124 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Technical PSP Custom Modification: Pimp Your PSP, support earth hour! page 123

TSwetfusion
post Aug 25 2008, 12:27 PM, updated 17y ago

285 posts

Most of the PSP owners don't know about modding.
it is divided by two categories
*softmod = things related to the software section.. such as custom themes, custom firmware, homebrews and etc.

*hardmod= things related to modifying the physical looks and performance of you PSP. such as adding Led's, speakers, creating an internal memory, internal camera, internal mic in psp2000 and many more.

this thread will be organize by several people that have a decent knowledge in their field of expertise
hardmod= wetfusion, penmarker, cheewin88.
softmod= playboy21

*will add new members when the thread grows

HARD MODDING
There are many types of hard modding in psp.
so let me start with the basic,

***please say a simple 'thanks' if any of the info in this thread helped you***

SOUND REACTIVE LED'S

UMD DOOR MOD

LED SWAP

SPRAYING TRIMS AND SILVER RING

*softmod tuto
+covered by playboy21

FF modded PSP

Red ring of death

ok currently i can do led's, internal 16GB mod, and speaker.
i accept any modding request with a small charge.
but that have to deal outside this thread. so PM me.
reasons= getting bored don't have any psp to mod. i do this as a hobby, profits arent my main interest, want to meet more friends.

feel free to ask any question about modding

*also on side note. this thread is also linked to zal thread, post your psp pic there. don't care if its unmodified psp, aka S.T.P (stock tapi power) whistling.gif ..
or fully modified... just send the pic, share your moment or hobby with us.. if you got a pic of your psp gathering is even better.*

so here is the link
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/456551

psp that ive modded so far
our 1st gathering pics! doh.gif

This post has been edited by wetfusion: Mar 22 2009, 01:38 PM

GamersFamilia
post Aug 25 2008, 01:32 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,711 posts

nice..but i already sold my psp...if not i will done it
TSwetfusion
post Aug 25 2008, 01:37 PM

285 posts

dunt wory... if got enough money from modding psp.
ill buy another ps3 controller, and learn to mod them.
wii
xbx360
the possibilities are endless...
just time will tell
thx for being the 1st to post =)
Sh1mX
post Aug 25 2008, 01:50 PM

17 posts

Nice to see someone helping others to mod their PSPs.. I'm currently using the older generation Fat PSP but with the simple function of having the light beat on the Trigger L & R beat based on the sound made by the PSP via the earphone..

This post has been edited by Sh1mX: Aug 25 2008, 01:51 PM
TSwetfusion
post Aug 25 2008, 01:57 PM

285 posts

you mean the led will only be 'on' if you insert a earphone jack?
same stuff man... just need to solder the stuff on jack circuit instead of speaker point.

penmarker
post Aug 25 2008, 02:09 PM

2,017 posts

Tutorial: Speaker Mod for the PSP

sorry for the bad quality eh. sweat.gif

Speaker used: Sony Ericsson MPS-70 Portable Phone Speakers
it really booms the sound, but drains your battery like a vampire. will post a mini tut shortly after i disassemble it.

Notes:
:: Do note though that I only did this mod. How you wanna customize it, place it, modify it, is fully up to you. I got no resource to make a new backplate to house the newly placed speakers, that's why its sticking out like that.
:: Please follow the exact steps in this tut as you can possibly damage your psp permanently.
:: Warning, massive pict bomb.

now, lets get started shall we?. nod.gif

items:
a Sony Ericsson MPS-70 Speakers
a meter of different coloured 30gauge kynar* wires (depends, if you dont wanna color code, you can use only one color)
a soldering kit consisting of soldering iron, solder, soldering paste (flux), a damp cloth (to wipe off the bit of the soldering iron.makes the soldering process cleaner without black carbons)
tweezers if you have a hard time handling small parts
wire cutter, wire crocodile pliers
a solder wick if you got any
and of course, a psp. haha laugh.gif

*30 gauge is the size of the wire.

The speaker part.

The psp part.

Soldering the amp to the motherboard.

After all that is done, reassemble the psp carefully. try not to break anything in the process. sweat.gif
test the speaker.
done.

This post has been edited by penmarker: Aug 28 2008, 05:25 PM
Dark Kai
post Aug 25 2008, 02:21 PM

165 posts

I've setup a dev environment for softmod in my pc like months ago but never got a chance to sit down and do something hhahahahha I'll just wait for playboy's stuff lol....
TSwetfusion
post Aug 25 2008, 02:27 PM

285 posts

yea... he is 15 mine you!
too young to know about programming...
as i said... maybe, with a lil bit of time and commitment.
he can be the next big thing after darkalex.. lol.
hahahahahaahaha
Dark Kai
post Aug 25 2008, 02:39 PM

165 posts

yah hahahah smile.gif
addvark
post Aug 25 2008, 02:56 PM

89 posts

nice thread.....really help ppl like me rclxms.gif
really curious bout modding rite now.... tongue.gif

penmarker
post Aug 25 2008, 03:01 PM

2,017 posts

that is kinda cool. nod.gif my current speaker rig is running on headphone jacks too. having a hard time looking for a switch, that local store dont sell any. dont know where to find. sweat.gif

**added
remade the cage for the speakers using the stock case for the speakers. gotta trim off some areas to fit it in and the great thing is it can close properly now. nod.gif
snapped some pictures of the new cage for the speakers. damn pda camera. quality bad. haih. sad.gif

though just supported by some double sided foam, it can close well and less 'ghetto' looking. haha. now im looking for fiber putties to remould the new plate.
hey anyone know where they sell those?

