iMac,Desktop,UnibodyMB & MBP Gamers Share Ur Exp!, Share with us your Mac gaming exp!!!

SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 04:15 PM, updated 17y ago

85 posts

I am about to buy a new entry level macbook and I am curious if it is able to play games like upcoming Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3.Have checked most videos in youtube.com on games like COD4, Crysis, Team Fortress 2 and Red Alert. They all seem to run above 30fps and only Crysis at 25fps. I am not a hardcore gamer like i used to anymore but just gonna play medium quality graphics with starcraft 2 which i dont think will take a lot of computer popular (starcraft and diablo require very low quality for slower comps). Please advice as I am going to be buying one this weekend! CanT wait !

This post has been edited by mojoza: Nov 24 2008, 05:01 PM
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 05:24 PM

85 posts

Please check youtube.com and type "macbook games" and you will see the performances.

Well I have PC and Mac, and i only play games once awhile so no need super strong computer.I guess i am getting old now hehe.

Why I prefer Mac is the build quality of macbook and OS X (HATE VISTA !! ALWAYS HANG!) .

PC laptops are ugly and cheap quality.....I was looking at BenQ S42 and Acer 5930G but ugly....and you know the feeling of buying another laptop which has the "same" feeling and looks?Its like why buy the same shiit again?
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 05:25 PM

85 posts

We are talking about the New Aluminium macbook not the white Macbook smile.gif
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 07:13 PM

85 posts

I am not planning to play any of those games anyway. I am just a strategy game player.I rather play with my PS3
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 08:30 PM

85 posts

Actually i thought of having laptop for work and desktop for gaming biggrin.gif another alternative is to buy Macbook Pro so i dont have to buy a desktop
SUSmojoza
post Nov 12 2008, 08:35 PM

85 posts

The Team Fortress 2 play very nicely in Macbook leh, check youtube
SUSmojoza
post Nov 14 2008, 12:30 AM

85 posts

oh well...seems like i am not a hardcore gamer so i do not mind just buy the entry level macbook unibody....I had too much problem with Vista that I have given up!
SUSmojoza
post Nov 16 2008, 02:13 AM

85 posts

Well Windows laptops are cheaper now averaging at RM 2800 some with integrated 3d card or basic ATI cards which are on par with the 9400M....however, their design are simple and using plastic makes the laptop looks cheap and ugly. Moreover, I am having too much headache with the Vista....always crash and stupid pop ups when you first on the bloody laptop! I believe Macbooks are much moer stable and able to serve for many years to come rather than PCs which average around 2-3 years of lives!
SUSmojoza
post Nov 16 2008, 11:03 PM

85 posts

im either buying Macbook Entry Level or Macbook Pro....since Macbook 2.4 not much different from Macbook Pro Entry level model....

Added on November 16, 2008, 11:04 pmI have tried playing Red Alert 3 on the Macbook 2.0.....You can play smoothly on medium! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mojoza: Nov 16 2008, 11:04 PM
SUSmojoza
post Nov 17 2008, 12:23 AM

85 posts

Seems like the new MacBook Entry can play most recent games biggrin.gif
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 01:24 AM

85 posts

I just bought the MBP instead!!! woohoo!!! l'm LOVING IT !!!
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 10:21 AM

85 posts

I bought it from SUnway Machine. It was the last unit ! biggrin.gif
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 12:32 PM

85 posts

the macbook and macbook pro both sold out most places....I actually wanted the 2.4 MacBook but oh well....I am very happy to have the MBP..Played Crysis and COD4...Smooth and playable biggrin.gif
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 03:46 PM

85 posts

once i am settled down with my mac I will show you guys! biggrin.gif
SUSmojoza
post Nov 19 2008, 06:23 PM

85 posts

new macbooks and macbook pros are good for gaming now trust me.I am enjoying it!
SUSmojoza
post Nov 22 2008, 05:09 PM

85 posts

I have been playing COD4 and Team Fortress at all high res and 2xAA...both runned at 30- 60fps !!! 30fps is when there are like 10 people fighting at once!
SUSmojoza
post Nov 22 2008, 06:06 PM

85 posts

okay I will try on the DMC4 and Fallout 3 biggrin.gif
SUSmojoza
post Nov 23 2008, 11:22 AM

85 posts

XP is much faster for sure.....i am using MBP btw, Tested Devil May Cry 4 yesterday at full details average around 30-35fps with around 10 or more units and details textured buildings! Against bosses will be around 45 to 55 fps!

Added on November 23, 2008, 11:23 amI have also tested the latest Need For Speed Undercover ran around 35fps almost full specs!

This post has been edited by mojoza: Nov 23 2008, 11:23 AM
SUSmojoza
post Nov 23 2008, 05:35 PM

85 posts

just use 30fps and reduce by 45% and you will know the performance
SUSmojoza
post Nov 23 2008, 06:19 PM

85 posts

depending what games you gonna play....let me know and I can let you know