. The LDR passive pre-amp is ON. Hopefully the balanced input would be ready by then. GC- No can do.. have not start the build at all. Gabanyayaya however has one ready to 'explode'.. wui223, no I am not.. just like to make things.. |
Jul 10 2009, 12:19 PM
jazzy: i think i shud bring u my portable cdp i got from jln pasar,not working since the day i bought. hopefully u can do sth on it.
Jul 10 2009, 12:26 PM
Jul 10 2009, 01:16 PM
haha, cheap things never come good i guess
btw, which CD-rom u using? hard to find CD-rom now, i keep a samsung dvd-rom btw, not using now. maybe we can work sth out of it. |
Jul 10 2009, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Jul 10 2009, 12:07 PM) junchoon, jazzy,The Monitor Audio is a 'bookshelf' design so, a pair of stands would be handy. I may bring along my STK amp though.. The LDR passive pre-amp is ON. Hopefully the balanced input would be ready by then. GC- No can do.. have not start the build at all. Gabanyayaya however has one ready to 'explode'.. wui223, no I am not.. just like to make things.. i have a pair of stands on a pair of old Sony mini-combo speakers. will use the stands for MA. what is STK amp? yr DIY also? good to know the LDR passive pre is on! please let me know how much when u can. aiyaa, was hoping u can bring GC, nvm, we will explode Gabanyayaya's, hehee... wui223, u can pay personal visit on aug 1st if both of us free loh, haahaa... weeknights also can. cheers, wps This post has been edited by junchoon: Jul 10 2009, 01:17 PM |
Jul 10 2009, 01:34 PM
8,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(junchoon @ Jul 10 2009, 01:16 PM) Sanyo made IC power amplifier block (designated STK series) and OEM'ed to many Japanese hifi companies for their integrated amplifiers. Power ranged from 10W to 100W over, stereo and mono. I recall seeing them as far back as 1975. I built one back then based on STK-025, 20W stereo. First time felt the lowest noise, lowest distortion and clean sounding compared to "dirty valves"..hehe! I think Yamaha are still using them in their budget series subwoofers.IMHO, they had better resolve and higher power output than those teeny weeny LM chip amps meant for compact, multimedia and ICE amplification. Of course LM chip amps have their strengths and current technology. |
Jul 10 2009, 02:59 PM
junchoon,
That stand should suffice for our purpose(I hope!) Yeah.. STK, Made by SANYO. This is after some 'poison' from bsl It is because of this amp's SQ that I completely stopped the GC amp and the others as I have found the sound balance that I like. Maybe we should convince Gabanyayaya to bring along his GC for us to 'blowup'.. Let's test out the LDR preamp performance first, I am keen to find out too! QUOTE(junchoon @ Jul 10 2009, 01:16 PM) jazzy, i have a pair of stands on a pair of old Sony mini-combo speakers. will use the stands for MA. what is STK amp? yr DIY also? good to know the LDR passive pre is on! please let me know how much when u can. aiyaa, was hoping u can bring GC, nvm, we will explode Gabanyayaya's, hehee... wui223, u can pay personal visit on aug 1st if both of us free loh, haahaa... weeknights also can. cheers, wps |
Jul 10 2009, 03:06 PM
LDR preamp? can tell more details about it?
STK beats T-amp? |
Jul 10 2009, 03:13 PM
Do you all really think the STK was only for amplifiers?.. I can find them in photocopy machines.
I concur that STK based amplifiers are a better bet anytime despite its may loose out on specifications to new or current technology. Thats why I don't want to waste time on those LM chips, let them be for experimental projects, car audio and other multimedia intent. Worse specs are meaningless to me. Its a matter of resolve and musicality thats my personal concern. If I were to strictly insist on great specifications, the tube amp would be the last thing or just vanish from my mind. This post has been edited by bsl555: Jul 10 2009, 03:18 PM |
Jul 10 2009, 03:27 PM
wui,
There is a thread at diyaudio with regards to 'lightspeed attenuator'. Too long a page if you wanna read from the beginning. I stop reading at page 40 as my eyes and brain went numb! Here' the diyaudio link. But the posting at diyparadise is more 'interesting', here's the link: LDR passive pre-amp Let's say at this point of time, my T-Amp has been collecting dust for quite a while.. bsl, yeah.. all this while I thought the STKs are for amps only until you mentioned in photostat machine also have! QUOTE(wui223 @ Jul 10 2009, 03:06 PM) This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jul 10 2009, 03:29 PM |
Jul 10 2009, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Jul 10 2009, 03:27 PM) bsl, Amplifier blocks are also capable of driving instrument motors and the sorts, not neccessarily just for audio. Vary the voltage or current, it varies the speed and torque.yeah.. all this while I thought the STKs are for amps only until you mentioned in photostat machine also have! If Sanyo had manufactured these purely for audio, they would have gone bankrupt long ago. This post has been edited by bsl555: Jul 10 2009, 03:32 PM |
Jul 10 2009, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Jul 10 2009, 03:27 PM) Let's say at this point of time, my T-Amp has been collecting dust for quite a while.. |
Jul 10 2009, 04:11 PM
Jul 13 2009, 08:20 AM
70 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Jul 14 2009, 08:51 AM
hi guys,
my audiophile-guru friend recently puts up a review of the Sony: http://desirableaudio.blogspot.com/2009/07...y-xa5400es.html hmm, have u guys decided on which date? Aug 1st is definitely out for me as have to accompany wife balik kampung. cheers, wps |
Jul 14 2009, 09:29 AM
t-amp 2020 is ordered, 10 pieces, 3 being booked now
Added on July 14, 2009, 9:41 am QUOTE(junchoon @ Jul 14 2009, 08:51 AM) hi guys, nice sitemy audiophile-guru friend recently puts up a review of the Sony: http://desirableaudio.blogspot.com/2009/07...y-xa5400es.html hmm, have u guys decided on which date? Aug 1st is definitely out for me as have to accompany wife balik kampung. cheers, wps erm next week, 26th? going for av show? This post has been edited by xtorm: Jul 14 2009, 09:41 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0251sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:42 PM |