45 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Collectibles Luxury Watches, Rolex,Tudor,Tag Heuer,Longines,Oris,Rado

crocky
post Feb 15 2010, 09:02 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(nomar @ Feb 14 2010, 04:20 PM)
Bought myself BALL hydrocarbon mad-cow model literally 2 hours ago ! Actually planning for Trainmaster Power reserve but for whatever reason the Mad cow just attract me.
Tried also the Spacemaster but it just a bit big for my wrist. Anyway few Pic !

nice watch! how much the fireman one?

nomar
post Feb 15 2010, 10:23 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(crocky @ Feb 15 2010, 09:02 PM)
nice watch! how much the fireman one?
Sorry, never enquire about that particular model.
patryn33
post Feb 17 2010, 01:10 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 9 2010, 05:40 PM)
Really? If that the case, then we should go for Swatch Group Thailand  rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Feb 10 2010, 12:37 PM)
Yeah. Why not? I've never dealt with Swatch Group thailand (if there is one, that is) so I don't know what their pricing are like.

Btw, you don't have to be such a smart pants about it. I'm just relaying my experiences with Rolex Singapore so if you are not interested, just keep your post to yourself. You don't have to post a sarcastic remark like that to discredit me.
OMG... experience with Rolex SG how to use that on Swatch Group... different entity may function differently too.
so with Rolex, I guess go Thailand is cheaper. *** thinking out Loud ***

BTW: ck77 just stating the facts what... whats wrong with that? don't like ppl to discredit U? ego too big? sweat.gif

ck77
post Feb 17 2010, 05:12 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 17 2010, 01:10 PM)
OMG... experience with Rolex SG how to use that on Swatch Group... different entity may function differently too.
so with Rolex, I guess go Thailand is cheaper.  *** thinking out Loud ***

BTW: ck77 just stating the facts what... whats wrong with that? don't like ppl to discredit U?  ego too big? sweat.gif
No worries patryn, we've already cleared the air thumbup.gif Peace and Gong Xi Fa Cai rclxms.gif
friedricetheman
post Feb 18 2010, 12:16 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 17 2010, 01:10 PM)
so with Rolex, I guess go Thailand is cheaper.  *** thinking out Loud ***

BTW: ck77 just stating the facts what... whats wrong with that? don't like ppl to discredit U?  ego too big? sweat.gif
It was cleared up eons ago. Go check previous posts before posting. Or maybe you have seen the previous posts and you still want to do a round of dissing. blink.gif

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Feb 18 2010, 12:24 AM
nando
post Feb 18 2010, 10:22 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

QUOTE(nomar @ Feb 14 2010, 09:42 PM)
No idea really, I was looking for a dress watch and contemplating between Trainmaster Power reserve or Pulsemeter COSC, read reviews,forum,pic.. etc and set on power reserve partly because on web picture the white enamel background looks stunning + shop doesn't hv stock pulsemeter.

But seeing it physically it looks like 'normal' white, mind you ít still looks good (and may still be my 2nd Ball  purchase ha! ha! ) Anyway very happy with the mad-cow. despite its apparent size not very heavy due to titanium casing. I handhold both Spacemaster and Mad cow and can feel weight different.
OMG...dont tell me you were poisoned by these pictures also? http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/ori...er-reserve.html

hahahah..if yes, same like me...i went to take a look at the real thing..was not really impressed by it...quite pricey too....decided not to go for an impulse buy..

power911
post Feb 19 2010, 07:15 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

hey everyone
I got a question here
I see watches saying a number of jewels
for example like mine says "CITIZEN 25 JEWELS"
what does those jewels mean?
does it mean it have 25 jewels inside?
does it mean it have 25 type of jewels?
does 25 mean is a type of jewel used?
Lurker
post Feb 19 2010, 07:56 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

http://www.timezone.com/library/wwatchfaq/...668591017665598

1.1.3  What does "17 jewels" mean?
Higher grade watches have traditionally used a jeweled movements, which means that jewels (originally natural ruby, now synthetic ruby) were actually used in the movement. These jewels are functional - they are used as the bearings for the wheel trains and in high wear parts such as the escape lever and impulse jewel.
A lower-end movement from before 1970 would typically use 5 or 7 jewels; this end of the market has pretty much been taken over by quartz.  Nowadays, most manual wind watches will have a standard complement of 17 jewels, which are:

