iMac,Desktop,UnibodyMB & MBP Gamers Share Ur Exp!, Share with us your Mac gaming exp!!!

SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 04:15 PM, updated 17y ago

85 posts

I am about to buy a new entry level macbook and I am curious if it is able to play games like upcoming Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3.Have checked most videos in youtube.com on games like COD4, Crysis, Team Fortress 2 and Red Alert. They all seem to run above 30fps and only Crysis at 25fps. I am not a hardcore gamer like i used to anymore but just gonna play medium quality graphics with starcraft 2 which i dont think will take a lot of computer popular (starcraft and diablo require very low quality for slower comps). Please advice as I am going to be buying one this weekend! CanT wait !

This post has been edited by mojoza: Nov 24 2008, 05:01 PM
derred
post Nov 12 2008, 04:48 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(mojoza @ Nov 12 2008, 03:15 AM)
I am about to buy a new entry level macbook and I am curious if it is able to play games like upcoming Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3.Have checked most videos in youtube.com on games like COD4, Crysis, Team Fortress 2 and Red Alert. They all seem to run above 30fps and only Crysis at 25fps. I am not a hardcore gamer like i used to anymore but just gonna play medium quality graphics with starcraft 2 which i dont think will take a lot of computer popular (starcraft and diablo require very low quality for slower comps). Please advice as I am going to be buying one this weekend! CanT wait !
I went from Alienware to Apple Macbook. If you're talking 8600m GT that is acceptable for gaming on MacBook. Heck u could install XP or Vista to play games (or actually must to play games that aren't available for Macs) but think again. If you're think gaming why Mac? Give me at least one solid reason why you choose Mac over PC if you're thinking gaming?

plus 2.0 just won't cut it. It will run definitely but yeah I was one of those who cares about 3dmarks and stuff but to be practical, if gaming is in my checklist, Mac wouldn't be on the top of the list.
Criollo
post Nov 12 2008, 05:17 PM

Pew Pew Pew
845 posts

Macs are never meant for gaming. NEVER. Even if you force it to, you'll end up busting your laptop as it generates too much heat. If you want to game on a laptop, go for alienware.

Coincidentally, my boyfriend tried to install Crysis on his sis's laptop (2.4GHz new alu mb)...and he got this message:

- Crysis does not support integrated graphics cards -

...ROFL

This post has been edited by Criollo: Nov 12 2008, 05:30 PM
gnome
post Nov 12 2008, 05:21 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Entry level macbook? as in the macbook white?

For gaming you're better of with desktop, seriously.
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 05:24 PM

85 posts

Please check youtube.com and type "macbook games" and you will see the performances.

Well I have PC and Mac, and i only play games once awhile so no need super strong computer.I guess i am getting old now hehe.

Why I prefer Mac is the build quality of macbook and OS X (HATE VISTA !! ALWAYS HANG!) .

PC laptops are ugly and cheap quality.....I was looking at BenQ S42 and Acer 5930G but ugly....and you know the feeling of buying another laptop which has the "same" feeling and looks?Its like why buy the same shiit again?
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 05:25 PM

85 posts

We are talking about the New Aluminium macbook not the white Macbook smile.gif
stringfellow
post Nov 12 2008, 05:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Aluminium or not, the 9400M is not cut out to run games satisfactorily in my books. I have accepted that fact when I moved to a Mac. Nobody knows what the minimum requirements are to to run these two games you mentioned, and even if they are revealed, you dont want to be running them AT minimum requirement with details turned down and resolutions dropped way low. The enjoyment of a game diminishes , to me at least, when the eye-candy gratification is chipped away little by little, to make the game run acceptably.
derred
post Nov 12 2008, 06:11 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

mojozo,

we are talking the new Aluminium MacBook. Aluminium or not wouldn't make the GPU any better. It's 9400M for god sake it's not even mid-range GPU. So the answer is NO it wouldn't run on MEDIUM. You should be glad if it runs on LOW.

Please check notebookcheck.net and tell me how in this world a low-end GPU could run 10 most demanding graphic games of 2007.
Bad Cyborg
post Nov 12 2008, 06:44 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(mojoza @ Nov 12 2008, 05:24 PM)
PC laptops are ugly and cheap quality.....I was looking at BenQ S42 and Acer 5930G but ugly....and you know the feeling of buying another laptop which has the "same" feeling and looks?Its like why buy the same shiit again?
Acer ugly is understandable, they target at low income buyers. But saying that BenQ S42 is ugly, you have very high standard, and you're not a Malaysian at heart. I find that some Sony and Toshiba notebooks can be uglier than Acer, especially the lower end models, but again, those are targeted at the same crowd as Acer. As to whether a notebook is shit, it is all in the glorious feeling you get when you're using it. I've been on Macs, desktop and notebook, for a good while now, and friend, I don't get that. Some may be enticed by Apple design, but to me it just looks a little bland. It's basically still the same boring design since the iBook days. Where's the innovation in this MacBook you speak of? Of course, the Nvidia 9400M video chip. Is it faster than notebooks with 8600M, such as BenQ S41 that's selling for 2699? No. Is it even close? Hardly. So, have fun with 5-20FPS Crysis framerate. And remember, this is at low to medium setting--mostly low actually, and at a screen size of 800x600.
Criollo
post Nov 12 2008, 07:05 PM

Pew Pew Pew
845 posts

You can't even install Crysis on a macbook .... @@
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 07:13 PM

85 posts

I am not planning to play any of those games anyway. I am just a strategy game player.I rather play with my PS3
godfatherchrist
post Nov 12 2008, 08:22 PM

37 posts

yea.. if u want to play games, u really shouldnt choose Mac... that's what i thought too..
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 08:30 PM

85 posts

Actually i thought of having laptop for work and desktop for gaming biggrin.gif another alternative is to buy Macbook Pro so i dont have to buy a desktop
iZuDeeN
post Nov 12 2008, 08:33 PM

3,466 posts

macbook only good for light gaming... and none of it is in your list

if you want a decent gaming, get the new macbook pro, 9600 able to play at reasonable framerate
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 08:35 PM

85 posts

The Team Fortress 2 play very nicely in Macbook leh, check youtube
allvin
post Nov 12 2008, 09:33 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Nov 12 2008, 06:11 PM)
mojozo,

we are talking the new Aluminium MacBook. Aluminium or not wouldn't make the GPU any better. It's 9400M for god sake it's not even mid-range GPU. So the answer is NO it wouldn't run on MEDIUM. You should be glad if it runs on LOW.

Please check notebookcheck.net and tell me how in this world a low-end GPU could run 10 most demanding graphic games of 2007.
yea.

TS, u need to know that 9400M is still integrated card, just that it is much better if comparing to the intel GMA. As you mention those games, those games consider GPU intensive, especially 'Crysis' and you think any mobile can play smoothly le? You need 'Desktop' machine ok? lulz.
gnome
post Nov 12 2008, 09:45 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Well if you really already set your mind to get it, no one will stop you since its your money smile.gif. I'd rather stick with desktop for gaming and laptop for work stuff since its mobile.

Also starcarft 2 and diablo 3 wont be out anytime soon. Starcraft 2 maybe sometime next year and diablo 3 will be in 2010 if we're lucky enough laugh.gif
Mr. Alby
post Nov 12 2008, 09:55 PM

128 posts

Mac for gaming?
adui...
Shin1022
post Nov 13 2008, 12:07 AM

580 posts

haha...got money buy desktop n mac lo....
elico
post Nov 13 2008, 12:50 AM

749 posts

my guess tat Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 wont be arriving within these few years, considering how Blizzard takes time to produce quality games in their history, Warcraft 3 as best example of how long they take their time

considering those new thing like DDR3 and 9400M, new MacBook will be suitable only for light gaming, games from older times or current lighter games will be able to perform nicely, playing NFS ProStreet or Carbon shud not be an issue...

but the games now will be able to play nicely, in the future when new game come out it wont be able to catch up, not to mention u dun have the option to upgrade ur Macbook "internal organ"

if ur rig were really meant for gaming, then i will really suggest tat get a desktop,
1. it is customisable
2. it is upgradable
both are important considering current and future requirement for gaming

9400M wont really be good for gaming, and it even share the ram with the system.
it is better to have a dedicated ram for the gpu itself rather than sharing it

if really wan to have portable gaming, get a PSP tongue.gif, or ipod touch biggrin.gif

but still it is good that at least now MacBook has a better gpu than it predecessor, at least the new gpu can optimize HD video decoding, and prepare for the next release of OSX

This post has been edited by elico: Nov 13 2008, 01:02 AM
Criollo
post Nov 13 2008, 01:03 AM

Pew Pew Pew
845 posts

Can i add NDSL? =X

Even if for gaming i wouldn't recommend macbook pro. From experience even simple games like ... Big Fish game series will rack up your temp till the 70s - 80s. That will seriously shorten your laptop lifespan in the long run.

But if you are change your laptop every few years, i suppose it is ok =.=

Well, back to personal preferences again.
sets84
post Nov 13 2008, 01:40 AM

383 posts

NDSL = King of portable gaming... check the statistics.
Ouendan is enough reason for anybody to buy NDSL.
derred
post Nov 13 2008, 04:22 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(mojoza @ Nov 12 2008, 07:30 AM)
Actually i thought of having laptop for work and desktop for gaming biggrin.gif another alternative is to buy Macbook Pro so i dont have to buy a desktop
mojoza,

actually that is a very good idea. I am not trying to bash you or anything. To be frank, I am using the combo solution. I have a desktop to furnish my gaming needs (Far Cry 2 is the only game I play since too busy), and I have the new MacBook to keep me mobile. For some games that are just better on console like Winning or Gears, then that would be ps3 and xbox.

So yeah try balance out the cost, you'll definitely get entry level Mac and tricked out desktop then just one MacBook Pro.
ahblu3
post Nov 13 2008, 09:06 AM

157 posts

although this is off topic, but I still insist that let the gaming job done by gaming console!
esssymanex
post Nov 13 2008, 11:49 AM

596 posts

I still in play Tiberium Wars on my new aluminium macbook. Really bz at work. No time to play games. Hehe.
SOLARIES
post Nov 13 2008, 12:42 PM

Sorry out of topic.
anyone play Football Manager here? is it avble in Mac?were to get?
thats only game i play with the labtop..

just bought macbook pro. no pblem coz got xbox 360 oredi with 24inch samsung lcd mnitor.. with the hdmi cable the graphic is ...... walllaaaa!!!

sHin0bi
post Nov 13 2008, 02:35 PM

360 posts

the MBP works great on gaming but u gotta install windohs
u can try crossfire-games. but ive tried i dun like it... i cant see when the MEDIC ubers someone hahaha... no glow...

how will it run my L4D soon... hmmmm

ps: L4D is the best game ever... the DEMO was EPIC...(so was the wait)
tohumusness
post Nov 13 2008, 03:18 PM

Tried running COD4. Can run,can play until 3rd stage. Died lol! rclxm9.gif Have 2 say, if I tweak it all the way up during the 1st 2 missions,its pretty smooth. tongue.gif Back to playing old games haha! Dont even think bout running Crysis, more like SIMCITY or the SIMS 2. Oh and dont even bother running anything on Bootcamp. Nothing works! thumbup.gif
tron
post Nov 13 2008, 06:33 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(tohumusness @ Nov 13 2008, 03:18 PM)
Tried running COD4. Can run,can play until 3rd stage. Died lol! rclxm9.gif  Have 2 say, if I tweak it all the way up during the 1st 2 missions,its pretty smooth.  tongue.gif Back to playing old games haha! Dont even think bout running Crysis, more like SIMCITY or the SIMS 2. Oh and dont even bother running anything on Bootcamp. Nothing works!  thumbup.gif
your laptop died?
mysticxin
post Nov 13 2008, 06:40 PM

251 posts

wtf.. nothing works? What do you mean lol
SUSmojoza
post Nov 14 2008, 12:30 AM

85 posts

oh well...seems like i am not a hardcore gamer so i do not mind just buy the entry level macbook unibody....I had too much problem with Vista that I have given up!
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 15 2008, 01:34 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Is anyone using aluminium Macbook for 3D modelling so far? Or Zbrushing stuff? Since the current model are having 5times stronger graphic peformance than the previous macbook model.

I know mbp would be better but i am curiousity the significant improvement in this 9400M nvidia for 3D routines.

Since i checked the others performance btwn mb & mbp in after effects & Cs4 does not exists the obvious gap. Merely a few second of difference there is.

Anyway, the information are based from website review.. Not from any real users that i know of..

Please sharing.

afist
post Nov 15 2008, 06:29 PM

19 posts

I think the new macbook is OK for gaming. Check this site
http://www.macworld.com/article/136251/200...l?lsrc=rss_main

hannie
post Nov 15 2008, 07:23 PM

44 posts

What about World of Warcraft with WOTLK expansion?
has anyone played the game on the new aluminium macbook?
is it good ?

Cause im thinkin of getting the alu MB too, just for work n, yeh, WoW
sets84
post Nov 15 2008, 08:33 PM

383 posts

wow works fine with the new macbook
it works a hell lot fine with the mbp
just don't think you'll be getting full eye candy with the macbook htough
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 15 2008, 09:30 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opOUwbXZ428&feature=related

Found this link... for gaming experience.

