5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

PSP Community | V13, Firmware 5.50 OUT NOW!

TSNinja
post Oct 24 2008, 04:35 PM, updated 17y ago

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Welcome to 'PSP Community | V13' thread.

Link to the previous thread (V12): http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/708765

REMINDER FOR NEW PSP OWNERS:

Cost of upgrading to custom firmware and also unbricking your PSP is TOTALLY FREE. Don't get cheat from game shops that charge you certain high amount; just to do upgrading/unbricking service.

Please consult this thread for guidance from fellow forumers on how to do upgrading/unbriking by your self.

This post has been edited by Ninja: Mar 29 2009, 12:36 PM
corez
post Oct 24 2008, 04:37 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

First Post laugh.gif
edvpc
post Oct 24 2008, 04:37 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Oct 24 2008, 04:37 PM)
First Post laugh.gif
bro i wanna sell my psp GOW.or trade with ur NDSL... tongue.gif
anyme
post Oct 24 2008, 04:39 PM

:ketawaguling2:
1,392 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ Oct 24 2008, 04:37 PM)
bro i wanna sell my psp GOW.or trade with ur NDSL... tongue.gif
me too..kaya leh la nak trade... tongue.gif
shook
post Oct 24 2008, 05:05 PM

professional stalker
854 posts

question about God Of War.

after killed that dragon at first level and run toward sunlight , its hang. problem with my m2 or what? icon_question.gif
chicaman
post Oct 24 2008, 05:26 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

change the title, it should be Version 5.01 is out~
Playboy21
post Oct 24 2008, 06:04 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

New thread,nice nice. biggrin.gif

Added on October 24, 2008, 6:05 pmNew thread,nice nice. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Oct 24 2008, 06:05 PM
PrinceOfPersia
post Oct 24 2008, 07:29 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

PSP 3000 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Godevil
post Oct 24 2008, 10:17 PM

Engineer
1,226 posts

i m getting psp-3000 this weekends... laugh.gif
Playboy21
post Oct 24 2008, 10:20 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Godevil,that's nice.Be sure to provide us with some updates on your new psp.Tell us all about it,we're all equally eager smile.gif
C-Note
post Oct 25 2008, 09:28 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

i think whole of KL oni SCE has stock on the psp3000. cant wait to drop by and get a hands-on demo
chickenducksoup
post Oct 25 2008, 09:38 AM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

any one know how much market selling psp-3000 with 4gb sandisk MSPD?.
prefer cheapest price.
Thrust
post Oct 25 2008, 09:55 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Read from IGN review saying that they would recommend PSP2000 over PSP3000 due to the screen problem all 3000s are facing. The added features on the 3000 doesn't justify having an inferior screen. Afterall, it's the screen you'll be looking at most of the time.
padisawah
post Oct 25 2008, 10:00 AM

104 posts

i tot the key point of psp-3000 is its improved lcd screen...
Thrust
post Oct 25 2008, 10:09 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Haha! i don't know how to explain it tongue.gif maybe you try googling around. I think there's a thread here that talks about the new PSP3000 screen. check it out
MOMOchacha
post Oct 25 2008, 10:41 AM

1,949 posts

Hi there,may i know the skype can use in my PSP version 3.71?cos yesterday i hv copy the skype file to my psp.but cannot see the icon at all
C-Note
post Oct 25 2008, 11:35 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

its just a matter of preference regarding the screen issues of the psp3000. some ppl have higher sensitivity and are highly bothered by it but some dont seem to notice anythg at all. it is believed dat if u look at the screen 2 inches away der's nth significant..not sure whether true anot
Playboy21
post Oct 25 2008, 11:47 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Oct 25 2008, 10:41 AM)
Hi there,may i know the skype can use in my PSP version 3.71?cos yesterday i hv copy the skype file to my psp.but cannot see the icon at all
Alright,here's the catch.Skype is for firmware 3.90 and above only.This piece of software also works on slims only.These may be the reasons why the icon isn't appearing as it's supposed to on your psp.
chicaman
post Oct 25 2008, 11:52 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

if not mistaken, all psp brite maybe being called back, most probably they replacing the screen, anyway always never buy the first batch of PSP.
Playboy21
post Oct 25 2008, 12:32 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

As far as i know,Sony are not planning to replace the LCD screens with a better one.They're also claiming that the new "Ugly LCD" is part of the new features of the PSP 3000.I have a bad feeling about that though.Seems like they're trying to cover up their obvious mistake. *Shrugs*
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 25 2008, 01:37 PM

5,366 posts

is the new PSP 3000 came preinstalled with FW 5.00 ? Can it run 5.00 M33?
Playboy21
post Oct 25 2008, 01:43 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

dattebayo,your doubt is as good as ours.If developers in the scene manage to hack it,then we MIGHT see 5.00M33.Else,it's just the old official firmware dominance again.
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 25 2008, 01:57 PM

5,366 posts

5.00 M33-3 has released, I am now downloading into my PSP2000, what I wonder is will it run in PSP3000 ? If that's so, then everybody will be happy ? keke
penmarker
post Oct 25 2008, 02:37 PM

2,017 posts

oh wow new thread. haha. i didnt notice this.

Added on October 25, 2008, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Oct 25 2008, 01:57 PM)
5.00 M33-3 has released, I am now downloading into my PSP2000, what I wonder is will it run in PSP3000 ? If that's so, then everybody will be happy ? keke

no it wont.. yet. haha
i guess the DA team is still cracking and figuring out how to enable CFW in it. just pray and hope. nod.gif

This post has been edited by penmarker: Oct 25 2008, 02:40 PM
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 25 2008, 04:12 PM

5,366 posts

shit, spent so much time to register PSN account, only to find out Malaysia don't have PS Store doh.gif
MOMOchacha
post Oct 25 2008, 04:40 PM

1,949 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Oct 25 2008, 11:47 AM)
Alright,here's the catch.Skype is for firmware 3.90 and above only.This piece of software also works on slims only.These may be the reasons why the icon isn't appearing as it's supposed to on your psp.
oic..thx ya

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Oct 25 2008, 01:57 PM)
may i know where can download the latest firmware?how to install after download? hmm.gif
jasperng
post Oct 25 2008, 08:03 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

ya i would like to know how to install 5.00M33 firmware .... a guide would be great... i scare to brick my psp ...

also i see 5.00 has PSN features ? ...how does it works anyway ? ...do i need to buy any modem ?
blackamikaze
post Oct 25 2008, 08:30 PM

Trooper Rank: BIG HEAD SERGEANT
2,671 posts

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Oct 25 2008, 04:40 PM)

may i know where can download the latest firmware?how to install after download? hmm.gif
QUOTE(jasperng @ Oct 25 2008, 08:03 PM)
ya i would like to know how to install 5.00M33 firmware .... a guide would be great... i scare to brick my psp ...

also i see 5.00 has PSN features ? ...how does it works anyway ? ...do i need to buy any modem ?
http://www.stylemo.com/2008/10/25/how-to-i...re-on-your-psp/
jasperng
post Oct 25 2008, 08:39 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

izzit 100% safe to follow the guide given by you ? .... any possibilities of bricking the psp ? ..

also .. how does PSN for psp works ? ...where do i register ? ..
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 25 2008, 08:50 PM

5,366 posts

yipee.. 5.01 facelifted PSP XMB got the PS3 feels

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Oct 25 2008, 08:50 PM
Playboy21
post Oct 25 2008, 09:20 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Of course there is a chance of bricking your psp.It can happen even if you're extremely careful.The 5.00M33 firmware is decent,and after lots of testing by my friends,i can say aloud that it's just as good as all the other firmwares.And yes,the new firmware gives users a nice ps3 feel as it has a modified "System_plugin_bg.rco" which of course is the psp waves.
Jumbodumbo
post Oct 25 2008, 10:16 PM

45 posts

do we have to chabnge our custom firmware into those firmware when we r 4. sumtin? or we juz update it?
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 25 2008, 10:22 PM

5,366 posts

PSP support video file .srt or not? Because it got the Subtitle options icon on the display, but I can't press it, even I have transfer along the .srt file with the same name as the video file on the /Video folder.
Playboy21
post Oct 25 2008, 11:39 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(Jumbodumbo @ Oct 25 2008, 10:16 PM)
do we have to chabnge our custom firmware into those firmware when we r 4. sumtin? or we juz update it?
Just upgrade.It'll work just fine.

I'm still remaining at 4.01m33-2 though tongue.gif
hanissyazwan
post Oct 26 2008, 12:38 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

update!!!! prob solve! biggrin.gif
i end up open my psp faceplate.
remove my menu bar and blow up wth hairdryer.
+ must take off saleotape which attach to menu bar.blow with hairdryer.and tape it back.must careful.if dont want stick dust at the menu bar. evrything going smooth.
thanks to wetfusion. dadarouch and to all lowyatian who guide and help me. smile.gif notworthy.gif

problem
QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Oct 18 2008, 11:19 PM)
I got my PSP about a month ago, and ordered an invisible shield screen protector for it, which came yesterday. I put it on, it looks fine. The problem is, now I'm having problems with the start button and select button. It looks fine, it's not pressed down or anything, but when using the PSP it is as if the start button is being held down.

My guess is that some of the magic spray got in under the start button /select button- would this explain the problem I'm having? And if so, will the water that's under there eventually dry out and stop causing the problem?
I left the thing overnight (~10 hours) before turning it on, and everything works great except the start button. I can even play most games. My question is - how do the buttons actually work? I'm assuming (with my very limited knowledge of electronics) that pressing the button down completes the circuit, and right now the water in there is completing the circuit instead. If that's the case I'm hoping that when it dries enough that will no longer be a problem - or can it have caused more permanent damage to the button?
plz help

Added on October 18, 2008, 11:01 pmwhen I turned my PSP on I saw the home menu and like 2 seconds later is went black! but with the green light still on well I turned it off and turned it back on and the home menu was working fine so i decided to listen to some music but when I tried to make the volume lower the brightness of the screen went higher and then when I hold down the screen button the sound goes off that was like 5 minutes ago NOW! the volume doesnt go higher or lower at all and when I flip the hold button doen and back up it does all kinds of weird crap! like volume goes up, sound goes off, brightness higher lower and lowest, then after all that the PSP goes black again! PLEASE DOES ANYONE KNOW IF I SHOULD OPEN IT OR NOT!????????:mad:

guide!!!!! how to fix psp water damage.(start.select.volume.display.home button SCREWED!)
[COLOR=red]

1st-u need philips scrwdriver size 00 @ 0

2nd step-remove faceplate.(remember.plz do in the free dust room.or switch off ur fan.)at least as i do.

3step-do a sketch of ur psp.and tape ur skru.(this thing avoid u miss part ur skru after u want to assemble ur psp.
4step-u need a working hairdryer.
5step-blow the inside with a hairdryer.
using hot air.
6step-remove the salotape who tapped at ur menu bar.(look to the red arrow)its quite easy actually. but u must be careful.use a needle to open it up.blow the tape and if necessary.rub menu bar with a cotton bud.until u feel satisfied.
then tape it back.

7-step.put battery into ur psp.and try switching it on. press the menu bar with a cotton bud.if not work.repeat step-5
8-assemble ur psp.

9-done!!!!

although my english is not very good.i hope u will understand what i want to say and hope it do help those who counter the same problem as me.
peace for all.
sharing is caring. wub.gif

by hanissyazwan

This post has been edited by hanissyazwan: Oct 26 2008, 12:42 AM
jacster
post Oct 26 2008, 12:45 AM

finally resolve the problem.... well done.... but u already got another psp if i am not wrong?

what u plan to do with it? sell it.... or better yet mod it gau gau.....

Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 12:49 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

lol,good job man biggrin.gif

Btw,your psp sketch is good looking rofl
jacster
post Oct 26 2008, 01:03 AM

yeah yeah true true.... but it's a good idea to newbie too.... great way to memorize what goes in where.....

I learn this from a comic also.... since now everyone have a camera phone.... take picture of each dismantling stage.... it will help when u put it back.... then later can post up here too....
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 01:05 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Yup,it's a wonderful idea.I agree with ya' jacster
jacster
post Oct 26 2008, 01:51 AM

a little question....

I am using a PSP phat running on 4.01 m33-2... i dun have skype.... why is that? is it true that the skype only for slim and lite? and will i have the PSN if i upgrade to 5.00 m33, coz i am FAT... lolz

is it worth the hassle of upgrading.... since i dun have a pandora battery... though i successfully update it to 4.01 without it lahhhh
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 01:57 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Alright.

Skype is for slim and lite only,and of course,you can use it on your fat unit.

Yes,you will have PSN if you upgrade to 5.00M33.

That,i can't answer.It's up to you really.If you like to keep up with all the latest developments,then go ahead and upgrade.It's a very good firmware.

If you're the type who doesn't care about keeping up with the latest developments,you can always stay at 4.01m33 which is where i am at the moment.I don't see anything big in 5.00M33 so i don't really want to upgrade,but really,it's all u p to you.
jacster
post Oct 26 2008, 02:05 AM

i was just considering the PSN option for the upgrade.... i don't think a spice up theme or some small little features that u don't notice will make any difference....

maybe i should try x-link kai first.....

but my ahem webpage can find ahem monster hunter lehhhh.... maybe i should get the UMD....
kuntaker
post Oct 26 2008, 04:30 AM

React!
1,008 posts

hi,a newbie here,...

anyway i wanna ask is there possible to get a psp 2000 instead of 3000?
any current price?

how does the game uploaded to Psp?is it free kka?
jacster
post Oct 26 2008, 05:00 AM

it is still possible to get a PSP2k still... i think still got shops hold stock... or maybe u can get a second hand one if u really want it....

like me i wanted a phat but discontinued.... so buy second hand lohhhh... wat to do....

as for price..... haizzz.... go read through my other post in psp beginner thread.... i already give a bit reason why we will not tell how much i the current price and stuff.... please take your time to slowly survey the market in low yat, sg wang, digital mall or midvalley.... or if u lazy.... then find in our garage sales.... a lot good seller there......

Ahem ahem.... Game sure is play from UMD lahhh.... But you can buy the UMD then RIP it off into ISO or CSO then save into your memory card then you can play from there....

But you must very very very very confirm you buy the UMD then only you do that you know... coz u must have the original copy to make legal copy of the UMD u have for keepsake and back up purpose....

but this only refer to custom firmware...
Lacus
post Oct 26 2008, 07:23 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

well, if converting videos,some videos has embedded subtitle in the video while some does not..and also upgrading does not require pandora battery smile.gif as for psp 2k..still got a lot in shops...no worries..

This post has been edited by Lacus: Oct 26 2008, 07:24 AM
chicaman
post Oct 26 2008, 08:28 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Oct 26 2008, 07:23 AM)
well, if converting videos,some videos has embedded subtitle in the video while some does not..and also upgrading does not require pandora battery smile.gif as for psp 2k..still got a lot in shops...no worries..
Using xvid4psp, they automatic embed the srt subtitle into the video. Watching PMP is way better than MP4
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 10:18 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

It's still illegal to dump a UMD even when you paid Rm200 for the game.This is because the EULA rules states that only one copy is legal and it's the UMD itself.Anything other than that it illegal.But who cares lol? biggrin.gif

Added on October 26, 2008, 10:19 amAnd just so you guys know,custom firmware,by theory is illegal.

Added on October 26, 2008, 10:21 am
QUOTE(chicaman @ Oct 26 2008, 08:28 AM)
Using xvid4psp, they automatic embed the srt subtitle into the video. Watching PMP is way better than MP4
Totally agree with you.PMP videos are smaller in size and it's quality is much higher than MP4 videos.For fat psp users,you can always try PMPMOD.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Oct 26 2008, 10:21 AM
post Oct 26 2008, 10:29 AM

158 posts

are you guys going to buy sony psp 3000?? But there's superb interlacing problems at this stage..

maybe this link will explain better:

http://boardsus.playstation.com/playstatio...scending&page=1
http://www.gamespot.com/news/6199871.html?...adlines;title;1

kyril
post Oct 26 2008, 10:39 AM

13 posts

need help.....my psp(slim 3.9m33) has a problem with the memory stick...,sometime the game menu did not appear and when playing ahem games it said please insert memory stick...well it seldom happen but when it happen it really annoying.....
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 10:41 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

That happens,if your memory stick is bad.That is why i always recommend you to buy original memory sticks.

Alright,you can try to format your memory stick on your psp.

If that fails to work,you can try a program by Gunner64 i think.
kuntaker
post Oct 26 2008, 11:17 AM

React!
1,008 posts

QUOTE(jacster @ Oct 26 2008, 06:00 AM)
it is still possible to get a PSP2k still... i think still got shops hold stock... or maybe u can get a second hand one if u really want it....

like me i wanted a phat but discontinued.... so buy second hand lohhhh... wat to do....

as for price..... haizzz.... go read through my other post in psp beginner thread.... i already give a bit reason why we will not tell how much i the current price and stuff.... please take your time to slowly survey the market in low yat, sg wang, digital mall or midvalley.... or if u lazy.... then find in our garage sales.... a lot good seller there......

Ahem ahem.... Game sure is play from UMD lahhh.... But you can buy the UMD then RIP it off into ISO or CSO then save into your memory card then you can play from there....

But you must very very very very confirm you buy the UMD then only you do that you know... coz u must have the original copy to make legal copy of the UMD u have for keepsake and back up purpose....

but this only refer to custom firmware...
thanks for the info...

but the UMD stuff..din get it leh..^^
anyway, got more info fot it?