1:    Impulse jewel (the part of the balance wheel assembly which receives a kick from the escape lever) 
2-5:  Balance staff pivot bearings (two pairs - in combinations of one pivot jewel (i.e. jewel with a hole to receive the axle (pivot) of the wheel) and one cap jewel (i.e. jewel without a hole outboard of the pivot jewel, to prevent excessive movement of the balance staff), usually shock protected) 
6-7:  Escape lever pallets (one pair) 
8-9:  Escape lever pivot bearings (one pair) 
10-11: Escape wheel pivot bearings (one pair) 
12-13: Fourth wheel pivot bearings (one pair) 
14-15: Third wheel pivot bearings (one pair) 
16-17: Center wheel pivot bearings (one pair) 
Note that automatic winding movements, and movements with additional functions such as chronographs and calendars, can up the total number of jewels tremendously. For example, the IWC Il Destriero Scafusia (claimed to be among the most complicated wristwatches manufactured) has a total of 76 jewels to accommodate the time, perpetual calendar, rattrapante chronograph, repeater, and tourbillon functions - and this is a manual wind watch.

friedricetheman
post Feb 20 2010, 02:32 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Feb 19 2010, 07:15 PM)
hey everyone
I got a question here
I see watches saying a number of jewels
for example like mine says "CITIZEN 25 JEWELS"
what does those jewels mean?
does it mean it have 25 jewels inside?
does it mean it have 25 type of jewels?
does 25 mean is a type of jewel used?
In layman terms, jewels are synthetic rubies. Near worthless in money terms but in a watch, it helps to reduce friction between moving parts. "25 jewels" basically means that your watch has 25 synthetic rubies wedged inside the movement to prevent friction.

A 50 jewel movement isn't neccessary better than a 20 jewel movement. Sometimes, watch makers put in additional (unneccessary) jewels inside a watch to decorate it (make it look prettier). This is usually the case in skeleton and see through caseback watches.

A normal watch (eg. one that just tells the time) will run quite well on 17 jewels.
zxeen
post Feb 21 2010, 09:22 PM

352 posts

My collection, all handed down 2 generations from my grandparents and parents. These probably are no where near luxury, but they sure have value, at least to me biggrin.gif

Two self winding Rado Rado Diastar and a Omega Constellation, 1970's. the centre Rado i belive is the most original design. love the simplicity of the face. newer models have just too many bling blings around. these Rados, they're unscratchable, even with a sharp knife. but a drop on the floor will cause cracks.

My late grandfather's Roskopf, should be 1940's or 50's. This one i'm puzzled. Roskopf made legendary pocket watches in the 19th century. i never knew they made wristwatches too. need help here..

Ladies Tissot, 1960s

Ladies Rado also 1960s

Torex? search on the net returns no results. maybe vintage cap ayam.. anyone knows? All the ladies' watches and the Roskopf are mechanical, but not self winding. need to remember to wind every now and then. after all these years they all still tick though.

This one is not vintage. Luxury watch sifus will scorn upon the sight of this one. why? it's a replica! a gift from a friend, bought it in china for about rm30+. it works reliably for years and the quality is quite decent. just to share that replica watches are not all that bad as claimed. only problem is the chrome coating coming off and the decorative piece on the engine dropped off. this must be grade c replica. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zxeen: Feb 21 2010, 09:28 PM
nomar
post Feb 21 2010, 10:59 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 18 2010, 10:22 PM)
OMG...dont tell me you were poisoned by these pictures also? http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/ori...er-reserve.html

hahahah..if yes, same like me...i went to take a look at the real thing..was not really impressed by it...quite pricey too....decided not to go for an impulse buy..
Yup, normally web picture doesn't do justice to the real thing. I'm going again soon to have a second look at the Pulse meter Power reserve , maybe 2nd time around it will give different impression.

Anyway got a surprise gift from Maybank, a 'Longines' watch. Schooling days I held a high regard on this brand, being sponsors to many great events. but to me , at least on my model, quality is not very high.
Few Pic:

The straps are very nice though.