Kinda convincing me to go for 9400M and spare me lotsa cash.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Nov 15 2008, 09:32 PM
hannie
post Nov 16 2008, 01:33 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Nov 12 2008, 06:44 PM)
Acer ugly is understandable, they target at low income buyers. But saying that BenQ S42 is ugly, you have very high standard, and you're not a Malaysian at heart. I find that some Sony and Toshiba notebooks can be uglier than Acer, especially the lower end models, but again, those are targeted at the same crowd as Acer. As to whether a notebook is shit, it is all in the glorious feeling you get when you're using it. I've been on Macs, desktop and notebook, for a good while now, and friend, I don't get that. Some may be enticed by Apple design, but to me it just looks a little bland. It's basically still the same boring design since the iBook days. Where's the innovation in this MacBook you speak of? Of course, the Nvidia 9400M video chip. Is it faster than notebooks with 8600M, such as BenQ S41 that's selling for 2699? No. Is it even close? Hardly. So, have fun with 5-20FPS Crysis framerate. And remember, this is at low to medium setting--mostly low actually, and at a screen size of 800x600.
LoL...saying s42 is ugly is not that he's high standard, but seriously, it IS ugly. i can get what hes trying say by some laptops r shiit. some design they try to do too much. bland ? lol its simple yet elegant, which other manufacturers try n fail. it can have similar design, but still, it stands out among other shiity laptops. thats the brilliance of it bro.
SUSmojoza
post Nov 16 2008, 02:13 AM

85 posts

Well Windows laptops are cheaper now averaging at RM 2800 some with integrated 3d card or basic ATI cards which are on par with the 9400M....however, their design are simple and using plastic makes the laptop looks cheap and ugly. Moreover, I am having too much headache with the Vista....always crash and stupid pop ups when you first on the bloody laptop! I believe Macbooks are much moer stable and able to serve for many years to come rather than PCs which average around 2-3 years of lives!
sets84
post Nov 16 2008, 10:10 PM

383 posts

i have tested the new macbook with wow
on the highest resolution settings 1280x800 on windows mode
im getting an average of 30 fps... but then again, it gets jerky on places like the main cities....
not really doing it for me

with settings all on low, im getting an average of 100 fps...

i customized the settings to get use to a more pvp-friendly environment (further object view etc) and lowered most of the settings that i'm not really bothered with... i'm averaging 65 fps. so yeah this macbook can play wow well.. one thing to note though, blizzard has always emphasized their games to have lower system requirements...
this is in no way a benchmark test, but jsut an info for some who would like to know how wow performs on the macbook

stringfellow
post Nov 16 2008, 10:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(mojoza @ Nov 16 2008, 02:13 AM)
Well Windows laptops are cheaper now averaging at RM 2800 some with integrated 3d card or basic ATI cards which are on par with the 9400M....however, their design are simple and using plastic makes the laptop looks cheap and ugly. Moreover, I am having too much headache with the Vista....always crash and stupid pop ups when you first on the bloody laptop! I believe Macbooks are much moer stable and able to serve for many years to come rather than PCs which average around 2-3 years of lives!
No offense and I myself am an avid Apple supporter, but those statement on plasticky PC laptops apply to lwer entry level laptops, not the higher end models. Apple have always made their Macbooks as higher end models, hence the build quality. As for popups with Vista, it becomes a more stomachable experience once you've tweaked it properly, and I agree if you say that a user should not have to tweak their laptops in order to get it going off right out of the box.

I myself am getting the Macbook Air 1.83Ghz most probably next week, I just hope their issues the horizontal lines + no 4 finger swipe is resolved before I finally make my purchase.
SUSmojoza
post Nov 16 2008, 11:03 PM

85 posts

im either buying Macbook Entry Level or Macbook Pro....since Macbook 2.4 not much different from Macbook Pro Entry level model....

Added on November 16, 2008, 11:04 pmI have tried playing Red Alert 3 on the Macbook 2.0.....You can play smoothly on medium! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mojoza: Nov 16 2008, 11:04 PM
esssymanex
post Nov 17 2008, 12:04 AM

596 posts

QUOTE(mojoza @ Nov 17 2008, 12:03 AM)
im either buying Macbook Entry Level or Macbook Pro....since Macbook 2.4 not much different from Macbook Pro Entry level model....

Added on November 16, 2008, 11:04 pmI have tried playing Red Alert 3 on the Macbook 2.0.....You can play smoothly on medium! biggrin.gif
Yes sure can play Red Alert 3 on medium setting....currently play Tiberium Wars on Mac OS X. Running superb. Like the 3D Graphics. Hehe...
vailance
post Nov 17 2008, 12:16 AM

wat??
841 posts

play wow 40fps full settings happily for mb 2.0 i happy d.. dun care other games la.. RA3 playable also..
laptop u wan play intensive games impossible la.. unless u spend go buy those dedicated game. i got a desktop .. i use laptop when at uni .. home never touch laptop also. unless u wan gaming at uni thats diff story.
SUSmojoza
post Nov 17 2008, 12:23 AM

85 posts

Seems like the new MacBook Entry can play most recent games biggrin.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 17 2008, 09:28 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Yeah, from what i researched thru youtube videos about Macbook Gaming.

Far Cry2, Bioshock, COD4, WoW, Fallout3, Crysis... all can play at smooth Fps.

I couldn't imagine these intensive games can be play in Macbook now.

Now i have second thought to get MB instead of MBP. I think the nvidia chips can push some of the 3D application as well since the 3D games all works pretty cool with it.

2.0ghz or 2.4ghz having a little improvement thru the benchmark. But some owners said 2.4ghz did push up a little faster.

Mainly, that little push up might not be obvious for everyone. The backlit keyboard is something that make Macbook so "pro" now.

SOmehow, i wonder some DIY enthusiats are actually modding their mb with 2 LED lights underneath the keyboard now?! Issit possible..

SPend another RM1000 for 2 LED bulbs. (HDD is cheaper to upgrade now).
sets84
post Nov 17 2008, 09:55 AM

383 posts

As some one mentioned earlier, you can't play crysis on the macbook.
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 17 2008, 10:38 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

2.4 ghz Macbook playing Crysis
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHR7a7YlNC0

CHeck this video.

sets84
post Nov 17 2008, 12:39 PM

383 posts

the reflection is very obvious on that video... =p

Added on November 17, 2008, 12:42 pmwell guess i stand corrected then ^^
so what u waiting for, still not getting one yet?

This post has been edited by sets84: Nov 17 2008, 12:42 PM
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 17 2008, 02:32 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

i haven't touch the MBP model yet..

Hopefully someone can do the gaming comparison between 9400M & 9600M videos in youtube.

So far i only saw a sample from SPORE. It did feels lagging when objects crowded.

Maybe upgrade to 4GB RAM in MB...can push it smoothly.

p/s: Today i saw my friend using Photoshop CS4 to do 3D modelling texturing. I mean importing .obj and rotate the model in 360degree..

i hope to understand how the nvidia 9400M & 9600M to justify their performance with the CS4.

leland
post Nov 18 2008, 02:53 PM

104 posts

http://www.freakygaming.com/pc/strategy/st...em_requirements

lol estimated sc2 requirements.. if thats the case then the macbook shouldnt have any problems playing it
sets84
post Nov 18 2008, 03:21 PM

383 posts

blizzard is known for putting out games that have low system requirements yet great gameplay...
take wow for example, my 6 year old pc can still play it
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 01:24 AM

85 posts

I just bought the MBP instead!!! woohoo!!! l'm LOVING IT !!!
sets84
post Nov 19 2008, 02:42 AM

383 posts

GratS! Enjoy it ^^
mysticxin
post Nov 19 2008, 09:59 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(mojoza @ Nov 19 2008, 01:24 AM)
I just bought the MBP instead!!! woohoo!!! l'm LOVING IT !!!
Where do you get your MBP?
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 10:21 AM

85 posts

I bought it from SUnway Machine. It was the last unit ! biggrin.gif
mysticxin
post Nov 19 2008, 11:09 AM

251 posts

You must be very lucky haha.. i've waited nearly 3 weeks adi for mbp
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 12:32 PM

85 posts

the macbook and macbook pro both sold out most places....I actually wanted the 2.4 MacBook but oh well....I am very happy to have the MBP..Played Crysis and COD4...Smooth and playable biggrin.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 19 2008, 02:44 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

mojoza,

do u mind to print some screen shots of both game while using 9400M & 9600?

Video even better..haha... Can see how the FPS performs..

Write more reviews bout difference of both GPU tech if you feel comfort with.
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 03:46 PM

85 posts

once i am settled down with my mac I will show you guys! biggrin.gif
LeechFever
post Nov 19 2008, 04:04 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

Mac as far as I know is used mainly for graphic design, visual editing, well........basically quality visual and audio purposes. Sometimes it's used for work (programming mainly) also due to it's stability compare to windows. Hardcore games on Mac? er...never heard of that before. Flash games maybe.
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 19 2008, 04:38 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

then u have to spent some times in youtube to check out the gaming experience wif Mac Machine..

Yeah in XP OS...
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 06:23 PM

85 posts

new macbooks and macbook pros are good for gaming now trust me.I am enjoying it!
cRazYee
post Nov 21 2008, 11:02 AM

2,642 posts

macbook pro
playing SPORE full resolution and full graphic
no lag, so far so good

dinodog_Jr
post Nov 21 2008, 12:21 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Can u try wif the 9400 card?
kyon22
post Nov 21 2008, 03:40 PM

141 posts

how good is the the 2.0Ghz model? kinda attracted to the macbook..

can the 2.0 ghz model handle latest game at low to medium setting?..

This post has been edited by kyon22: Nov 21 2008, 03:54 PM
SUSmojoza
post Nov 22 2008, 05:09 PM

85 posts

I have been playing COD4 and Team Fortress at all high res and 2xAA...both runned at 30- 60fps !!! 30fps is when there are like 10 people fighting at once!
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 22 2008, 05:21 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

SEXY@_@~...

Can you try Devil May Cry 4?! or Fall out 3...hee

Yesterday i read bout a details FPS description on Oblivion. The grass effects give very low FPS until 15fps.

Well, i neva into Oblivion. haha..

Keep posting.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Nov 22 2008, 05:22 PM
SUSmojoza
post Nov 22 2008, 06:06 PM

85 posts

okay I will try on the DMC4 and Fallout 3 biggrin.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 23 2008, 12:11 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

I had came across one youtube having Highest setting for DMC4 in the macbook.

Hope you have the real fun too...

Do you have Far Cry 2 ? Dat's another game that worth to check into. Nice textures...hee..
Masamune
post Nov 23 2008, 02:20 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Eh guys..when u say ur playing games on the new MB..
Ur using like boot camp and xp to play or using the mac os?
I'm gonna get a MB soon..
Just want to clarify things.
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 23 2008, 10:38 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Yes man.

Have to be in XP..
SUSmojoza
post Nov 23 2008, 11:22 AM

85 posts

XP is much faster for sure.....i am using MBP btw, Tested Devil May Cry 4 yesterday at full details average around 30-35fps with around 10 or more units and details textured buildings! Against bosses will be around 45 to 55 fps!

Added on November 23, 2008, 11:23 amI have also tested the latest Need For Speed Undercover ran around 35fps almost full specs!

This post has been edited by mojoza: Nov 23 2008, 11:23 AM
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 23 2008, 04:29 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

mojoza,

All these while, you are using 9600 GPU to get the FPS performance?

haha.. i am interested in how 9400M performs actually..
SUSmojoza
post Nov 23 2008, 05:35 PM

85 posts

just use 30fps and reduce by 45% and you will know the performance
kyon22
post Nov 23 2008, 06:10 PM

141 posts

is the macbook geforce 9400 perform that bad? i'm planning to get the macbook...
SUSmojoza
post Nov 23 2008, 06:19 PM

85 posts

depending what games you gonna play....let me know and I can let you know
kyon22
post Nov 23 2008, 06:30 PM

141 posts

how about red alert 3 and fallout on MB using vista?..
ff8ong
post Nov 23 2008, 06:32 PM

2,550 posts

I getting next month,but i already can imagine how the 9400 is going to work..I can say it is better than other consumer level laptop.
kyon22
post Nov 23 2008, 07:05 PM

141 posts

you can get a hp dv5 running at geforce 9600 but its using DDR2 677mhz RAM at RM5999. but macbook is using DDR3 eventhough its using 9400, the the performance should be on par..

still aiming for macbook, MBP is out of my budget and i want something small to carry around campus while be able to play games..
ff8ong
post Nov 23 2008, 07:13 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(kyon22 @ Nov 23 2008, 07:05 PM)
you can get a hp dv5 running at geforce 9600 but its using DDR2 677mhz RAM at RM5999. but macbook is using DDR3 eventhough its using 9400, the the performance should be on par..

still aiming for macbook, MBP is out of my budget and i want something small to carry around campus while be able to play games..
Ya,that is the advantage for macbook using DDR3..way faster than others.Sure it eble to play game,just certain game have to set lower setting.
sets84
post Nov 23 2008, 08:09 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Nov 23 2008, 07:13 PM)
Ya,that is the advantage for macbook using DDR3..way faster than others.Sure it eble to play game,just certain game have to set lower setting.
i don't know bout you guys, ever since I went mac... I dread having to load up windows, even if its vmware for development purposes.
kyon22
post Nov 23 2008, 08:12 PM

141 posts

I normally use window for doing my programming assignment, gaming and mac probably for surfing the net or doing some paperwork..
ff8ong
post Nov 23 2008, 10:51 PM

2,550 posts

i using bootcamp on my mac as well...i dont feel any different compare to other PC computer.
SUSmojoza
post Nov 23 2008, 11:57 PM

85 posts

tried Need for Speed Undercover ! All full specs with 2x AA !!! average 30fps!
GOnna install Farcry 2 now!
victorchew
post Nov 24 2008, 12:51 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(mojoza @ Nov 23 2008, 11:57 PM)
tried Need for Speed Undercover ! All full specs with 2x AA !!!  average 30fps!
GOnna install Farcry 2 now!
Hi, yours one is MB?
2.0 or 2.4?
MacDaNife
post Nov 24 2008, 07:52 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(victorchew @ Nov 24 2008, 12:51 AM)
Hi, yours one is MB?
2.0 or 2.4?
He bought the MB Pro. Although he never mentioned which model, I'm guessing the 2.4 Ghz one.

