34 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Wharfedale Speakers Owners Thread, Britain's Most Famous Loudspeakers

wim1983
post Dec 5 2014, 10:38 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Dec 5 2014, 10:13 AM)
Where can i find jade series? Their rrp in RM?
I think you can contact Deso Home Theater cool2.gif
darkskies
post Jan 12 2015, 11:32 AM

2,336 posts

Reporting in new 10.1 user. Had some issue.

Setup.
PC to AMP setup
I connected my Receiver VSX-822k to my Sb Elite Pro over the digital output .
So that i can have a pc to amp workaround solution.
I'm using Sommer cable Meridian speaker cable (13awg) with banana plugs.

I connect it to the front channel (L&R).But when i try to run any audio streams from my pc, the left speaker would sound sharper then my right speaker. I tried gaming and movies, it all had the same issues.
One side had a higher treble then the other side.

ktek
post Jan 12 2015, 12:06 PM

小喇叭
13,214 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 12 2015, 11:32 AM)
Reporting in new 10.1 user. Had some issue.

Setup.
PC to AMP setup
I connected my Receiver VSX-822k to my Sb Elite Pro over the digital output .
So that i can have a pc to amp workaround solution.
I'm using Sommer cable Meridian speaker cable (13awg) with banana plugs.

I connect it to the front channel (L&R).But when i try to run any audio streams from my pc, the left speaker would sound sharper then my right speaker. I tried gaming and movies, it all had the same issues.
One side had a higher treble then the other side.
are u using the original jumper link? u have to turn tighter or change it to a short wire because the jumper dont sound nice anyway.

come post your setup picture icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ktek: Jan 12 2015, 12:48 PM
darkskies
post Jan 12 2015, 01:19 PM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 12 2015, 12:06 PM)
are u using the original jumper link? u have to turn tighter or change it to a short wire because the jumper dont sound nice anyway.

Care to explain more on the jumper link ?
I'm still new to the hifi world.
radovantz
post Jan 12 2015, 04:23 PM

287 posts

Wharfedale was not my favourite speaker brand. But since I bought one Diamond 9.1 in 2005, so far, Wharfedale Diamond 9 has been the longest model in my possession until today.

But my ear don't really get excited with Diamond 8 and 10.
Don't know about Diamond 100 or 200 series..
radovantz
post Jan 12 2015, 07:19 PM

287 posts

Now Wharfedale Diamond 100 and 200 series seems not to continue the curve design of Diamond 9 and 10 series. So why did they do that for?

I am going to re-build my Diamond 9 cabinet to get them back into a box shape smile.gif

darkskies
post Jan 12 2015, 07:24 PM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 12 2015, 12:06 PM)

Ok.. i noticed the issue.
I did a dumb troubleshoot method to diagnose the problem since i'm new to hifis.
I switch left speaker to right channel and right speaker to left channel.
Ended up it has the same issue with the right speaker too.
I start to notice that i'm not suppose to remove the jumper screws.
I put it in and fasten the jumpers caps and now both side is having normal sound.
Sound isnt as good as what i imagined.(At least at these price range, you can't expect it to be same level as high end speakers which cost a bomb)
But at least, pc speakers are nowhere comparable to these.
And also, it reserve some slots for me to add in surrounds and subwoofer in future.
Although i doubt that i need a subwoofer unless i'm trying to freak or irritate my neighbors.
Topet
post Jan 12 2015, 11:03 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 12 2015, 07:24 PM)
Ok.. i noticed the issue.
I did a dumb troubleshoot method to diagnose the problem since i'm new to hifis.
I switch left speaker to right channel and right speaker to left channel.
Ended up it has the same issue with the right speaker too.
I start to notice that i'm not suppose to remove the jumper screws.
I put it in and fasten the jumpers caps and now both side is having normal sound.
Sound isnt as good as what i imagined.(At least at these price range, you can't expect it to be same level as high end speakers which cost a bomb)
But at least, pc speakers are nowhere comparable to these.
And also, it reserve some slots for me to add in surrounds and subwoofer in future.
Although i doubt that i need a subwoofer unless i'm trying to freak or irritate my neighbors.
you will need subwoofer...
darkskies
post Jan 13 2015, 12:23 AM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Jan 12 2015, 11:03 PM)
you will need subwoofer...
I'm currently using this setup for my room entertainment. Wharfedale diamond 10.1 bass seems to be very sufficient for me. I personally hate heart thumping bass. I like clarity which gives soundstage and concert feel type quality speakers. I believe to meet such demand... 1-3k price range might not be sufficient unless i'm going with earphone or headphone solution..
wim1983
post Jan 13 2015, 08:44 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(radovantz @ Jan 12 2015, 08:19 PM)
Now Wharfedale Diamond 100 and 200 series seems not to continue the curve design of Diamond 9 and 10 series. So why did they do that for?

