Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Malaysia Import Duties

BobSponge
post Feb 23 2016, 10:30 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 10 2016, 03:55 PM)
If u buy from Amazon etc... their courier will settle the import tax for u. Your seller is a shop? Ask them to get such a courier?
Sorry noob question. Does this mean I don't have to pay any tax to kastam if I buy items from Amazon ? (Even expensive items up to RM1000-2000)? Amazon will settle it ?

BobSponge
post Feb 23 2016, 10:36 PM

51 posts

Hey guys

I checked the http://tariff.customs.gov.my/ web site. I tried to search for toys. I see two entry for the code 8504. One states 5% Tax and the other states NIL .. What does this mean?

I wanna buy the toys in the picture below. Which code should I use ? It is quite small. Probably the size of a cup.

This post has been edited by BobSponge: Feb 23 2016, 10:43 PM
KUROsaki23
post Feb 23 2016, 11:11 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(BobSponge @ Feb 23 2016, 10:36 PM)
Hey guys

I checked the http://tariff.customs.gov.my/ web site. I tried to search for toys. I see two entry for the code 8504. One states 5% Tax and the other states NIL .. What does this mean?

I wanna buy the toys in the picture below. Which code should I use ? It is quite small. Probably the size of a cup.
wow, u like funko pop too sir? did bluray get tax too?
MeToo
post Feb 24 2016, 10:54 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(BobSponge @ Feb 23 2016, 10:30 PM)
Sorry noob question. Does this mean I don't have to pay any tax to kastam if I buy items from Amazon ? (Even expensive items up to RM1000-2000)? Amazon will settle it ?
Under the frieght, Amazon alrdy collect certain amount under taxes jor.

I bought a 700 USD stuff from amazon (CIF value), reach my house no issue.
zkhin
post Feb 24 2016, 11:08 AM

184 posts

Hi. Im planning to buy Spigen iphone case from amazon which cost around 18 dollars. i checked the shipping will cost around 15 dollars, and this amount is only for global shipping fee and it shows 0 for estimated import fees deposit.

So my question is will it be taxed upon import? if i buy more units like 10 of them, will it be taxed as well? if it is taxed how much will it be roughly?

Calvin Seak
post Feb 24 2016, 12:44 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,446 posts

Dear all

Recently I bought a shoe from overseas and it came with free shipping

What I dont understand was the customs assumed the shipping price and put rm380 as from the picture below...

Can I argue with FEDEX and asked them to return my taxable amount?

The shoes costs only at RM390

BobSponge
post Feb 24 2016, 02:06 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 24 2016, 10:54 AM)
Under the frieght, Amazon alrdy collect certain amount under taxes jor.

I bought a 700 USD stuff from amazon (CIF value), reach my house no issue.
Oh okay. Thanks for the info! Didn't know about this. That would be very convenient since we don't have to deal with kastam. rclxm9.gif
darkdevilrey
post Feb 24 2016, 09:55 PM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 24 2016, 12:44 PM)
Dear all

Recently I bought a shoe from overseas and it came with free shipping

What I dont understand was the customs assumed the shipping price and put rm380 as from the picture below...

Can I argue with FEDEX and asked them to return my taxable amount?

The shoes costs only at RM390

this is 1 thing that i always dont understand and accept laugh.gif

but what to do

i think is the minimun freight charges formula, for them to calculate the total cost incurred ( assume no free shipping )

then taxable amount based on tax n gst

but heck, you no need to pay for the "illusion" freight charges wat
Porie
post Feb 27 2016, 03:00 PM

535 posts

Hi guys,

I recently encountered some problem with Malaysia customs but its mainly due to my mistake. Im from US and ship to malaysia via usps airmail with $150=Rm600 worth of cosmetics products to my friend. When it arrived in Malaysia, it was on hold at customs because they said My friend need check with the Pharmacy. They also advised me not to declare the cosmetics to the Pharmacy because they may confiscate the product and my friend have no other choice but to return it back to me and it is a huge letdown because I paid about $70 for shipping.

So my question is, is there any way I can avoid this problem in the future? Should I try different ways/company to deliver or should I deliver in small packages instead? Is there any limit on how much I cam bring to Malaysia? Thank you
Karweng_yong
post Mar 2 2016, 08:12 PM

28 posts

Hi, Everyone! May i know if i online purchase a whisky from Japan.
Assume the price is RM1500 Malaysia Ringgit. How much tax i need to pay?
heliozguard
post Mar 8 2016, 09:02 PM

287 posts

Planning to get a phone for 99 usd from china. Any chance it will go thru without the need of sirim or 100% stuck for sirim approval?
biatche
post Mar 9 2016, 11:11 AM

1,649 posts

hello i wanna order a watch from usa, 700 usd sent via dhl, what kinda tax are imposed on this?
biatche
post Mar 9 2016, 11:12 AM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(heliozguard @ Mar 8 2016, 09:02 PM)
Planning to get a phone for 99 usd from china. Any chance it will go thru without the need of sirim or 100% stuck for sirim approval?
my china phone was stolen by customs once.
biatche
post Mar 9 2016, 11:16 AM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(heliozguard @ Mar 8 2016, 09:02 PM)
heliozguard
post Mar 9 2016, 05:04 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 9 2016, 11:16 AM)
That is definitely worst than paying tax+ sirim... Make me reconsidering to import.
Fuuko Master
post Mar 9 2016, 05:32 PM

39 posts

Not sure where to ask, so I'll ask here.

I want to buy a keyboard/digital piano from Japan and my friend over there can ship it to me. Is there any form or certificate that I need to get first? I heard that for electrical products, I need some kind of certificate? Is that true?

EDIT: Just called kastam. They said only need to pay 6% GST. No need for any paperwork. Awesome.

This post has been edited by Fuuko Master: Mar 10 2016, 04:39 PM
b0rhui
post Mar 10 2016, 06:45 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 9 2016, 11:11 AM)
hello i wanna order a watch from usa, 700 usd sent via dhl, what kinda tax are imposed on this?
GST. Smartwatch? SIRIM as it is a bluetooth device nod.gif
cheryl15
post Mar 14 2016, 08:52 PM

62 posts

how many% tax for importing android media player such as nvidia shield TV or fire tv?
and also graphic card for computer~

This post has been edited by cheryl15: Mar 14 2016, 10:56 PM
skloda
post Mar 17 2016, 05:06 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

any kastam clearance agent here ?
~tera~
post Mar 17 2016, 05:24 PM

500 posts

ya regarding the 6%gst tax duty payment, im not at KL so need to hire agent .. if go there by myself margin will goes up, someone know kastam clearance agent here ?

This post has been edited by ~tera~: Mar 17 2016, 05:25 PM

94 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:33 AM