This is the reason why most of us put the hardware specs of our machine(s) in the signature section. It's not (only) to show-off but it gives contextual information when discussing issues relating to performance in apps and games and when troubleshooting.
SUSmojoza
post Nov 24 2008, 04:56 PM

85 posts

hehe sorry bros, i am pretty new to this forum, yes I am using 2.4ghz MBP. XP cannot use 9400M so i cant test it sad.gif as for the Crysis 2, I put all at Medium with 2xAA and on Vsync, ran very smoothly at 35fps.
Mythras231
post Nov 28 2008, 10:32 AM

499 posts

Can let me tumpang thread ? Since its the same question ... Can like GunBound / Warcraft III be played on the MBP then ?
keccik
post Nov 28 2008, 11:30 AM

Vaporist
583 posts

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Nov 28 2008, 10:32 AM)
Can let me tumpang thread ? Since its the same question ... Can like GunBound / Warcraft III be played on the MBP then ?
i played Warcraft III (Dota) on my white 2.1 c2d macbook... so i guess MBP shouldnt be a problem.
MacDaNife
post Nov 28 2008, 11:32 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Even the MacBook (non Pro) would be able the handle Warcraft3.

... dunno bout GunBound though. Not a game I'm familiar with.
allvin
post Nov 28 2008, 11:56 AM

4,506 posts

lulz.. even Pentium III with no problem with either 1 of the games u mention. W3 got mac version, whereas for gunbound no. You have to boot to bootcamp to play GB wink.gif

@MacDaNife, gunbound is 2D online game. requirement is much lower compare to W3
SUSmojoza
post Nov 28 2008, 10:57 PM

85 posts

Basically the new macbook and macbook pro are capable to play current games! so no worries!
dinodog_Jr
post Nov 29 2008, 08:38 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Anyone here wif MB gaming experience yet??
Mythras231
post Nov 29 2008, 11:15 AM

499 posts

I played Warcraft III on my MBp though ... No lag ... Smooth ... Haha
SUSmojoza
post Nov 30 2008, 10:12 AM

85 posts

warcraft 3 confirmed smooth as it is an old game.You should try COD5 to test the machine

Mythras231
post Nov 30 2008, 12:03 PM

499 posts

Still can't find the CD ... Don't know where to buy them ... I don't have crossover program also
SUSmojoza
post Nov 30 2008, 03:37 PM

85 posts

I would highly recommend people to buy macbook or macbook pro unibody as it will definately last for more than 3 years due to the fact that they will be faster with Snow Leopard and SLI technology
OmniAtlas
post Nov 30 2008, 04:34 PM

946 posts

Hi all, anyone tried Left 4 Dead? How many FPS?

BTW, are you all running XP or Vista? I heard you'll get a few extra FPS on XP, but would a future nvidia driver update make the frame rates negligible on vista? I would rather stick with Vista because of Direct X 10 support.

I'm planning to get the Macbook alu 2.0 ghz in a month or two.
Mythras231
post Nov 30 2008, 11:25 PM

499 posts

Anyone got Diablo 3 for mac yet ?
iamhorde
post Dec 1 2008, 06:08 AM

33 posts

Anyone who says they have Diablo 3 regardless for Windows or Mac would be lying.
Masamune
post Dec 2 2008, 03:28 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Well..i think for stability better play on xp..
Even though vista have direct x10..
SUSmojoza
post Dec 2 2008, 09:24 PM

85 posts

i am installing Left 4 Dead now ! keep you informed!

Added on December 2, 2008, 10:11 pmlol my macbook pro played at 50-70fps!

Added on December 2, 2008, 10:12 pmand i have set all 16x AA and Vsynx on and all high and very high!!! good game!

This post has been edited by mojoza: Dec 2 2008, 10:12 PM
yawhong
post Dec 3 2008, 12:25 AM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

i only use my macbook pro for world of warcraft and warcraft 3 ...
haven try other game yet
SUSmojoza
post Dec 3 2008, 08:41 PM

85 posts

im installing Alone in the Dark 5 now !
iAce
post Dec 3 2008, 11:36 PM

93 posts

Dear Macbook Experts,

Hello & Hi, I would like to ask since Macbook is isin't for gaming and I'm a budget person & I love Apple products should I buy the Macbook with Intel X3100 or Macbook with Nvidia 9400m? Please guide me I'm a newbie sad.gif!
OmniAtlas
post Dec 4 2008, 12:16 AM

946 posts

Once you go Mac, you never go back.
=Hanxz=
post Dec 4 2008, 12:41 AM

l33t!
1,903 posts

that's my quote mind you dry.gif
Please come up with something more original la instead of plagiarizing
mysticxin
post Dec 4 2008, 12:44 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(iAce @ Dec 3 2008, 11:36 PM)
Dear Macbook Experts,

Hello & Hi, I would like to ask since Macbook is isin't for gaming and I'm a budget person & I love Apple products should I buy the Macbook with Intel X3100 or Macbook with Nvidia 9400m? Please guide me I'm a newbie sad.gif!
get a 9400m model. The X3100 is simply just inadequate
rx330
post Dec 4 2008, 12:56 AM

11,808 posts

hanz u ala register for TM or not? if not i also can use ler tongue.gif
sets84
post Dec 4 2008, 01:29 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Dec 4 2008, 12:41 AM)
i'd beg to differ
http://missingbite.com/details/onceugomac.html

and
http://www.dspotts.com/once_you_go_mac.html

and
http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/apple-macb...ssageID=2563396

and
http://ahunterfam.blogspot.com/2007/08/onc...er-go-back.html

there are tons more, help yourself to google.
=Hanxz=
post Dec 4 2008, 01:39 AM

l33t!
1,903 posts

@rx330
ahahaha tarak leh...feel like stress now..sore eyes after long hours on the phone laugh.gif

@sets84
don't beg me to differ, uncle google works wonders and i retract back my statement. seems like i'm not the first.

sry sry guys for the OT..continue on with the FPS thingy, i'm interested on how far this MB can go biggrin.gif
OmniAtlas
post Dec 4 2008, 09:02 PM

946 posts

lol.

anyway back to the subject, how is L4D running? Anyone tried it on Vista?

* on the new macbook alu (not pro)

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Dec 4 2008, 09:08 PM
MacDaNife
post Dec 4 2008, 09:19 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Dec 4 2008, 12:41 AM)
Now this gets into my LYN "Greatest Hits" mixtape. I LOL-ed!

In any case...

For those with the new MBP / MBA. Startup with the F2 button depressed: You'll boot into a "hardware check" mode where you can run diagnostics on your RAM, get setup info etc. Interesting.

This post has been edited by MacDaNife: Dec 4 2008, 09:23 PM
rx330
post Dec 5 2008, 12:48 AM

11,808 posts

thanks for the tip thumbup.gif
SUSmojoza
post Dec 5 2008, 05:06 PM

85 posts

Alone in the dark 5 set at medium and vsync on. Ran smoothly.If all high,sometimes can be slow
yawhong
post Dec 5 2008, 08:14 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

LOl really? i would try next time... haha
just reinstall my leopard yesterday due to i alway throw the application in the bin and slow down my osx a lot
swt
rx330
post Dec 6 2008, 12:43 AM

11,808 posts

testeed the F2 thing
avthing is A ok thumbup.gif
Mythras231
post Dec 6 2008, 09:25 PM

499 posts

What does Leopard do ? Sorry =_+
MacDaNife
post Dec 7 2008, 09:22 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Dec 6 2008, 09:25 PM)
What does Leopard do ? Sorry =_+
Your prior question on this thread was if anyone had a copy of Diablo 3. Now that's forgivable I guess. You could be a non-Blizzard fan, or a non-gamer. I'm certainly not going to berate your for your lack of gamer-cred and ignorance that the game has not seen the light of day beyond the screenies put out by the Blizzard PR crew.

But an ignorance of Leopard? On Apple Byte subforum?

Is there a village somewhere missing its idiot?
Mythras231
post Dec 7 2008, 12:13 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Dec 7 2008, 09:22 AM)
Your prior question on this thread was if anyone had a copy of Diablo 3. Now that's forgivable I guess. You could be a non-Blizzard fan, or a non-gamer. I'm certainly not going to berate your for your lack of gamer-cred and ignorance that the game has not seen the light of day beyond the screenies put out by the Blizzard PR crew.

But an ignorance of Leopard? On Apple Byte subforum?

Is there a village somewhere missing its idiot?
About Diablo 3 ... My silly-know-it-all friend said that is already OUT and he's downloading . I did some searching and found out that it was actually a lie which was after I post my question . So thats my mistake .

Uhhh...Cause this is a gaming thread ... About MBP... I know my question is about Leopard and not about game . But some forumer replied that they are trying their games with Leopard / Without Leopard cause it may slow down the operating system and everything . That's why I'm curious so that's why I ask . I'm still learning about Mac OSX and everything .

I don't think it matters or not whether in an Apple Byte Sub forum . This is a forum that allows people to discuss about Apple . And my question is about Leopard , Apple . I don't see the mistake here whereas you're saying that its MY MISTAKE for not knowing about Leopard ? How ignorance can you be ?

myxery
post Dec 7 2008, 12:42 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Dec 7 2008, 12:13 PM)
About Diablo 3 ... My silly-know-it-all friend said that is already OUT and he's downloading .  I did some searching and found out that it was actually a lie which was after I post my question . So thats my mistake .
Uhhh...Cause this is a gaming thread ... About MBP... I know my question is about Leopard and not about game . But some forumer replied that they are trying their games with Leopard / Without Leopard cause it may slow down the operating system and everything . That's why I'm curious so that's why I ask . I'm still learning about Mac OSX and everything .
I don't think it matters or not whether in an Apple Byte Sub forum . This is a forum that allows people to discuss about Apple . And my question is about Leopard , Apple . I don't see the mistake here whereas you're saying that its MY MISTAKE for not knowing about Leopard ? How ignorance can you be ?
aih.. i dont know how and what to say anymore. This is what we should call "cacat originated from zigot" doh.gif
elico
post Dec 7 2008, 01:51 PM

749 posts

ok la ok la dun fight la peace peace icon_rolleyes.gif

for Mytharas231.. try avoid asking some question too "searchable" or "googleable" ... Leopard is a basicly the same like other Mac OSX, just that it pack with lots more features, such as spotlight, refer Apple website for more info
Mythras231
post Dec 7 2008, 05:38 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(elico @ Dec 7 2008, 01:51 PM)
ok la ok la dun fight la peace peace  icon_rolleyes.gif

for Mytharas231.. try avoid asking some question too "searchable" or "googleable" ... Leopard is a basicly the same like other Mac OSX, just that it pack with lots more features, such as spotlight, refer Apple website for more info
Its an OSX ... Now I get it ... Thank you for your answers . Ha... I did search around Apple website ... But I guess I miss it out

This post has been edited by Mythras231: Dec 7 2008, 05:39 PM
elico
post Dec 7 2008, 11:09 PM

749 posts

haha well unlike Windows.. Mac OSX each major release has its own name

10.0 Cheetah, 10.1 Puma , 10.2 Jaguar , 10.3 Panther, 10.4 Tiger and 10.5 Leopard

next generation is 10.6 Snow Leopard, i think the naming Snow Leopard is coz Apple saying they not going to put new feature in... but they going to make a major overhaul in the internal part... and shud be only for Intel platform
Mythras231
post Dec 8 2008, 12:28 AM

499 posts

Each and every one of them got its own uniqueness or what ?
elico
post Dec 8 2008, 12:51 AM

749 posts

basicly each is like an upgrade to the previous 1 lo..... but some how Apple does not categories it as a different version , but as a different release , maybe coz all still running on Darwin kernel.. all were still under same Mac OS version 10 (thus the X means 10)

anyway how long does the new MB battery can last? i mean the real result from user la, not the 1 stated by Apple

This post has been edited by elico: Dec 8 2008, 12:57 AM
zXJaMeSXz
post Dec 8 2008, 01:35 PM

670 posts

Btw, will warcraft 3 work fine on a macbook?
hapa
post Dec 8 2008, 01:49 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Dec 8 2008, 01:35 PM)
Btw, will warcraft 3 work fine on a macbook?
lol.. i think even with x3100 u still can play with it
allvin
post Dec 8 2008, 03:58 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Dec 8 2008, 01:49 PM)
lol.. i think even with Pentium III u still can play with it
fixed. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Dec 8 2008, 03:58 PM
OmniAtlas
post Dec 8 2008, 04:02 PM

946 posts

All I need is my CS + Team Fortress 2 + Left 4 Dead fix and I'll be okay.

Heard Diablo & Starcraft can run on lower spec machines as well so hopefully they'll be okay on the mb.
SUSmojoza
post Dec 14 2008, 02:44 PM

85 posts

Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2 will work perfectly on the new macbooks and macbook pros so i dont think any of us should be worried of...I was worried before until i purchase my macbook pro even using 9400M to test games
ghoul88
post Dec 14 2008, 05:17 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 8 2008, 04:02 PM)
All I need is my CS + Team Fortress 2 + Left 4 Dead fix and I'll be okay.

Heard Diablo & Starcraft can run on lower spec machines as well so hopefully they'll be okay on the mb.
you use previous mb or new release mb?
i never install game in my mb..
i play all games at my desktop ^^
SUSmojoza
post Dec 14 2008, 11:29 PM

85 posts

It is a good time to buy macs as they are able to hold future product performances and requirements.
Josephph
post Dec 20 2008, 07:17 PM

145 posts

u want play games with macbook...dont choose macbook, just go for macbook pro...you wont regret and disappointed with it....i got a white macbook and old macbook pro... white macbook cant even play dota smoothly...the graphics sucks...about new alu macbook, i never try it for gaming yet

This post has been edited by Josephph: Dec 20 2008, 07:17 PM
allvin
post Dec 20 2008, 08:55 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Josephph @ Dec 20 2008, 07:17 PM)
u want play games with macbook...dont choose macbook, just go for macbook pro...you wont regret and disappointed with it....i got a white macbook and old macbook pro... white macbook cant even play dota smoothly...the graphics sucks...about new alu macbook, i never try it for gaming yet
dude, u sure or not? my white macbook no problem with that game. rolleyes.gif W3 is very old game and surely no problem running on macbook, even old PPC machine can run it
MacDaNife
post Dec 21 2008, 08:59 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Forgawdsakes do some reading before you venture your opinions on a thread.