I am going to re-build my Diamond 9 cabinet to get them back into a box shape smile.gif
hmm, so far I think Diamond 100 and Diamond 200 still sound great, more airy and confortable bass than 10.2, which to me a bit bigger in size and overemphasize on bass, I believe you Diamond 9.1 should sound similar to my new Wharfedale Denton blush.gif biggrin.gif
ktek
post Jan 13 2015, 10:46 AM

小喇叭
13,214 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 13 2015, 12:23 AM)
I'm currently using this setup for my room entertainment. Wharfedale diamond 10.1 bass seems to be very sufficient for me. I personally hate heart thumping bass. I like clarity which gives soundstage and concert feel type quality speakers. I believe to meet such demand... 1-3k price range might not be sufficient unless i'm going with earphone or headphone solution..
u removed the jumper screw... sweat.gif no wonder la

pls allow your new speaker to run i for a while before judging good or bad.
darkskies
post Jan 13 2015, 11:01 AM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 13 2015, 10:46 AM)
u removed the jumper screw... sweat.gif no wonder la

pls allow your new speaker to run i for a while before judging good or bad.
I made a dumb move because i've never touch on hifi before.
The speaker seems to burn in a little. Though, due to my elite pro soundcard,the sound isn't too good.
I think need to buy a better dac. Creative soundcard really not a good option.
Currently, i've to adjust my receivers to run at sound level 30 to be able to hear the sound coming from the speaker.
Sound level 40 to fill my room .
Something is wrong here.
Topet
post Jan 13 2015, 12:00 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 13 2015, 12:23 AM)
Before this I was using Diamond 9.1 without subwoofer and boy it sound really dull when watching movies until i get a used subwoofer. the soundstage seems to be better with subwoofer when watching concerto in HD Audio.
radovantz
post Jan 13 2015, 03:08 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Jan 13 2015, 12:00 PM)
Before this I was using Diamond 9.1 without subwoofer and boy it sound really dull when watching movies until i get a used subwoofer. the soundstage seems to be better with subwoofer when watching concerto in HD Audio.
I had experienced the same problem, the main reason for poor quality bass is the seating position. When I sit closely to the rear wall, bass quality is very poor and out of control. This would happen to any kind of speakers actually. Try to sit at least half meter away from rear wall, sound would be better.

For my room setup, Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 can give enough bass without subwoofer. Sometimes I prefer to turn my subwoofer off to create easy listening environment.

I like Diamond 9.1 because of its environment friendly sound, like no speaker is used in the room. Sound so natural. Watching movie with Diamond 9.1 feels like the sound is produced directly from the movie, not speakers.

wim1983
post Jan 14 2015, 04:34 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(radovantz @ Jan 13 2015, 04:08 PM)
I had experienced the same problem, the main reason for poor quality bass is the seating position. When I sit closely to the rear wall, bass quality is very poor and out of control. This would happen to any kind of speakers actually. Try to sit at least half meter away from rear wall, sound would be better.

For my room setup, Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 can give enough bass without subwoofer. Sometimes I prefer to turn my subwoofer off to create easy listening environment.

I like Diamond 9.1 because of its environment friendly sound, like no speaker is used in the room. Sound so natural. Watching movie with Diamond 9.1 feels like the sound is produced directly from the movie, not speakers.
+1 for stereo imaging feel thumbup.gif , subwoofer is way too heavy for small room, also I dun like 2.1 setup as compare to 2.0 rclxms.gif
radovantz
post Jan 15 2015, 11:06 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jan 14 2015, 04:34 PM)
+1 for stereo imaging feel thumbup.gif , subwoofer is way too heavy for small room, also I dun like 2.1 setup as compare to 2.0 rclxms.gif
Wow, your opinion is same with mine thumbup.gif

Additionally, I am confident to say that Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 is the most trustful speaker if you want to judge an AVR sound quality. I have tested some AVR models, with other speaker brands too..
But only Diamond 9.1 can give you accurate judgement. This speaker helps me a lot, telling me which AVR is best and which AVR is not best..
bad2928
post Jan 15 2015, 02:56 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(radovantz @ Jan 15 2015, 11:06 AM)
Wow, your opinion is same with mine  thumbup.gif

Additionally, I am confident to say that Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 is the most trustful speaker if you want to judge an AVR sound quality. I have tested some AVR models, with other speaker brands too..
But only Diamond 9.1 can give you accurate judgement. This speaker helps me a lot, telling me which AVR is best and which AVR is not best..
Maybe that why some people call it legendary speaker for the buck.....lol
IMHO,x-ls encore is the closest rival... hmm.gif

Care to share what avr and brand you tested and yours opinions?... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bad2928: Jan 15 2015, 03:50 PM
radovantz
post Jan 15 2015, 07:07 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ Jan 15 2015, 02:56 PM)

Care to share what avr and brand you tested and yours opinions?... notworthy.gif
I am afraid if I share my findings here might cause other people getting hurt cry.gif

My first AVR was Marantz SR4500 work with Mission M34 series. One year later I bought Denon AVR-1905 and Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 package for second setup. I made terrible mistake when I sell out Mission M34 because I blame the Mission for bright sound as compared to Wharfedale. One day I switched system to pair Marantz and Wharfedale, I realize that it was the Marantz fault for being bright. Oh no.. doh.gif

From using Wharedale Diamond 9.1, I know that Marantz SR4500 sound bright. Yamaha RX-V800 sounds good but lack of realism. Denon AVR-1909, and 1905 sound great like produced from actual event. Denon AVR-1910 sound a bit shy and not so real. Denon AVR-2312 sound more focus on midrange, but too safe, it cannot deliver realistic sound as good as 1905, sometimes a bit bright. Onkyo TX-NR609 sounds grrrreatt..

Now my Onkyo TX-NR609 is the best sound AVR in my setup, it has passed the Wharfedale Examination laugh.gif
Therefore the Onkyo got Wharfedale's approval to run Mission MX3 in my hall setup. rclxms.gif
Topet
post Jan 15 2015, 07:10 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

my 1st setup 9.1 pair with sony avr...sounds good for music and for movies really need a subwoofer...
BOTAK_WAI
post Jan 15 2015, 08:19 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,165 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Jan 15 2015, 07:10 PM)
my 1st setup 9.1 pair with sony avr...sounds good for music and for movies really need a subwoofer...
agree...for movie subwoofer is a must!

but for stereo I rarely switch on my sub unless watching concert or Michael Jackson's song... tongue.gif

34 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:06 AM