Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Malaysia Import Duties

MeToo
post Apr 17 2015, 02:56 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Apr 17 2015, 02:47 PM)
Alright now I understand. I thought you dont have the AK Form at the first place. Thanks for sharing your detail info.

Yes I do agree with the BOLEHLAND in Malaysia. Once you paid the tax you wont be able to get it back unless you have the patient to follow up etc. It took me a year + for the last claim that I made. It was really a tedious job.
If you are importing a lot then I would suggest you take the guy advise avoid that officer. You can file a complaint against that officer but from my experience it will only do more harm to yourself rather than him unless you have big shot supporting you.
Bottom line BOlehland apo pun boleh.. the officer working on your case is Judge, Jury, and Executioner...
MeToo
post Feb 10 2016, 03:55 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Iroquois Plissken @ Feb 1 2016, 07:10 PM)
Hey guys,

I'm planning to buy a RM800 action figure from eBay USA, I'm pretty sure this will be taxed. My question is, how do I go about paying for it? I'm in Kelantan so there's no way I'm heading all the way to KL in case my item gets held. Will they pass it to Pos Malaysia and allow me to pay when it arrives at my doorstep or something? What options do I have?

Thanks!
If u buy from Amazon etc... their courier will settle the import tax for u. Your seller is a shop? Ask them to get such a courier?
MeToo
post Feb 24 2016, 10:54 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(BobSponge @ Feb 23 2016, 10:30 PM)
Sorry noob question. Does this mean I don't have to pay any tax to kastam if I buy items from Amazon ? (Even expensive items up to RM1000-2000)? Amazon will settle it ?
Under the frieght, Amazon alrdy collect certain amount under taxes jor.

I bought a 700 USD stuff from amazon (CIF value), reach my house no issue.
MeToo
post Jul 15 2016, 05:45 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(elenatec @ Jul 11 2016, 10:13 PM)
sorry for the noob question haha, I guess that only apply 6%GST?
Yes its essentially tax free. Hence only GST applicable.

But pls note you might have issues with warranty if u buy from overseas...
MeToo
post May 12 2017, 11:00 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(filcokb @ May 12 2017, 10:54 AM)
If I bring monitor around 730usd from singapore to malaysia by self driving... how much tax shud I pay? If dint pay kena caught will kena blacklist?
Take out the packaging. They wont stop you.

If required. Tell the custom you brought it from Msia in the first place.

MeToo
post May 12 2017, 11:00 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ May 3 2017, 05:17 PM)
This is my first time purcashing item above RM500 and I would like to get some insight on the import duties stuff.

I am planning to purchase a hiking backpack that would cost me about RM680 + RM115 shipping.

Just wondering if there would be any tax on this? If so, can I avoid it?
Tumpang.

Wanna buy a Rimowa and ship it in... not sure what's the tax bracket on luggage/bag.
MeToo
post May 12 2017, 11:03 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(mistgun89 @ Apr 8 2017, 01:33 PM)
guys help pls.

i bought something from japan 1st time using DHL
Item = 6000 yen
shipping = 1000 yen

anyone know how the calculation/rate?
You dont have a proper invoice showing the CIF value? If you have that pls use it to argue to lower the CIF cost. Dont let Custom get away with using IATA freight rate which is totally nonsense. Unless you are obviously underdeclaring... (DHL form japan only RM40?)

MeToo
post May 12 2017, 11:34 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(filcokb @ May 12 2017, 11:16 AM)
If I ask the sg company open a invoice like make it 300sgd will better? Cuz I heard few case they bringing in lcd tv and wrapped by newspaper also kena 30%
dont make it as if its obviously new.

I have crossed the causeway with my PC a few times no issues. But can easily see its used.
MeToo
post May 12 2017, 12:46 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Lucius <3 @ May 12 2017, 12:43 PM)
I called in to Custom and Pos Malaysia the other, my hiking bag is made of nylon and since it is above RM500, there will be only 6% GST imposed. 

Hope that helps.
Thank for the tip mate!

Mine will be alluminium....

Wonder whats nylon got to do with it confused.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: May 12 2017, 12:46 PM
MeToo
post Oct 17 2017, 10:42 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Halamadrid @ Oct 16 2017, 08:37 PM)
Hi, did you find out the tax bracket for buying suitcase from abroad?
Unfortunately no, so I brought it in by hand...

0.0512sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:09 PM