Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best
SonicSpyro
Apr 28 2010, 11:29 AM
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html^ Should answer your questions and push you into the right direction. According to that, it can play almost any game at MAX settings. So yeah... if you have more money, go get the Alienware MX-17, the one with DUAL HD5870M. Now that one is gonna blow your cute little socks off.
Mr.Docter
Apr 28 2010, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(SonicSpyro @ Apr 28 2010, 11:29 AM) http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html^ Should answer your questions and push you into the right direction. According to that, it can play almost any game at MAX settings. So yeah... if you have more money, go get the Alienware MX-17, the one with DUAL HD5870M. Now that one is gonna blow your cute little socks off. lulz. just noticed the website updated its content!  EDIT : updated. This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Apr 28 2010, 12:16 PM
satria_drag
Apr 28 2010, 02:10 PM

neh ......... the Alienware MX-17, the one with DUAL HD5870M is too too too EXP ..... my budget only enough for NP8690 =.= so is reconmmend to get FULL HD lcd then the 1600X900 lcd right ?? got any benchmark about 1920x1080 with FULL AA and AF ??
TScorad
Apr 28 2010, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(satria_drag @ Apr 28 2010, 02:10 PM) neh ......... the Alienware MX-17, the one with DUAL HD5870M is too too too EXP ..... my budget only enough for NP8690 =.= so is reconmmend to get FULL HD lcd then the 1600X900 lcd right ?? got any benchmark about 1920x1080 with FULL AA and AF ?? honestly , i don't think anyone would really be able to tell the difference of 1600x900 or 1920x1080 on a 15' screen. i think it'll be more worth it spending on more RAM / HDD space
Fantasia
Apr 28 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(satria_drag @ Apr 28 2010, 02:10 PM) neh ......... the Alienware MX-17, the one with DUAL HD5870M is too too too EXP ..... my budget only enough for NP8690 =.= so is reconmmend to get FULL HD lcd then the 1600X900 lcd right ?? got any benchmark about 1920x1080 with FULL AA and AF ?? alienware for dual HD5870 meh?? it's either 4870X2 or single HD5870 right??
julchin_09
Apr 28 2010, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Apr 28 2010, 05:06 PM) alienware for dual HD5870 meh?? it's either 4870X2 or single HD5870 right?? I think cos the M17x is due to be released soon with DUAL 5870 CF...
Mr.Docter
Apr 28 2010, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Apr 28 2010, 05:06 PM) alienware for dual HD5870 meh?? it's either 4870X2 or single HD5870 right?? i think Alienware gonna skip HD5870 as their most powerfull GPU and directly go to 5870CF  /lets keep Sager's thread clean from sidetalk please
Mr.Docter
Apr 29 2010, 03:49 PM
any HD5870 user tried Eye Infinity yet??
Trrienty
Apr 29 2010, 11:26 PM
Need advise from you guys..what is the different betwen NP8760 and NP8690. Both i put the same spec juz that the screen size is different. Both i7-720 and GTX 285M. NP8760 is around RM6.3k and NP8690 is around RM6.1k. What do you guys think about it? is it better to go for the 17 inch NP8760? And is it worth to go for GTX 285M or stick with the ATI HD 5870?
This post has been edited by Trrienty: Apr 30 2010, 12:02 AM
alex890628
Apr 29 2010, 11:46 PM
of coz HD 5870 the best la.
Trrienty
Apr 30 2010, 12:02 AM
ohh? but why GTX 285M is 100+ more expensive ah?
alex890628
Apr 30 2010, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(Trrienty @ Apr 30 2010, 12:02 AM) ohh? but why GTX 285M is 100+ more expensive ah? hmmm i have nth to say about that. but so far HD 5870 performance is better than GTX 285. as i know HD 5870 is new. btw correct me if i'm wrong.
Fantasia
Apr 30 2010, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(Trrienty @ Apr 30 2010, 12:02 AM) ohh? but why GTX 285M is 100+ more expensive ah? because the the word "nvidia"
Trrienty
Apr 30 2010, 12:33 AM
ohh..thanks for the info. Sound like i can save 100+  .Back to the main question, is is worth to go for NP8760? The spec is exactly the same with NP8690. It is only RM200+ different. I see alots of forumer go for NP8690. So it make me think that is it anything happen with NP8760  Actually was just about to get an Alienware. But after i found this brand. I can get better spec with lower price. Just that it doesnt has fancy light like the Alien This post has been edited by Trrienty: Apr 30 2010, 12:35 AM
Fantasia
Apr 30 2010, 12:37 AM
it's between better visual experience and portability. choose which 1 more important to u
Mr.Docter
Apr 30 2010, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(Trrienty @ Apr 29 2010, 11:26 PM) Need advise from you guys..what is the different betwen NP8760 and NP8690. Both i put the same spec juz that the screen size is different. Both i7-720 and GTX 285M. NP8760 is around RM6.3k and NP8690 is around RM6.1k. What do you guys think about it? is it better to go for the 17 inch NP8760? And is it worth to go for GTX 285M or stick with the ATI HD 5870? +1 for ATI HD 5870 GTX285 is just overclocked GTX280. thats all. isn't this is one of Nvidia expert in? rebranding? QUOTE(Fantasia @ Apr 30 2010, 12:23 AM) because the the word "nvidia"  don't forget, Nvidia always update their driver from time to time. but frankly saying, yep you are right
Trrienty
Apr 30 2010, 04:41 PM
i know Nvidia always rebrand their model. Didnt know its overclock from GTX280M This sager beast is so much worth it compare to alienware. I choose the NP8760 and same spec with M17x and its only RM6.2k with postage while m17x is RM9k! The design and fancy light cost RM3k
Mr.Docter
Apr 30 2010, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(Trrienty @ Apr 30 2010, 04:41 PM) i know Nvidia always rebrand their model. Didnt know its overclock from GTX280M This sager beast is so much worth it compare to alienware. I choose the NP8760 and same spec with M17x and its only RM6.2k with postage while m17x is RM9k! The design and fancy light cost RM3k  go tell that to Sony thread too.
Fantasia
Apr 30 2010, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Apr 30 2010, 02:47 PM) don't forget, Nvidia always update their driver from time to time. but frankly saying, yep you are right  true also. their driver is better than ATi. u wouldnt be wrong if u call nvidia a software company too
alex890628
Apr 30 2010, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Apr 30 2010, 06:35 PM) true also. their driver is better than ATi. u wouldnt be wrong if u call nvidia a software company too  i also duno it's good or not, if u buy nVidia u MAY need to always update the driver, and if u buy ATI Radeon then MAYBE no need always update the driver. and actually i really so interest to know wat's the differences between nVidia and ATI? my bro said nVidia good on playing games, and ATI good on wat?