DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

junchoon
post Jul 7 2009, 08:42 AM

411 posts

hi guys, interested to have a tt? i have a new player, and would like to know how T-Amp will sound with it.

how about this sunday? or next saturday?

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Jul 7 2009, 10:06 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(wui223 @ Jul 7 2009, 09:27 AM)
hi bro. long time since last meeting, how's everything going?
hello there,

i am fine, i moved the audio system to a slightly larger room after the last meeting. put the equipments on proper audio racks.

yesterday just got a new player, itching to know how it sounds with t-amps and jazzy939 new pre amp.

do drop by if u can. smile.gif

how about u? got new speakers by now?

cheers,
wps

junchoon
post Jul 7 2009, 03:55 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(wui223 @ Jul 7 2009, 12:12 PM)
haha, i'm busying at uni nowadays. Now using Tannoy speakers, got it 2nd hand from a forumer. Bedroom space is limited, cant do much on audio.
good to know lah. r u using t-amp to drive the tannoys?? r they floorstanders? smile.gif

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Jul 8 2009, 12:53 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Jul 7 2009, 10:58 PM)
Oh yes..!

Date 18th. July 2009 (Saturday)
Place: junchoon's place
Time: TBA
What's showing?
JC's new CDP will be the main show.
A 'passive preamp' on test etc..

xtorm, having your TA2020 there would be nice! wink.gif
i am located in Putra Heights.

anytime after 10AM should be fine.

the new CDP is SCD-XA5400ES. u can bring along yr own CDP as well for comparison. i know jazzy will bring his.

the passive pre is the super-duper jazzirized design, from... jazzy!!! smile.gif

of course a good dose of the T-Amps from u guys. i will have the jazzirized BoomTube for comparison as well.

at the end, we are still talking about music here. do bring along yr fav software. if possible, try to select tracks that are not too long. i suggest compile song tracks to minimized disc change.

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Jul 8 2009, 09:09 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(wui223 @ Jul 8 2009, 04:06 AM)
im out of town at the date, guess i miss gathering again...pls take photos to share afterwards ;(
the date is not fixed. i wanted to have it this saturday (11th July) but jazzy cannot make it. how about sunday? 19th of July. i think 12th also possible.

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Jul 8 2009, 11:20 PM

411 posts

answers, in sequence:

yes, it is a Sony SACD player.

i think only new pre-amp from jazzy, besides the cdp. unless u guys have new stuff to show lah.

i don't think there is restriction on who can join - tt only mah, not uni entrance lah - but my audio room can only hold about 5 comfortably, can maybe squeeze to 7. the HT/living room can hold more loh.

cheers,
wps

junchoon
post Jul 9 2009, 08:28 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Jul 9 2009, 12:22 AM)
i suppose your passive pre is ready then.....
it better be ready by then!!! smile.gif

it will be a tricked out super-duper pre with RCAs and balanced XLR I/Os. was hoping he can make it so that i can drive two stereo amps at the same time. i have two rotel rb970bx from bro-in-law for testing. so jazzy will HAVE to make it on time!!! smile.gif

just joking, leeshock will have a tube pre mah, so take yr time lah jazzy.

cheers,
wps

junchoon
post Jul 9 2009, 02:55 PM

411 posts

if end of month then susah lah, kliav around loh.

july 18th is still good for me atm. early aug also can.

if u guys have a current AV amp with HDMI input, u can bring as well, since the Sony can send raw DSD via its HDMI output. my AV no HDMI lah.

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Jul 10 2009, 07:58 AM

411 posts

ht room and audio room together? the ht room only has a universal DVD player Pioneer DV-696AV lah. i will prefer one room at a time loh. still i am not against the idea.

so which date u guys is okay with? July 18th or Aug 1st? 18th will be better for me as i know i am free, Aug 1st still a distance away so other thing might come up.

either way, the earlier u guys decide, the better lah. pls add to this list the item(s) u will be bringing:

junchoon (host): Sony CDP, Pioneer DVD player, two floorstands (Epos M16 and Yamaha NS-555), BoomTube EX (w T-amps), rotel power amps, cat5 diy speaker cable.
jazzy939: diy CDP, diy passive pre-amp, monitor audio speakers (floorstands?), GainClone?
leeshock: tube pre
xtorm: diy tube pre, and possibly TA2020

cheers,
wps

This post has been edited by junchoon: Jul 10 2009, 08:11 AM
junchoon
post Jul 10 2009, 01:16 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Jul 10 2009, 12:07 PM)
junchoon,
The Monitor Audio is a 'bookshelf' design so, a pair of stands would be handy.
I may bring along my STK amp though..
The LDR passive pre-amp is ON. Hopefully the balanced input would be ready by then.
GC- No can do.. have not start the build at all. Gabanyayaya however has one ready to 'explode'.. biggrin.gif

wui223,
no I am not.. just like to make things..
jazzy,
i have a pair of stands on a pair of old Sony mini-combo speakers. will use the stands for MA.
what is STK amp? yr DIY also?
good to know the LDR passive pre is on! please let me know how much when u can.
aiyaa, was hoping u can bring GC, nvm, we will explode Gabanyayaya's, hehee...

wui223,
u can pay personal visit on aug 1st if both of us free loh, haahaa... weeknights also can.

cheers,
wps

This post has been edited by junchoon: Jul 10 2009, 01:17 PM
junchoon
post Jul 14 2009, 08:51 AM

411 posts

hi guys,

my audiophile-guru friend recently puts up a review of the Sony:

http://desirableaudio.blogspot.com/2009/07...y-xa5400es.html

hmm, have u guys decided on which date? Aug 1st is definitely out for me as have to accompany wife balik kampung.

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Jul 14 2009, 01:04 PM

411 posts

26th ahh? most likely i will be in the AV show lah. sorry. sad.gif

in any case, u can still drop by at 18th sans the ta2020

what about others? u guys coming? smile.gif

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Jul 15 2009, 12:07 PM

411 posts

it's wednesday now, may i know who is coming this Saturday? thanks.

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Jul 15 2009, 10:53 PM

411 posts

seems that the response is too low for 18th of July.

will postpone the tt loh, sorry guys! sad.gif

wps
junchoon
post Jul 29 2009, 12:01 AM

411 posts

while waiting for u guys with the t-amp, and jazzy for his pre, i setup my temporary system:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/412500/+640#entry27582716

i am using a passive pre, two rotel stereo power amps, epos m16, and sony xa5400es. the amps are on loan/display as they belong to my bro-in-law. he is wishing to sale but no place to display those amps anymore, as he has "retired" from hifi.

cheers,
wps
junchoon
post Nov 3 2010, 09:07 AM

411 posts

my fren is selling his t-amp over in hifi4sale. rm380 with LDR volume control some more! smile.gif

bro jazzy, did u get the LDR into your t-amp???

wps
junchoon
post Nov 3 2010, 10:48 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(wui223 @ Nov 3 2010, 09:13 AM)
Some cheapo caps get from JP
That T-amp belongs to your friend oh. Nice?
i have not heard his t-amp lah, sorry.

this is his system:

http://desirableaudio.blogspot.com/2009/01...ative-hifi.html

made some changes since then.

wps

0.0424sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:51 AM