SUSdattebayo
post Oct 26 2008, 11:40 AM

5,366 posts

what is PMP ? an open source format container ? does PSP media player officially support it?
snipersnake
post Oct 26 2008, 12:16 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

ookkkkkaaaayyyyy]
]

anybody know what happend to PSP's Phantasy Star?
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 12:17 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

I don't know what it stands for,but it's widely used in MP4 sets.And no,the psp doesn't support it officially.You need to use homebrew applications to get it to work.I use PMPMOD for my fat unit.
Lacus
post Oct 26 2008, 12:42 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

hmm,shall try it soon...but i still prefer my videos file in mp4..(since pmp player actually overclocks the psp and i'm a bit afraid tongue.gif) Phantasy star online? i think it's already been released. as for the UMD thingie,wat he means is make sure u do own the original copy of the game also icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Lacus: Oct 26 2008, 12:44 PM
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 12:45 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Lacus you really should.It's really good.I like movie isos alot too,it's nice.
Lacus
post Oct 26 2008, 12:47 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

pmp? hmm,been always using mp4 sad.gif...i fear it might killed my psp sad.gif
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 12:56 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

nah it won't.Overclocking would only drain your battery,nothing more than that.My psp is always at 333mhz and it's alright.
Lacus
post Oct 26 2008, 01:15 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

lol..just finish downloading the xvid4psp..which homebrew should i use for viewing? pmp player?
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 26 2008, 01:39 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Oct 26 2008, 12:16 PM)
ookkkkkaaaayyyyy]
]
anybody know what happend to PSP's Phantasy Star?
to be relased march 2009, according to wikipedia
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 02:10 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Oct 26 2008, 01:15 PM)
lol..just finish downloading the xvid4psp..which homebrew should i use for viewing? pmp player?
Yup,pmp player.Xvid4psp is horrible if you ask me.It of course,is a decent development because getting that video format to run on your psp isn't easy at all,but still it's not good if you ask me.
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 26 2008, 02:21 PM

5,366 posts

hardly can notice difference between AVC and PMP on a 4.3" screen anyway
jacster
post Oct 26 2008, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(kuntaker @ Oct 26 2008, 11:17 AM)
thanks for the info...

but the UMD stuff..din get it leh..^^
anyway, got more info fot it?
means anyway it's illegal to play from memory stick.... but i think majority now dun play from the UMD anymore.... and where to download those ahem games cannot be discussed here.... i find it the hard way by searching it for hours in the internet.... so i think u'll have to do the hardway.... and most games i get are in chinese....
Lacus
post Oct 26 2008, 04:42 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

well, i do have some games in UMD..but i find it slow loading and prefer it on memory stick biggrin.gif
VHunter
post Oct 26 2008, 05:15 PM

72 posts

Helloes! New user here, just got it from Gamers Solution/Bernard today. Felicia Blue. =D. Currently playing Crisis Core, Patapon and SW Force Unleashed.
Playboy21
post Oct 26 2008, 05:53 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Oct 26 2008, 04:42 PM)
well, i do have some games in UMD..but i find it slow loading and prefer it on memory stick biggrin.gif
Your reason is similar to mine. biggrin.gif

As for VHunter,welcome smile.gif
jacster
post Oct 26 2008, 05:56 PM

QUOTE(VHunter @ Oct 26 2008, 05:15 PM)
Helloes! New user here, just got it from Gamers Solution/Bernard today. Felicia Blue. =D. Currently playing Crisis Core, Patapon and SW Force Unleashed.
well come to the big family.... well i am on crisis core too... but now couldn't find the 6th wutai spy lehhhh....
toottut89
post Oct 26 2008, 06:12 PM

704 posts

crisis core is an awesome game, i just wished it was a longer game. the cutscenes and all are awesome.
waikikizzz
post Oct 26 2008, 09:38 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(VHunter @ Oct 26 2008, 05:15 PM)
mine also felicia blue pal rclxms.gif bought from nelson last week...patapon cool..lol..., monster hunter 2G, god of war 1, 2 fifa09 more cool!
shook
post Oct 26 2008, 10:53 PM

professional stalker
854 posts

PSP 4000 Series Coming This Christmas
Posted by Revolution-X on Sun 26 @ 10:12 AM | Views: 134 | In: PSP News 

Sony let out details about a new console they are planning on releasing this year before christmas.

In an unanticipated move, Sony have announced details on their next portable gaming console in its PlayStation® Portable range, dubbed PSP-4000.

In a statement at a recent press conference, SCEE president David Reeves announced the decision for the hardware update.

What's unusual about this move is that it follows the release of Sony's new console, the PSP-3000, which hit the shelves less than a month ago. Speculators believe that this sooner than expected update was made by Sony in an attempt to give it a competitive advantage over Nintendo's new DSi.

Continue for details...

Details on this new model were sketchy however. Reeves announced that the new model is expected to be available before Christmas this year, but the price had yet to be finalized. The new model builds on the PSP-2000's "slim and lite" design, and the PSP-3000's improved screen and built-in microphone, and adds an improved processing unit.

Sony announced details on making PlayStation® 2 games available for download via its PlayStation® Store, which could then be transferred to and played on the PSP-4000.

Critics of the PSP™ say that the system's main weakness is it's lack of quality games, and some believe that Sony is relying on the strength and popularity of its aging console to improve the sales of its current generation systems, the PlayStation® Portable and PlayStation® 3.

sos from other forum

This post has been edited by shook: Oct 26 2008, 10:53 PM
SUSloveuallso
post Oct 26 2008, 11:34 PM

213 posts

anybody near sunway area know how to unbricked a fully-bricked psp!!! Was flashing a themes juz now and ...then it happen. i on in, there's green light, but oni black screen...cant enter recovery oso...my psp ison 5.00m33-3!!
Lacus
post Oct 27 2008, 12:40 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

need my help? maybe i can assist u rclxms.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 27 2008, 11:09 AM

5,366 posts

PSP4k is a fake!
chicaman
post Oct 27 2008, 12:49 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

Obviously FAKE, no company in this world is so stupid to release 2 revision in less than 6 months.
waikikizzz
post Oct 27 2008, 01:11 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Oct 27 2008, 12:49 PM)
Obviously FAKE, no company in this world is so stupid to release 2 revision in less than 6 months.
scary men..just bought psp2000 come out 4000
SUSirkuysm
post Oct 27 2008, 01:12 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

I heard my PSP making sound after i unplug the USb cable from PC nonstop,but when i unplug the USB from my PSP the sound stop.

Any one know what is that sound??hardware damage??

Btw my PSP still can use.
snipersnake
post Oct 27 2008, 02:24 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Oct 26 2008, 01:39 PM)
to be relased march 2009, according to wikipedia
thanks mate.

No wonder, I was asking the sales girl last week and she raised her eyebrow nod.gif
Playboy21
post Oct 27 2008, 04:24 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Oct 27 2008, 12:49 PM)
Agreed.And Ps2 games on PSP4000?....lol
Lacus
post Oct 27 2008, 04:25 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

impossible,rofl..since i notice that sony always makes new revision every 1 year...i got my psp 2000 when it was first released last year (the same time as psp 3000 was released) so it's impossible for them to come out with another version so fast..
doomx
post Oct 27 2008, 07:05 PM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

psp 4k comes out because of the 3k interlacing issues?
C-Note
post Oct 27 2008, 08:08 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

its definitely not psp4k dats coming out in dec. any of u rmb dat a CORE pack is coming out later dis year? i think dey hav mistaken it as psp4k
Playboy21
post Oct 28 2008, 01:21 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Oct 27 2008, 07:05 PM)
psp 4k comes out because of the 3k interlacing issues?
You could be right,but as far as i know,Sony don't even plan to replace all the LCD's of the PSP3000 by saying that it's all part of the new psp3000.

Also,psp4000 is lols... tongue.gif

Added on October 28, 2008, 11:24 amGuys,i need some help here :

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/828715

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Oct 28 2008, 11:24 AM
chuppy
post Oct 28 2008, 05:20 PM

55 posts

need some advise..i am goin to buy a used psp slim..
can give me some advise to see before i take the set..
such as firmware, how to see deadpixel, is the psp stable or not..
thanx
jacster
post Oct 28 2008, 05:30 PM

stable or not really cannot check one lahhhh.... the firmware is check at the system settings there.... if it says ver *.** M33-*...

replace the * with numbers and u'll get the idea....

start the psp and change the background colour a few times.... check see got any deal pixel or not lohhh....
krainsyafiq95
post Oct 29 2008, 07:54 AM

kuku_malu™
518 posts

QUOTE(irkuysm @ Oct 27 2008, 01:12 PM)
I heard my PSP making sound after i unplug the USb cable from PC nonstop,but when i unplug the USB from my PSP the sound stop.
Any one know what is that sound??hardware damage??
Btw my PSP still can use.
i had a same problem like urs
how to fix it huh? but my psp hang for a while sad.gif
SUSirkuysm
post Oct 29 2008, 09:15 AM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

QUOTE(krainsyafiq95 @ Oct 29 2008, 07:54 AM)
i had a same problem like urs
how to fix it huh? but my psp hang for a while sad.gif
Im not sure,but when i got error transfering a file from PC to a PSP,the sound started.
At 1st,i unplug the USB cable from the pc & turn it off but still having that sound.
Last,i unplug the USb cable from the PSP & the sound stop.

I think the sound from the UMD drive & sound like it stuck but im not sure.

This post has been edited by irkuysm: Oct 29 2008, 09:17 AM
MOMOchacha
post Oct 29 2008, 09:46 AM

1,949 posts

wanna upgrade to new firmware...anyone can guide me?
Playboy21
post Oct 29 2008, 10:18 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

MOMOchacha,provide more details on the firmware you're on as well as the firmware you want to upgrade to,and we'll see what we can do to sort you out.
andysoh
post Oct 29 2008, 03:43 PM

me too....wanna upgrade to new firmware...currently using 4.01 m33-2...i wanna try new 5.00 cfw for the new stuff like PSN,sleep timer.....need guide here too.....

Added on October 29, 2008, 3:43 pmme too....wanna upgrade to new firmware...currently using 4.01 m33-2...i wanna try new 5.00 cfw for the new stuff like PSN,sleep timer.....need guide here too.....

This post has been edited by andysoh: Oct 29 2008, 03:43 PM
kimi
post Oct 29 2008, 04:13 PM

Peace
630 posts

me too - still with 3.71, whats new in the new firmware 4.01 or the 5.01 if i may ask

btw i just read that there is a MSProDuo adapter (photofast CR5400) that can take 2 x microSD, can fit like 2x8G microSD = 16G wow, maybe 2x16G when the price goes down

Lacus
post Oct 29 2008, 04:14 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

it's already out damn long bro =_=...that Cr5400 and yes it does support 2x16gb but malaysia don't have 16gb micro sdhc
kimi
post Oct 29 2008, 04:21 PM

Peace
630 posts

oh ok tq, u mean can get the CR5400 from local store here in msia? can u let me in how much is one - better yet any seller here

009haru
post Oct 29 2008, 04:28 PM

33 posts

my psp just got fully bricked T_T
got anywhere in selangor that fixes bricked psp?
btw my CFW is 5.00m33-3

Lacus
post Oct 29 2008, 04:45 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

no 1 selling in malaysia.i do remember some forumer selling it..btw how did u brick it?i do fix bricked psp =/
WilliamG
post Oct 29 2008, 04:54 PM

142 posts

Hmmm i jus update my psp to 4.01 m33 recently and i've found out that after i update it some of my save files is corrupted (games like lego batman and dinner dash) hav anyone of u been thro the same problem as me?Wat can i do? t.t

Btw may i noe 5.0 and 5.01 m33 change log?

Long time dint step in psp scene alredi hehe

This post has been edited by WilliamG: Oct 29 2008, 04:54 PM
009haru
post Oct 29 2008, 05:23 PM

33 posts

no 1 selling in malaysia.i do remember some forumer selling it..btw how did u brick it?i do fix bricked psp =/

err i messed with flash0 smth went wrong

This post has been edited by 009haru: Oct 29 2008, 05:24 PM
Lacus
post Oct 29 2008, 05:47 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

now ur psp cannot on?where r u from?
kimi
post Oct 29 2008, 05:51 PM

Peace
630 posts

can we upgrade direct from 3.71m33 to 4.01m33? too many info from the net make me confuse
jacster
post Oct 29 2008, 05:53 PM

this is the link to the CR 5400 seller.... hope this help....

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=824092&hl=CR5400
Lacus
post Oct 29 2008, 06:15 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

too bad he's selling pretty expensive..i wonder is he getting from hmm.gif
Playboy21
post Oct 29 2008, 07:08 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(kimi @ Oct 29 2008, 05:51 PM)
can we upgrade direct from 3.71m33 to 4.01m33?  too many info from the net make me confuse
http://psph.malloc.us/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=110

009haru
post Oct 29 2008, 07:13 PM

33 posts

now ur psp cannot on?where r u from?

i cant on bricked what.
near ss2
how much to fix bricked psp?
Playboy21
post Oct 29 2008, 08:07 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(WilliamG @ Oct 29 2008, 04:54 PM)
Hmmm i jus update my psp to 4.01 m33 recently and i've found out that after i update it some of my save files is corrupted (games like lego batman and dinner dash) hav anyone of u been thro the same problem as me?Wat can i do? t.t

Btw may i noe 5.0 and 5.01 m33 change log?

Long time dint step in psp scene alredi hehe
That,is very possible.I've experienced that very same problem before,and i couldn't solve it.Just restart it lah tongue.gif

blackamikaze
post Oct 29 2008, 08:21 PM

2,671 posts

QUOTE(WilliamG @ Oct 29 2008, 04:54 PM)

some save games are firmware dependant.. that means u cant use save games from diffrent firmware. There is nothing u can do except play the game again from the start...
Lacus
post Oct 29 2008, 09:36 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

well,no such thing wor...I been updating non stop..from 3.71 till now..all my save file still works...if corrupted, it's most likely due to the memory card
Playboy21
post Oct 29 2008, 09:42 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Lacus,there actually is such thing.But it only applies to a few games.Fifa09's savedata is firmware dependent.
kimi
post Oct 29 2008, 09:48 PM

Peace
630 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Oct 29 2008, 07:08 PM)
ok read the guide - r we suppose to go into recovery mode first just to confirm the firmware version?, or u need to go into recovery mode before connecting via usb?
blackamikaze
post Oct 29 2008, 09:53 PM

2,671 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Oct 29 2008, 09:36 PM)
well,no such thing wor...I been updating non stop..from 3.71 till now..all my save file still works...if corrupted, it's most likely due to the memory card
actually there is such things... but like playboy said, it only applies for a few games... not all...
Lacus
post Oct 29 2008, 09:56 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

really? hmm, so far mine is ok...phew....
Playboy21
post Oct 29 2008, 10:02 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(kimi @ Oct 29 2008, 09:48 PM)
ok read the guide - r we suppose to go into recovery mode first just to confirm the firmware version?, or u need to go into recovery mode before connecting via usb?
Well,it's not the firmware version,it's just your kernel mode.The installer wouldn't run unless your kernel is set to 3.xx/4.xx.Once you've got it done,exit recovery mode,and follow the next step in my guide.

It's up to you,you can place the update files in the right directories,set your kernel to 3.xx,then run the installer or the exact opposite.
Lacus
post Oct 29 2008, 10:38 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

Yatta!!! Expecting CR-5400 soon rclxm9.gif
chicaman
post Oct 30 2008, 12:00 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

If buy bulk, USD17 can buy already..... ~
SUSirkuysm
post Oct 30 2008, 12:00 AM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

Japan already got their hand on Official lookalike Xlink Kai called Adhoc Party for PSP.

This is still on beta but this definitely worth of to wait because now we can play adhoc games using internet over all world!

Yay to Sony!
Lacus
post Oct 30 2008, 12:32 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

the thing is not everyone wanna bulk it..buying from US is much more expensive..get from Taiwan tongue.gif
kimi
post Oct 30 2008, 09:16 AM

Peace
630 posts

ok im on 4.01m33-2 now - thx to Playboy21 guide

ive been under the rock lately - is there any good avi player avail for the PSP, tht can play direct without conversion - googling ive read bout pmplayermt(?)

thx in advance
Lacus
post Oct 30 2008, 09:24 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

pmp player if not mistaken also need mp4? correct me if i'm wrong..
illuminati
post Oct 30 2008, 09:25 AM

58 posts

hello guys,

i wanna ask, whenever i wanna off my psp, i hold the power button n release until the screen's turns off as usual.

but this few days, i realize that whenever i turn off my psp, the screen turn off but didnt fully off, its like the background still got grey-ish black and the battery indicator (green lite) will blinking for like 30secs then only the screen is totally blank (turns off with no lite,complete black screen) n the blinking gone.

the battery is not empty, still got a few bars n sometime the battery is still full

anyone know why is that happen?
snipersnake
post Oct 30 2008, 09:29 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

anybody tried star ocean departure?
Lacus
post Oct 30 2008, 09:49 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

me!!! Quite ok..but not so keen on dub rclxms.gif
ahtiven
post Oct 30 2008, 12:45 PM

1,185 posts

im in Portsmith now! not sure wat to do...
andysoh
post Oct 30 2008, 01:31 PM

wanna upgrade to new firmware...currently using 4.01 m33-2...i wanna try new 5.00 cfw for the new stuff like PSN,sleep timer.....need guide here

Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 02:46 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

andysoh,i've posted it in the other thread.

Added on October 30, 2008, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(illuminati @ Oct 30 2008, 09:25 AM)
hello guys,

i wanna ask, whenever i wanna off my psp, i hold the power button n release until the screen's turns off as usual.

but this few days, i realize that whenever i turn off my psp, the screen turn off but didnt fully off, its like the background still got  grey-ish black and the battery indicator (green lite) will blinking for like 30secs then only the screen is totally blank (turns off with no lite,complete black screen) n the blinking gone.

the battery is not empty, still got a few bars n sometime the battery is still full

anyone know why is that happen?
Hmm,that's a really weird problem that you're facing.The only thing i can come to think of at this time is for you to restore default settings.You can do so in the settings tab.

XMB-->Settings-->Restore Default Settings.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Oct 30 2008, 02:49 PM
myboo_1988
post Oct 30 2008, 03:34 PM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

drop by to say hi to u all hehe
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 03:41 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Hey myboo_1988 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
illuminati
post Oct 30 2008, 04:08 PM

58 posts

playboy : mind sharing what will be restore if set it back to default? like everything like games,themes etc. in the card gone?
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 04:18 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

illuminate,nope,it won't affect your games or anything else including your firmware.All it does is it resets your psp configuration like the time and other stuff.It also resets the kernel,UMD Mode and some other stuff.
proz4ever
post Oct 30 2008, 04:18 PM

31 posts

going to buy psp 2000 soon,can i know how to know the psp is not from china?
illuminati
post Oct 30 2008, 04:56 PM

58 posts

thanks a bunch playboy biggrin.gif will try it tonite.hope it helps and the psp back to normal..
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 05:02 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

No problem mate,good luck smile.gif
wetfusion
post Oct 30 2008, 05:06 PM

285 posts

hi playboy hehe

Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 05:22 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Hey wetfusion biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
What's up?

Lacus
post Oct 30 2008, 05:33 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

all psp are made in china dude biggrin.gif..
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 05:39 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Why,you scared your psp got melamine ah?

lol
Lacus
post Oct 30 2008, 06:16 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

LOL!!! We're not eating the psp tongue.gif...
illuminati
post Oct 30 2008, 06:19 PM

58 posts

eh guys, shudnt it be PSP 2006 made in spore? but when u guys mentioned made in china, mine stated on the box, the serial no. it says PSP 2006, but inside the battery compartment says made in china... so whats the story? CAP AYAM? tongue.gif
wetfusion
post Oct 30 2008, 06:23 PM

285 posts

psp 2006= china
most item are assemble at china to cut cost

new user???
Lacus
post Oct 30 2008, 06:47 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

most psp r assemble in China. Even PSP-2000 (ooh,my psp is the first batch psp slim thus i go the battery made in japan rclxms.gif )
illuminati
post Oct 30 2008, 07:30 PM

58 posts

owhhh... sorry for my noobiness n misinfo there biggrin.gif

wetfusion : yes im a new user, sure la tak pandai... starts from ZERO, HERO! biggrin.gif
C-Note
post Oct 30 2008, 08:13 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hey can any of u taikos shed some light on whether i shd get the psp2000 or psp3000? i'm getting it b4 nov 15 for sum reasons so i hafta make precise judgements on the possibility of the psp3000 being hacked and also ghosting vs scanlines
wetfusion
post Oct 30 2008, 09:14 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(illuminati @ Oct 30 2008, 07:30 PM)
owhhh... sorry for my noobiness n misinfo there biggrin.gif

wetfusion : yes im a new user, sure la tak pandai... starts from ZERO, HERO! biggrin.gif
welcome... if got time look at my thread
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/775275
Playboy21
post Oct 30 2008, 10:27 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Ah,my parents just bought a brand new piano black slim unit which has 4.01m33-2 on it,for my younger brother.It was a pretty good deal i should say.I took the opportunity to grab a 4gb memory stick (fake).