You'd then be able to state a point of view that is based on some fact rather than pulled out of thin air - this referring of course to that space between your ears.

If you want to compare the MacBooks of two generations past with the present one, you'd realize that the main difference between the two is the inclusion for the first time of a dedicated graphics chip - in this case the nVidia 9400m which of course delivers better gaming performance.

And this will certainly be enough to play a game as undemanding as Warcraft III.
mysticxin
post Dec 21 2008, 01:41 PM

251 posts

I experience Left4Dead crashes running on BootCamp Windows XP SP3 with 9600M. Heat problem?
hapa
post Dec 21 2008, 05:56 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

tested left4dead too in xp sp2... damn hot, i dono wat the prob with this game, temp will get very high in short amount of time..

SUSmojoza
post Dec 21 2008, 06:47 PM

85 posts

but at least u had fun lol...playing Prince of Persia, COD5 and Silent Hill now
siemens6688
post Dec 21 2008, 09:44 PM

202 posts

Ok guy, i was suspected the New MacBook 's 9400M graphic card before i buy it. But i am really surprise after i brought it and install NFS UnderCover into it. smile.gif Here's my Macbook Spec:

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0Ghz P7360 3MB L2 Cache\1066Mhz FSB, Centrino 2. (RM4799's model)
3GB DDR 3 1066Mhz (Free Upgraded From Machines)
160GB Sata
9400M Integrated Graphic Controller 512MB (After upgraded RAM, 512MB Total Show in Dxdiag. I think if the ram goes to 4GB, 1GB Video RAM will be shown smile.gif )

NFS undercover 1280x720 , AA x6, Shadow, Detail , Cars , World all set to very high. Running very (yup, very) smooth compare with my desktop. Just brought it few days, so just tested NFS only, will test other games coming soon smile.gif

Desktop Spec:
AMD Athron X2 4200 (2.26Ghz, 1MB Cache, 1600Mhz Hyper Transport)
4GB DDR 2 667 Mhz
Asus 8500GT Top 512MB DDR3
320GB SATA II 7200RPM 16MB

Result: 1280x720, AA x4, All detail, shadow, world, cars, set to very high = Smooth when driving at Highway, A bit lag inside City, Exspecialy when start a race with other cpu player, very lag. 1024x768, all setting are same as above . Very Smooth at all place and race.

Another Mac: iMac Intel, Late 2007.
Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 (2.0Ghz\667Mhz FSB\4 MB L2 Cache) Centrino Duo.
Intel i945PM Chipset
2GB DDR 2 667Mhz
ATi X1600 128MB DDR2
160GB SATA II

Result: 1280x720, AA x 0, All detail, shadows, World, Cars, Set to Medium = Smooth, but not very smooth. Will lag when have many tree and smoke. 1024x768, AA x 2, All Detail Set to High= Smooth, But not very Smooth, Not lag when have many tree and smoke .

Here's what i can test currently . I did not have software to test , but all the information above are honest testing. Not siding MacBook. Will test other games when free smile.gif

Consolution : For 13.3 Inches, 2Kg, 0.95 Inches Slim Notebook, and the design and the build quality, RM4799 definitely worth to buy. Games performance is good in it's class, consider the size and the weight, the performance is acceptable. For Intergrated Graphic Card Performance, MacBook Definitely will give you a surprise smile.gif
OmniAtlas
post Dec 21 2008, 11:17 PM

946 posts

new official drivers out http://gizmodo.com/5115011/official-nvidia...ailable-onlinea
MacDaNife
post Dec 22 2008, 01:39 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 21 2008, 11:17 PM)
Thanks for wasting 5 mins of my time, checking out your link and actually following it to the nVidia download page. Do you find doing this kinda thing amusing?

For those who have yet to do so - don't bother. It just links to the Windows/Linux drivers.

Mac drivers, as its always been in the past, are issued as software updates from Apple.

This post has been edited by MacDaNife: Dec 22 2008, 01:41 PM
OmniAtlas
post Dec 22 2008, 11:12 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Dec 22 2008, 01:39 PM)
Thanks for wasting 5 mins of my time, checking out your link and actually following it to the nVidia download page. Do you find doing this kinda thing amusing?

For those who have yet to do so - don't bother. It just links to the Windows/Linux drivers.

Mac drivers,  as its always been in the past, are issued as software updates from Apple.
MacDaNife -- This is a gaming thread you idiot. Most gamers play in windows, hence, the link is applicable. And yes, I do these things to see which incompetent fool replies; I congratulate you, you've just joined my growing list of morons on Low Yat Network and have been placed on my ignore list. I also present you with a Darwin award i.e. if you were wiped off the planet of this earth, noone would even notice.

Have a nice day!

[davey.havok]
post Dec 23 2008, 12:22 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 22 2008, 11:12 PM)
...Most gamers play in windows, hence, the link is applicable.
+1

MacDaNife
post Dec 23 2008, 06:09 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 22 2008, 11:12 PM)
MacDaNife -- This is a gaming thread you idiot. Most gamers play in windows, hence, the link is applicable. And yes, I do these things to see which incompetent fool replies; I congratulate you, you've just joined my growing list of morons on Low Yat Network and have been placed on my  ignore list. I also present you with a Darwin award i.e. if you were wiped off the planet of this earth, noone would even notice.

Have a nice day!
Ok, you can untwist your panties now. Jeez,

If you're going to get this worked up over a clarification to your post (this IS a Mac thread after all) then you've got a lot more grief waiting for you as you grow up.

OmniAtlas
post Dec 23 2008, 09:57 AM

946 posts

lol. Guess what MacBoy-DaLife messaged me, he is trying to lecture me now smile.gif

Be mindful of what you say online dude, you might one day be called to account for it.

Since you're a medical student, and I'm a medical professional, I'm sure our pass may cross, and I'd like to treat you with professionalism and respect.

Of course, that choice is yours.

Is he threatening me??? cool2.gif
MacDaNife
post Dec 23 2008, 10:05 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 23 2008, 09:57 AM)
lol. Guess what MacBoy-DaLife messaged me, he is trying to lecture me now smile.gif
Is he threatening me???  cool2.gif
Don't flatter yourself. I wouldn't threaten you because you're not of consequence to me. Hence not worth taking the effort.

Like I said, I'd like to treat you with respect.

That however is getting difficult but I'll try.
nolie
post Dec 23 2008, 10:07 PM

37 posts

It's getting OOT.
SUSmojoza
post Dec 23 2008, 10:17 PM

85 posts

what the....I posted this topic not to quarrel brothers....
ff8ong
post Dec 24 2008, 12:15 AM

2,550 posts

fight between Macdanife and Omniatlas
esssymanex
post Dec 24 2008, 12:22 AM

596 posts

huh....is it this thread for fight arguement or share experience...thanks friends about that elaborate about NFS Undercover...Just want try it. Hahaha..
OmniAtlas
post Dec 24 2008, 02:22 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Dec 24 2008, 12:15 AM)
fight between Macdanife and Omniatlas
lol more like Macdanife trying to strife up the boards because he has nothing better to do. If you check out his posts he is really emo, I'm actually quite concerned blink.gif

Back to the topic at hand -- thanks for sharing the info -- I'll be getting my macbook soon; will stick XP on it -- I don't think 4 gbs makes much of a difference from 2? The shops are charging something like 300 RM from an extra 2 GB -- real rip off IMHO and I would rather go by a third party ram company if I were to upgrade.

MacDaNife
post Dec 24 2008, 05:28 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 24 2008, 02:22 AM)
lol more like Macdanife trying to strife up the boards because he has nothing better to do. If you check out his posts he is really emo,  I'm actually quite concerned  blink.gif

Back to the topic at hand -- thanks for sharing the info -- I'll be getting my macbook soon; will stick XP on it -- I don't think 4 gbs makes much of a difference from 2? The shops are charging something like 300 RM from an extra 2 GB -- real rip off IMHO and I would rather go by a third party ram company if I were to upgrade.
Actually, as a point of clarification, I don't get too worked up over posts on this board. The converse is perhaps true, it's difficult to remain interested in the discussion as it so rarely has useful information and is consequently usually a waste of time and bandwidth. My apologies if I have added to the spam already rife on this thread. My apologies too if I've needlessly provoked Omni, that was not my intention, the reaction was indeed suprising (although I admit, rather amusing).

Since Omni is fond of taking PM messages to the board too, let me share this too:

QUOTE(OmniAtlas)
Its unfortunate that the ignore function doesn't translate to online messages. You're so distraught (OCD perhaps?) that you had to do a search on my profile and my posted messages to try and "lecture" me on professionalism.

Sorry dude, doesn't work -- you're initial post has made me lose all respect for you already. If paths do cross (thats assuming you're not a pathological liar), and if you said that to my face, I can ensure you, the end result wouldn't have ended well. I would sure as hell beat some shit into you to make sure you weren't such an ignorant and arrogant *******

Now if it really took you 5 whole minutes to read that website and click on a link, I suggest you improve on your reading skills, it might be helpful in life some day. Of course, that might not be a problem -- seeing from your posts in the past, you might be manic depressive -- perhaps a visit to the psychiatrist for some lithium would help?

What I find even funnier is that you have a post about your "GamingRig" specs, with a Nvidia card no doubt making the thread about the drivers even more relevant then ever.

I am reporting you to the admins for now -- I just don't have the time, or the place for this, and I really don't want to hear any more of your gibberish.

Have a nice day
Now how is it that Malaysians when they get behind a keyboard (or the wheel of a car) feel that it transforms them into someone so strong and powerful that they get the urge to "beat the shit" out of someone who holds a contrary point of view? My point was simple: that if the drivers are for windows, on a Mac thread, please take the time to point that out. In this case would it would actually work on a Mac running XP in BootCamp? That has remained unanswered.

Apple drivers have always come as software updates from Apple. This includes drivers in BootCamp, which are released using the Apple Software Update utility in BootCamp. I'd be interested if the drivers released directly from nVidia do actually work in BootCamp and provide any performance benefit. Has anybody actually installed it?
SUSmojoza
post Dec 25 2008, 11:28 AM

85 posts

ok guys....discuss about games now!
allvin
post Dec 25 2008, 12:36 PM

4,506 posts

Apple drivers have always come as software updates from Apple. This includes drivers in BootCamp, which are released using the Apple Software Update utility in BootCamp. I'd be interested if the drivers released directly from nVidia do actually work in BootCamp and provide any performance benefit. Has anybody actually installed it?
Sorry to interrupt you guys whistling.gif

I think you "over-trust" apple. lulz.. Srsly, on windows side, apple software update is kinda ussless, especially on graphic drivers. Why i say so? Cos' they are darn slow releasing and I bet they less focus on windows side. Maybe they need "time" to test it or so what. Talk about drivers, as long as you know what model and brand of the hardware on your mac, you can actually install it. Most of the drivers you can find on net, but still have some drivers don't such as keyboard, trackpad and isight. THose are apple components. Trust me, i have tried and test on my old macbook. It works like a charm. wink.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Dec 25 2008, 12:36 PM
presto86
post Dec 25 2008, 01:17 PM

146 posts

Currently testing Macbook 2.4Ghz - Aluminium (9400M),

Crysis - Low Detail, may lag even at DX9 (anyway... at low detail, u must as well play FarCry 1) 15FPS max
Crysis Warhead v1.1 (Couldn't install[keep getting error, Crysis doesn't support integrated] - Original one of coz)
COD4 - Mixture of high & medium (No AA) 35FPS max
Need for Speed Pro Street - Have to turn off the smoke and AA 30FPS max
Need for Speed Undercover - The only thing nice about the graphics is Maggie Q in the video clips, EA's fault. Not the MB.
Prince of Persia 2008 - Medium settings 28FPS max
Tomb Raider Legend - Full Detail 42FPS max
Tomb Raider Anniversary - Medium & High (No AA) 23FPS max
Tomb Raider Underworld - Couldn't make it even with medium graphics 18FPS max @ Medium
Far Cry 2 - Holy Shit, africa doesn't have trees and grass (low & medium detail) 17FPS max

If you are thinking of gaming with those Games i listed above. Please consider getting a desktop PC with a C2D 2.33ghz above & a decent 9600GT GPU or higher or get a Macbook Pro.

No point playing a game with low setting. You can't even enjoy what the game has to offer.

All the Framerates, i got it from using Fraps on Vista x86 Home Premium w/SP1. Vista is tweaked for performance and minimum RAM usage.

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 4 2008, 12:16 AM)
Once you go Mac, you never go back.
I have a MBA, Macbook 2.4ghz (Alu), Macbook Pro(8600M GT) all very close to me. And i work in an Apple Reseller Outlet. I'm proud to say, i'm still on windows! haha!

This post has been edited by presto86: Dec 25 2008, 01:18 PM
ff8ong
post Dec 25 2008, 01:28 PM

2,550 posts

So how about the heat?it will get extreme hot when under bootcamp XP with gaming?
presto86
post Dec 25 2008, 04:48 PM

146 posts

I'm frying eggs on it man!. A very good coffee warmer also. Hits 80c anytime~ from istat.
ff8ong
post Dec 25 2008, 05:51 PM

2,550 posts

play game must inside air-cond room.
dinodog_Jr
post Dec 25 2008, 06:22 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(presto86 @ Dec 25 2008, 01:17 PM)

No point playing a game with low setting. You can't even enjoy what the game has to offer.

All the Framerates, i got it from using Fraps on Vista x86 Home Premium w/SP1. Vista is tweaked for performance and minimum RAM usage.
I have a MBA, Macbook 2.4ghz (Alu), Macbook Pro(8600M GT) all very close to me. And i work in an Apple Reseller Outlet. I'm proud to say, i'm still on windows! haha!
So, the Macbook 2.4Ghz still under performance compare to Macbook Pro(8600M GT)?

Damn. i think i having dilemma again..haha..

Do you mind to update the result details by using Macbook Pro(9600M GT) with those above Games..
With 8600M GT also can. Since they are quite closer to performance.

