14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Studying Overseas, Is it better or local.

P.I.M.P
post Nov 23 2008, 04:12 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

When you live on campus, you will be stuck with nothing but those American food. Trust me on this, you be sick & bored with those dorm food by the end of your 1st week eating in the dorm. Depends on which U you're going. Every U has its own meal-plan policy. Like in my U, we can choose to have 5 days or 7 days meal plan. Unlimited access to the cafeteria, just enter & eat as & when you like.

Stuff I brought: LOTSA CASH, credit card, clothing, some maggi me, bkt spices, toiletries. That's about it. Don't pack liquid stuff into your carry on luggage. If not, when you go thru security screening in the airport, very mafan. To avoid hassle & speed up the process, better not bring any liquid unless you have liquid form of medication.

Wow New York after SPM. I'm jealous oh!!!! shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

I think those electronics not necessary to bring. Mp3 players are dirt cheap here. So better buy here if you like iPods. thumbup.gif

Nnigue
post Nov 23 2008, 05:21 AM

403 posts

Overseas or local?

Would you burn RM200k on a business degree in Australia? I wouldn't. Thats why i chose a local private university and pursue a RM60k biz degree. That's >50% the cost, plus a much lower living cost and a closer-to-family environment. I still get my freedom and independence as an out-station student.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 23 2008, 06:15 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

There are pros & cons studying abroad. I thought of doing local degree too. But my parents insisted on me studying abroad, what can I say icon_idea.gif brows.gif .

I can say it provided me a lifelong experience, make me a stronger person, and see the world. I will probably want my kids in future to study abroad and experience what I experienced. You will get to meet & see a lot of things that you won't see in M'sia.

Of course there is nothing than the comfort at home. Everything provided for. Miss the food back home drool.gif drool.gif . After you experience studying abroad, you can always go home & enjoy. But whatever path we choose, as long as we know how to navigate our journey to success, it don't matter where we study. Its how we shape it that matters.

Studying abroad is just to give you an opportunity to see the world, to learn new cultures, open your eyes to the world, absorb as much knowledge & ideas as possible. Who knows, you can bring in some business ideas to M'sia & become millionaire. icon_rolleyes.gif
HanYH
post Nov 23 2008, 06:55 AM

75 posts

My school's meal plan was incredibly good though. We had Japanese, Korean, Indian, Mexican etc rotating everyday smile.gif Of course, American food like burgers, pasta and bread were always available too!
P.I.M.P
post Nov 23 2008, 07:52 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Wow that's nice!!!
Got hokkien mee, char kuey teow, roti canai ar? These are Asian food also ma. Heheh.

I'm so sick of American food.
Nnigue
post Nov 23 2008, 08:13 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 23 2008, 06:15 AM)

There are pros & cons studying abroad. I thought of doing local degree too. But my parents insisted on me studying abroad, what can I say  icon_idea.gif  brows.gif .

I can say it provided me a lifelong experience, make me a stronger person, and see the world. I will probably want my kids in future to study abroad and experience what I experienced. You will get to meet & see a lot of things that you won't see in M'sia.

Of course there is nothing than the comfort at home. Everything provided for. Miss the food back home drool.gif  drool.gif . After you experience studying abroad, you can always go home & enjoy. But whatever path we choose, as long as we know how to navigate our journey to success, it don't matter where we study. Its how we shape it that matters.

Studying abroad is just to give you an opportunity to see the world, to learn new cultures, open your eyes to the world, absorb as much knowledge & ideas as possible. Who knows, you can bring in some business ideas to M'sia & become millionaire. icon_rolleyes.gif
You can take the few hundred thousands to travel around the world, bask in different cultures and have all types of experiences. Won't that make you a stronger person who sees a lot of the world?

Ha. Pretty subjective uh.
TSCherryD
post Nov 23 2008, 11:30 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(Nnigue @ Nov 23 2008, 08:13 AM)
You can take the few hundred thousands to travel around the world, bask in different cultures and have all types of experiences. Won't that make you a stronger person who sees a lot of the world?