-PSP unit (including charger)
-4gb stick
-Free casing lol
-Free screen protective layer
-PSP Camera
-Go edit UMD
-Another 4gb stick for me
-Game UMD

= RM990.

Good deal,if you ask me tongue.gif
Lacus
post Oct 30 2008, 10:29 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

btw anyone up for the Photofast cr-5400 adapter? come grab it while it's available at malaysia smile.gif..click my signature for more info rclxm9.gif
kamikraze
post Oct 31 2008, 01:56 AM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,425 posts

@playboy
r u sure thats a good deal? is that the 4Gb fake mmc is around 100?
coz last time i saw the price not really up for psp2000.. still gow psp oso at 890.. same as i buy last few month.. hurmm..
yanhui95
post Oct 31 2008, 08:54 AM

Already started
1,441 posts

Many users have complained about the display problems of the new Sony PSP 3000 aka PSP Brite. The problem is that there are visible scan lining issues with the display in this latest PSM model and while Sony has confirmed that such an issue exists, they have said that this is an "enhancement", rather than a bug.

According to an official Sony Japan letter, "PSP-3000 has a new LCD device with vastly improved picture quality, achieving a more natural and vivid picture than older models. By improving LCD response time to reduce ghosting, the horizontal-line phenomenon becomes more visible. Since this is caused by hardware characteristics, there is no plan to fix it with system software update."

Its America operations division, Sony Computer Entertainment America has also issued a similar letter stating that "On some occasions, scan lines may appear on scenes where brightness changes drastically, due to the hardware features of the new LCD device on PSP-3000. Installed with this new LCD device, PSP-3000 offers more natural and vibrant colors on its screen, but the scan lines have come out to be more visible as a result of improving response time to alleviate the afterimages on PSP-3000. Since this is due to hardware specification, there are no plans for a system software update concerning this issue."

Good thing i stuck with my plan to buy psp 2000

Added on October 31, 2008, 8:55 amanyone know where to buy original memory stick pro duo 4gb? in kl area... shops or whatever... i check garage sales already... nothing nice

This post has been edited by yanhui95: Oct 31 2008, 08:55 AM
proz4ever
post Oct 31 2008, 09:24 AM

31 posts

will psp 2000 price go up,by next month?
illuminati
post Oct 31 2008, 09:33 AM

58 posts

playboy : the blinking greenlite n 30sec before the screen blank issue settled already by reset the console to default biggrin.gif thanks again but somehow, none of us know whats the prob tongue.gif

wetfusion : nice mods! is there any modding services provided? biggrin.gif
pavitran
post Oct 31 2008, 12:40 PM

403 posts

ok.. a complete psp noob here...

i just got a new PSP-2006 as a prize in a competition... it has official firmware 4.01.. they bundled me with a UMD collection of old Capcom games (sux!!).. so how do i flash a custom firmware ? what's a pandora battery ? do i really need it ?
Playboy21
post Oct 31 2008, 01:21 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

illuminati,well i had a strong feeling that it could have been the CPU speed.It might have messed up,that's why i told you to do so tongue.gif

kamikraze,i bought two 4gb sticks man,RM60.I also got two UMD's along the way.So,i feel it's good.
Playboy21
post Oct 31 2008, 01:24 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(pavitran @ Oct 31 2008, 12:40 PM)
ok.. a complete psp noob here...

i just got a new PSP-2006 as a prize in a competition... it has official firmware 4.01.. they bundled me with a UMD collection of old Capcom games (sux!!).. so how do i flash a custom firmware ? what's a pandora battery ? do i really need it ?
Yes,you need a Pandora's Battery in order to get custom firmware.

Pandora's Battery Conversion Methods.

1)If you have an already hacked unit in hand :
-Download your favourite battery creator (My favourite is Hellcat's 3.xx creator),and run it on the hacked psp with the battery you want to convert to a Pandora's Battery in it.After the process is over,hey presto!! You'll have a Pandora's Battery in possesion biggrin.gif

2)If you DON'T have an already hacked unit in hand :
-You'll need to open up you battery and cut a pin.This process,however is quite risky to perform mainly because wrong moves can cause injuries to your body.This process is also unreliable (Tak boleh harap) because it'll take a few batteries to get it to work if you're unlucky.

Magic Memory Stick Creation :

1)Run the MMS creator via a hacked psp unit.

2)Run the MMS creator on your PC.This method is VERY easy and very good indeed.

Choose your options,and tell me what you want to do smile.gif

If you do not wish to create one,you can always meet up with fellow forumers who are willing to hack your psp for you.You can meet up with Lacus,benwong and many more.
pavitran
post Oct 31 2008, 02:11 PM

403 posts

thanks for the info playboy21...

i think i would rather ask someone to hack for me since its quite risky,,,
anyone willing ? im from UM... maybe can arrange a meet somewhere nearby..

or

do they provide the service in shops ? how much do they cost usually ?

tq smile.gif
akachester
post Oct 31 2008, 02:25 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Oct 30 2008, 10:29 PM)
btw anyone up for the Photofast cr-5400 adapter? come grab it while it's available at malaysia smile.gif..click my signature for more info rclxm9.gif
Does it only support MicroSD HC? Or normal MicroSD is supported as well?

Does it show any signs of lagging so far? You are using it with the MicroSD HC or normal MicroSD?
Playboy21
post Oct 31 2008, 02:43 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(pavitran @ Oct 31 2008, 02:11 PM)
thanks for the info playboy21...

i think i would rather ask someone to hack for me since its quite risky,,,
anyone willing ? im from UM... maybe can arrange a meet somewhere nearby..

or

do they provide the service in shops ? how much do they cost usually ?

tq smile.gif
I do not know the price,and when you say UM,you mean University Malaya right?

pavitran
post Oct 31 2008, 02:49 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Oct 31 2008, 02:43 PM)
I do not know the price,and when you say UM,you mean University Malaya right?
yup....
Playboy21
post Oct 31 2008, 02:51 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Ah cool,if so,i'm sure some forumer in here would be able to sort you out.Just look around.One more thing,you must be a really smart guy to be in UM smile.gif
wetfusion
post Oct 31 2008, 07:24 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(illuminati @ Oct 31 2008, 09:33 AM)
playboy : the blinking greenlite n 30sec before the screen blank issue settled already by reset the console to default biggrin.gif thanks again but somehow, none of us know whats the prob tongue.gif

wetfusion : nice mods! is there any modding services provided? biggrin.gif
yup2 got... i actually mod some of the forumer psp here
will pm you about the price and my details.

Lacus
post Oct 31 2008, 09:09 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

come, i help u XD..for a small fee..belanja minum or something can already XD...ooh,as for the review of CR-5400..it's being delay..adapter have not arrive to me yet..+ 16gb microsdhc is being searched for now rclxm9.gif
Playboy21
post Oct 31 2008, 09:33 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

No,you have to bring Lacus to a five-star hotel,baru classy.Bring him to Palace of the golden horses biggrin.gif
Lacus
post Oct 31 2008, 09:43 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

=___________=..later he run off to after finish fixing it and leaving me to pay the bill rolleyes.gif
penmarker
post Oct 31 2008, 09:46 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Oct 31 2008, 09:43 PM)
=___________=..later he run off to after finish fixing it and leaving me to pay the bill  rolleyes.gif

better than drug you and buttsecks you.
lulz. joking only.

anyway. a few days ago my mom n i went to kl, shared same bag. came back home and she unloaded everything. forgot place what where. the charger for the psp is missing already. rclxub.gif i cant even charge it via usb since i cant even open it. 100% drained. sad.gif
miss playing it.
Lacus
post Oct 31 2008, 10:40 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

ouch sad.gif...get a spare 1 then?
Playboy21
post Oct 31 2008, 10:50 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

hehe,i've got three chargers at home.1 for me,1 for my elder brother,1 for my younger brother,so no problem lah biggrin.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 31 2008, 11:42 PM

5,366 posts

went to LYP today, so many laptop/hp sellers playing PSP to kill time sweat.gif
Playboy21
post Oct 31 2008, 11:45 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Alright,there has been new that the PSP3000 has been hacked.If you guys read it (The one where the PSP2000 CPU is placed in the PSP3000's system),don't get excited.It is not a hack at all,and it's not a start.There have been a few YouTube videos of it,but lol,i don't understand it.Wetfusion,penmarker and every other psp modder out there might have a better understanding level than most of us do tongue.gif

Again,this is no big news.

@dattebayo,yea,the psp is very famous biggrin.gif
penmarker
post Nov 1 2008, 12:13 AM

2,017 posts

a leaked conversation between DarkAleX and Royginald (maker of the video.)

alex@dark-alex.org: anyways if it has 2000 slim it still wouldn't be able to use 5.00 03g modules which are required for screen, etc
Royginald: so CPU3k is still needed for display to work?
alex@dark-alex.org: well, it is needed to decrypt modules, which is different
alex@dark-alex.org: but anyways i will be able to get those decrypted
alex@dark-alex.org: after that some tweas would have to be done on 5.00 M33 to work on this 2000/3000 mix
alex@dark-alex.org: tweaks*
Royginald: so there still ways for this old CPU to display on the new LCD???
alex@dark-alex.org: yes

a video of the hacked 3000.

got no display yet, but theyre working on it. smile.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 1 2008, 12:40 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Nov 1 2008, 12:13 AM)
a leaked conversation between DarkAleX and Royginald (maker of the video.)
a video of the hacked 3000.

got no display yet, but theyre working on it. smile.gif
means they replace the old CPU to the new PSP3000 motherboard?
maverickwarrior
post Nov 1 2008, 01:54 AM

20 posts

Hey guys!
I went to Ipoh the other day nd visited Yip Foong plaza.
Sort of Ipoh's Lowyat.

Anyway, shops there are selling PSPs.
I was offered a PSP with 8Gb MPSD for RM780.00
What do you guys think?
A good deal?

By the way, are there any forumer from Ipoh?
Are the shops in Yip Foong plaza trustable?
k_eyezax
post Nov 1 2008, 01:58 AM

222 posts

who wanna sell their psp slim? or u know who wanna sell thier psp? me wanna buy.... expected price around 600...tq..pm me...
penmarker
post Nov 1 2008, 03:40 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 1 2008, 12:40 AM)
means they replace the old CPU to the new PSP3000 motherboard?

yea. im not so sure about the details tho. but dark alex did mention he can decrypt them.
soon we can get psp 3k with 2k CPUs. lol. laugh.gif

but.. well, arent the CPU were the main reason for the psp 3k's faster screen response?. hmm.gif need to lurk moar then.

Added on November 1, 2008, 3:53 amsomething i've managed to come up against.
PSP Updates

too bad the dark alex forum was in their mother tongue (pinoy) cant understand nothing in there.

This post has been edited by penmarker: Nov 1 2008, 03:53 AM
SUSirkuysm
post Nov 1 2008, 08:07 AM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Nov 1 2008, 03:40 AM)
yea. im not so sure about the details tho. but dark alex did mention he can decrypt them.
soon we can get psp 3k with 2k CPUs. lol. laugh.gif

but.. well, arent the CPU were the main reason for the psp 3k's faster screen response?. hmm.gif need to lurk moar then.

Added on November 1, 2008, 3:53 amsomething i've managed to come up against.
PSP Updates

too bad the dark alex forum was in their mother tongue (pinoy) cant understand nothing in there.
I think thats the only way to solve the interlace problem.
I think it just wasted if u buy 3k PSP but using a 2k PSP back just to play ahem game.
Better buy the old 2k PSP....xD laugh.gif
chicaman
post Nov 1 2008, 09:19 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

anyone can get djmax ce to work?

in order to get it work i need to remove all the save file, which is pain in the ass, i dono which save file is the culprit~
C-Note
post Nov 1 2008, 11:19 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

but iznt it totally not practical at all? how r we gona mod it publicly?
Playboy21
post Nov 1 2008, 11:49 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

C-Note,that's the good point really.If you ask me,that mod can be considered as a major mod.And changing CPU's,if you ask me,can't be considered as a hack.
darude87
post Nov 1 2008, 01:49 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 1 2008, 09:19 AM)
anyone can get djmax ce to work?

in order to get it work i need to remove all the save file, which is pain in the ass, i dono which save file is the culprit~
classiquai? no problem for me, but sometimes it'll stuck when i return to xmb
wetfusion
post Nov 1 2008, 02:54 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 1 2008, 11:49 AM)
C-Note,that's the good point really.If you ask me,that mod can be considered as a major mod.And changing CPU's,if you ask me,can't be considered as a hack.
it will be considered as hack... DA said he can get the decrypt modules to make the screen showing the display.
for me its not a waste, i got three unused mobo with perfect CPU..
and changing the CPU cip is not hard....

as i said baccckk then, psp3k need to be both hardmod and softmod to be craked

This post has been edited by wetfusion: Nov 1 2008, 02:56 PM
penmarker
post Nov 1 2008, 04:29 PM

2,017 posts

well they really did mark their words. the 3k can be modded after all. lulz. but personally, its very impractical. first the average consumer will no way in hell wanna open up their newly bought psp to change the cpu. 2nd, you need to sacrifice another 2k psp in order to take the cpu for the 3k. that literally doubles the money you spent.
the game shops may pay an inside man to sell just the cpu. but is it really worth it?. I mean, what's thhe dif?. interlacing probs, extra mic and a fancy PS logo home button?.

no thanks, im happy with my ghosting screen psp 2k.
Lacus
post Nov 1 2008, 10:21 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

eh? I had no issue playing the game..now have to wait for the adapter to arrive b4 i mass playing DJ MAX rclxm9.gif
Wonka
post Nov 2 2008, 03:28 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

got a question here
i just got my psp yesterday and i noticed that Crisis Core is laggy
how so? does it mean that i have a slow mspd or maybe firmware?
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Nov 2 2008, 08:13 AM

263 posts

Yes most of them are.....but take care anyway.....

QUOTE(maverickwarrior @ Nov 1 2008, 01:54 AM)
Hey guys!
I went to Ipoh the other day nd visited Yip Foong plaza.
Sort of Ipoh's Lowyat.

Anyway, shops there are selling PSPs.
I was offered a PSP with 8Gb MPSD for RM780.00
What do you guys think?
A good deal?

By the way, are there any forumer from Ipoh?
Are the shops in Yip Foong plaza trustable?
allen96713
post Nov 2 2008, 06:42 PM

26 posts

hehe.. playboy..
when 3000 can modify ??

now 2000 slim machine.. price increase like HELL!!!!!!!!

somemore i dont know how to sell ...lolx....

market price now only machine already 800++

Added on November 2, 2008, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(Wonka @ Nov 2 2008, 03:28 AM)
got a question here
i just got my psp yesterday and i noticed that Crisis Core is laggy
how so? does it mean that i have a slow mspd or maybe firmware?
check your m.stick see whether is HIGH speed card or not..

cause last time i have this kind of problem.. then i change to high speed card..

then fixed the problem jor..

i play ff.crisis core.. using firmware 3.40 oea.. i think software wont have any effect on the lagging..

This post has been edited by allen96713: Nov 2 2008, 06:51 PM
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 2 2008, 07:10 PM

5,366 posts

if that's the case, then PSP3000 has lost its meaning to run homebrew,
for those rich ones, can get the PSP3000 just for running original UMD and occasional video watching, and get another PSP2k to play ahem games. ahem ahem sleep.gif
Lacus
post Nov 2 2008, 09:13 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

if fake memory card, high speed or non-high speed does not make any different. it might b due to the file itself (cso thus making it laggy)
allen96713
post Nov 3 2008, 12:05 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 2 2008, 09:13 PM)
if fake memory card, high speed or non-high speed does not make any different. it might b due to the file itself (cso thus making it laggy)
em.. maybe i let u to see this smile.gif

left is 4 giga m.stick
right is 4 giga m.stick high speed

Lacus
post Nov 3 2008, 12:22 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

well if original it's different thing. + fake memory stick tends to die out faster anyway...and no warranty on it doh.gif
Wonka
post Nov 3 2008, 09:01 PM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 3 2008, 12:22 AM)
well if original it's different thing. + fake memory stick tends to die out faster anyway...and no warranty on it doh.gif
guess you're right
C-Note
post Nov 3 2008, 09:35 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hey guys iz the quality processed on an LCD tv by psp same as a ps2?
wetfusion
post Nov 3 2008, 11:06 PM

285 posts

nope... i've try it.
david888
post Nov 3 2008, 11:20 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(allen96713 @ Nov 3 2008, 12:05 AM)
em.. maybe i let u to see this smile.gif

left is 4 giga m.stick
right is 4 giga m.stick high speed
Hi, your high speed mem stick index point is quite low points, less than 300, the real high speed is normally higher than 600 points, see picture below:

This post has been edited by david888: Nov 3 2008, 11:25 PM
Lacus
post Nov 3 2008, 11:53 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

btw what software is that u guys using? can i have the link to it? need to for reviewing the adapter smile.gif
SUSirkuysm
post Nov 3 2008, 11:59 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

I think it called Black speed....
allen96713
post Nov 4 2008, 02:52 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(david888 @ Nov 3 2008, 11:20 PM)
Hi, your high speed mem stick index point is quite low points, less than 300, the real high speed is normally higher than 600 points, see picture below:

ya... cause fake 4m.stick high speed have many batch, some are even more low index point sleep.gif"..

can you post the memory stick image that u tested? is that the real or fake m.stick ?

grammar
post Nov 4 2008, 05:47 PM

97 posts

i have a question about custom firmware. i currently have 3.71 m33-2 which is still running great except until i got a ps3. the thing is too outdated to connect to remote play. i was thinking of upgrading to 5.00. my question is, can i just jump from 3.71 to 5.00? if i can't, what version should i install first?
david888
post Nov 4 2008, 06:21 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(allen96713 @ Nov 4 2008, 02:52 PM)
ya... cause fake 4m.stick high speed have many batch, some are even more low index point sleep.gif"..

can you post the memory stick image that u tested? is that the real or fake m.stick ?
it's a real memory stick from Lexar. You can search the internet about the lexar platinum II memory card, it's high speed, but still not the highest speed. the highest in memory stick format is Sandisk Ultra III series MSPD.
Playboy21
post Nov 4 2008, 06:57 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(grammar @ Nov 4 2008, 05:47 PM)
i have a question about custom firmware. i currently have 3.71 m33-2 which is still running great except until i got a ps3. the thing is too outdated to connect to remote play. i was thinking of upgrading to 5.00. my question is, can i just jump from 3.71 to 5.00? if i can't, what version should i install first?
Ok mate,there's no problem at all.You do not need to upgrade to any other firmware before upgrading to 5.00M33 as 3.71m33 is compatible with the installer.Here's a guide on how to do it :

Note : There have been many cases of bricks upon upgrade,so it's up to you to take the risk.Otherwise,it's all good.