OmniAtlas
post Dec 25 2008, 06:42 PM

946 posts

Thanks for the FPS rates Presto -- if someone has windows xp sp3 I'll like to know the performance they are getting with some current games out in the market.

I believe using vista or xp can make a big difference in gaming performance. If you're using vista, more then 2 gb of ram might be helpful.
presto86
post Dec 25 2008, 08:00 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Dec 25 2008, 06:42 PM)
Thanks for the FPS rates Presto -- if someone has windows xp sp3 I'll like to know the performance they are getting with some current games out in the market.

I believe using vista or xp can make a big difference in gaming performance. If you're using vista, more then 2 gb of ram might be helpful.
I believe XP will have slight performance boost. maybe 1-2FPS. 2GB ram is sufficient enough for vista x86. u see most benchmarks in www.tomshardware.com and anandtech.com, they use 2GB on their test systems.

Anyway, If i have time, will test it out with XP SP3.

So, the Macbook 2.4Ghz still under performance compare to Macbook Pro(8600M GT)

It's very hard for a "low-end GPU" to beat a "mid-range" GPU at performance.... unless maybe comparing 9400M with 6xxx series.

This post has been edited by presto86: Dec 25 2008, 08:03 PM
yawhong
post Dec 25 2008, 08:08 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Dec 25 2008, 01:28 PM)
So how about the heat?it will get extreme hot when under bootcamp XP with gaming?
i am using the alu mac book pro... ya, that is the problem i encounter with my new mbp, whenevr i play game in windows xp, it get v hot... hmm.gif
esssymanex
post Dec 25 2008, 10:44 PM

596 posts

Normally if plays gaming even using normal laptop also will going heat coz it utilies all the system both processor and graphics chipset which share on same thermalpad...so the heat generate need used notebook cooler..
presto86
post Dec 26 2008, 01:37 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(esssymanex @ Dec 25 2008, 10:44 PM)
Normally if plays gaming even using normal laptop also will going heat coz it utilies all the system both processor and graphics chipset which share on same thermalpad...so the heat generate need used notebook cooler..
Its different for other notebook. other notebook's exterior material doesn't conduct heat. Aluminium macs rely on their body to disperse heat. the entire aluminium body is a heatsink practically. Dats how apple make their notebooks thinner and slicker than other companies, "We put in 1 cheap fan, and use the body instead". N ppl think that full alu body = "yeng". It's best to use the Alu MB & MBP under air cond environment.

This post has been edited by presto86: Dec 26 2008, 01:43 AM
sets84
post Dec 26 2008, 10:15 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(presto86 @ Dec 26 2008, 01:37 AM)
Its different for other notebook. other notebook's exterior material doesn't conduct heat. Aluminium macs rely on their body to disperse heat. the entire aluminium body is a heatsink practically. Dats how apple make their notebooks thinner and slicker than other companies, "We put in 1 cheap fan, and use the body instead". N ppl think that full alu body = "yeng". It's best to use the Alu MB & MBP under air cond environment.
You cannot deny the fact that Apple made the laptops with the word "yeng" in mind (well ok maybe they would have "stylish" instead of "yeng"). The whole point of it being thin and what not still leads to the factor of it being "yeng".
SUSmojoza
post Dec 27 2008, 09:06 AM

85 posts

eh brothers talk about games performances leh
NFN
post Dec 27 2008, 09:10 AM

118 posts

eh i know mac cant play exe file =.=ll buti really wanna play ragnarok leh ....someone know how to do?
SUSmojoza
post Dec 27 2008, 11:11 AM

85 posts

use windows on bootcamp or parallels desktop or vware
NFN
post Dec 27 2008, 12:12 PM

118 posts

willl it hurt my laptop?
ff8ong
post Dec 27 2008, 12:32 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(NFN @ Dec 27 2008, 12:12 PM)
willl it hurt my laptop?
No,bootcamp will work as well,if you dont want to buy it.
SUSmojoza
post Dec 28 2008, 12:16 AM

85 posts

bootcamp is better than runing on a windows PC as it is faster
blu3_apple
post Dec 28 2008, 12:16 AM

419 posts

Has anyone discussed on GTA4 for Macbook (2.0Ghz) (late 2008-aluminum body) running on Windows XP yet ?

I haven't seen any. Hmph.

This post has been edited by blu3_apple: Dec 28 2008, 12:18 AM
NFN
post Dec 28 2008, 08:45 PM

118 posts

sry for noob question...what is bootcamp?
ff8ong
post Dec 28 2008, 08:59 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(NFN @ Dec 28 2008, 08:45 PM)
sry for noob question...what is bootcamp?
pre-install in leopard....able you to install windows on apple mac.
http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bootcamp.html

This post has been edited by ff8ong: Dec 28 2008, 09:02 PM
NFN
post Dec 28 2008, 09:39 PM

118 posts

me use 2.0 ,160 gb de macbook nia...can support?
btw wanna ask oe question...sometimes i open my macbook one hours no hot......sometimes 30mins very hot...is this unnormal?
Shin1022
post Dec 29 2008, 01:02 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(NFN @ Dec 28 2008, 09:39 PM)
me use 2.0 ,160 gb de macbook nia...can support?
btw wanna ask oe question...sometimes i open my macbook one hours no hot......sometimes 30mins very hot...is this unnormal?
logically it is not normal....but still the temperature depends on the application and functions you used..
NFN
post Dec 29 2008, 01:06 AM

118 posts

hmm...i put it to sleep......den turn more hot duno why
SUSmojoza
post Dec 30 2008, 09:57 PM

85 posts

as long as your laptop doesnt blow up enough lah hehe
NFN
post Dec 30 2008, 11:41 PM

118 posts

sob....my laptop seem to be abit lag sometimes =.=ll
i though macbook wont lag de
ff8ong
post Dec 31 2008, 12:27 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(NFN @ Dec 30 2008, 11:41 PM)
Lag in bootcamp or Mac OS X?
david888
post Dec 31 2008, 12:35 AM

1,069 posts

Well, based on current OS Design and Apps Design compare to nowadays HDD data access rate, it's impossible no log issue.

This post has been edited by david888: Dec 31 2008, 12:36 AM
myxery
post Dec 31 2008, 08:29 AM

Oro?!
904 posts

make sure u properly closed unused apps, not just by clicking 'x' symbol. When the apps properly closed, the blue light underneath the dock icon will be off. Furthermore if u frequently minimize windows (too many windows) it will lag ur system too..

This post has been edited by myxery: Dec 31 2008, 08:30 AM
NFN
post Dec 31 2008, 11:18 PM

118 posts

lag in mac OS X....just bought havent one week nia T.T
ff8ong
post Jan 1 2009, 12:44 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(NFN @ Dec 31 2008, 11:18 PM)
lag in mac OS X....just bought havent one week nia T.T
I think you really need more tutorial about how to use Mac,not to say anything but is advise.
Since Apple official website provide so many video tutorial....why dont you have a look....will learn alot.
NFN
post Jan 1 2009, 02:21 AM

118 posts

how to find? -.-ll i really duno
dumb in mac os
blu3_apple
post Jan 2 2009, 05:40 AM

419 posts

Then don't use ! I find him annoying, this thread is for gaming results.

Well has anyone tested GTA4 on macbook Yet ?
allvin
post Jan 2 2009, 09:22 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(NFN @ Jan 1 2009, 02:21 AM)
how to find? -.-ll i really duno
dumb in mac os
here you go
http://tinyurl.com/72mnbf

yawn.gif
cRazYee
post Jan 2 2009, 10:32 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(presto86 @ Dec 25 2008, 01:17 PM)
Currently testing Macbook 2.4Ghz - Aluminium (9400M),

Crysis - Low Detail, may lag even at DX9 (anyway... at low detail, u must as well play FarCry 1) 15FPS max
Crysis Warhead v1.1 (Couldn't install[keep getting error, Crysis doesn't support integrated] - Original one of coz)
COD4 - Mixture of high & medium (No AA) 35FPS max
Need for Speed Pro Street - Have to turn off the smoke and AA 30FPS max
Need for Speed Undercover - The only thing nice about the graphics is Maggie Q in the video clips, EA's fault. Not the MB.
Prince of Persia 2008 - Medium settings 28FPS max
Tomb Raider Legend - Full Detail 42FPS max
Tomb Raider Anniversary - Medium & High (No AA) 23FPS max
Tomb Raider Underworld - Couldn't make it even with medium graphics 18FPS max @ Medium
Far Cry 2 - Holy Shit, africa doesn't have trees and grass (low & medium detail) 17FPS max

If you are thinking of gaming with those Games i listed above. Please consider getting a desktop PC with a C2D 2.33ghz above & a decent 9600GT GPU or higher or get a Macbook Pro.

you this mr hunger!
sure still stick over there.

give you MacPro also tak cukup la
SUSmojoza
post Jan 2 2009, 12:22 PM

85 posts

You must firstly know that the Macbook is for normal usage only and Macbook Pro is for gaming and working.

Added on January 2, 2009, 12:23 pmYou are a Mac reseller also dunno meh? O_o

This post has been edited by mojoza: Jan 2 2009, 12:23 PM
dinodog_Jr
post Jan 3 2009, 12:19 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Presto was providing more details in each latest welcomed games within new macbook's nvidia chip performance.

The Framerate is good to imagine how smooth the game can running with the machine.

The conclusion is to let future's macbook potential buyer understand more instead of nagging bout the nvidia performance after purchasing.

It is a piece of helpful advise in better off buying a Pc laptop with cheaper price and better graphic card. Only If you are well-consider yourself as a mobile gamer.

Rm4799 can get quite a good spec pc laptop as we know it.

Getting a desktop for high-standard gaming experience is another advise for those belongs to Pro Gamer's world.

These are more accurate & trustable information than what we can survey through youtube videos.

Just Keep updating the gaming performance if you guys are at Freetime..

hee...

SUSmojoza
post Jan 3 2009, 09:04 PM

85 posts

yeap you are right bro.But most importantly is that you buy for the quality of interial and external designs too
LunaCry
post Jan 4 2009, 10:58 AM

281 posts

if wanna play game why buy macbook at the 1st place??? Lag i notice also sometimes but its only when programs is opening , after it is opened there would be no lag issue anymore... enjoy ur macbook! icon_rolleyes.gif
naq_saviola
post Jan 4 2009, 04:08 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 2 2009, 10:22 AM)
hey, how u did the intro?
very funny man laugh.gif
teach me tongue.gif
Josephph
post Jan 8 2009, 02:59 PM

145 posts

macbook pro 8600m GT graphics is better than new macbook alu 9400m right?
dvlzplayground
post Jan 11 2009, 05:22 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yes 8600GT is better than 9400M. I also have a question tho. My 2006 MBP may be dying on me soon so i kinda have my eyes on the entry-level aluminium macbook for now. ive done some research and i got the impression that the 9400M performs better than the 128MB radeon X1600. is this true for games? i know it wont run the latest games, but i only wanna play CS source n UT3 anyway. my PS3 gets to handle the big stuff tongue.gif (cant wait for GT5!)

also, since snow leopard will feature OpenCL (which the 9400M supports on top of CUDA i think), then the new macbook would benefit a lot from snow leopard as compared to my MBP's X1600. the new macbook is also 64-bit compared to my aging Core Duo.

so, aluminium macbook > 2006 macbook pro? anyone agree/disagree? screen size and firewire issues aside of course

Added on January 13, 2009, 1:58 pmi dont mean to be rude, but could anyone enlighten me? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jan 13 2009, 01:58 PM
SUSmojoza
post Jan 31 2009, 09:47 PM

85 posts

8600GT is 55% faster than 9400M
terencetoo
post Jan 31 2009, 10:10 PM

3,246 posts

so now the trend is 9600 > 8600 > 9400~ am i right?
dvlzplayground
post Feb 1 2009, 01:59 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

Yep!

Was playing Quake 4 (Mac) on my 9600 just now. I know it's an old game, but it's my first time playing any game smoothly at native 1440 x 900 resolution haha! High quality summore (Ultra quality need 512 MB VRAM...i only have 256 so it wont let me)~

Also tested out a little video conversion. 9400 & 9600 got around the same time. but its just around 8 short videos though, not exactly a thorough test mind you ;p
rawn
post Feb 12 2009, 12:06 AM

148 posts

sorry for bringing up such an old topic but i didn't want to create a new thread just for a small question; i just need to know if there's any feedback for those of you who're using a MB 2.4 al to play Left 4 Dead. is it smooth?
hapa
post Feb 12 2009, 12:12 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

is it the game lag?? and the sound seem stuck?
rawn
post Feb 12 2009, 09:38 AM

148 posts

@hapa, if you're asking me, i have no idea as i myself have not tried playing L4D on the MB.

just thought of asking here before i decided to purchase windows xp and the L4D cd.
hapa
post Feb 12 2009, 12:30 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(rawn @ Feb 12 2009, 09:38 AM)
@hapa, if you're asking me, i have no idea as i myself have not tried playing L4D on the MB.

just thought of asking here before i decided to purchase windows xp and the L4D cd.
ic.. i tot u are hving prob... i think mb should handle it no prob... maybe not high setting..
dvlzplayground
post Feb 12 2009, 06:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

currently playing Dead Space at native resolution (1440x900). going smooth smile.gif damn haha this is enjoyable!

also tried Unreal Tournament 3 at native reso. the settings cant really remember but i think full for both texture detail and world detail. very smooth except for that one map got 'portals' where u can go from space, jungle, snowy place map. 4got the name

fan running really fast tho
kalosneri
post Feb 12 2009, 07:18 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 1 2009, 01:59 AM)
Yep!

Was playing Quake 4 (Mac) on my 9600 just now. I know it's an old game, but it's my first time playing any game smoothly at native 1440 x 900 resolution haha! High quality summore (Ultra quality need 512 MB VRAM...i only have 256 so it wont let me)~

Also tested out a little video conversion. 9400 & 9600 got around the same time. but its just around 8 short videos though, not exactly a thorough test mind you ;p
why not you playing Left 4 dead Mac version?

dvlzplayground
post Feb 12 2009, 10:03 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i normally play 1 game at a time tongue.gif now still wanna play dead space hehe... after that mebe will try left 4 dead smile.gif
rawn
post Feb 12 2009, 10:59 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(kalosneri @ Feb 12 2009, 07:18 PM)
why not you playing Left 4 dead Mac version?
er.. there's no left 4 dead mac version.