Case diameter is only 33mm, with most watches going for 40+mm now it really looks puny ( almost like ladies size ) especially next to my 'Mad-Cow'

Back is nothing special. To be honest though without 'Longines' written on the dial it looks like any basic watch.
I can't believe the price tag accompanying it, search Amazon and wonder how they justify 2K+ for it !
Sorry if I sound ungrateful ( it's still a free watch ) but just trying to justify price tag with quality.
ck77
post Feb 21 2010, 11:06 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(nomar @ Feb 21 2010, 10:59 PM)
Anyway got a surprise gift from Maybank,  a 'Longines' watch. Schooling days I held a high regard on this brand, being sponsors to many great events. but to me , at least on my model, quality is not very high.
Few Pic:
Back is nothing special. To be honest though without 'Longines' written on the dial it looks like any basic watch.
I can't believe the price tag accompanying it, search Amazon and wonder how they justify 2K+ for it !
Sorry if  I sound ungrateful ( it's still a free watch ) but just trying to justify price tag with quality.
Ya look very plain to me, is it a quartz? Anyway, is free tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ck77: Feb 21 2010, 11:08 PM
nomar
post Feb 21 2010, 11:37 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 21 2010, 11:06 PM)
Ya look very plain to me, is it a quartz? Anyway, is free  tongue.gif
Yup, Quartz movement
Jason
post Feb 23 2010, 02:56 AM

6,354 posts

brother nomar... can share with us why you went with the black dial mad cow instead of the white dial one? just curious about your personal selection process.

i feel white dial mad cow also very nice with the blue hands.. very classy, but the black dial also nice.. more macho
nomar
post Feb 23 2010, 05:25 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 23 2010, 02:56 AM)
brother nomar... can share with us why you went with the black dial mad cow instead of the white dial one? just curious about your personal selection process.

i feel white dial mad cow also very nice with the blue hands.. very classy, but the black dial also nice.. more macho
Actually because white dial 'Mad Cow' don't have stock and AD doesn't know if its coming. White Spacemaster is very nice too but its a bit bigger and heavier ( stainless steel vs Titanium/SS combi ).
Jason
post Feb 23 2010, 09:23 PM

6,354 posts

1 Utama AD got stock for white dial mad cow tongue.gif the blue hands on white dial is really a class act.. they pulled it off very well!

yes indeed, the Mad Cow is lighter than Spacemaster due to Ti construction.. I feel Mad Cow is just nice (the weight).. perfectly balanced..not too light till you don't feel the "ummph" but not too heavy to drag you down.

I tried the Oris TT3 Ti.. wearing it really.. I tarak rasa.. ***personal preference, owners please don't shoot me, its a nice watch***
alantch
post Mar 25 2010, 10:16 AM

43 posts

Anyone here knows what's the price for the Rolex GMT Master IIc in Msia - the newest version with the ceramic bezel?
SamD
post Mar 26 2010, 03:48 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(alantch @ Mar 25 2010, 10:16 AM)
Anyone here knows what's the price for the Rolex GMT Master IIc in Msia - the newest version with the ceramic bezel?
Well, there are two prices here that you need to know,

MSRP - RM22,xxx
Price sell by AD - RM27,xxx

From my experience, it's alot cheaper to buy a Rollie outside Malaysia despite the currency exchange, say USD. It's a sad thing to know eventhough the gov does not impose tax/duty on watches, but there's always markup by ADs here especially on sports model (sub, GMT, Daytonas, etc). Check out those internet forums (timezone, WUS and eBay), you can buy the GMTIIc a 3 months old for USD5,500 (RM18,500!!) or even new ones for less than USD6,000 which is definitely much cheaper than RM27,000 here. Good luck thumbup.gif
alantch
post Mar 26 2010, 04:07 PM

43 posts

SamD, thanks for the info. Agree that prices are indeed cheaper on the net than what the ADs offer, but I'm not comfortable spending that kind of money buying it online. What has been your experience buying expensive watches online btw as it seems you have lots of experience to share? smile.gif
SamD
post Mar 26 2010, 04:37 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(alantch @ Mar 26 2010, 04:07 PM)
SamD, thanks for the info. Agree that prices are indeed cheaper on the net than what the ADs offer, but I'm not comfortable spending that kind of money buying it online. What has been your experience buying expensive watches online btw as it seems you have lots of experience to share? smile.gif
I will share these simple 3 rules. They have worked well for me.

1. "know what you're buying or want to buy". Do research by readings various forums, articles etc.

2. "buy the seller". Check his references and follow through, asks for close-up pictures other than those posted, validate the serial number against the warranty card. Get his contact info fully (home & office address), not just handphone. Validate the address given, not some bogus chicken shop, restaurant, abandoned warehouse or what have you. If you're paying via wire transfer, check with the receiving bank how long the account has been established before proceeding.

3. "if it looks strange, sounds strange, then it is strange!" Anytime your instinct tells you it's fishy, backout and move on.

Hope these helps! whistling.gif

45 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:55 AM