Requirements :
1)A phat/slim psp which has custom firmware 3.52m33-3 or any firmware above it.
*Minimum requirement is 3.52m33-3*

Guide

1) First of all,you need to set your kernel to 3.xx/4.xx.You can do so in recovery mode or in your VSH menu (if you have the VSH addon plugin installed)

**Recovery : Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then HOLD R and boot your psp up.Now go to configuration,and click X at the "Game Folder Homebrew" option until it displays as 3.xx/4.xx kernel.Example : On a 3.52m33-3/4 psp,it should show as 3.52 kernel.

2) Download the 5.00M33 installer here

3) Download the 5.00 eboot.pbp here

4) Use your preferred software to extract the 5.00M33 rar file.You should now get two folders (UPDATE and Translate) as well as a readme.txt file.

5) Copy the UPDATE folder and paste it in ms0:/PSP/GAME.

** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp **

6)Time,for the 5.00 eboot (step 2).

7) Copy the 500.PBP and paste it in your ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE directory.

** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp and 500.pbp **

8) That's all,seriously.All you need to do now is to run the installer on your PSP.

** The installer will seem very official like,but don't worry,that's how it's supposed to be like **

9) Remember,once the update is over,PRESS X/O when it asks you to do so or your psp will brick!!

10) What else,enjoy!

grammar
post Nov 4 2008, 07:57 PM

97 posts

i owe u big time. thanks. worked like a charm
Playboy21
post Nov 4 2008, 09:22 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

No problem man.Have fun! smile.gif
Wonka
post Nov 5 2008, 11:43 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

is it necessary to get high speed cards?
cause im thinking of getting class 4 over class 6 memory cards cause its cheaper

This post has been edited by Wonka: Nov 5 2008, 12:56 PM
harmeet15
post Nov 5 2008, 12:00 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

*noob here*

hey guys
i have a 3.71 m33 fw...
if i wish 2 upgrade 2 da latest firmware, what is da benefit..and wud i be losing any of da features?
any guide 2 upgrade frm 3.71 to da best latest fw?
thx
koayty
post Nov 5 2008, 12:43 PM

182 posts

-deleted- sorry

This post has been edited by koayty: Nov 5 2008, 01:49 PM
WIS9000
post Nov 5 2008, 01:43 PM

534 posts

Guys,

Need some help with my slim here (CFW 3.71m33-2).

i'm facing a similar problem mentioned in this link below.

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/460337

Every time when i power up my psp, the system will still show the Sony logo but won't load the XMB. The screen will just hang there with the wallpaper and a circle at the lower right corner of the screen. The XMB will not load until i open and close my UMD drive cover, or until a message saying "The disc cannot be read" pops up, even though there isn't any UMD inside the drive.

I've double checked that the Autorun UMD option in setting menu is set to OFF but this still happens.

So, wondering any of u guys faced something similar before? And can i follow the steps posted in the forum link even though i'm using a slim? Where can i get the mentioned recovery file?

Please help.
juyut
post Nov 5 2008, 02:27 PM

18 posts

m thinking of buying psp...
i know dat to play downloaded games i need to modified the psp..
but im wondering...can u guys tell me how the psp is being modified?...can i modified it myself?
becoz there's one shops wanna charge me rm90 only for the modification...so expensive..i could buy one more 4gb memory stick with that price...
Playboy21
post Nov 5 2008, 02:42 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Nov 5 2008, 12:00 PM)
*noob here*

hey guys
i have a 3.71 m33 fw...
if i wish 2 upgrade 2 da latest firmware, what is da benefit..and wud i be losing any of da features?
any guide 2 upgrade frm 3.71 to da best latest fw?
thx
Well,3.71m33 is a decent firmware.It supports many UMD titles so,there's nothing much to worry about.But if you wish to upgrade to 5.00M33,which is an equally good firmware,check out the guide that i posted in my previous reply. (Reply to grammar)
Playboy21
post Nov 5 2008, 02:49 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Nov 5 2008, 01:43 PM)
Guys,

Every time when i power up my psp, the system will still show the Sony logo but won't load the XMB. The screen will just hang there with the wallpaper and a circle at the lower right corner of the screen. The XMB will not load until i open and close my UMD drive cover, or until a message saying "The disc cannot be read" pops up, even though there isn't any UMD inside the drive.

I've double checked that the Autorun UMD option in setting menu is set to OFF but this still happens.

So, wondering any of u guys faced something similar before? And can i follow the steps posted in the forum link even though i'm using a slim? Where can i get the mentioned recovery file?

Please help.
Alright,a pretty weird problem.You can always try this.

1) Go to recovery mode (Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then HOLD the R button and boot your psp up.)
2) Go to "Advanced"
3) Click X at the "Format Flash 1" option.

Your psp should restart and your settings should be formatted.

Hope that sorts your problem.

Added on November 5, 2008, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(juyut @ Nov 5 2008, 02:27 PM)
m thinking of buying psp...
i know dat to play downloaded games i need to modified the psp..
but im wondering...can u guys tell me how the psp is being modified?...can i modified it myself?
becoz there's one shops wanna charge me rm90 only for the modification...so expensive..i could buy one more 4gb memory stick with that price...
It depends really.If you manage to buy a PSP1000 or a PSP2000 unit in Malaysia,you most probably would get an already hacked unit,so you won't have to go through the trouble of hacking it.If you get it elsewhere,and if it has an official firmware installed on it,you'll need to create a Pandora's Battery and a Magic Memory Stick to install custom firmware on it.

If you get a PSP3000 unit,you'll just have to bear with it as it cannot be hacked at the very moment,even with a Pandora's Battery.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 5 2008, 02:53 PM
wetfusion
post Nov 5 2008, 03:37 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Nov 5 2008, 01:43 PM)
Guys,

Please help.
hardware problem...
formating the flash file wont change anything.

penmarker: thx for the speaker mod tuto, i've use it, really help me alot thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by wetfusion: Nov 5 2008, 03:56 PM
C-Note
post Nov 5 2008, 04:46 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hey guys sry for being a newb here but i still dont get how a pandora battery works. hehe..nvm dat. all i nid to knw is whether i have to pandorise a battery everytime i change to a new battery? or iz dat not the way it wrks? thx smile.gif
wetfusion
post Nov 5 2008, 04:47 PM

285 posts

yup can...
C-Note
post Nov 5 2008, 04:49 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(wetfusion @ Nov 5 2008, 04:47 PM)
yup can...
meaning i hav to repandorise a new battery?
WIS9000
post Nov 5 2008, 06:30 PM

534 posts

Thanks for replying,

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 5 2008, 02:49 PM)
Alright,a pretty weird problem.You can always try this.

1) Go to recovery mode (Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then HOLD the R button and boot your psp up.)
2) Go to "Advanced"
3) Click X at the "Format Flash 1" option.

Your psp should restart and your settings should be formatted.

Hope that sorts your problem.
Playboy, will give your suggestion a try, but will there be any risks involve when performing Format Flash 1? Do i need to back up anything before proceeding?

QUOTE(wetfusion @ Nov 5 2008, 03:37 PM)
hardware problem...
formating the flash file wont change anything.
wetfusion, any way to fix this if it really is a hardware problem? Do you know any shops that can solve this problem and also the cost involved?

Again, thanks for replying guys.
wetfusion
post Nov 5 2008, 06:51 PM

285 posts

pandora stuff will be answered by playboy

as for WIS9000
nope... just your bad luck i guess
Playboy21
post Nov 5 2008, 07:27 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Alright,about the Pandora's Battery,it's very simple really.A psp would usually boot to it's flash 0 once you boot it up (From a full off situation).Once it's booted up,it'll load each .rco file at the time (Battery icon,menu icons etc).By booting it to flash 0,you wouldn't be able to hack psp's which have firmware 3.50 + installed on it.In order to prevent the psp from booting into flash 0,the Pandora's Battery was developed.It's just a normal battery of course lol.The Pandora's Battery would boot the unit into service mode instead of flash 0 allowing users to carry out any flashing they want.In other words,the psp will NOT boot up to flash 0 as it'll always do.Here comes the part of the Magic Memory Stick (MMS).Once the psp is booted into service mode,you won't be able to do anything,unless you have the flasher files in your memory stick.So,it's simple.The memory stick won't work without the battery,and vice versa.

C-Note

As for you doubt,no.You would NOT need to Pandorize your battery everytime you change your battery.As i explained above,the Pandora's Battery and the MMS would be required ONLY once when you brick or when you want to install custom firmware.Once you have it done (custom firmware installed),you can use any odinary psp battery and us your psp like usual.Simple isn't it? smile.gif

Added on November 5, 2008, 7:28 pmHey wetfusion,thanks for clearing that up man smile.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 5 2008, 07:28 PM
C-Note
post Nov 5 2008, 07:38 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 5 2008, 07:27 PM)
Alright,about the Pandora's Battery,it's very simple really.A psp would usually boot to it's flash 0 once you boot it up (From a full off situation).Once it's booted up,it'll load each .rco file at the time (Battery icon,menu icons etc).By booting it to flash 0,you wouldn't be able to hack psp's which have firmware 3.50 + installed on it.In order to prevent the psp from booting into flash 0,the Pandora's Battery was developed.It's just a normal battery of course lol.The Pandora's Battery would boot the unit into service mode instead of flash 0 allowing users to carry out any flashing they want.In other words,the psp will NOT boot up to flash 0 as it'll always do.Here comes the part of the Magic Memory Stick (MMS).Once the psp is booted into service mode,you won't be able to do anything,unless you have the flasher files in your memory stick.So,it's simple.The memory stick won't work without the battery,and vice versa.
C-Note

As for you doubt,no.You would NOT need to Pandorize your battery everytime you change your battery.As i explained above,the Pandora's Battery and the MMS would be required ONLY once when you brick or when you want to install custom firmware.Once you have it done (custom firmware installed),you can use any odinary psp battery and us your psp like usual.Simple isn't it? smile.gif

Added on November 5, 2008, 7:28 pmHey wetfusion,thanks for clearing that up man smile.gif
thx for the painstaking explanation. definitely cleared some of my doubts abt the hacking world rclxm9.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 5 2008, 07:44 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

No problem mate wink.gif
harmeet15
post Nov 5 2008, 07:45 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 5 2008, 02:42 PM)
Well,3.71m33 is a decent firmware.It supports many UMD titles so,there's nothing much to worry about.But if you wish to upgrade to 5.00M33,which is an equally good firmware,check out the guide that i posted in my previous reply. (Reply to grammar)
thx bro..ur guide worked well
all seem 2 be fine now..
wats so good abt da PSN n da store?
Playboy21
post Nov 5 2008, 07:47 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

harmeet15,hehe,good to know that smile.gif

Well,using the PSN store,you can download some content from it.I don't see it as a cool feature,but that may just be because i don't have a wi-fi connection to even test it out lol.Go ahead and give it a shot smile.gif
harmeet15
post Nov 5 2008, 07:48 PM

2,729 posts

olrite bro...
terima kasih

Playboy21
post Nov 5 2008, 07:50 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Anytime smile.gif
harmeet15
post Nov 5 2008, 10:43 PM

2,729 posts

bro..
when i wanna try 2 log on 2 da store..they ask 2 create a acc...
i say ok..then they ask 2 update...
can update ah?
wud my games on da card still run?
kobe8byrant
post Nov 5 2008, 11:01 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

EDITED>

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Nov 5 2008, 11:31 PM
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 06:15 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Nov 5 2008, 10:43 PM)
bro..
when i wanna try 2 log on 2 da store..they ask 2 create a acc...
i say ok..then they ask 2 update...
can update ah?
wud my games on da card still run?
I'm not really sure about the update thing,but it for sure is an official firmware update.If you upgrade,you will lose iso loading and homebrew capability. tongue.gif

Also,your firmware (5.00) is one of the LATEST firmwares out there.So why upgrade?
harmeet15
post Nov 6 2008, 08:15 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 6 2008, 06:15 AM)
I'm not really sure about the update thing,but it for sure is an official firmware update.If you upgrade,you will lose iso loading and homebrew capability. tongue.gif

Also,your firmware (5.00) is one of the LATEST firmwares out there.So why upgrade?
thot so..
so i said wat da heck..i dun need 2 lose all tat just 2 try da stupid store..
so im leaving it as it is
thx bro
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 03:24 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

hehe,that's why i still am on 4.01m33. tongue.gif
wetfusion
post Nov 6 2008, 06:07 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 6 2008, 03:24 PM)
hehe,that's why i still am on 4.01m33. tongue.gif
hey... your exam vacation end oledi.... get back to work here

apa ni... ponteng keje... hahahahahahahahahahahahaah tongue.gif

mayb we should make our 1st malaysia made CXMB... i suggest upin and ipin theme... cool?? nod.gif

need a few ppl who got programming skill..... anyone here working as programmer???

for some reason i think LYN staff should pay playboy la.... he reply almost of ppl post, answering the SAME question everyday.... haha...

This post has been edited by wetfusion: Nov 6 2008, 06:10 PM
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 06:20 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(wetfusion @ Nov 6 2008, 06:07 PM)
hey... your exam vacation end oledi.... get back to work here

apa ni... ponteng keje... hahahahahahahahahahahahaah  tongue.gif

mayb we should make our 1st malaysia made CXMB... i suggest upin and ipin theme... cool??  nod.gif

need a few ppl who got programming skill..... anyone here working as programmer???

for some reason i think LYN staff should pay playboy la.... he reply almost of ppl post, answering the SAME question everyday.... haha...
Oh shi*,i totally forgot about that thread.I'll be back!

You want to make a plugin or a CTF theme?

I can programme in C,HTML,JavaScript and AppleScript tongue.gif

hahaha.
wetfusion
post Nov 6 2008, 06:26 PM

285 posts

CXMB lor... nobody use ctf nowdays... huhu
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 06:40 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

What?

Everyone uses CTF these days!!

CXMB is the plugin to load CTF themes.I love it!
wetfusion
post Nov 6 2008, 06:42 PM

285 posts

aisey... forgot... PTF ppl dont use... now CTF... haiya... dah lama tinggal softmod.. terlupa oledi hahahahah
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 06:45 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

hehe.So,you want to create a plugin or CTF themes?
wetfusion
post Nov 6 2008, 06:47 PM

285 posts

i dunt want to create it... you la create it hahaha..
how about it?
our own malaysian made theme...
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 06:50 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

lol,i certainly thought of it,but developing themes doesn't have much to do with C programming and so on.You need good hex editing skills (i think) to develop a theme,which i don't lol.

Also,i might be forced to boot to windows to create one.I'm going to check it out now. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on November 6, 2008, 6:55 pmOr maybe i'll create a PTF theme for a start biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 6 2008, 06:55 PM
wetfusion
post Nov 6 2008, 06:56 PM

285 posts

thats why im asking around for ppl who might know about it...
if we could work together it would be awesome..
then the thread will have both softmod and hardmod...
and check this out,
snipersnake PTF theme, he make it back then when he was still in to PSP.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/775275/+540

post#558

we should gather arround ppl to work on CTF theme

This post has been edited by wetfusion: Nov 6 2008, 06:56 PM
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 06:58 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

That would be totally brilliant!

I am surfing through XMB guides,so we shall see how it goes.

Team LYN biggrin.gif
penmarker
post Nov 6 2008, 07:59 PM

2,017 posts

oh. nais. ahaha. need help with graphics?. brows.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 6 2008, 08:06 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

penmarker for sure.You should help us with it,once we've got a clue on making themes smile.gif

Thanks man smile.gif
vearn27
post Nov 7 2008, 09:27 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Anyone can let me know if I can straight away updating from 3.71 M33-2 to 5.00 M33-3? Do I need or have any procedure before that? unsure.gif

P/S: It's PSP Phat with 3.71 M33-2 firmware.

This post has been edited by vearn27: Nov 7 2008, 09:33 AM
weirdo88
post Nov 7 2008, 12:27 PM

me is noob =D
1,338 posts

hmm.gif I'm planning to get myself 1 psp but my budget is aroudn rm650 only =( Do you all think that i can get psp wif that price? sad.gif
Lacus
post Nov 7 2008, 12:52 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

@vearn, can straight away update =_=..tested on psp phat wink.gif
@weirdo88, i think possible but 2nd hand lor...
Playboy21
post Nov 7 2008, 01:58 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Yup,as Lacus said,it can be upgraded straight away.As long as your firmware is above 3.52m33-3,you're all good.
vearn27
post Nov 7 2008, 02:51 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 7 2008, 12:52 PM)
@vearn, can straight away update =_=..tested on psp phat wink.gif
@weirdo88, i think possible but 2nd hand lor...
QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 7 2008, 01:58 PM)
Yup,as Lacus said,it can be upgraded straight away.As long as your firmware is above 3.52m33-3,you're all good.
Ooohh... thanks for the feedback as I'm just afraid if I bricked the PSP only sweat.gif

BTW, what's the 3.71 fatmsmod for 5.00 M33 thingy? unsure.gif

Do I need to install the 1.50 kernel addon for 5.00 (phat) for PSP Phat? huh.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 7 2008, 02:59 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

1) Fatmsmod basically was developed to inrease the speed of iso loading (It decreased after 3.80fw i think).It also makes it better for 8gb,16gb owners.

2)It's not a must,but if you want to run 1.50 kernel homebrew,then yes,go ahead and install it.
Lacus
post Nov 7 2008, 03:12 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

hmm, loading seems fine to me..using photofast atm biggrin.gif
vearn27
post Nov 7 2008, 03:33 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

OK guys, thanks for the guidance. Successfully update the PSP Phat to 5.00 M33-3 as well smile.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 7 2008, 03:49 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

vearn27,congratulations smile.gif
maverickwarrior
post Nov 7 2008, 05:16 PM

20 posts

Lacus,

Have you reviewed the CRT-5400 and CRT-5300?
I can't seem to find the original thread started by jeffrey5337.
Anyone have the link?
Lacus
post Nov 7 2008, 05:24 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

jeffrey stop selling..gonna review it right after i finish my assignment sweat.gif got the screenshots and etc..found the advantage and disadvantage too smile.gif
C-Note
post Nov 7 2008, 07:05 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hey guys currently wats the best firmware available for most versatility and stability?
Playboy21
post Nov 7 2008, 09:25 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

C-Note,it's all pretty similar.I'd say firmwares from 3.71m33 --> 5.00m33.They're all equally good.
fongzai92
post Nov 7 2008, 10:33 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

hi all.. i wan to ask.. my psp is ver 3.71... i cant play some game with using High Speed MSPD.. but can play well in Normal MSPD.. its firmwar e problem or ?

Added on November 7, 2008, 10:33 pmand the highspeed can play the FF crysis core oni so far..

This post has been edited by fongzai92: Nov 7 2008, 10:33 PM
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 8 2008, 12:51 AM

5,366 posts

no one playing Midnight Club: Los Angeles remix meh ?

Added on November 8, 2008, 12:53 am
QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Nov 7 2008, 10:33 PM)
hi all.. i wan to ask.. my psp is ver 3.71... i cant play some game with using High Speed MSPD.. but can play well in Normal MSPD.. its firmwar e problem or ?