SUShealthfirst
post Feb 12 2009, 11:11 PM

13 posts

most new games can be played on the new MB and MBP so no worries lah
kalosneri
post Feb 13 2009, 12:55 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(rawn @ Feb 12 2009, 10:59 PM)
er.. there's no left 4 dead mac version.
yes, there is no official left 4 dead mac version, but there is a cider port version.

The first 3 images taken from other forum, and the last image is the preview from my mekbuk pro.

rawn
post Feb 13 2009, 10:34 AM

148 posts

eh? kalosneri, explain cider port please?
pmsoo
post Feb 13 2009, 11:37 AM

374 posts

cider is similar to crossover.they are both meant to play Windows games on Mac.

Crossover is limited to less games than cider i think. I have crossover but not used at all (No games tongue.gif)

FYI;Crossover method for L4D is only through Steam at the moment, Not sure about cider but kalosneri seem to be able run it tongue.gif

kalosneri, how much did u pay for cider?
rawn
post Feb 13 2009, 01:11 PM

148 posts

ah that's even better. i have not heard of this cider and crossover before so thanks for the heads up!

now all i need to do is to purchase crossover and the L4D cd.

definitely a relief knowing now i do not have to install windows os on my mb just for L4D.

This post has been edited by rawn: Feb 13 2009, 01:11 PM
pmsoo
post Feb 13 2009, 02:33 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(rawn @ Feb 13 2009, 01:11 PM)
ah that's even better. i have not heard of this cider and crossover before so thanks for the heads up!

now all i need to do is to purchase crossover and the L4D cd.

definitely a relief knowing now i do not have to install windows os on my mb just for L4D.
As i mentioned above,

As far as L4D is concerned, Crossover uses Steam account so you will need to purchase via Steam and not a physical disc.
On the bright side, most games there are cheap. Especially the bundles (TF2 FTW) smile.gif
http://store.steampowered.com/

Check out the other games supported by crossover
http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxgames/

This post has been edited by pmsoo: Feb 13 2009, 02:37 PM
rawn
post Feb 13 2009, 05:11 PM

148 posts

@pmsoo, noted. sorry for the oversight.
kalosneri
post Feb 13 2009, 05:42 PM

75 posts

sorry for the late reply, previously i installed the L4D game but don't have time to test it. I downloaded the game from internet, not purchased it. if you want to know which website to download, pm me, but to download the file u need to have rapidshare premium.
HuorEarfalas
post Feb 14 2009, 09:33 AM

382 posts

L4D runs smoothly in my 2.8GHz MBP.

FOR my case, I need an active cooling pad whenever I game. Otherwise, my MBP will hit black screen of death.
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 14 2009, 11:55 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

aiks... i cannot try games yet.. i am still stucking in finding a way to make 2nd partition for gaming in bootcamp XP..

Anyone care to help me here?! i had done wif my strength over here.

thanx first.

dvlzplayground
post Feb 14 2009, 12:11 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Feb 14 2009, 09:33 AM)
L4D runs smoothly in my 2.8GHz MBP.

FOR my case, I need an active cooling pad whenever I game. Otherwise, my MBP will hit black screen of death.
wow how come until black screen???

im also considering an active cooling pad. probably the one from zalman. any recommedations? or shud i juz buy the cheap china ones?
hapa
post Feb 14 2009, 12:24 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

don buy the zalman.. not suitable for mbp....
i'm using zalman 1000, mbp gpu is on the upper left but unfortunately the zalman cooling pad only able to hit the mbp front part, so no use and not worth it. U will easily get black screen of death!!
the only good side of zalman is, it run quietly.. u not even noe it is running!!

try consider other cooling pad, or u can try what i do now, jz buy a cheap usb stand fan tat cost about 20 bucks and use it when gaming by pointing the fan to left part of mbp near the upper left keyboard. Do bear in mind the stand fan is strong but it is very loud. So, i only use it when i'm gaming. Good side, u wont feel the keyboard is hot anymore smile.gif

If u guys wanna try black screen of death, jz try boot up windows and quickly launch any gpu intensive game such as farcry 2 , crysis... then u will noe smile.gif
the temp for gpu goes up too fast, and the fan speed is unable to catch up so u will get what u wan.. lol...

what i do is, booting up windows and leave in about 15 min b4 start gaming...

This post has been edited by hapa: Feb 14 2009, 12:30 PM
dvlzplayground
post Feb 14 2009, 09:18 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

oh true oso...didnt think of fan position tongue.gif. cooling pads are out then...hahaha

wow haha never encountered that b4 but then i dun play crysis n farcry 2 yet. how smooth can it run?
hapa
post Feb 14 2009, 09:23 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 14 2009, 09:18 PM)
oh true oso...didnt think of fan position tongue.gif. cooling pads are out then...hahaha

wow haha never encountered that b4 but then i dun play crysis n farcry 2 yet. how smooth can it run?
er... nv try crysis... farcry 2 all medium setting, no AA... playable frame rate..
i will try gv u more detail later...
any recommended games??

This post has been edited by hapa: Feb 14 2009, 09:24 PM
hapa
post Feb 15 2009, 04:41 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

Farcry 2
Resolution 1280 x 800
General Performance all on high setting...
Advance options all on medium setting.
No AA
No vsync
Driver version 181.20 from laptopvideo2go

max about 45 fps
average about 35 - 40 fps
min about 20 fps

some one who noe more about vsync try explain in here, i would like to noe more... jz noe it should be disable when benchmarking.. thx

This post has been edited by hapa: Feb 15 2009, 04:47 PM
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 15 2009, 05:43 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

i tried DUAL CARD in COD 5... it works wor..

But i haven't spent time to check on the detail.. i just move around the battle scene for 2 mins.. It is so extremely smooth.. and high detail.

Issit All Game can only running at 1280x800 in mbp?

Prince of Persia 4 very lagging when set to 1440x900.
hapa
post Feb 15 2009, 06:51 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Feb 15 2009, 05:43 PM)
i tried DUAL CARD in COD 5... it works wor..

But i haven't spent time to check on the detail.. i just move around the battle scene for 2 mins.. It is so extremely smooth.. and high detail.

Issit All Game can only running at 1280x800 in mbp?

Prince of Persia 4 very lagging when set to 1440x900.
what u mean by DUAL CARD??? Sli??? nv play COD5 b4
but i think COD5 requirement is lower than farcry2.. crysis > farcry2 > COD5

Of coz can run at native resolution, but maybe will lag or not so smooth..

This post has been edited by hapa: Feb 15 2009, 06:52 PM
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 16 2009, 02:09 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

There is a option to choose Dual Cards in the Graphics Setting.

Darn it.. I wanna install Crysis from friend. But friend all said Farcry 2 more fun.

hapa
post Feb 16 2009, 11:02 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

yep... i would say farcry2 is better than crysis too..
maybe u can try fallout 3 too, more fun compare with farcry2 and crysis..
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 16 2009, 04:17 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Yeah man.. how can i forgot FALLOUT 3... my friend playing in the office.

THe GFX is eye-popping.. I should do that~..

How bout dead space in your view? I like the graphics too... Not sure about gameplay.

hapa
post Feb 16 2009, 04:35 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

sorry, nv play dead space b4... anyone else played?? how the game?
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 19 2009, 11:12 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

hi, when i moved the cursors at Menu inside Crysis. THe sound will "pop" and gone...After that, no more sound in game and cinematic cut-scene.

But by using mouse to control the cursor can refrain this sound issue.

Anyone having this issue in Crysis?

I felt the sound driver for Bootcamp is not stable.. I can hear "cracking" sound from music sometimes.

Like running too many applications at the same time.

However i didn't.
hapa
post Feb 19 2009, 11:44 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

hv u upgrade ur bootcamp driver? if not mistaken, latest is 2.1..
try upgrade and see will it solve ur prob
ZhaoYun
post Feb 19 2009, 04:14 PM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

Tried Takut Dua, quite smooth with "Auto Adjust" and native resolution. But when hantu keluar, will lag a bit.
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 25 2009, 06:59 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Feb 19 2009, 11:44 AM)
hv u upgrade ur bootcamp driver? if not mistaken, latest is 2.1..
try upgrade and see will it solve ur prob
I updated to 2.1 already. It gave me the right click with two fingers. That's the obvious i can feel.

(One thing is don't get the 2xx mb from the apple.com, it will make your bootcamp failed to load at taskbar after that. THen you need reinstall the bootcamp to get that auto-launch back).

SO far happend in Crysis & Dead Space with dissapearing sound while using touchpad.

For others game like L4D and COD 5. THe sound & GFX just fine & superb.

I had spent two nites to figure how to play Dead Space without Blank Screen.

It can actually playing at high detail + 1440x900. But after walking around like 5 sec, the screen went blank in a sudden. Sometimes can still hear the sound.

Yesterday i tried low setting, it can pretty smooth. But missing alot of detail. Potong steam lor. I hope to study the textures & artwork more in define.

Issit Overheat in GPU card causing the blank Screen? I don't know the standard safety celcius of GPU card for a laptop.

Before i enter the game, i checked the GPU temp is around 70 to 72 celcius.

Issit Safety to play game with this temp?

Btw, i am using Everest software to check the temp. tongue.gif
hapa
post Feb 25 2009, 07:21 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Feb 25 2009, 06:59 PM)
I updated to 2.1 already. It gave me the right click with two fingers. That's the obvious i can feel.

(One thing is don't get the 2xx mb from the apple.com, it will make your bootcamp failed to load at taskbar after that. THen you need  reinstall the bootcamp  to get that auto-launch back).

SO far happend in Crysis & Dead Space with dissapearing sound while using touchpad.

For others game like L4D and COD 5. THe sound & GFX just fine & superb.

I had spent two nites to figure how to play Dead Space without Blank Screen.

It can actually playing at high detail + 1440x900. But after walking around like 5 sec, the screen went blank in a sudden. Sometimes can still hear the sound.

Yesterday i tried low setting, it can pretty smooth. But missing alot of detail. Potong steam lor. I hope to study the textures & artwork more in define.
Issit Overheat in GPU card causing the blank Screen? I don't know the standard safety celcius of GPU card for a laptop.

Before i enter the game, i checked the GPU temp is around 70 to 72 celcius.

Issit Safety to play game with this temp?

Btw, i am using Everest software to check the temp. tongue.gif
ya, the blank screen is black screen of death becoz of gpu overheat.. u hv to manually restart the mac to slove tat.
as i say b4 try warmup ur mb b4 start gaming, to let the fan speed up.
Yep, mine reach around 70 - 80C with max fan rpm. kinda scare huh?? as long as don hit 90 to 100C should be safe..
ur drive version??

2xx, what is tat?

dinodog_Jr
post Feb 26 2009, 12:28 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

I won't start a game straight away from a cold machine. So far, only this dead space encountered serious issue.

ooh.. i think is around 250mb for the boot camp installer.. err..u can check apple.com

I just installed to see whether can fix the sound driver.

Haha.. Anyway no need to test anymore.

My machine couldn't booting now. Haha..i can take a break to explore anything at the moment.

hapa
post Feb 26 2009, 01:36 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Feb 26 2009, 12:28 AM)
I won't start a game straight away from a cold machine. So far, only this dead space encountered serious issue.

ooh.. i think is around 250mb for the boot camp installer.. err..u can check apple.com

I just installed to see whether can fix the sound driver.

Haha.. Anyway no need to test anymore.

My machine couldn't booting now. Haha..i can take a break to explore anything at the moment.
ic.. but i hear b4 the bootcamp driver from apple.com cant install for the unbody mb and mbp. only the bootcamp come from the cd can.

couldnt boot? what happen?
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 26 2009, 12:00 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

dunno man. it should be another leopard bug.. haha.. I read from forum.

And i done the remove battery + press Power on for 10 seconds from the manual. It couldn't revive the machine.

It just happend yesterday when i want to turn on the machine after work at home.

I can tell u that i spent most of time to fix this & that. Not enjoying the machine pretty much..

Aiks..... Sending to check today. Just around 2 weeks old. Dunno can get a new one for replacement?!..

How those guys have new unit as replacement.. Wondering.
hapa
post Feb 26 2009, 12:40 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Feb 26 2009, 12:00 PM)
dunno man. it should be another leopard bug.. haha.. I read from forum.

And i done the remove battery + press Power on for 10 seconds from the manual. It couldn't revive the machine.

It just happend yesterday when i want to turn on the machine after work at home.

I can tell u that i spent most of time to fix this & that. Not enjoying the machine pretty much..

Aiks..... Sending to check today. Just around 2 weeks old. Dunno can get a new one for replacement?!..

How those guys have new unit as replacement.. Wondering.
maybe u get a faulty unit?? maybe u will hv a replacement?? tongue.gif

act i would say osx is much more difficult to fix thing compare with window.. much much more harder...

1 thing i found very weird is, the way it uninstall app... jz throw into trash?? are u kidding?? how about other files tat maybe left over and u dono?? i noe u can hv some app such as Appcleaner to help uninstall it but is it safe?? if unluckily u deleted some important files then ur mac will nv boot d... lol...
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 28 2009, 06:54 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Yeah, i was in nowhere when i first try to install application. Some of them is running to install. Some just drag and drop applications into the folder.

i figure it out anway.

Haha, i downloaded the Lynda Mac Leopard video tutorial to study now.

I think i have a very bad unit. It is panic lar since this is my first expensive gadget that i planning so long. And my first time in Mac OS X.

So whatever happend, i will feel like.. "Blank" ...haha..

It is not like XP. Unless i know what happend in the hardware or software bugs.

My mom asked my sister where is my apple this morning. Nobody could believe my machine so new & die so fast.

