Home Theatre Wharfedale Speakers Owners Thread, Britain's Most Famous Loudspeakers
ktek
May 2 2014, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(spawney @ Apr 29 2014, 03:22 PM) newbie here…50% music/50% movies, actually more music – all types…prefer the receiver to do 4K up-scaling as I’m considering a 4K TV… looking at Wharfedale and Acoustic Energy at the moment…and saw there is a Wharfedale package at Desa for diamond 10.6, WH-sr2, spc-8 and Marantz 5008 for RM8499 I think, is the price worth it? leaning towards Wharfedale as it looks like AE Series 3 will be more expensive and not sure there will be a noticeable difference in sound quality? any sifu here have listening experience? question – for wharfedale, is the 157 replacing the 10.7? big difference in sound quality or is it better off to opt for 10.7, which should be cheaper? all comment and help welcome  no doubt acoustic energy is good looking. i have an older set and still keeping them. wharfedale 10.6 floorstander will produce more mid bass compared to AE series 3  but SPC-8 is a bit small to get bass like cinema effects not sure about the 157 model
ktek
Jan 12 2015, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 12 2015, 11:32 AM) Reporting in new 10.1 user. Had some issue. Setup. PC to AMP setup I connected my Receiver VSX-822k to my Sb Elite Pro over the digital output . So that i can have a pc to amp workaround solution. I'm using Sommer cable Meridian speaker cable (13awg) with banana plugs. I connect it to the front channel (L&R).But when i try to run any audio streams from my pc, the left speaker would sound sharper then my right speaker. I tried gaming and movies, it all had the same issues. One side had a higher treble then the other side. are u using the original jumper link? u have to turn tighter or change it to a short wire because the jumper dont sound nice anyway. come post your setup picture This post has been edited by ktek: Jan 12 2015, 12:48 PM
ktek
Jan 13 2015, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(darkskies @ Jan 13 2015, 12:23 AM) I'm currently using this setup for my room entertainment. Wharfedale diamond 10.1 bass seems to be very sufficient for me. I personally hate heart thumping bass. I like clarity which gives soundstage and concert feel type quality speakers. I believe to meet such demand... 1-3k price range might not be sufficient unless i'm going with earphone or headphone solution.. u removed the jumper screw...  no wonder la pls allow your new speaker to run i for a while before judging good or bad.
ktek
May 27 2015, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(wim1983 @ May 20 2015, 08:21 PM) I've got a pair of 9.1 sent for repair, long time no news, hmm it's time to remind  bro, i notice your denton set, is red wire to HF terminal and black wire to LF terminal. does it sound better than either HF-HF or LF-LF? This post has been edited by ktek: May 27 2015, 11:55 AM
ktek
Aug 8 2015, 02:26 PM
floorstanding will give stronger coverage in stereo mode  but also drawing more power from ur marantz avr
ktek
Aug 12 2015, 11:00 AM
u can connect using avr pre-out, but not necessary unless its a very low sensitive specialised speaker unit
ktek
Aug 12 2015, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(neo_lam @ Aug 12 2015, 11:18 AM) i read some forums said tht 10.2 its quite hard to drive on basic AVR...they claim the it hard to get a proper listening volume out of it..... guys any idea on this? my opinion is like this, the avr amp can drive 10.2 to full blast. but bad sounding whenever u turn down the volume, become not focus and more dull (wharfedale diamond is not a forward sounding to begin with).
ktek
Aug 12 2015, 09:38 PM
i think dx1 will sound like edifier s530 spkr since the specs are similar one. hf crossover at 3600hz.
ktek
Aug 14 2015, 07:01 PM
yup, mordaunt short has metal tweeter and quite efficient. im using ms502 front set.
ktek
Dec 7 2015, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(wim1983 @ Nov 27 2015, 08:55 PM) I spotted Marantz PM7001 KI Signature for 1.6, nice? i have plain version pm7001 without signature. 1k let go
ktek
Apr 20 2021, 11:55 AM
buy 2pcs to matching new-new buy 1pcs is disaster
ktek
Apr 22 2021, 11:01 AM
we need to tackle buyer whatever way. now biz low seasons. if i were seller. 10 year ago i pun reply
using forum is free to compare outside ads
ktek
May 29 2021, 05:16 PM