Added on November 7, 2008, 10:33 pmand the highspeed can play the FF crysis core oni so far..
wut u mean by cannot play? does it show any error message?

if it runs slower, it could be the Highspeed MSPD was formatted in FAT32, if then u have to reformat it in FAT16 using windows command prompt

assuming the "hi-speed mspd" is ori, if its fake, then it could be the card problem

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Nov 8 2008, 12:53 AM
Lacus
post Nov 8 2008, 01:02 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

i have it..nv try it yet...
maverickwarrior
post Nov 8 2008, 01:54 AM

20 posts

Jeffrey stopped selling edi ah?
Alamak...
Is there any other alternatives to obtain them?
Cause I was waiting for reviews before deciding to buy them...
Mana tau so fast no more edi...
fongzai92
post Nov 8 2008, 01:55 AM

kuli
1,311 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 8 2008, 12:51 AM)

if it runs slower, it could be the Highspeed MSPD was formatted in FAT32, if then u have to reformat it in FAT16 using windows command prompt

assuming the "hi-speed mspd" is ori, if its fake, then it could be the card problem
thx u.. ya.. it has a error number... and its FAT32.. must format to FAT16 oni can play ?
and.. my normal mspd is FAT32 1..

Added on November 8, 2008, 1:57 am
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 8 2008, 12:51 AM)

thx u.. ya.. it has a error number... and its FAT32.. must format to FAT16 oni can play ?

This post has been edited by fongzai92: Nov 8 2008, 01:57 AM
liquidvamp
post Nov 8 2008, 08:14 AM

★★★★
774 posts

guys guys..
i wanna play iso videos on my psp..i've searched and it seems that i need a UMD to mount the iso..how can i play the video without umd?
and..can someome pm me about popsloader?i need help with it..
thanks ^^
zizheng
post Nov 8 2008, 10:53 AM

87 posts

hello, i'm not sure if i got into the correct place but i've been thinking about getting a PSP. pls advise! i mean are there different types of PSP? how and where do i get the games (cause ori games are like fricking expensive as i've heard)?and also the pros and cons.thanks alot.
david888
post Nov 8 2008, 11:04 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Nov 8 2008, 10:53 AM)
hello, i'm not sure if i got into the correct place but i've been thinking about getting a PSP. pls advise! i mean are there different types of PSP? how and where do i get the games (cause ori games are like fricking expensive as i've heard)?and also the pros and cons.thanks alot.
there are 3 models of psp, psp1000, psp2000, psp300, search the info from internet smile.gif .
the psp umd games not all of them are expensive, it depends on the game title. u can check the price from the garage sale.

This post has been edited by david888: Nov 8 2008, 11:05 AM
zizheng
post Nov 8 2008, 11:16 AM

87 posts

i heard that it is possible to download the games and just transfer them to the memory card. is that true? or just limited games? thanks
LYNsucks
post Nov 8 2008, 12:02 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Nov 8 2008, 11:16 AM)
i heard that it is possible to download the games and just transfer them to the memory card. is that true? or just limited games? thanks
Yes u can download the games from the net umd and transfer them to the memory card using DAX Dumper. Playing from memory stick is a bit faster in terms of load time.
zizheng
post Nov 8 2008, 12:30 PM

87 posts

we can't download from the net can we? and what is a DAX Dumper? haha. i'm very very new to this. and also, how much exactly does a PSP2000 costs?
LYNsucks
post Nov 8 2008, 12:55 PM

188 posts

OMG which side r u from?!! The dark side or the bright side?

Assuming u're from the bright side, yea u cannot download from the net as it is illegal. So first, go to shop and buy a PSP and buy x amount of UMD game(s) plus a memory stick. Then download the DAX Dumper from the net and upload it to ur memory stick. Insert both memory stick and UMD game into the PSP and run the DAX Dumper from the memory stick. The game will then be downloaded, or in other word dumped, from the UMD to the memory stick. After the process finish, u can run the game from the memory stick!

About PSP price I have no idea. Some of them said the price keep hiking recently to cost RM800++ even for the unit alone! I bought mine earlier at RM680(only the unit) equipped with CFW 3.90M33.

Awww wish I have the money to buy one more battery and memory stick to downgrade it to 3.71M33...
zizheng
post Nov 8 2008, 12:59 PM

87 posts

nyahaha..don't know ma..i thought got people sharing it like p2p u know tongue.gif
what is that CFW3.90M33?? yes i know, i've been hanging on trees and know nothing about psp tongue.gif
joshuatly
post Nov 8 2008, 01:10 PM

812 posts

i like and hate my psp a lot...
my psp make me cannot concentrate on my STPM exam...
i keep playing DJMax everyday...
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 8 2008, 02:12 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Nov 8 2008, 10:53 AM)
the PSP 2000 series are increasing price like hell these days tongue.gif

just now saw 2 LYN sellers calling for RM9xx shocking.gif

PSP 2000 series are more expensive than 3000 series for the reason is that 2000 can run homebrew/ISO but not 3000.

running games from MSPD is always faster than running off UMD, and it saves more battery hour too.

Added on November 8, 2008, 2:13 pm
QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Nov 8 2008, 01:55 AM)

Added on November 8, 2008, 1:57 am

4 GB card on FAT32 runs slowly on PSP, u have to format it into FAT16 using PC. I forgot the command alrdy

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Nov 8 2008, 02:13 PM
zizheng
post Nov 8 2008, 02:54 PM

87 posts

wahh, sai emm sai rm900+ ?! *faint*
i thought wait longer then will be cheaper like other consoles.. *sweat
juniorpop
post Nov 8 2008, 03:40 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Nov 8 2008, 02:54 PM)
wahh, sai emm sai rm900+ ?! *faint*
i thought wait longer then will be cheaper like other consoles.. *sweat
LOL yeah instead it got more expensive!
C-Note
post Nov 8 2008, 03:57 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

supply vs demand laugh.gif
if psp3000 kena exploited i'm sure the price of psp2000 will drop rapidly. i'm in a dilemma wei..hafta get either one in Nov..O.O
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 8 2008, 04:08 PM

5,366 posts

have to admit that among many IT products, gaming console is the one that can retain most of its value
david888
post Nov 8 2008, 04:14 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 8 2008, 04:08 PM)
have to admit that among many IT products, gaming console is the one that can retain most of its value
biggrin.gif haha, never thought my psp 2000 price will getting higher after 8 months.
zizheng
post Nov 8 2008, 05:42 PM

87 posts

cannot tahan wei so expensive..better get a ps2 and play more games..ahahah! oh ya, i read about the ghostly images that the psp2000 creates. is it really that bad? firmware doesnt help?
david888
post Nov 8 2008, 05:56 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Nov 8 2008, 05:42 PM)
cannot tahan wei so expensive..better get a ps2 and play more games..ahahah! oh ya, i read about the ghostly images that the psp2000 creates. is it really that bad? firmware doesnt help?
i remember last time the psp200 was sale at RM500 brand new set from a forumer here, that time market price is RM700+. maybe you can contact the seller in the garage sale forum.
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 8 2008, 07:21 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(zizheng @ Nov 8 2008, 05:42 PM)
When PSP2000 came out, people said the screen was improved greatly and reduced ghost image compare to the first gen PSP1000, now PSP3000 came out, Sony claims that the screen was improved again over PSP2000.

I used PSP 1000 and 2000 before, the 2000 screen is good enough, try watch CC FFVII opening FMV on PSP2000 in a dark room, superb

QUOTE(david888 @ Nov 8 2008, 05:56 PM)
i remember last time the psp200 was sale at RM500 brand new set from a forumer here, that time market price is RM700+. maybe you can contact the seller in the garage sale forum.
RM500-600 now can only get a used set.

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Nov 8 2008, 07:21 PM
Playboy21
post Nov 8 2008, 07:22 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(LYNsucks @ Nov 8 2008, 12:55 PM)
OMG which side r u from?!! The dark side or the bright side?

Assuming u're from the bright side, yea u cannot download from the net as it is illegal. So first, go to shop and buy a PSP and buy x amount of UMD game(s) plus a memory stick. Then download the DAX Dumper from the net and upload it to ur memory stick. Insert both memory stick and UMD game into the PSP and run the DAX Dumper from the memory stick. The game will then be downloaded, or in other word dumped, from the UMD to the memory stick. After the process finish, u can run the game from the memory stick!

About PSP price I have no idea. Some of them said the price keep hiking recently to cost RM800++ even for the unit alone! I bought mine earlier at RM680(only the unit) equipped with CFW 3.90M33.
Awww wish I have the money to buy one more battery and memory stick to downgrade it to 3.71M33...
You do NOT need a Pandora's battery in order to downgrade your custom (No idea why you want to downgrade though).It can be done using HellCat's reflasher tool.Check out my guide here You can use it to either upgrade to 4.01m33 or just revert back to 3.71m33,but seriously,WHY downgrade? If you're facing any problems with 3.90m33,explain and we might be able to sort you out and that might save you from downgrading to an older custom firmware.

Added on November 8, 2008, 7:26 pm
QUOTE(liquidvamp @ Nov 8 2008, 08:14 AM)
guys guys..
i wanna play iso videos on my psp..i've searched and it seems that i need a UMD to mount the iso..how can i play the video without umd?
and..can someome pm me about popsloader?i need help with it..
thanks ^^
You can't do that.You need a UMD (Any UMD,game,video,album etc).

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 8 2008, 07:26 PM
LYNsucks
post Nov 9 2008, 04:57 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 8 2008, 07:22 PM)
You do NOT need a Pandora's battery in order to downgrade your custom (No idea why you want to downgrade though).It can be done using HellCat's reflasher tool.Check out my guide here You can use it to either upgrade to 4.01m33 or just revert back to 3.71m33,but seriously,WHY downgrade? If you're facing any problems with 3.90m33,explain and we might be able to sort you out and that might save you from downgrading to an older custom firmware.
No I dont face any problem. Just that I heard 3.71M33 runs the games better from memory stick compared to newer version. The DA fatpatch or wat ever might cause some problem to photo or music thingy if use with newer firmware. Some games run with a bit of lagginess under 3.90M33 although clocked at max 333MHz, so I might just wanna try out the 3.71M33 to see whether it's firmware issue or my stick being slow. I can't seem to find any Ultra II being sold in my area. Oh well...
Lacus
post Nov 9 2008, 05:26 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

photofast then? tongue.gif..so far having fun with it xD...gonna post review soon..
david888
post Nov 9 2008, 06:21 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 9 2008, 05:26 PM)
photofast then? tongue.gif..so far having fun with it xD...gonna post review soon..
what is the read/write speed for the photofast adaptor? i worry some of the games will hang half way just like what will happen on some of the fake cheap memory sticks.

This post has been edited by david888: Nov 9 2008, 06:23 PM
Lacus
post Nov 9 2008, 06:58 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

let me post a screenshot of it. so far most of my games works flawlessly...faster transfer speed compare to my fake memory card rclxm9.gif
(thats using 2x8gb microsdhc)

This post has been edited by Lacus: Nov 9 2008, 06:58 PM

chicaman
post Nov 9 2008, 07:19 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(LYNsucks @ Nov 9 2008, 04:57 PM)
No I dont face any problem. Just that I heard 3.71M33 runs the games better from memory stick compared to newer version. The DA fatpatch or wat ever might cause some problem to photo or music thingy if use with newer firmware. Some games run with a bit of lagginess under 3.90M33 although clocked at max 333MHz, so I might just wanna try out the 3.71M33 to see whether it's firmware issue or my stick being slow. I can't seem to find any Ultra II being sold in my area. Oh well...
.cso file works better in 3.71 , however till now no problem with 5.00 m33-3 , but i never use cso anymore, uncompress cso to iso for better performance~
Lacus
post Nov 9 2008, 07:36 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

indeed,faster and does not drain the battery more (cso uses too much reading time thus memory card keeps reading and reduces battery life)
kaiyi
post Nov 9 2008, 08:04 PM

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 9 2008, 07:36 PM)
indeed,faster and does not drain the battery more (cso uses too much reading time thus memory card keeps reading and reduces battery life)
That's the irony of it. When you compress, you're supposed to store more content per byte compared to uncompressed methods. Therefore, you'll save tremendously if you're reading from reading in the media which requires mechanical movements such as UMD drive. Compression will save battery life due to lesser read from the disc. But depending on algorithm, it depends if the battery saving will be offset by decompression by the processor. So my guess here is the decompression actually makes the battery life worse, because reading from memory stick shouldn't be a battery draining process anyway. But i'm surprised that the memory stick registers more read when using CSO than during ISO in my real life experience with my PSP. Isn't compressed mode supposed to lead to lesser reading but more decompressing process? Someone care to share some light here?
Lacus
post Nov 9 2008, 08:12 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

hmm, not too sure on that. CSO is pretty compressed a lot (since file size are often smaller compare to iso)due to compression,maybe thats y it's frequently seeking files due to smaller chunks of data being store in the cso maybe?
kaiyi
post Nov 9 2008, 08:34 PM

Yea. Probably its the implementation. For some games it is no good even you're using high speed memory sticks, such as GTA : Vice City. The lag is so unbearable just for that saving of 300Mb. I'm sticking with ISO for all the games that i currently play. Probably CSO for lesser played or stored games.
david888
post Nov 9 2008, 08:50 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(kaiyi @ Nov 9 2008, 08:04 PM)
That's the irony of it. When you compress, you're supposed to store more content per byte compared to uncompressed methods. Therefore, you'll save tremendously if you're reading from reading in the media which requires mechanical movements such as UMD drive. Compression will save battery life due to lesser read from the disc. But depending on algorithm, it depends if the battery saving will be offset by decompression by the processor. So my guess here is the decompression actually makes the battery life worse, because reading from memory stick shouldn't be a battery draining process anyway. But i'm surprised that the memory stick registers more read when using CSO than during ISO in my real life experience with my PSP. Isn't compressed mode supposed to lead to lesser reading but more decompressing process? Someone care to share some light here?
it depends on the compression level. smile.gif if you compress the cso in highest level, definitely more cpu power is needed for decompress, that why if you are using low speed card, it will cause the games lag more.

Added on November 9, 2008, 8:56 pm
QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 9 2008, 06:58 PM)
let me post a screenshot of it. so far most of my games works flawlessly...faster transfer speed compare to my fake memory card rclxm9.gif
(thats using 2x8gb microsdhc)
not bad, it's performance index is 396, still better than most of the fake memory sticks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by david888: Nov 9 2008, 08:56 PM
Lacus
post Nov 9 2008, 11:31 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

well, using kingston 8gb microsdhc class4 . rating could b higher if using sandisk (can't find class 4 anymore)
funnyTONE
post Nov 9 2008, 11:43 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Hi guys, need some of your expert advice on PSP.

I own an old fat PSP using 3.40 OE-A firmware. Its been good for me ever since I first installed it. No problem playing games or movies. I can play FF:CC and GoW without problem.

Only thing is, I think it would be right for me to keep current with the latest firmware. I've been away from the scene for too long, so to read back all the issues regarding previous version of firmwares is painstaking.

Can you suggest what is the best/stable firmware that I can depend on for a long time. I'm not looking into upgrading my firmwares in a weekly basis. Once a year is good for me. happy.gif It would help if you guys give me a rough guide on what to do first and next. A good guide link would help too. Thx in advance. happy.gif
myboo_1988
post Nov 10 2008, 12:50 AM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 9 2008, 05:26 PM)
faster faster i waiting le

Added on November 10, 2008, 12:56 am

ur nick lyn suck omg..

This post has been edited by myboo_1988: Nov 10 2008, 12:56 AM
fongzai92
post Nov 10 2008, 02:03 AM

kuli
1,311 posts

guys.. i wan to know... dead pixel is can see since the LCD is off ( mean psp off )... yesterday nite i was get shocked.. because my screen got some dirty.. somethings a brown color.. i try to clean it with cotton.. my hand... even put a little bit water on the dirty surface.. but the dot still there.. i so wonder izzit inner surface area.. mean the psp lcd casing.. it is possible inner surface get dirt ?
Lacus
post Nov 10 2008, 02:14 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

got a pic of the dirt? easier to show it here..
Playboy21
post Nov 10 2008, 05:57 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Nov 9 2008, 11:43 PM)
Hi guys, need some of your expert advice on PSP.

I own an old fat PSP using 3.40 OE-A firmware. Its been good for me ever since I first installed it. No problem playing games or movies. I can play FF:CC and GoW without problem.

Only thing is, I think it would be right for me to keep current with the latest firmware. I've been away from the scene for too long, so to read back all the issues regarding previous version of firmwares is painstaking.

Can you suggest what is the best/stable firmware that I can depend on for a long time. I'm not looking into upgrading my firmwares in a weekly basis. Once a year is good for me. happy.gif It would help if you guys give me a rough guide on what to do first and next. A good guide link would help too. Thx in advance. happy.gif
Alright,you may not face any obvious problems when playing certain games even though it requires a firmware higher than your current firmware,but savedata errors are very common where it may freeze quite a number of time when playing your game.Happened to me before.

Now,about upgrading,you should either ugrade to 4.01m33 or 5.00m33.They're both very similar and equally good.I shall provide you with a guide on upgrading to 4.01m33 as the installer for it is a little better.There actually are two easy methods to upgrade your psp firmware.

1) Normal way : 3.40oe-a --> 3.52m33-4/3 --> 4.01m33
2) Reflashing way : 3.40oe-a --> 4.01m33.

I'd recommend you to use the second method as it saves much more time and it's very good as well.I've not bricked,even once using it smile.gif

Check my guide on this upgrade method right HERE

Just follow the 4.01m33 part (Ignore the 3.71m33 files and so on).