Do you think it is possible they giving me a "Refurbished" or "Already Opened package"?

But the staff got using blade to cut opened the box in front of me.

Added on March 18, 2009, 9:48 amanyone into Dead Space so far?

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Mar 18 2009, 09:48 AM
Balla90
post Apr 24 2009, 10:36 AM

Hello All then LYN users...

Im planning to buy a MacBook soon..

Before that, can anyone of you sharing with me your experience of playing games on MacBook.

I mean the latest Alu Macbook..

Cuz I wan to know whether MacBook is suitable for gaming or not.. Especially dota!!

Can the Macbook used for playing Window's games? any critical error happen before when you used it to run EXE's files?

And will the games smoothe when you playoing it?? rclxub.gif

Please share anything of ur experience with MacBook with me. Thanks Thanks..
Your comments are very important for me ><

smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

Thx..
yukhim
post Apr 24 2009, 10:44 AM

176 posts

Mac book alu can support all the latest high end game for now.
No worries for dota=D
Just that it will get a real hot on the left side of your macbook cause that's where all the important stuff of the mac is located.

Other than that,everything is good to go.
If you want to play dota,i think you might need another keyboard for the hotkeys?
Or you can get dota warkey =X

Cheers.
Balla90
post Apr 24 2009, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(yukhim @ Apr 24 2009, 10:44 AM)
Mac book alu can support all the latest high end game for now.
No worries for dota=D
Just that it will get a real hot on the left side of your macbook cause that's where all the important stuff of the mac is located.

Other than that,everything is good to go.
If you want to play dota,i think you might need another keyboard for the hotkeys?
Or you can get dota warkey =X

Cheers.
Thx for your comments, guy.. Love you ^^
Anymore comments and feedback from current MacBook User??
chingwooi
post Apr 24 2009, 12:43 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

You know that Mac can't run .exe file right? Mac OS only supports .dmg files and there's no GG for Mac smile.gif So if you want to run .exe files. you'll hv to install a fresh copy of windows via bootcamp.
hapa
post Apr 24 2009, 01:09 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

there is a thread about this adi...

This post has been edited by hapa: Apr 24 2009, 01:10 PM
ff8ong
post Apr 24 2009, 01:15 PM

2,550 posts

After perform all the clean install and you should update to latest DirectX9 and Nvidia driver.
The one come with bootcamp driver is kinda old version.

Here is what i get,using Windows XP SP3,2GB ddr3.

COD4 > Average 30-40 fps,With 2XAA.

NFS carbon > No problem at all,no worry.

Left4 dead > Either you lower resolution or off AA.It run smoothly with 2gb ram.

This is just some example to let you know how was the Nvidia 9400 work,i going to install more
latest game and see how it work. rolleyes.gif
hapa
post Apr 24 2009, 02:00 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Apr 24 2009, 01:15 PM)
After perform all the clean install and you should update to latest DirectX9 and Nvidia driver.
The one come with bootcamp driver is kinda old version.

Here is what i get,using Windows XP SP3,2GB ddr3.

COD4 > Average 30-40 fps,With 2XAA.

NFS carbon > No problem at all,no worry.

Left4 dead > Either you lower resolution or off AA.It run smoothly with 2gb ram.

This is just some example to let you know how was the Nvidia 9400 work,i going to install more
latest game and see how it work. rolleyes.gif
bro, all setting high?
ff8ong
post Apr 24 2009, 02:17 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Apr 24 2009, 02:00 PM)
bro, all setting high?
COD4 have to off shadows.Because on AA look much better.Actually already install GTA4,havent change setting just play
straight away,feel laggy.But because some reason i uninstall it.Will install back and change setting see can play or not.

In another word,my left4dead, i change the resolution on the games setting,but since like no
different at all interm of gameplay.So is kinda weird.

This post has been edited by ff8ong: Apr 24 2009, 03:02 PM
ahblu3
post Apr 25 2009, 08:46 AM

157 posts

2.0 Alu MB, I only play Mac games. Most of it running smooth with 1280X800, Anti Aliasing 2X.

Well I suppose screenshots speak louder than words. LOL

Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (1280X800 AA off)

Flatout2

Diablo II: Lord of Destruction

This post has been edited by ahblu3: Apr 25 2009, 08:50 AM
ahblu3
post Apr 25 2009, 08:50 AM

157 posts

Age of Empire III: The Asian Dynasties

Spore (1280x800, all in-game graphic settings medium)

This post has been edited by ahblu3: Apr 26 2009, 04:46 PM
ahblu3
post Apr 25 2009, 08:51 AM

157 posts

World of Goo (no setting can be adjust)

Colin McRae Rally Mac (1280x800 AA 2x in-game graphic setting all on)

This post has been edited by ahblu3: Apr 26 2009, 07:44 AM
ahblu3
post Apr 25 2009, 08:54 AM

157 posts

ToCA Race Driver 3 (1280x800, AA 2x, in-game graphic setting all on)

Cheers. Sorry Mod I cannot combine the posts together bcoz it says images posted exceed limit.

This post has been edited by ahblu3: Apr 26 2009, 07:39 AM
hapa
post Apr 25 2009, 02:40 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

ahblu3... act the pic kinda useless.. we need framerates.. and ur setting
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 26 2009, 01:00 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Can you try Crysis & Dead Space?!

the trackpad can mute the game sound... Wanna see issit happend over your machine.

nVidiaFX
post Apr 26 2009, 01:47 PM

you can't handle the truth.
4,880 posts

Where do you get the mac games?
terencetoo
post Apr 26 2009, 09:04 PM

3,246 posts

think those games can get via epi i seen tons of it smile.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 27 2009, 02:42 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

I am going to try PS2 games ....!

Hope it works!...haa
hapa
post Apr 27 2009, 06:34 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

Need For Speed: Undercover

Uni MBP 2.4ghz, 2gm ddr3, 256mb 9600m GT
Setting: All High
Resolution: 1440x900
AA: Off
Texture Filtering: Bilinear

Framerates
max: 47
average: 30 - 35
min: 24

soon will post FEAR 2

This post has been edited by hapa: Apr 27 2009, 06:36 PM
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 28 2009, 09:30 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Uni MBP 2.4ghz, 3gb ddr3, 256mb 9600m GT
Setting: Medium
1024x768 (Recommended)

I tried the burnout PC version. Pretty Cool Graphic.
Have to set into Medium Standard else it will crash to desktop during rushing street.

And it heat up the machine really fast.

Just wondering why there is no QUIT button for the game. I using Alt+F4 to terminate the game instead.

Luckily, the Gameplay will be auto-save just like what we got from PS2.

--------------------------------------------------------------
PCSX 2 .0.9.6

Title : Kingdom Hearts 2

Looks smooth & crispy clear than on TV.

Title : SHadow of Colossus

Status : So far Playable. A little graphic chopping and lagging when Giant Boss appear.(Tested on 1st Boss only).

Will try the full gaming experience once i manage to get a controller. Playing with keyboard is crippling the game.

Coming soon... Zone of the Enders 2.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Apr 28 2009, 09:35 AM
dvlzplayground
post Apr 28 2009, 07:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 26 2009, 01:00 AM)
Can you try Crysis & Dead Space?!

the trackpad can mute the game sound... Wanna see issit happend over your machine.
dead space runs good. i dun remember wut settings but pretty high la. cant access my bootcamp for some reason right now tongue.gif

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 28 2009, 09:30 AM)
Uni MBP 2.4ghz, 3gb ddr3, 256mb 9600m GT
Setting: Medium
1024x768 (Recommended)

I tried the burnout PC version. Pretty Cool Graphic.
Have to set into Medium Standard else it will crash to desktop during rushing street.

And it heat up the machine really fast.

Just wondering why there is no QUIT button for the game. I using Alt+F4 to terminate the game instead.

Luckily, the Gameplay will be auto-save just like what we got from PS2.

lol burnout paradise port forgot to put exit button? tongue.gif anyway thx for the burnout review, was thinking of getting it. i guess having to play only at 1024 reso is a bummer sad.gif

Added on April 28, 2009, 7:33 pmforgot to mention. im playing dead space at 1440x900

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Apr 28 2009, 07:33 PM
terencetoo
post Apr 28 2009, 08:48 PM

3,246 posts

does your MBP really get "hottie" really fast? i mean using 9600 graphic card to run those games...

is 2G sufficient enough for most of the games mentioned above?

Wish i could get my hand on Diablo III too bad is isn't here yet biggrin.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Apr 28 2009, 09:42 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 28 2009, 07:33 PM)
dead space runs good. i dun remember wut settings but pretty high la. cant access my bootcamp for some reason right now tongue.gif
lol burnout paradise port forgot to put exit button? tongue.gif anyway thx for the burnout review, was thinking of getting it. i guess having to play only at 1024 reso is a bummer sad.gif

Added on April 28, 2009, 7:33 pmforgot to mention. im playing dead space at 1440x900
Hmm, did you using Mouse to play dead space? Had you try using trackpad swimming around at the main menu or in-game?
If i did this, i will get the sound muted. And have to restart the game.

I tried played Fallout 3 with trackpad. It is so much stable. But i not yet out of the baby room. Haha.. feel no mood to explore so much games.

Anyway, i can play it at 1440 x 900 too. Just i feel not much difference in textures details.. I will get a little speed bumping if i set to medium setting.

U know lar.. Crazy lar ..when multiples creatures flash to me. You have to rotate the camera faster.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Apr 28 2009, 09:44 PM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Apr 28 2009, 10:42 PM

1,396 posts

spore and world of goo looks great. never expected the graphics card to be that pristine. must get a copy of spore or world of goo soon.
hapa
post Jun 11 2009, 12:54 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

FEAR 2 PROJECT ORIGIN
Spec: 2.4ghz, 2gb ram, 9600m gt 256mb (macbook pro)
Video driver: 185.85

Setting all high, no AA (1280 x 800)
max: about 70 fps
average 45-50 fps
min: 30 fps

smooth gameplay, enjoyable. The game is not bad, rate 8/10. u will encounter some keyboard key arranging prob, as mac keyboard is not the same as windows keyboard (example, control is not on the left down corner but is the fn key)

i encounter 3 times system freeze without any warning since i installed windows 7, not sure what is the prob. overheat? OS prob?? cant figure it out... it jz freeze and u hv manually restart it. Should be no related with the game FEAR2, anyone encounter this b4?? using windows 7 64bit, will it bcoz of ram? coz i only hv 2gb ram.

This post has been edited by hapa: Jun 11 2009, 12:57 AM
LunaCry
post Jun 11 2009, 09:52 PM

281 posts

Hey anybody heard of the bounce function in snow leopard where u press control den u can adjust the window size and rotate it around?
qilaf
post Jun 13 2009, 06:10 PM

213 posts

what about the GT card in the macbook pro 15' ?
can that handle the graphics?
dinodog_Jr
post Jul 5 2009, 09:11 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

ANyone successfully launch Bioshock in their unibody MB/MBP under XP?

shumaky
post Jul 5 2009, 11:24 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

any good free mmo besides Savage2.?
nVidiaFX
post Jul 13 2009, 04:51 AM

you can't handle the truth.
4,880 posts

As tittle i often use my late2008 unibody to play world of warcraft as observed after 1 hour or 45 mins of play
it usually hangs, symptoms are while in game the graphic seem to flicker flicker flick and finally hang and i need to reboot to play again
any pointers?
aizad02
post Jul 13 2009, 08:25 AM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

maybe wow is not fully compatible with mac lorr...or try to play other high graphic games,if it's still the same,maybe there's something wrong with ur graphic card.usually flicker n hang caused by overheating.
dinodog_Jr
post Jul 13 2009, 05:39 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

in XP bootcamp, during overheat.. Games will crashed instantly and back to desktop or computer black out completely..

SO far only two games i tested encountered issue like this more often.

dead space & burnout.

If using a USB fan to blow on the machine. the part near the LCD hinge on our left hand.

It seems to working nicely for at least 1 hour plus. I don't play game too long hours. So couldn't hundred percent sure it is allow for hours of game activities.

SOmetimes i really not sure issit the game installed issue. or some visual C++ stuff.. or any related to graphic card drivers..

I still cannot launch Itunes under XP in bootcamp.

p/s: i want to play bioshock... Now getting a demo version to test issit really my machine not supported.. Sounds ironically..haha..
I can play prototype at high res...Compare to desktop 8600M. the Machine still feels lagging a few fps.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Jul 13 2009, 05:41 PM
shumaky
post Jul 13 2009, 08:25 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Playing GuildWars.. left it so long time ago.. getting back to it now..
I just love it. Its on Win7 thou.
goodspeak
post Jul 21 2009, 01:48 PM

30 posts

Anyone had play Footbal manager on IMAC ? Im looking to buy the new IMAC but not very
sure wether it can run fm 2009 smothly.
ZhaoYun
post Jul 21 2009, 04:34 PM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Jul 13 2009, 08:25 AM)
maybe wow is not fully compatible with mac lorr...or try to play other high graphic games,if it's still the same,maybe there's something wrong with ur graphic card.usually flicker n hang caused by overheating.
WoW for OS X is has no problem at all in my Macbook Pro. Play straight for 6 hours and never encounter a freeze.
hapa
post Jul 22 2009, 05:22 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

latest game from me..

[PROTOTYPE]
Spec: 2.4ghz, 2gb ram, 9600m gt 256mb (macbook pro late 08)
Video driver: 185.85

Setting: all high, no AA
Resolution: 1280 x 720
Max: 64fps
Min: 16fps
Avg: 32fps

Game rate: 7/10 (quite same like GTA)

at last i solved the freezing problem i encounter as i mentioned a few post back. Nvidia jz release new nForce chipset driver for windows 7 64 bit, simply update the driver and my problem solve...

dinodog_Jr
post Jul 24 2009, 10:17 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

issit Vista much more better for intensive graphics gaming experience?!

I am using XP had quite alot of issues with a few games still.
Latest Realtek audio is probably the key issue to launch the game or crashed the game in mid way.