Ha. Pretty subjective uh.
I can't debate much on this coz i haven't live(studying) in overseas before but I would say Traveling and Living in a country or around the world is a totally different thing. Through traveling you don't get to learn as much as you live in a place. Traveling would always be fun coz your're constantly having activities and stuff, going out and the most you travel in a country would probably be lets say a week? 2 week? 3? but living, oh no living, when you are actually living in another country, its a whole lot different.

just my 2 cent. smile.gif
P.I.M.P
post Nov 23 2008, 10:16 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Traveling & living in other country is 2 different issues. 1 is for pleasure & enjoying. Living & study abroad actually assimilate yourself to the foreign environment. Some things are just beyond explanation & one have to experience it them self.
TSCherryD
post Nov 23 2008, 11:03 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 23 2008, 10:16 PM)
Traveling & living in other country is 2 different issues. 1 is for pleasure & enjoying. Living & study abroad actually assimilate yourself to the foreign environment. Some things are just beyond explanation & one have to experience it them self.
yeap..now do you understand why we're willing to spend 200K to study aboard?
spunkberry
post Nov 23 2008, 11:20 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

yeah, but the 200k isn't usually your own money. So don't talk too much.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Nov 23 2008, 11:23 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

i am going to do my post-grad ... and i am going to pay it all myself!!! i didnt actually study overseas but i was working instead... and now i fell in love with the place n some of the girls... so i am going back to study
TSCherryD
post Nov 23 2008, 11:52 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Nov 23 2008, 11:20 PM)
yeah, but the 200k isn't usually your own money. So don't talk too much.
What are you trying to say? i was just explaining to him...not boosting or anything. blush.gif

Added on November 23, 2008, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Nov 23 2008, 11:23 PM)
i am going to do my post-grad ... and i am going to pay it all myself!!! i didnt actually study overseas but i was working instead... and now i fell in love with the place n some of the girls... so i am going back to study
good for you man, where were u studying? girls as in Asian or Whites?? hehehehe... brows.gif

This post has been edited by CherryD: Nov 23 2008, 11:53 PM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 24 2008, 04:42 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Fell in love with the place & GIRLS huh wub.gif wub.gif . Must be some locals thumbup.gif
TSCherryD
post Nov 24 2008, 12:40 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 24 2008, 04:42 AM)

Fell in love with the place & GIRLS huh wub.gif  wub.gif . Must be some locals thumbup.gif
What about you pimp, ever fell in love with the cough locals? nod.gif
P.I.M.P
post Nov 24 2008, 03:09 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Me fell in love with locals? No no. "Mess" around yes. Not into serious relationship with locals. smile.gif
TSCherryD
post Nov 24 2008, 03:20 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 24 2008, 03:09 PM)
Me fell in love with locals? No no. "Mess" around yes. Not into serious relationship with locals. smile.gif
lol why not? white girls aint your type?
P.I.M.P
post Nov 24 2008, 04:00 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

White girls to mess around. I still like Asians no matter what.

Geminist
post Nov 24 2008, 09:40 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Gents, bear in mind this is not kopitiam so please minimise casual chatters.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Nov 24 2008, 10:28 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(CherryD @ Nov 23 2008, 11:52 PM)

Added on November 23, 2008, 11:53 pm
good for you man, where were u studying?  girls as in Asian or Whites?? hehehehe...  brows.gif
was studying in monash.. now going to univeristy of alaska, anchorage campus... i bet no1 knows where this place is..... lol

asian americans... whites are pretty too, but they are too 'screwed' up

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 24 2008, 04:42 AM)

Fell in love with the place & GIRLS huh wub.gif  wub.gif . Must be some locals thumbup.gif
hehehe thumbup.gif let's keep the casual talk out shall we notworthy.gif

i should have done my bachelors in the states rather then in monash... zzz
TSCherryD
post Nov 24 2008, 10:35 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Nov 24 2008, 09:40 PM)
Gents, bear in mind this is not kopitiam so please minimise casual chatters.
Sorry boss, will go back to topic.

Added on November 24, 2008, 10:39 pm
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Nov 24 2008, 10:28 PM)
was studying in monash.. now going to univeristy of alaska, anchorage campus... i bet no1 knows where this place is..... lol

asian americans... whites are pretty too, but they are too 'screwed' up
hehehe  thumbup.gif  let's keep the casual talk out shall we  notworthy.gif

i should have done my bachelors in the states rather then in monash... zzz
my mom wants me to go Monash coz cheaper yet nearer...but i keep telling her NO!!! I want states!!! whaahhaa... tongue.gif I saw Monash campus today, darn beautiful.

This post has been edited by CherryD: Nov 24 2008, 10:39 PM

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:14 PM