Good Luck!
illuminati
post Nov 10 2008, 10:33 AM

58 posts

guys, my psp, whenever i play games with "heavy" graphics it started to stuck for a sec n sometimes display "LOADING" at the corner of the screen (depends on a game), some just lag for a sec then ok.

before, its ok even on the same game (im referring to STAR WARS : THE FORCE UNLEASHED) now still playing the same game, but keep stuck for a sec on different scene n level.

this goes to when i play NFS : CARBON OWN THE CITY, this happens when my car reaches full speed, the game will be stuck a sec.

its not a problem to me as if its stuck forever and need to reset, but just wanna know why, before when i first play the game everything's ok, but now keeps on stuck. why ah?
wetfusion
post Nov 10 2008, 11:16 AM

285 posts

locoroco2 out! sedut!!!
haha
fongzai92
post Nov 10 2008, 03:41 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 10 2008, 02:14 AM)
got a pic of the dirt? easier to show it here..
hi.. thx for the help..
here is some photos
there is 1 silver dot..
i dunthink is dead pixel..

zoomed..

hope u all can help me.. thx
wetfusion
post Nov 10 2008, 04:21 PM

285 posts

my newest mod

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/775275/+680
Lacus
post Nov 10 2008, 04:34 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

dirt looks like internal 1..
toottut89
post Nov 10 2008, 04:54 PM

704 posts

im having a tiny dirt inside too, didnt bother much about it tongue.gif
chicaman
post Nov 10 2008, 05:00 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(illuminati @ Nov 10 2008, 10:33 AM)
guys, my psp, whenever i play games with "heavy" graphics it started to stuck for a sec n sometimes display "LOADING" at the corner of the screen (depends on a game), some just lag for a sec then ok.

before, its ok even on the same game (im referring to STAR WARS : THE FORCE UNLEASHED) now still playing the same game, but keep stuck for a sec on different scene n level.

this goes to when i play NFS : CARBON OWN THE CITY, this happens when my car reaches full speed, the game will be stuck a sec.

its not a problem to me as if its stuck forever and need to reset, but just wanna know why, before when i first play the game everything's ok, but now keeps on stuck. why ah?
CSO or ISO, usin what firmware....

carbon got problem with cso file, even if using 3.71 version. uncompress to iso format

using above 3.71 got problem reading most of the cso format, uncompress them to iso as well
daijoubu
post Nov 10 2008, 05:02 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

-deleted-
just realised i posted in wrong thread DOH

This post has been edited by daijoubu: Nov 10 2008, 05:13 PM
fongzai92
post Nov 10 2008, 08:24 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Nov 10 2008, 04:54 PM)
im having a tiny dirt inside too, didnt bother much about it tongue.gif
Ohh... like this mean is dirt oni.. im so worry izzit a DEAD PIXEL in my psp..
toottut89
post Nov 10 2008, 08:39 PM

704 posts

lol at 1st i thought it was dead pixel but after looking at it carefully its just a dot of dirt. but its abit irritating at times lah. especially playing in dark.

oh yeah, wetfusion/penmarker. you guys know how in the hell will a dirt get to my screen on in inside? is it by the UMD door?
wetfusion
post Nov 10 2008, 08:40 PM

285 posts

no idea... just ignore it lol
david888
post Nov 10 2008, 09:23 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 10 2008, 05:00 PM)
CSO or ISO, usin what firmware....

carbon got problem with cso file, even if using 3.71 version. uncompress to iso format

using above 3.71 got problem reading most of the cso format, uncompress them to iso as well
i guess it's not the cso and iso related. because it's ok before. so, i guess the memory card already filled almost full with data, that's why causing the data access time longer. try delete some data and left more blank space, see what is the outcome.

This post has been edited by david888: Nov 10 2008, 09:48 PM
Kurt Cookie
post Nov 10 2008, 10:33 PM

246 posts

hello just asking here.
have you ever played viewtiful joe on a psp?
mine is using cfw 4.01 m33, the problem is it cant be played on my psp.
hmm. hmm.gif
is it the firmware or the game that i dl is f***en error?
Playboy21
post Nov 10 2008, 10:53 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Kurt Cookie,no,nothing to do with your firmware.It's just that your UMD mode is not set up rightly.Google up on it and you will not get help on it here as it's illegal.
myboo_1988
post Nov 10 2008, 11:11 PM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Nov 10 2008, 02:03 AM)
guys.. i wan to know... dead pixel is can see since the LCD is off ( mean psp off )... yesterday nite i was get shocked.. because my screen got some dirty.. somethings a brown color.. i try to clean it with cotton.. my hand... even put a little bit water on the dirty surface.. but the dot still there.. i so wonder izzit inner surface area.. mean the psp lcd casing.. it is possible inner surface get dirt ?
maybe?

Added on November 10, 2008, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Nov 10 2008, 08:24 PM)
Ohh... like this mean is dirt oni.. im so worry izzit a DEAD PIXEL in my psp..
u google it.some hw got chance to fix the dead pixel using one software..but not 100%gurantee

Added on November 10, 2008, 11:14 pm
QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 10 2008, 04:34 PM)
dirt looks like internal 1..
yea dead pixel i have experience it..got 2 type of dead pixel...u google it n see la..youtube got teach hw to remove dead pixel also

This post has been edited by myboo_1988: Nov 10 2008, 11:14 PM
fongzai92
post Nov 11 2008, 01:19 AM

kuli
1,311 posts

i planning to go clean the dot... it make me irritating.. any idea the shop will charge me how much for this ?
penmarker
post Nov 11 2008, 01:34 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(illuminati @ Nov 10 2008, 10:33 AM)

try checking your clockspeed. a friend of mine got this prob too a few days ago and i recommended him to check his clockspeed. u might have underclocked it by mistake.

to check, simply press select while you're at the XMB and set it to the highest setting.
i forgot what the selections lol. havent turned on my psp for a long time now. cannot find the goddamn charger. where the eff is it. @_@

Added on November 11, 2008, 1:39 am
QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Nov 11 2008, 01:19 AM)
i planning to go clean the dot... it make me irritating.. any idea the shop will charge me how much for this ?

kinda risky. not that u might break something or something. but opening the case is a 'dirty' place will attract more dust n stuff into it.
my psp screen is kinda dirty inside since my room is kinda messy and dusty (ehehe sweat.gif ) and there are minute particles in there. dead skin cells, a strand of small fibre, dust. u know, those stuff.
well, you can try opening it somewhere you're certain its clean and blow off the insides using compressed air. but if there's a speck on your screen, gotta wipe it with a very fine cloth. it scratches very easily. no im not joking. i thought it was just a cautionary to not to use just 'some' cloth. so i tried wiping with a tissue. micro scratches appeared. @_@
i dont know what did they do to the inside of the screen that it gets very easily scratched, but it does. very smooth and clear. handle with care.
icon_rolleyes.gif

or, yea maybe you can try game shops. see if they provide cleaning services. haha. not sure about that though. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by penmarker: Nov 11 2008, 01:39 AM
illuminati
post Nov 11 2008, 10:43 AM

58 posts

chicaman : my psp is 3.90 m33 and if im not mistaken the file of the game is CSO.

penmarker : i will try to look over mentioned setting, since u dunno the selection, i will look for settings that can select "highest" option tongue.gif

by the way, if its about CFW, mine sharing whats the most recommended and stable firmware?
akachester
post Nov 11 2008, 10:48 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

I tried cleaning mine before at Bernard's place but he did told me its very risky. So, its up to you whether you wanted to do it or not. Mine is still fine so far. Cleaned up a very noticeable dust at the screen.
illuminati
post Nov 11 2008, 11:37 AM

58 posts

guys, mind sharing whats the latest games available for PSP?

or maybe share with me any E-mag that contains new games for PSP? some websites maybe biggrin.gif
alwizbthere
post Nov 11 2008, 12:33 PM

10,222 posts

gamespot.com
US release dates for all psp games
or search wikipedia
last time there's 1 list of psp games
Playboy21
post Nov 11 2008, 01:24 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Hey guys.Guess what,developer Ah Man has come out of retirement with a brand new version of Ir Shell 4.7.This shell,if you don't know serves as a file manager,music player,book reader,homebrew/iso loader,photo viewer,ir remote,usbhost,nethost,adhoc pops and MANY more.With this brand new release,Ah Man has included some awesome features to his already "full of features shell".

- Supports 5.00M33 (Better to run it at 5.00M33-3)
- Infra red learning feature added for fat psp's. (By using this,you can learn the codes of almost any remote control.It works with the Astro remote control as well).
- Run's swf files directly from the shell
- Many more lol

I've used this shell,and it's just awesome.That is why i decided to post it in here smile.gif

I created codes for my TV,fan,radio and of course,for my Astro controller.

Download Link : Irshell 4.7
Download Link : Irshell Skin Pack

And of course,ENJOY!!

(By using this,you can change channels on your tv,increase the volume,and do almost everything that an odinary remote controller is capable of doing).

Feel free to ask if you face any problems when attempting to install this shell.
illuminati
post Nov 11 2008, 02:25 PM

58 posts

pardon my noobiness, what is this shell for?

alwizbthere : thanks for the info! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by illuminati: Nov 11 2008, 02:25 PM
Playboy21
post Nov 11 2008, 03:36 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Read what i typed bro.It's all explained smile.gif
toottut89
post Nov 11 2008, 06:36 PM

704 posts

this shell is for snails to hide in tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 11 2008, 07:44 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Woo,i've completed my "TrickBrick" tool which tricks users into thinking they've bricked they're psp when flashing a new firmware.I just need to add some timers and give it a better look.Once done,i'll release it in here. tongue.gif
fongzai92
post Nov 11 2008, 09:14 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

black dot possible is a STUCK pixel ?? jz nw i trying to blow the dirt... 2 times oni.. WTF.. this time really saw another BLACK DOT.. im sure its dead pixel with black colour.. T____T... any suggestion ?
andythology
post Nov 11 2008, 10:08 PM

潛水員
926 posts

silly me, i went Network Update and now I got V5.01.. argh...
Playboy21
post Nov 11 2008, 10:20 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

andythology,Pandora's battery then.
Ryuuga
post Nov 12 2008, 12:18 AM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

QUOTE(andythology @ Nov 11 2008, 10:08 PM)
silly me, i went Network Update and now I got V5.01.. argh...
huh? if you're on custom firmware you shouldn't be able to update at all... Or it shouldve updated the custom firmware for you of sumthin lidet...

By the way... is it just me, or is the psp lacking games now?? Can't seem to find a good new game to mess with...
Recommendations anyone? VK2 seems pretty boring...
wetfusion
post Nov 12 2008, 12:27 AM

285 posts

star ocean..
locoroco2..
djmax CE
..a lot actually..
try old games.. some of them are actually good.
mamata
post Nov 12 2008, 12:31 AM

better get laid early then regret later on
699 posts

done
srry

This post has been edited by mamata: Nov 12 2008, 12:35 AM
illuminati
post Nov 12 2008, 10:45 AM

58 posts

thanks for the help chicaman, i will re-d/l the games in ISO files.

guys, help me out with TV display.

yesterday i tried to connect the AV cable from PSP to TV. i did as instructed and the display from PSP can be viewed in my TV. i can watch videos and pictures from my storage in PSP. but somehow i cant play games as it always showing something "must be display in PROGRESSIVE format". i checked and selected the display format from INTERLACE to PROGRESSIVE already under display setting, but still cannot play games.can anyone explain how n why?
Lacus
post Nov 12 2008, 01:05 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

for gaming, only composite cable can be used. not av cables biggrin.gif
david888
post Nov 12 2008, 01:06 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(illuminati @ Nov 12 2008, 10:45 AM)
thanks for the help chicaman, i will re-d/l the games in ISO files.

guys, help me out with TV display.

yesterday i tried to connect the AV cable from PSP to TV. i did as instructed and the display from PSP can be viewed in my TV. i can watch videos and pictures from my storage in PSP. but somehow i cant play games as it always showing something "must be display in PROGRESSIVE format". i checked and selected the display format from INTERLACE to PROGRESSIVE already under display setting, but still cannot play games.can anyone explain how n why?
so far, only psp3000 supports non-progressive format tv. for psp1000 and psp2000, u need to use a software to output games on non-progressive tv, i forget the software name, maybe other forumers here the software name.

SUSdattebayo
post Nov 12 2008, 01:25 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Nov 12 2008, 12:18 AM)
huh? if you're on custom firmware you shouldn't be able to update at all... Or it shouldve updated the custom firmware for you of sumthin lidet...

By the way... is it just me, or is the psp lacking games now?? Can't seem to find a good new game to mess with...
Recommendations anyone? VK2 seems pretty boring...
try midnight club: LA Remix

imo it's the best looking street racer game, though at times the frame rate seems stutter a bit even on max clock speed, guess this is the game developed for 333 MHz huh
subpar
post Nov 12 2008, 01:40 PM

I would totally turn lez for Effy...
827 posts

Sigh, guys does PTF theme files no longer work on 5.00 m33-3? My PTF files just don't show up anymore even though they're in the THEME folder.

Lacus
post Nov 12 2008, 01:44 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

u need 5.00 themes if not mistaken..hmm, not too sure bout that..ptf is the default theme for psp right? let me try 1..
subpar
post Nov 12 2008, 01:56 PM

827 posts

Most 5.00 themes are made with CTF files...so I'm using a CTF file now. Maybe the PTF files need to be modified to be compatible with 5.00 m33-3? If that's it then it's better cos I don't want to lose the usage of my PTF files...
Playboy21
post Nov 12 2008, 02:00 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

PTF themes work on all firmwares with 3.71 and above.Just place it in the THEME folder and use it.PTF themes won't show up if CXMB is enabled.

And PTF themes are firmware free,they work on all (3.71 ++)
subpar
post Nov 12 2008, 02:03 PM

827 posts

Oh, cool...thanks for the info. If I ever wanna use back my my PTF files I'll disable cxmb. Tried googling and stuff but didn't find anything useful smile.gif
Lacus
post Nov 12 2008, 02:04 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

notworthy.gif playboy21! sorry that i could not help much sweat.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 12 2008, 02:08 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Sorry? Why lah?

You're a good helper.We make mistakes smile.gif
illuminati
post Nov 12 2008, 02:16 PM

58 posts

anybody can answer my question regarding the displaying the games in PSP from console to TV using AV cable?
Lacus
post Nov 12 2008, 07:47 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

i already did sweat.gif
kazuki85
post Nov 12 2008, 08:07 PM

35 posts

Lots of good PSP games are out!

Notably WWE SVR 2009, PES 2009, KOF Orochi Saga, Loco Roco 2, Crash : Mind Over Mutant, End War, Crimsongem Saga, Spiderman Web of Shadows...the list goes on. Wow.

Anybody played those yet?
Lacus
post Nov 12 2008, 08:51 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

me, except those football games tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 12 2008, 09:18 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Lacus LOL,i'm the EXACT OPPOSITE of you.

I've not played any other games apart from PES 09' rofl
kazuki85
post Nov 12 2008, 09:24 PM

35 posts

There are more games and more game companies out there...too many games to play...last time got think of buying another console like NDS, Xbox360 or Wii, but nowadays PSP and PC already almost sapu all my free time...

Havent count the time to watch TV, play with my pet rabbit, play sports (I mean REAL physical sports), Yam Cha with friends, food-hunting, window-shopping, family outing...

I'm afraid that in the future, there will be TOO many good games that we have to time to play. Oh well...:/

No time to touch Star Ocean also now...still hanging around with PES 2009 and SvR2009. Heck, I haven't even finish Lego Batman also!

This post has been edited by kazuki85: Nov 12 2008, 09:25 PM
Lacus
post Nov 12 2008, 09:41 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

lol..wat to do..had to test the adapter and preparing for exams...
blurjoey
post Nov 13 2008, 08:40 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Finally updated to 5.00M33-3. Thanks to Playboy21's guide tongue.gif
kazuki85
post Nov 13 2008, 09:16 AM

35 posts

Actually once you guys have Pandora Battery, there's no need to scared for bricking...can easily reverse back. So go ahead and update your firmware without worries! (if u have Pandora of course)
illuminati
post Nov 13 2008, 09:59 AM

58 posts

lacus : composite cable is the 5 pins cable is it?

how much for a composite cable? anyone in LYN selling it?
Lacus
post Nov 13 2008, 01:14 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

yeah, av cable only for viewing videos but cannot play games biggrin.gif...how much for it? should b around Rm35 or less...
illuminati
post Nov 13 2008, 03:45 PM

58 posts

i browsed over google to look for "PSP COMPOSITE CABLE" and i found this :-

COMPOSITE CABLE - mine is like this

COMPONENT AV CABLE

if u suggesting me to use COMPOSITE CABLE, the 3 pins cable, i got it already, same packaging as shown in pic above...
allen96713
post Nov 13 2008, 03:50 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 12 2008, 09:18 PM)
Lacus LOL,i'm the EXACT OPPOSITE of you.

I've not played any other games apart from PES 09' rofl
wow, another wining eleven kaki..
hehe. we can play friendly match next time smile.gif

This post has been edited by allen96713: Nov 13 2008, 03:51 PM
beautifoolgirl
post Nov 13 2008, 05:49 PM

Getting Pwned
583 posts

has anyone tried that locoroco 2 playable demo. I just got 5/20 on first time thru. gonna go for perfect. donno how many times to try tho. drool.gif
ayoo can't wait oso for patapon 2 don chaka to release. even playable demo will do make me distracted for long hours. drool.gif brows.gif
27 nov 2008 on japan rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by beautifoolgirl: Nov 13 2008, 05:50 PM
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 06:31 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 13 2008, 08:40 AM)
Finally updated to 5.00M33-3. Thanks to Playboy21's guide tongue.gif
biggrin.gif nice nice

allen96713 hehe,i suck bad though xD
allen96713
post Nov 13 2008, 06:40 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 13 2008, 06:31 PM)
biggrin.gif nice nice

allen96713 hehe,i suck bad though xD
nvm lah.. just a friendly match smile.gif lolx
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 06:47 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

haha ok tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 07:35 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Alright guys,i've completed my TrickBrick tool and i will release it tomorrow (maybe-if the beta testers are happy with it).So yea smile.gif I'll post my brew' in here with the download link in here the minute i'm done with it.
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 13 2008, 08:21 PM

5,366 posts

without realizing, mah PSP Slim 2000 is almost 1 year old alrdy

stranger88
post Nov 13 2008, 09:07 PM

593 posts

guys, i hv a phat psp with 3.52m33-4, and i got install the xmb theme. Now i would like to update to 5.00m33, do i need to restore back the default theme first b4 update it???
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 09:31 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

stranger88,no need to as the firmware updater installs a fresh flash 0 over.It'll be just fine wink.gif

Also,do you want an upgrade guide to help you upgrade?
noien
post Nov 13 2008, 09:56 PM

3,186 posts

any1 wanna buy photofast?click the link below.thanx
stranger88
post Nov 13 2008, 10:09 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 13 2008, 09:31 PM)
stranger88,no need to as the firmware updater installs a fresh flash 0 over.It'll be just fine wink.gif

Also,do you want an upgrade guide to help you upgrade?
thanks for the reply, sure, it's better if i got proper guide to upgrade the firmware.. notworthy.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 10:12 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Note : There have been many cases of bricks upon upgrade,so it's up to you to take the risk.Otherwise,it's all good.

Requirements :
1)A phat/slim psp which has custom firmware 3.52m33-3 or any firmware above it.
*Minimum requirement is 3.52m33-3*

Guide

1) First of all,you need to set your kernel to 3.xx/4.xx.You can do so in recovery mode or in your VSH menu (if you have the VSH addon plugin installed)

**Recovery : Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then HOLD R and boot your psp up.Now go to configuration,and click X at the "Game Folder Homebrew" option until it displays as 3.xx/4.xx kernel.Example : On a 3.52m33-3/4 psp,it should show as 3.52 kernel.

2) Download the 5.00M33 installer : http://exophase.com/files/psp/5.00M33.rar

3) Download the 5.00 eboot.pbp : http://exophase.com/files/psp/500.PBP

4) Use your preferred software to extract the 5.00M33 rar file.You should now get two folders (UPDATE and Translate) as well as a readme.txt file.

5) Copy the UPDATE folder and paste it in ms0:/PSP/GAME.

** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp **

6)Time,for the 5.00 eboot (step 2).

7) Copy the 500.PBP and paste it in your ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE directory.

** It should now look like this : ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp and 500.pbp **

8) That's all,seriously.All you need to do now is to run the installer on your PSP.