I cannot play Prototype now. It crashed right after finished loading the saved game. I had tried to switch to year 2007, year 2008 driver also failed attempt.

And Bioshock, i still couldn't have the Sound.. which spent me 2 weeks in google n trials... Haha... gosh....

I wonder Issit Apple laptop hardware got issue for graphical game?! Is PC laptop having issues to run any intensive Gfx games?!

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Jul 24 2009, 10:17 AM
basura
post Jul 26 2009, 05:53 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Jul 13 2009, 05:39 PM)
in XP bootcamp, during overheat.. Games will crashed instantly and back to desktop or computer black out completely..

SO far only two games i tested encountered issue like this more often.

dead space & burnout.
If using a USB fan to blow on the machine. the part near the LCD hinge on our left hand.

It seems to working nicely for at least 1 hour plus. I don't play game too long hours. So couldn't hundred percent sure it is allow for hours of game activities.

SOmetimes i really not sure issit the game installed issue. or some visual C++ stuff.. or any related to graphic card drivers..

I still cannot launch Itunes under XP in bootcamp. 

p/s: i want to play bioshock... Now getting a demo version to test issit really my machine not supported.. Sounds ironically..haha..
I can play prototype at high res...Compare to desktop 8600M. the Machine still feels lagging a few fps.
Wow, your Bootcamp really has problems. Bootcamp is essentially running native Windows, there shouldn't be any difference between XP on Dell and XP on Bootcamp in Mac.
But even the new Macbook Pros do that (crashing to desktop when its too hot), even gaming laptop does that. My Macbook crashes on certain games around the 3-5 hour mark (I usually play at night). When it crashes, I know i've had too much gaming, I wouldn't fret about the data lost cause fretting over it would just make me start the game back up tongue.gif. I actually like it when it overheats after 4 hours of gaming, it snaps me back out to reality. When it doesn't crash and goes on past my 6-7 hour gaming time (I play at night >_>), I usually don't go to sleep and suffer afterwards.
And games which focus on alot of CPU power crash more often, as Sims 3 crashes on me more than Overlord II, and Empire: Total War more than Street Fighter.
dinodog_Jr
post Jul 28 2009, 12:17 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

haha..i was tried to reinstall XP but i don;t know how to make it detect XP disc. then i stopped.

I had a few games which not allow to touch the trackpad at all cause it will
-Mute game sound completely. eg : Dead Space, Crysis, Ghostbuster..

Anyone had any similar occasions like me with the above games yet?(I seems to ask the same questions again n again. Wonder why no ppl playing Dead Space yet. this is one awesome games..haha)

p/s:
Ghostbuster can play at High Res when walking around. But it is recommend to lower down the resolution when catching the ghosts.

hapa
post Jul 28 2009, 12:27 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Jul 28 2009, 12:17 AM)
haha..i was tried to reinstall XP but i don;t know how to make it detect XP disc. then i stopped.

I had a few games which not allow to touch the trackpad at all cause it will
-Mute game sound completely. eg : Dead Space, Crysis, Ghostbuster..

Anyone had any similar occasions like me with the above games yet?(I seems to ask the same questions again n again. Wonder why no ppl playing Dead Space yet. this is one awesome games..haha)

p/s:
Ghostbuster can play at High Res when walking around. But it is recommend to lower down the resolution when catching the ghosts.
bro, more info about the mute sound? jz simply touch the trackpad while playing game?

how is the game ghostbuster? nice? might think to get it...
dinodog_Jr
post Jul 28 2009, 12:38 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Yeah, once loading into the game.. Just simply travelling your finger on the trackpad. Just a few seconds, the sound "pop" and went mute..

My solution is using mouse to play games. haha.

So far, got two games i can play without "sound muted", Prototype & COD 4.

Ghostbuster is quite difficult to catch the ghost. I played like 1 hour yesterday. I stopped already. Perhaps i haven't got the real trick to aim the ghost properly.

I am not a game pro anyway. I couldn't play Tribe with comfortable mood. So, you can know my patience in handling game controls.

I am more towards as a prototype's Alex ...haha.

i think if using Wii controller is much more fun with this Ghostbuster game.. hehe

Graphics is really good. I like the Ghost electronic bagpack they are carrying. Alot of details & mechanism animation in it.

But crazy installation space, it need 10 GB~~~!!! . take note. The loading duration also need a longer time compare to rest of the games i had tested so far.
[davey.havok]
post Jul 29 2009, 03:16 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(goodspeak @ Jul 21 2009, 01:48 PM)
Anyone had play Footbal manager on IMAC ? Im looking to buy the new IMAC but not very
sure wether it can run fm 2009 smothly.
I've played 12 seasons' worth of FM on my unibody MBP 15"

Never encountered a single problem before. Which means iMac should have no problems either.

This post has been edited by [davey.havok]: Jul 29 2009, 03:18 AM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Oct 21 2009, 02:38 AM

1,396 posts

QUOTE(ZhaoYun @ Jul 21 2009, 04:34 PM)
WoW for OS X is has no problem at all in my Macbook Pro. Play straight for 6 hours and never encounter a freeze.
do you think the 13" MB alu 2 gig hz would be able to support WOW? always wanted to play it, but my pc aint spectacular enough.

daydreaming
post Oct 21 2009, 08:26 AM

555 posts

mmm a stupid question... but if u guys play warcraft 3 or DOTA.... got right mouse click meh? tongue.gif the only reason i might use my mighty mouse is coz of dota tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Oct 21 2009, 10:33 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

memang got right mouse click what... ;p wanna play DOTA / warcraft3 using trackpad oso can...but sure kena pwn la hehe
siaukia
post Oct 21 2009, 10:43 AM

1,491 posts

seems like you guys runninggames on bootcamp mode

ever tried using parallels or other vm software?
i tried wc3 on parallels and the display doesn't adjust properly, that means if i use a high resolution it will be cropped, too small it will be in the center box.

sigh?
daydreaming
post Oct 21 2009, 02:36 PM

555 posts

mmmmmm got right mouse click on mighty mouse, in Mac OS X environment? o_O i click click n click also no response :| then my touchpad also i kena use 2 fingers click to make it a right click
elico
post Oct 21 2009, 04:02 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 21 2009, 02:36 PM)
mmmmmm got right mouse click on mighty mouse, in Mac OS X environment? o_O i click click n click also no response :| then my touchpad also i kena use 2 fingers click to make it a right click
apparently on mighty mouse.. when u doing right click u need to lift up the "left finger"... or only 1 finger touch on the right area to do the right click...
daydreaming
post Oct 21 2009, 04:52 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(elico @ Oct 21 2009, 04:02 PM)
apparently on mighty mouse.. when u doing right click u need to lift up the "left finger"... or only 1 finger touch on the right area to do the right click...
o_O sure or not? aiks. so cacat ?
elico
post Oct 21 2009, 05:28 PM

749 posts

i sure of it, tried myself and discover it... is not cacat.. is because mighty mouse use touch sensitive technology... so if u got a finger on left area, it will treat it as left click...
Kernkraft400
post Oct 21 2009, 05:42 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

I game on Windows, and uses Mac OSX for pretty much everything else smile.gif
davidmak
post Oct 21 2009, 10:58 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(elico @ Oct 21 2009, 04:02 PM)
Yeah that the weakness of using touch sensors to augment a single physical button into a two button thing. I wonder why do they re-invent the wheel. Why not just make a two button thing. Haha... Its like they admit Windows created right clicks and now that they need a right click to do context sensitive menus... but just don't wanna copy.

But still I like for a fact that touching the scroll ball while clicking would invoke the Expose (if you program it that way). Makes it easy to switch programs.
froztByte
post Oct 21 2009, 11:23 PM

I only play games on mac when im far from home.
I have XP on bootcamp and so far, Warcraft III,Dragonica Online,MapleSEA,Diablo ran fine
Kernkraft400
post Oct 21 2009, 11:30 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

I regularly play HALO on bootcamp with my friends. Playing FPS with Wireless Mighty Mouse does feel a little bit weird. I reckon it is engineered for web-surfing and other casual usages, and not for gaming.
daydreaming
post Oct 22 2009, 08:21 AM

555 posts

bootcamp comes with the OS installation cd? sorry, very new to mac. hahaha.
davidmak
post Oct 22 2009, 02:00 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:30 PM)
I regularly play HALO on bootcamp with my friends. Playing FPS with Wireless Mighty Mouse does feel a little bit weird. I reckon it is engineered for web-surfing and other casual usages, and not for gaming.
Ya, OSX seems to handle mousing a little different than on Windows. Its just not the same.

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 22 2009, 08:21 AM)
Yes, it comes pre-installed in SL as a built-in utility. Just run it to prep a partition and then you're good to go install Windows.
dinodog_Jr
post Oct 22 2009, 02:34 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

hi guys, i wanted to know whether Worldcraft 3 got Tower Defense level?

I surfed around mostly popped up it's only for PC version..

Can anyone shows me where to have the package?

thanx.
Kernkraft400
post Oct 22 2009, 09:49 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

You could try to contact Machines @KLCC or nearest branch to you. I am pretty sure, they have quite a mouthful of game collections for the mac. Or else, last resort is to bootcamp of course.
dvlzplayground
post Oct 23 2009, 01:09 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 22 2009, 08:21 AM)
the Boot Camp Assistant is installed when u install mac osx... its under applications > utilities. u need the OSX dvd after installing windows bcuz the drivers (for the gpu, sound, isight, bluetooth etc) are in the dvd
kwekeugene
post Oct 23 2009, 01:51 AM

1,479 posts

Anyone here tried PES 2010 on the 9400M? Playable in all high settings?
Kernkraft400
post Oct 23 2009, 02:13 AM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

I am not sure about PES 2010. But i tried FIFA 09' on the 9400M with bootcamp, and it goes considerably well with all high settings. Well, it is playable in short, with amazing detail. But it fell short, somehow somewhere, sometimes I could notice framerate issues, but it could be ignored, and its not a big deal, as it comes only sometimes during cutscenes, and heavy workload.
SUSitanium
post Oct 23 2009, 04:13 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

Runnin Atlantica Online in Bootcamp on a MacBook Pro4.1 2.4Ghz C2D/2Gb ram/ 8600M GT. Very smooth. Acceptable even when runnin winxp in VMware.
ginolo
post Oct 23 2009, 04:17 PM

Bugs Bunny running over that way!
1,359 posts

8600 or 9600?
davidmak
post Oct 23 2009, 09:44 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Oct 23 2009, 02:13 AM)
I am not sure about PES 2010. But i tried FIFA 09' on the 9400M with bootcamp, and it goes considerably well with all high settings. Well, it is playable in short, with amazing detail. But it fell short, somehow somewhere, sometimes I could notice framerate issues, but it could be ignored, and its not a big deal, as it comes only sometimes during cutscenes, and heavy workload.
Maybe you can try some newer version of the drivers from Nvidia? Some versions from Nvidia are sloppy.
dvlzplayground
post Dec 16 2009, 02:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

good news for those owning/getting iMac 27".

http://gizmodo.com/5427186/adapter-puts-bl...on-your-imac-27
dinodog_Jr
post Dec 16 2009, 03:29 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

sounds like i can play with laptop too?!...

Hopefully the price is not like RM300 ...

edit : Yes it can..It is designed for minidisplayport.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Dec 16 2009, 04:06 PM
dvlzplayground
post Dec 16 2009, 07:46 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

what do u mean can play with laptop too? play PS3/Xbox360 on macbook screen? for that im not sure since macbook miniDP port only for output
wei
post Dec 16 2009, 08:27 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Only for high end iMac can handle video in at the moment.
dvlzplayground
post Dec 16 2009, 09:11 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Dec 16 2009, 08:27 PM)
Only for high end iMac can handle video in at the moment.
yeah only 27"

btw why would some1 want to play hi-def gaming on 13/15/17" screen is beyond me tongue.gif
yeahs4.1
post Dec 17 2009, 01:28 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

anybody has experience in playing intensive graphic games in mac like COD4 (both mac and windows version) on MBP with external monitor, say 1920x1200?
wei
post Dec 17 2009, 02:32 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Which model of MBP to begin with? 3ghz with nvidia 9600?
I do play COD4:MW and COD:MW2, but not on MBP.

My laptop is for light work.
yeahs4.1
post Dec 17 2009, 04:27 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

2.53GHz with 9400m. it's reported to be running smooth in MBP 13 but i would wanna know if it can be smooth if it's fed to higher resolution monitor as mentioned
Getplaza
post Dec 17 2009, 10:45 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Dec 17 2009, 04:27 AM)
2.53GHz with 9400m. it's reported to be running smooth in MBP 13 but i would wanna know if it can be smooth if it's fed to higher resolution monitor as mentioned
some of the report said even the 9400m can play games on the MBP /window

dvlzplayground
post Dec 17 2009, 12:43 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Getplaza @ Dec 17 2009, 10:45 AM)
some of the report said even the 9400m can play games on the MBP /window
have to be specific which game oh... even diner dash considered as a game too ;p

3d accelerated graphics on 1920x1200 is not easy. i cant test though since i dont have the game nor a monitor big enough ;p

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Dec 17 2009, 12:44 PM
Getplaza
post Dec 17 2009, 01:46 PM

49 posts

Im waiting for the new MBP for 2010 .. ,

dinodog_Jr
post Dec 18 2009, 03:09 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

AIks,, my mistake....googled the image of the ports.

i tot that is MDP..

haha..thought i can connect thru laptop. Since i got secondary monitor for the console purpose..

Wish i can connect Wii to the MDP. It left there for months ...pity it.

destfull
post Dec 18 2009, 05:40 AM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Dec 17 2009, 02:32 AM)
Which model of MBP to begin with? 3ghz with nvidia 9600?
I do play COD4:MW and COD:MW2, but not on MBP.

My laptop is for light work.
ahhahahha, i tot mekbuk perut supposed to be for hard work... demm.. doh.gif
th3_glove20
post Dec 18 2009, 10:25 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

anybody tried with Left 4 Dead 2 on VMWARE??

0.1130sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:13 AM