This post has been edited by penmarker: Aug 28 2008, 05:26 PM
arshad
post Aug 25 2008, 03:08 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

Internal 16gb? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by arshad: Aug 25 2008, 03:08 PM
TSwetfusion
post Aug 25 2008, 03:20 PM

285 posts

yup.. nothing new actually...
just need
+16GB SDHC
+usb card reader

solder the stuff to memory card point...
*but there are certain ways*
* required high level of soldering skills... because its not easy to solder the stuff.
Liuism
post Aug 25 2008, 05:41 PM

1,866 posts

thanks for the info TS
Playboy21
post Aug 25 2008, 07:08 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(wetfusion @ Aug 25 2008, 02:27 PM)
yea... he is 15 mine you!
too young to know about programming...
as i said... maybe, with a lil bit of time and commitment.
he can be the next big thing after darkalex.. lol.
hahahahahaahaha
hahaha. xD
Nice thread by the way.Thanks wetfusion wink.gif

Added on August 25, 2008, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(Dark Kai @ Aug 25 2008, 02:21 PM)
I've setup a dev environment for softmod in my pc like months ago but never got a chance to sit down and do something hhahahahha I'll just wait for playboy's stuff lol....
Ah,it's good that you've got the developer environment for the psp installed on your psp.Now,if you do have C/C++ knowledge,then you can easily look through the psp-programming tutorials and build your owm piece of gem.It's very simple if you understand the entire concept of it.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Aug 25 2008, 07:10 PM
Playboy21
post Aug 25 2008, 07:30 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Alright,i've got some pretty good stuff right here.First up,i'll post some good homebrew games that were developed by some developers who have mastered the C/C++ programming language.Here ya' go.

Here is my very own tool named TrickBrick v5 : TrickBrick v5

1)Stakker PSP (PSP IDOL EDITION)
2)PSP Billiards 0.2
3)Playboy's Shooter v1.0 (My game)
4)Pipeline v0.3
5)PSP Pileup 0.4 Alpha
6)Bob In The Ice Age v0.2
7)Pixel Attack 0.2
8)Tetri Abetes 1.0b2
9)Chromium BSU
10)Freeesh v1.1

Guides that might help you to install some excellent programs on your psp :

1)CXMB 3.2.1 GUIDE
2)Recovery Reflasher
3)PSPTUBE Guide
4)Plugins Guide
5)Custom Firmware Installation Guide
6)Emulator Guide
7)Complete iRShell Guide
8)Homebrew Icon0.png editing
9)Fake Memory Stick Guide

Simple guide to upgrade your psp from any custom firmware which is higher than 3.52m33-2 to 4.01m33.
*Works with 3.52m33-3,3.52m33-4,3.60m33,3.71m33,3.80m33,3.90m33 and 3.95GEN* (The updates on your firmware doesn't matter unless you have 3.52m33)

4.01m33 Upgrade Guide by Playboy

*More to come in the future including DCv7 and 4.01m33 easy-installation guides*
*For XMB Themes (CTF/PTF/Flash0),go here Consolespot *
*There are themes for OLD firmwares like 3.40oe-a and up to the latest custom firmware*

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Dec 4 2008, 10:27 PM
BlueBerry~
post Aug 25 2008, 07:57 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

Well. Not to burst bubbles. But can homebrew be considered softmod? Cause well, your not modding anything. Just running something.
TSwetfusion
post Aug 25 2008, 08:04 PM

285 posts

aiyah.. dunt be too strict..... just post the stuff and have fun. lol
playboy, put your CXMB tut n other stuff also
=)

*aramaete~
haha
correct blueberry?
BlueBerry~
post Aug 25 2008, 08:06 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(wetfusion @ Aug 25 2008, 08:04 PM)
aiyah.. dunt be too strict..... just post the stuff and have fun. lol
playboy, put your CXMB tut n other stuff also
=)

*aramaete~
haha
correct blueberry?
Now thats correct. Hehe. Not really strict lar. Might get off topic also lor. Hehe.
ZalaDestiny
post Aug 25 2008, 08:12 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(wetfusion @ Aug 25 2008, 03:20 PM)
yup.. nothing new actually...
just need
+16GB SDHC
+usb card reader

solder the stuff to memory card point...
*but there are certain ways*
* required high level of soldering skills... because its not easy to solder the stuff.
how much is total cost for modding internal 16gb?

124 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:49 AM