** The installer will seem very official like,but don't worry,that's how it's supposed to be like **

9) Remember,once the update is over,PRESS X/O when it asks you to do so or your psp will brick!!

10) What else,enjoy!

Good luck stranger88! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 13 2008, 10:14 PM
stranger88
post Nov 13 2008, 10:20 PM

593 posts

wow..really thanks for quick reply, Playboy21. very helpful and easy follow guide. Will upgrade once my bro return my psp. thanks again.
Playboy21
post Nov 13 2008, 10:24 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

You're welcome man smile.gif

Actually,i made that guide,and saved it as a txt file.Whenever someone needs it,i'll just copy and paste it in here smile.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 14 2008, 11:32 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/845273

My tool,TrickBrickv3 release thread.
toottut89
post Nov 14 2008, 05:01 PM

704 posts

where do i actually put a homebrew game folder?
juniorpop
post Nov 14 2008, 07:01 PM

20 posts

I think the best way to find all your guide is from youtube since they have video that shows you the exact way of doing it.
I just upgraded to 5.00M33-3 and I'm happy with it.
Not much difference from my 3.90 though.
Playboy21
post Nov 14 2008, 07:27 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Nov 14 2008, 05:01 PM)
where do i actually put a homebrew game folder?
Alright,i'll use my brew' for an example.Download it,unzip it and you'll find a folder (TrickBrickv3).Open it,and you'll see a folder named Installer.Place it in either PSP/GAME,PSP/GAME150 or PSP/GAME4XX
twyeoh
post Nov 14 2008, 10:16 PM

59 posts

Hi..for psp user..Can have more memory space
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=841471&hl=
juniorpop
post Nov 14 2008, 10:25 PM

20 posts

Damn I can't get my KOF98 PSX version to work on my new 5.00M33-3 firmware!
And I have downloaded the latest popsloader and also the popcorn plugin but still to no avail..
Anybody can help?

Playboy21
post Nov 14 2008, 10:35 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

juniorpop,we would,but popsloader is illegal and not allowed in here.Try googling for guides on it,i'm sure they're many good ones.

It's illegal because it contains Sony's copyrighted files in it.
kamikraze
post Nov 15 2008, 09:54 AM

6,425 posts

where/how to find/create ore+?? im stuck in upgrading my armor.. wah2.. any mh2nd player pls pm me.. need guide here..
alwizbthere
post Nov 15 2008, 11:27 AM

10,222 posts

gamefaqs.com
there's a lot of guide out there u know
just use google le next time
but gamefaqs.com is a good starting place
david888
post Nov 15 2008, 02:12 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(juniorpop @ Nov 14 2008, 10:25 PM)
Damn I can't get my KOF98 PSX version to work on my new 5.00M33-3 firmware!
And I have downloaded the latest popsloader and also the popcorn plugin but still to no avail..
Anybody can help?
is it work with older firmware beofe?
toottut89
post Nov 15 2008, 03:09 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 15 2008, 09:54 AM)
where/how to find/create ore+?? im stuck in upgrading my armor.. wah2.. any mh2nd player pls pm me.. need guide here..
you can get pickaxe and go on quest then look for those wall with cracks. like a visible one, if you're afraid that you can't find it. put you pickaxe on and run along walls. im sure you can find them.

another way is to go to your pokkefarm and dig the ore.
hanissyazwan
post Nov 15 2008, 04:47 PM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

sweat.gif Well i go to use my psp a month ago and i turn it on and the screen just looks all messed up like blotches of colors so i turn it off and restart the system.
Now when i do that the psp turns on but nothing shows on the screen i can hear it start up and even hear the clicking sounds of moving around the XMB.
Also the backlight is still on when i push the brightness button the backlight gets darker and lighter.
So it has to be the actual screen. At first I thought the screen was broken but i turned it on a few days ago and it worked fine i was able to use it perfectly.
But now every time i turn if off it gives me the same problem. Sometimes it works but most of the times it doesn't.

Anybody have any ideas any help would be appreciated thanks.

My psp info is PSP Slim cfw 4.01 m33-2
penmarker
post Nov 15 2008, 07:37 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(jacster @ Nov 15 2008, 04:01 PM)
one very good reason is that ur cables connecting ur LCD is loose... or semi break or maybe even dirty at the connection... so u'll be fine sometime and not the other.... try opening up ur PSP and locate the cables....

check for any loose point or maybe folded badly point... cables like this are very vulnerable to fold....
wetfusion
post Nov 15 2008, 08:11 PM

285 posts

ok... some of the forumer here want to make a gathering

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/775275/+780

all can come, there are really cheap pandora service if you need it..
can exchange games and etc..

here are the suggestion

Suggested date of gathering: 06/12/2008 (Haji Holiday Weekend)
Suggested time of gathering: 12 noon till until anytime lahhh as long as we're there....
Suggested venue of gathering: Shah Village or either the A&W of Taman Jaya PJ.... (easier to locate, but if u know the A&W, Shah Village is just right behind of it if i was not wrong...)

come and lets have some fun!
eehtsitna
post Nov 15 2008, 08:38 PM

356 posts

Guys! Need some advice over here! I am a 3.71 m33-2 firmware user and I have problem trying to get poploader and cwcheat to work. Does this have anything to do with my firmware?

Thanks in advance! biggrin.gif
kamikraze
post Nov 16 2008, 03:59 AM

6,425 posts

well.. ore sure i got lots.. but ore+.. hmm.. google it already.. but just got info about mhf2.. not mhf2nd.. the list got lots different things..
nvm if nobody know.. >_<
Playboy21
post Nov 16 2008, 01:33 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

My homebrew (TrickBrick v3) has made it to the front page of psp-hacks.com

Check it out!!

http://www.psp-hacks.com/file/1603
toottut89
post Nov 16 2008, 01:44 PM

704 posts

for ore+ i think the higher quest the higher % of getting them.
which star of quest you are at now?
chicaman
post Nov 16 2008, 02:40 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 15 2008, 09:54 AM)
I love MH, but too bad I am too noob to play. Always DIE and my friend is busy with his work, cant get him to help me lol~
maverickwarrior
post Nov 16 2008, 03:07 PM

20 posts

Lacus!
Still waiting for your review on the CRT-5400.

How much would it cost for a 16Gb MicroSD?
I don really know much about purchasing memory cards.
Can anyone tell me more about it?

Lacus
post Nov 16 2008, 03:53 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

16gb at malaysia freaking expensive...will post it within this week..preparing for finals sad.gif.. 16gb each selling at RM230 tongue.gif...class 4 if not mistaken.
kalandra
post Nov 16 2008, 06:13 PM

1,669 posts

I might gonna buy a psp soon maybe early december. Most likely going to buy it at Low Yat, so can anyone recommends me any shop and what is the price for a full set + custom firmware?
stranger88
post Nov 16 2008, 08:44 PM

593 posts

hi, after i updated to 5.00m33-3, do i need to install 3.71 Fatmsmod?
Playboy21
post Nov 16 2008, 08:55 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

stranger88,it's up to you,really.If you feel that your files load too slowly in your XMB,then go for it,else,just leave it as it is.

This patch just speeds up the loading speed,but it won't be THAT noticable anyways.
stranger88
post Nov 16 2008, 08:56 PM

593 posts

ic..thanks again for ur information biggrin.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 16 2008, 08:57 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

No problem biggrin.gif
kamikraze
post Nov 17 2008, 05:40 AM

6,425 posts

ok.. i get it.. now i get ore+.. i thought neet to combining ore or sumting. well.. i learn myself about this game.. 60hour play.. hr1 n lv 4 village quest.. is that pathetic? huhu.. dunno wat to say..

blurjoey
post Nov 17 2008, 08:02 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Hey Lacus,

I saw Sandisk 8GB Class 6 SDHC Ultra in Low Yat Plaza selling for RM90. Going to get 2 when I get the CR-5400 next week tongue.gif

Anyone having problems using CWCHEATS when playing games in CFW 5.00M33-3? The cheats don't seem to work anymore. Previous was using 4.01 M33.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Nov 17 2008, 10:26 AM
toottut89
post Nov 17 2008, 08:47 AM

704 posts

lol 60hours is like a lot. too much. if you wanna play fast, dont play gathering quest. just play slaying and hunting quest.
snipersnake
post Nov 17 2008, 09:05 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

Guys. One question. Are there any homebrew app that can force PSP to display GAMES at 100% resolution on LCD tv?
wetfusion
post Nov 17 2008, 11:03 AM

285 posts

search FUSA
snipersnake
post Nov 17 2008, 11:15 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

okie thanks bro.

planning to get that God of War PSP. Bersepah kat Singapore seh
Kyoyagami
post Nov 17 2008, 11:16 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

bersepah yang takleh blah tuh. tongue.gif
Lacus
post Nov 17 2008, 02:48 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

haha, not enough budget tongue.gif..later on planning on 16gbX2 rclxm9.gif
toottut89
post Nov 17 2008, 03:30 PM

704 posts

lacus get 16gbx2 class6
Lacus
post Nov 17 2008, 03:43 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

class 4 only currently at malaysia if not mistaken..i did ask viewnet though...they told me class 4 sad.gif
david888
post Nov 17 2008, 09:10 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 17 2008, 03:43 PM)
class 4 only currently at malaysia if not mistaken..i did ask viewnet though...they told me class 4 sad.gif
if i'm not mistaken, 16G microSD only available in class 2 currently.
nelienuxe_sara
post Nov 18 2008, 12:11 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

need to upgrade ka?
wut if dun want upgrade?
noob here... keke

currently 3.90 M33-3

This post has been edited by nelienuxe_sara: Nov 18 2008, 12:12 AM
Playboy21
post Nov 18 2008, 12:47 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

It's not a must.It's up to you.If you play lots of commercial games,then go ahead and upgrade in order to enable your psp to run newer game releases.If you're all about homebrewing,then just leave it as it is.
fongzai92
post Nov 18 2008, 03:13 AM

kuli
1,311 posts

hi everyones.. whos psp got dead pixel here ?? and.. what the price of a second hand psp with 1 dead pixel..? any idea ? thx..
kamikraze
post Nov 18 2008, 07:58 AM

6,425 posts

@toottut89

huhu.. what to say lolz.. play alone.. i even dunno got treasure quest..
just know it when change to mhp2g ver.. well now start from 0hour back in mhp2g.. even come with zazami's set.. well what is ur set? is that good to use ore+ to upgrade my set? or should i wait till i change my set to another set???
HealthBar
post Nov 18 2008, 12:00 PM

18 posts

planing to get a psp soon . as a xmas gift .

anything i should readup on or i should look out for ?

i really have no idea about this game thing ^^;
blurjoey
post Nov 18 2008, 12:27 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(HealthBar @ Nov 18 2008, 12:00 PM)
planing to get a psp soon . as a xmas gift .

anything i should readup on or i should look out for ?

i really have no idea about this game thing ^^;
Please read here first
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/612527
nelienuxe_sara
post Nov 18 2008, 02:20 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

btw u guys know where i can get replacement for psp v1000 case? i have silver... buy i want black
buy from fren at a very cheap price rm350 only keke
kamikraze
post Nov 19 2008, 03:42 AM

6,425 posts

how much for a full set psp casing? i want to change my gow psp to another color.. can help here?
unrealweapon
post Nov 19 2008, 10:26 AM

it's painful.
865 posts

PSP 3000 hacked

http://www.maxconsole.net/?mode=news&newsid=33861
http://pspupdates.qj.net/PSP-3000-hacked-B...g/49/aid/126401

device on sale this 28th NOV 2k8.

Playboy21
post Nov 19 2008, 10:39 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Posted already.
But still, thanks smile.gif
partycoke
post Nov 19 2008, 11:41 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 19 2008, 03:42 AM)
how much for a full set psp casing? i want to change my gow psp to another color.. can help here?
ya i would like to know too ...

drop a few times ... now got scratches ... n the battery piece crack ... cry.gif

This post has been edited by partycoke: Nov 19 2008, 11:47 AM
deadman8836
post Nov 19 2008, 02:05 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Nov 19 2008, 10:26 AM)
i wonder this is a one time flash just like pandora battery or we have to stick to the battery all the time.... hmm.gif
Lacus
post Nov 19 2008, 02:14 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

1 time flash kua...kekeke..feel like buying that thingie and do for ppl here XD...
dadurtyz
post Nov 19 2008, 03:14 PM

658 posts

i want buy a new slim psp, but 1st i want to ask, is that true that new psp cannot play games on memory card? and sony psp also got modified model or what to play games on memory card? pls give me more information about this. bcz i want take psp at sony center but the dealer says i maybe have problem if want to play games install on memory card itself, its true>??

Playboy21
post Nov 19 2008, 03:24 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

dadurtyz, that is true.Newer slim models come with a Pandora proof motherboard and cannot be hacked. I'd advise you to wait till the Datel's tool is released, then buy one unit. (This is because there is no confirmation yet that the datel's tool is capable of hacking newer slims and psp3000 units).

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 19 2008, 03:25 PM
Lacus
post Nov 19 2008, 03:26 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

hmm, import 1 and test o.o/
dadurtyz
post Nov 19 2008, 03:32 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 19 2008, 03:24 PM)
dadurtyz, that is true.Newer slim models come with a Pandora proof motherboard and cannot be hacked. I'd advise you to wait till the Datel's tool is released, then buy one unit. (This is because there is no confirmation yet that the datel's tool is capable of hacking newer slims and psp3000 units).
so thats mean all psp model must use original umd psp games to play it?
and i hear about the slim psp are 2000 right and 3000?
Lacus
post Nov 19 2008, 04:11 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

using psp 2000 here...well, don't need umd as long the psp is running on custom firmware. yes, u could get from sony style but still need to "downgrade" the psp to play games from memory stick.
SUSirkuysm
post Nov 19 2008, 06:48 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

Alek doubt about the so called hack. tongue.gif

http://pspupdates.qj.net/Alek-of-DA-Forums...g/49/aid/126416
Playboy21
post Nov 19 2008, 07:19 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Yea, that's a blow sad.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Nov 19 2008, 07:21 PM
SUSirkuysm
post Nov 19 2008, 07:38 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

I think its enough for PSP 200 hacked,if this hacking stuff continue,dev might want to quit making games for PSP.
Playboy21
post Nov 19 2008, 07:57 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

That is true. But somehow rather, i still think it's all Sony's fault. Instead of challenging the scene with newer updates that fix downgraders and newer motherboards, why can't they just reduce the price of UMD's to a price that would be affordable even by us? The started it, and now, they're getting hit badly.

I wouldn't mind if developers stopped developing for the psp. I use my psp mainly for homebrew as i'm not much of a gamer myself.
Lacus
post Nov 20 2008, 01:06 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

well for me, nice UMD games are hard to obtain here sad.gif...and i heard they do tax games sad.gif..
kazuki85
post Nov 20 2008, 09:52 AM

35 posts

Duh...all imported goods is taxed when coming into this country. Unless there is some game developer based in Malaysia comes out with it's own PSP UMD game yawn.gif
enemyofgod
post Nov 20 2008, 10:36 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

5.02 on the way..
david888
post Nov 20 2008, 11:08 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(kazuki85 @ Nov 20 2008, 09:52 AM)
Duh...all imported goods is taxed when coming into this country. Unless there is some game developer based in Malaysia comes out with it's own PSP UMD game yawn.gif
got malaysia PSP UMD games developer??? anyone here in the official PSP games developement team? just curious.
Playboy21
post Nov 20 2008, 12:04 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

5.02 -> Firmware stability + PSN store stability.

UMD Developing team in Malaysia -> No.
kazuki85
post Nov 20 2008, 03:32 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(david888 @ Nov 20 2008, 11:08 AM)
got malaysia PSP UMD games developer??? anyone here in the official PSP games developement team? just curious.
Nope. Why don't you start one? LOL.

Anyways, PSP games are getting better...but from what I see, NDS > PSP in terms of quantity of good, interesting games (Marios, Zeldas, Pokemons, RPGs...). PSP > DS in terms of quality of the the console, and of some exclusive top-notch games (GoW, FF:CC, Patapon etc.)...

Many people thinks DS > PSP according to sales....but I guess it's just a matter of opinion and what you want more from your console. smile.gif

Not satisfied? Then get both! drool.gif
chicaman
post Nov 20 2008, 05:06 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(kazuki85 @ Nov 20 2008, 03:32 PM)
Nope. Why don't you start one? LOL.

Anyways, PSP games are getting better...but from what I see, NDS > PSP in terms of quantity of good, interesting games (Marios, Zeldas, Pokemons, RPGs...). PSP > DS in terms of quality of the the console, and of some exclusive top-notch games (GoW, FF:CC, Patapon etc.)...

Many people thinks DS > PSP according to sales....but I guess it's just a matter of opinion and what you want more from your console. smile.gif

Not satisfied? Then get both!  drool.gif
Sold my NDSL and keeping my PSP because my PSP is more powerful though NDSL got more games.

PSP is really slow in releasing games...
penmarker
post Nov 20 2008, 07:19 PM

2,017 posts

hey guess what, Datel company had came up with a batterypack and mem stick for 3000. enabling homebrew. more info here

http://www.tomsguide.com/us/psp-3000-plays...,news-2996.html

lol wut, im late. hahaha.. havent logged in this side of town for some time already. hi guys. happy.gif

This post has been edited by penmarker: Nov 20 2008, 07:24 PM
maverickwarrior
post Nov 20 2008, 07:38 PM

20 posts

uh.. what does WTS mean?
Want To Sell?
japboy
post Nov 20 2008, 07:42 PM

yup..
david888
post Nov 20 2008, 11:04 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 20 2008, 05:06 PM)
Sold my NDSL and keeping my PSP because my PSP is more powerful though NDSL got more games.

PSP is really slow in releasing games...
is it? i plan to buy ndsl for Chrono Trigger and Japanese Learning game. ndsl has some unique games which are not able to be developed on PSP.
BuFung
post Nov 21 2008, 12:09 AM

8,407 posts

hello all.. some "good" news for those who looking for a PSP-3000

chicaman
post Nov 21 2008, 01:04 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 21 2008, 12:09 AM)
hello all.. some "good" news for those who looking for a PSP-3000

Already known and blog bout it already~

http://kenwee.blogspot.com/2008/11/psp-300...-hacked_19.html

This post has been edited by chicaman: Nov 21 2008, 01:04 AM
david888
post Nov 21 2008, 09:24 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 21 2008, 01:04 AM)
interesting news. btw, now the hacking technique already becomes a business for some companies.
guangyeow
post Nov 21 2008, 09:51 AM

110 posts

hi all, i have some prob with my psp most of the time when i play the nfs when it loads the next stage it will hang and shut down. this is due to after i upgrade the firmware from v4 to v5.0 m33. at first it says my upgrade is corrupted and it wants to undo the upgrade but i shut it down. then when it restart i find it running on the new cfw and the games worked but they will hang most of the time. does it mean that my psp is bricked?
kazuki85
post Nov 21 2008, 09:58 AM

35 posts

Nah...it's just an improper upgrade.

Try reinstalling your firmware and it should be ok. You should take note that its corrupted mah...that means its not installed 100% yet, and thus leads to the problem you have now.
guangyeow
post Nov 21 2008, 09:59 AM

110 posts

so how may i fix this?

kazuki85
post Nov 21 2008, 10:00 AM

35 posts

Simple...REUPGRADE your firmware.

Or you can try downgrading to lower version, and then upgrading again to v5.
mo66
post Nov 21 2008, 10:05 AM

20 posts

Hi guys...thinking buying psp for my kid BUT know nothing about it. Can anybody explain what is the latest spec (and also old spec) and when buying what should I look for. Thanks .
blurjoey
post Nov 21 2008, 10:14 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(mo66 @ Nov 21 2008, 10:05 AM)
Hi guys...thinking buying psp for my kid BUT know nothing about it. Can anybody explain what is the latest spec (and also old spec) and when buying what should I look for.  Thanks .
Please read here first:
PlayStation Portable For Beginners | V2, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion (Technical)
cychen
post Nov 21 2008, 02:38 PM

77 posts

help pls!!!!
i update my firmware to 5.02 and all my thing is not working now!!!
i cant even go in the recover mode(press R while starting) and run any files....
is that anyway i can downgrade to 5.00 firmware???

This post has been edited by cychen: Nov 21 2008, 07:00 PM
mo66
post Nov 21 2008, 05:08 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 21 2008, 10:14 AM)
Please read here first:
PlayStation Portable For Beginners | V2, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion (Technical)
Thank you very much blurjoey ....very good explaination thumbup.gif
Axory
post Nov 21 2008, 07:13 PM

226 posts

Hi, i new to psp here. I wan to noe beside da LCD screen n function of mic, wat other diff between psp2000 n psp3000?
Playboy21
post Nov 21 2008, 07:34 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(cychen @ Nov 21 2008, 02:38 PM)
help pls!!!!
i update my firmware to 5.02 and all my thing is not working now!!!
i cant even go in the recover mode(press R while starting) and run any files....
is that anyway i can downgrade to 5.00 firmware???
Ok, you've got an official firmware installed on your unit at the moment. The only way to bring it back to custom firmware is by using a Pandora's Battery. You can either create one or meet up with Benwong/Lacus and get it done.
cychen
post Nov 21 2008, 08:34 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Playboy21 @ Nov 21 2008, 07:34 PM)
Ok, you've got an official firmware installed on your unit at the moment. The only way to bring it back to custom firmware is by using a Pandora's Battery. You can either create one or meet up with Benwong/Lacus and get it done.
==!,1st time update then failure ady..... thnx for the answer!!! if u dun mind can share me the pandora battery site and guide website. cause i tried some of the website guide but dun seem work......
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 21 2008, 09:17 PM

5,366 posts

so the Datel product is yet to achieve any real hacking on PSP3000 yet sleep.gif

btw, how many motherboards does the PSP2000 have in its entire lifetime ? I heard got 3 versions, the latest one TA-090 is hack-able but the previous 088 can't work with Pandora hmm.gif

now the latest batch PSP2000 using what mobo ?
SUSirkuysm
post Nov 21 2008, 09:55 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 21 2008, 09:17 PM)
so the Datel product is yet to achieve any real hacking on PSP3000 yet sleep.gif

btw, how many motherboards does the PSP2000 have in its entire lifetime ? I heard got 3 versions, the latest one TA-090 is hack-able but the previous 088 can't work with Pandora hmm.gif

Using newer version of mobo,reason is they using totaly different LCD screen.
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 21 2008, 10:33 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(randy92 @ Nov 21 2008, 10:29 PM)
hey guys,do any1 know whether the new psp 3000 can play downloaded games anot???cause i'm thinking about having 1 tis weekend....hope u all will reply me fast><
CAN-NOT sleep.gif
Playboy21
post Nov 22 2008, 06:24 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

lololol

That was lulz haha
kazuki85
post Nov 22 2008, 08:56 AM

35 posts

If you're just a regular game player who wants to play games instantly and doesn't want to wait for the 3000 model to be hacked, I suggest you get the 2000 model first.

Else just wait for say...another 6 months to 1 year and see how it goes. smile.gif
juyut
post Nov 22 2008, 11:27 AM

18 posts

hi...does every game support cfw 5.00?...how to know that game support which cfw version?
HoNeYdEwBoY
post Nov 22 2008, 02:09 PM

1,762 posts

anyone play nfs:undercover at psp ? and gundam vs gundam ?
carboncrome
post Nov 22 2008, 07:53 PM

90 posts

to all sifu here..i got a big prob....my brother accidently update my psp to official 5.02....before this im using 3.90 m33-3.now icant play game from memory stick.....my question is how to install custome firmware
Playboy21
post Nov 22 2008, 08:00 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

carboncrome, ok. The only way to install custom firmware back to your psp is by creating a Pandora's Battery. By creating one, you'll be able to access service mode and install any custom firmware of your choice (Based on the selection of your magic memory stick files). In order to create one, you'll need access to an already hacked unit. If you do, ask us and we'll provide you with a guide.
randy92
post Nov 22 2008, 09:21 PM

any1 here bought a psp with playing downloaded games??....= =.cause if psp3000 cant play downloaded games...its like....so expansive the games...and not much ppl will buy it,cause of the price of the games!

Lacus
post Nov 22 2008, 10:30 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

easy lar =.=..come, help u pandora XD...
blurjoey
post Nov 23 2008, 08:34 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

My new toys:
Sandisk Mobile Ultra 8GB MicroSDHC Class 6 x2 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
user posted imageuser posted image
After taking this photo out, my SE w900i gets white screen of death. Now don't know where can fix cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

The PhotoFast CR-5400 still in the receiving department. Have to wait till Monday only can get but its already here on Saturday sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Nov 23 2008, 08:36 AM
LadyM3Lody
post Nov 23 2008, 10:49 AM

how much is a psp now ar. drool.gif
n which psp is the g0od one.
really want t0 buy psp. rclxm9.gif

Playboy21
post Nov 23 2008, 03:35 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

After lots of coding, it's finally done. Here it is, TrickBrick v4!!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/854065

Check that out and provide some feedback.
chicaman
post Nov 23 2008, 04:29 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 23 2008, 08:34 AM)
My new toys:
Sandisk Mobile Ultra 8GB MicroSDHC Class 6 x2 thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
After taking this photo out, my SE w900i gets white screen of death. Now don't know where can fix cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

The PhotoFast CR-5400 still in the receiving department. Have to wait till Monday only can get but its already here on Saturday sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
how much u bought ur microsd?

gimme one card reader lah tongue.gif
Lacus
post Nov 23 2008, 04:52 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

hmm, waiting for the price of 16gb to drop :/
momoyuen
post Nov 23 2008, 05:04 PM

119 posts

allo all, i have a problem here, my psp lcd is broken, can fix or not?..if can how much ?....can make a warranty claim?...
wetfusion
post Nov 23 2008, 07:45 PM

285 posts

i think i might sell 1 of my psp... too many oledi...
so whos interested in buying a modded psp??? lol
Lacus
post Nov 23 2008, 07:47 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

O_O!! wats the price r u expecting for it wink.gif
Freenitor
post Nov 23 2008, 08:17 PM

Validating

Every PSP 2000 model can be modded?
If i buy from Sony Official shop at KLCC or TimeSquare, can run custom firmware also?
japboy
post Nov 23 2008, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(wetfusion @ Nov 23 2008, 07:45 PM)
i think i might sell 1 of my psp... too many oledi...
so whos interested in buying a modded psp??? lol
HOW MUCH??? drool.gif
Lacus
post Nov 23 2008, 08:42 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

yeah, but u need someone to mod it for u.
blurjoey
post Nov 23 2008, 10:03 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 23 2008, 04:29 PM)
how much u bought ur microsd?

gimme one card reader lah tongue.gif
All IT RM89 and Sri Comp RM98. Bought from 2 shops as there isn't enough stock in All IT.

Already given 1 of the card reader to my gf. Very cool can read MicroSD, MicroSDHC and Memory Stick M2.

Maybe can ask my friend as he also got 2 card readers from the 2 8GB MicroSDHC he bought tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Anyway can't wait to receive the CR-5400 from the receiving department tomorrow. 16GB here I come! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Nov 23 2008, 10:08 PM
HealthBar
post Nov 23 2008, 10:07 PM

18 posts

hello community member
may i have your advise please ...
i found a pakage
psp + 4gb ms = RM1k
is it a good deal ?
blurjoey
post Nov 23 2008, 10:10 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(HealthBar @ Nov 23 2008, 10:07 PM)
hello community member
may i have your advise please ...
i found a pakage
psp + 4gb ms = RM1k
is it a good deal ?
What else in the package? If its only that then it is expensive. I bought mine for less than RM900 with a lot of accessories from Bernard. Some more its limited edition Matte Bronze color.
Lacus
post Nov 23 2008, 10:28 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

RM89 is class 4 if not mistaken. Class 6 is at Rm98
SUSirkuysm
post Nov 23 2008, 10:31 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 23 2008, 10:10 PM)
What else in the package? If its only that then it is expensive. I bought mine for less than RM900 with a lot of accessories from Bernard. Some more its limited edition Matte Bronze color.
You buy the PSP before PSP 3000 launch right??
Now PSP 2000 stop their production & PSP 3000 couldnt be modded yet,thats why PSP 2000 price hike up until RM 1000+

My advice is try to find a seller that would like sell FULL package RM 900+ or u can wait until PSP 3000 be hacked & the price will drop like crazy cartoon.
chicaman
post Nov 23 2008, 10:36 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 23 2008, 10:03 PM)
All IT RM89 and Sri Comp RM98. Bought from 2 shops as there isn't enough stock in All IT.

Already given 1 of the card reader to my gf. Very cool can read MicroSD, MicroSDHC and Memory Stick M2.

Maybe can ask my friend as he also got 2 card readers from the 2 8GB MicroSDHC he bought tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

Anyway can't wait to receive the CR-5400 from the receiving department tomorrow. 16GB here I come! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Serious? I can pay for postage it for pos ekspress tongue.gif
HealthBar
post Nov 23 2008, 10:37 PM

18 posts

i don't think i'll be waiting another 6months for the 3000k be hacked and stable down..

blurjoer .. who or where is this bernard you speak of ? mind to intro ?
blurjoey
post Nov 23 2008, 10:52 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 23 2008, 10:28 PM)
RM89 is class 4 if not mistaken. Class 6 is at Rm98
I bought both also class 6 because both also Sandisk Mobile Ultra. Not the normal editions (class 2@RM80 for 8GB). Don't know why All IT is selling for RM89 only.

Kingston 8GB MicroSDHC class 4 for RM80 only.

I saw Sandisk 16GB MicroSDHC class 2 for RM239 in All IT.

Added on November 23, 2008, 10:55 pm
QUOTE(HealthBar @ Nov 23 2008, 10:37 PM)
i don't think i'll be waiting another 6months for the 3000k be hacked and stable down..

blurjoer .. who or where is this bernard you speak of ? mind to intro ?
You can try asking Bernard or SCE in the garage sales thread. Both sellers have shops in KL. Bernard is nearby SOGO and SCE is nearby Pudu Raya.

Also like irkuysm mentioned the price would have gone up due to the PSP-3000 not hackable.

Bernard's sales thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...2925

SCE's:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=398480

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Nov 23 2008, 11:07 PM
HealthBar
post Nov 23 2008, 11:27 PM

18 posts

thank you sir for pointing the way. i have send both shop pm . hopefully can get a reply soon.

two options also means i can compare smile.gif
chicaman
post Nov 23 2008, 11:34 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

A few a few months back my friend bought 8GB M2 RM150 only....
hanissyazwan
post Nov 24 2008, 02:16 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 21 2008, 10:17 PM)

I'm going to buy my second PSP at japan.
I have a simple question that I couldn't find an answer to after a long search. I apologise if it's been posted before but honest I couldn't find it.
Here goes:
ta-088? how do i can check my mobo console? how do i know is my console hackable or not?
is that any way to check it without bring pandora battery to shop?

I'm going to buy a PSP tomorrow and I don't want to get one with a TA-088 V3 board!!! Is there a way to find out before I buy it???
Please help me.
Thanks All. smile.gif

Added on November 24, 2008, 2:25 am as i know, we cannot tell what board you have just based on the firmware version.so please help!

This post has been edited by hanissyazwan: Nov 24 2008, 02:25 AM
Lacus
post Nov 24 2008, 04:18 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

by using the UPT, it usually display the board revision. y buy at japan? the same psp-2000 is available here also doh.gif
hanissyazwan
post Nov 24 2008, 05:31 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 24 2008, 05:18 AM)
by using the UPT, it usually display the board revision. y buy at japan? the same psp-2000 is available here also doh.gif
i wtbuy psp slim gundam limited. biggrin.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=774869&hl=
anyway,what is upt?

This post has been edited by hanissyazwan: Nov 24 2008, 05:32 AM
SUSirkuysm
post Nov 24 2008, 06:07 AM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

The simple way is to check the mobo from inside of the UMD door.
Lacus
post Nov 24 2008, 11:49 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

ooh, Ta-088v3 hackable already smile.gif
chicaman
post Nov 24 2008, 11:55 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 24 2008, 11:49 AM)
ooh, Ta-088v3 hackable already smile.gif
incomplete yet wink.gif
Lacus
post Nov 24 2008, 12:02 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

which gundam 1? from ur thread, thats the older model..at least it's hackable rclxm9.gif just need to wait for the DC tool to come out biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Lacus: Nov 24 2008, 12:03 PM
Playboy21
post Nov 24 2008, 12:06 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Yup, a newer DC should do the job, but we can't say for sure right. As usual, fingers crossed tongue.gif
Lacus
post Nov 24 2008, 12:26 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

indeed biggrin.gif...btw congratulation on ur trickbrick on consolespot main page rclxms.gif
fillet
post Nov 24 2008, 05:16 PM

1,925 posts

i bought a Fake 8gb Sony MSPD from a forumer here,

funny le. it'll show me corrupted file if i try to copy more than 4gb with MSPD ADAPTER.

but if i copy more than 4GB via-PSP, all the files is working.. any idea?

lol.. i hope the files don't get corrupted.. yhahahah my MHF savegame!
blurjoey
post Nov 24 2008, 06:51 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Nov 24 2008, 05:16 PM)
i bought a Fake 8gb Sony MSPD from a forumer here,

funny le. it'll show me corrupted file if i try to copy more than 4gb with MSPD ADAPTER.

but if i copy more than 4GB via-PSP, all the files is working.. any idea?

lol.. i hope the files don't get corrupted.. yhahahah my MHF savegame!
Won't fake 8GB MSPD have slow transfer when playing games?
fillet
post Nov 24 2008, 07:28 PM

1,925 posts

ya.. but fake one cost RM87.

original sony cost RM380

original sandisk cost RM200..
Playboy21
post Nov 24 2008, 07:48 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 24 2008, 12:26 PM)
indeed biggrin.gif...btw congratulation on ur trickbrick on consolespot main page rclxms.gif
hehe thanks man smile.gif

I was given "Developer" status so i can post all my releases on the front page without any hassle!! biggrin.gif
blurjoey
post Nov 24 2008, 11:41 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Nov 24 2008, 07:28 PM)
ya.. but fake one cost RM87.

original sony cost RM380

original sandisk cost RM200..
Sorry but Sandisk 8GB M2 comes with adapter to MSPD only cost RM150 whereas the Sandisk 8GB MSPD is RM200 only. Some more there is no lag when loading and playing games with them.

Yes original Sony is expensive but Sandisk MSPD is proven to be faster then Sony MSPD.
kalandra
post Nov 25 2008, 11:18 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Nov 19 2008, 10:26 AM)
Moment of truth coming soon. I survey some shops, rm900 for psp2000 and rm650 for psp3000.

Prices may reverse soon rclxms.gif drool.gif
kamikraze
post Nov 25 2008, 11:42 AM

6,425 posts

wah.. hackable already? good for us n bad for psp seller.. haha..
SUSirkuysm
post Nov 25 2008, 03:04 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

QUOTE(kalandra @ Nov 25 2008, 11:18 AM)
Moment of truth coming soon. I survey some shops, rm900 for psp2000 and rm650 for psp3000.

Prices may reverse soon  rclxms.gif  drool.gif
Dont hoping too much.

Datel known as thief of all homebrew that developed by Dark Alex team & Alek himself said its quite suspicious how Datel can hack PSP 3000.
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 25 2008, 04:11 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(kalandra @ Nov 25 2008, 11:18 AM)

Prices may reverse soon  rclxms.gif  drool.gif
I thought DA has debunked the myth already...

it's still not yet fully hackable.

so PSP2000 may stay for a while cool2.gif
hagon81
post Nov 25 2008, 05:17 PM

165 posts

PSP is having quite a number of good games lately
1.Patapon 2
2.Locoroco 2
3.Penny: Can i be the main character?
4.FF:Dyssidia

Lacus
post Nov 25 2008, 05:26 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

it's prinny =_=, not penny rofl...
alwizbthere
post Nov 25 2008, 05:56 PM

10,222 posts

those games out yet?
i know loco roco 2 is, the others got english di?

This post has been edited by alwizbthere: Nov 25 2008, 05:56 PM
chicaman
post Nov 25 2008, 09:39 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

gundam is nice and bored at the same time~
blurjoey
post Nov 26 2008, 12:04 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Finally it's here! CR-5400! One is mine and the others are my friends rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Here is my PSP after formatting the CR-5400 with 2 units Sandisk 8GB MicroSDHC Class 6 drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

Here is a detail information of the CR-5400 with 2 units Sandisk 8GB MicroSDHC Class 6 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Lacus
post Nov 26 2008, 01:04 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

i want 32gb rclxm9.gif
hanissyazwan
post Nov 26 2008, 01:12 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

i already buy psp limited gundam. here!!!! free shipping summore! laugh.gif

http://cgi.ebay.com/Sony-PSP-Gundam-Giren-...A1%7C240%3A1318

This post has been edited by hanissyazwan: Nov 26 2008, 01:15 AM
Lacus
post Nov 26 2008, 02:47 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

thats pretty old. i though it was the Gundam VS Gundam psp biggrin.gif
hanissyazwan
post Nov 26 2008, 05:02 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 26 2008, 03:47 AM)
thats pretty old. i though it was the Gundam VS Gundam psp biggrin.gif
yes! laugh.gif coz gundam vs gundam is psp3000. im think twice before decide. laugh.gif

Lacus
post Nov 26 2008, 05:50 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

psp 3000,i don't mind keeping it aside wink.gif...limited edition anyway XD..
hanissyazwan
post Nov 26 2008, 07:40 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 26 2008, 06:50 AM)
psp 3000,i don't mind keeping it aside wink.gif...limited edition anyway XD..
U MAY CHECK THIS
PSP3000 GUNDAM available in malaysia laugh.gif
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2008-11D...DIRECT_JAPA.htm
but i just/already click buy now for gundam psp 2000 at japan. doh.gif
nvm, ill post pic later when it arrived
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 26 2008, 08:04 AM

5,366 posts

this one looks nicer, haha flex.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top