cannavaro
post Oct 12 2008, 03:27 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Check this out:
500 GB Hard Disk Drive Round-Up

If you're lazy to read, here's the conclusion:

Here is a breakdown of what we found out about each hard drive included in our round-up:

rclxub.gif Hitachi Deskstar P7K500 (HDP725050GLA360): It is cheaper than the other reviewed drives and, believe, there is a reason for that: lower performance. Even though it achieved an average transfer rate comparable to Samsung’s model, it has a terrible access time. Don’t buy.

hmm.gif Samsung Spinpoint F1 DT (HD502IJ): Although it is faster than Western Digital Caviar SE16, it is slower than Seagate Barracuda 7200.11. It is an option only if you can’t find Seagate Barracuda 7200.11.

thumbup.gif Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (ST3500320AS): This is the drive we recommend for the average user. It provides a performance higher than other mainstream units at the same price range, thus providing the best cost/benefit ratio. If you can spend a little more a better option is the new Western Digital RE3.

hmm.gif Seagate Barracuda ES.2 (ST3500320NS): An enterprise drive with good performance, but Western Digital RE3 is faster and thus our recommended product for this segment.

sweat.gif  Seagate SV35.3 (ST3500320SV): A hard disk drive targeted to digital video surveillance systems with a good transfer rate. What killed this hard disk drive was its access time: it was the drive with the worst access time in our round-up. Don’t buy. Western Digital RE3 costs the same thing and is faster.

rclxub.gif Western Digital Caviar GP (WD5000AACS): This is a “green” drive with variable rotational speed in order to save energy. We didn’t measure power consumption, so we can’t talk specifically about energy savings. Its performance was one of the worst and thus we can’t recommend this product. Don’t buy.

rclxub.gif Western Digital Caviar SE (WD5000AAJS): Performance worst than the majority of drives we tested, probably due to its lower buffer size (8 MB). Don’t buy.

rclxub.gif Western Digital Caviar SE16 (WD5000AAKS): Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 is far faster and costs the same thing. Don’t buy.

rclxub.gif Western Digital RE2 (WD5001ABYS): Lousy performance. Don’t buy.

notworthy.gif  Western Digital RE3 (WD5002ABYS): This was the best drive in our review. But since it is targeted to the enterprise market – meaning it has a higher reliability – it costs more. If you are looking for an enterprise-class product, this is the one you should pick. This product is also recommended to regular users that want a higher performance and can pay a little bit more to have the fastest 500 GB drive around. Of course a VelociRaptor 300 GB will be faster, but it costs far more and you will have less storage space: if you want to have more than 300 GB you will have to buy and put two of these in RAID0, what will create a huge hole in your wallet.
cannavaro
post Oct 18 2008, 03:49 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(aura82 @ Oct 16 2008, 03:19 PM)
guys i'm looking for external hardisk to backup my photos...any suggestion..if possible got ext hdd below RM150?afraid to lost my precious moment fo the second time..thanks in advance.If possible can direct me the places that sell gd quality hdd.

bump
You're looking for 2"5 or 3"5?
Take your pick, these are non-cap ayam hdd + enclosure.
user posted imageuser posted image
Pricelist from Viewnet. (They almost always have the lowest prices)

Your budget is too low. (unless you don't mind buying a pre-owned hdd.)

Added on October 18, 2008, 3:58 am
QUOTE(ndgoh @ Oct 15 2008, 12:28 AM)
When you want sell me HDD full of prawns?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

Raid0 won't result in a HDD failure... It'll just function like a HDD and it stripe your DATA into 2 HDD for faster access... If one fails, ALL data gone lor...

Everybody is soooo concerned with access time... seek time and whatever speed bump but I hardly see people go RAID0... Why ahh?
A good PSU can greatly reduce the chances of a RAID0 system from failing.

I'm using RAID0 on 2 systems, and one of it is a dedicated video editing machine. It's been 2 years plus, so far so good. Backups are done manually once in a while. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Oct 18 2008, 03:58 AM
cannavaro
post Oct 18 2008, 10:04 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Heads up... grab your WD640GB HDD from ALL IT now for a batshit crazy price of RM230! I've never seen it drop this low before.

Their MyBook series are also rather cheap compared to other stores, especially the 500GB Home Edition (USB2.0) - RM299.

Didn't expect them to beat Viewnet's pricelist.

(for today at least)
cannavaro
post Oct 20 2008, 03:00 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(5564321 @ Oct 19 2008, 08:21 PM)
anyway, for raid 0 , how to backup the files in hdd since the hdd is running in raid 0?
Err... backup using another non-raid HDD?

Here's my current setup, utilizing all 6 sata ports on my mobo:
160gb
160gb
160gb = RAID0

320gb = System / Storage (Normal partition)

eSata = 640gb (this is where I backup my files. I don't do a 100% backup though, just some selected files)

..and a sata optical drive.

cannavaro
post Oct 20 2008, 03:53 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Oct 20 2008, 03:13 PM)
Hi , I got a few hard disk question want to ask.
Using a western digital GP green power installing games.Does anyone feel slow when loading games or installing games ?
Well if you read the 500GB hdd round-up a few pages back:
Western Digital Caviar GP (WD5000AACS): This is a “green” drive with variable rotational speed in order to save energy. We didn’t measure power consumption, so we can’t talk specifically about energy savings. Its performance was one of the worst and thus we can’t recommend this product. Don’t buy.

You'll get significant gains if you RAID0 it though. rclxms.gif
cannavaro
post Dec 4 2008, 03:22 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 2 2008, 01:55 PM)
Then you cant just rely on hdd, because mechanical stuffs are prone to break down after long usage so you need to do some backup as well.

Seagate and WD are equally reliable.
I concur.
I'd also like to highlight the importance of using a good PSU. If you value your data, avoid those capalang, non true-power PSUs.
I've only had 1 broken HDD so far. It was a 40GB Maxtor, and the PC it was on was running on a cheap iCute PSU.

cannavaro
post Dec 6 2008, 11:30 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Dec 6 2008, 11:24 AM)
my 1T seagate just spoil, causing my pc unable to bootup if connected to the pc. just bought it 1 month ago
What PSU are you using?
cannavaro
post Mar 22 2009, 09:07 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Mar 21 2009, 10:48 PM)
So you strongly recommend WD 640GB Blue Power, but is seems hard to find. I only able to find blue in 320gb while 640gb all green doh.gif

Added on March 21, 2009, 10:50 pmBtw is WD SE16 640GB is it Blue Power?
AFAIK there's no 'Green' 640GB.
Green only comes in 1TB, 1.5TB, 2TB.

Refer here:
Green:
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=576

Blue:
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=311

edit:
oh actually there is a 640gb green, in the CE drives category. (Similar to Seagate's SV series)

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Mar 22 2009, 09:11 PM
cannavaro
post Mar 31 2009, 11:56 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(geo @ Mar 31 2009, 09:33 PM)
wanna ask again.. will there be discounts during the pc fair?
Don't count on it. It's unlikely to happen. It has never happened as far as I can remember. Better get from LYP.
cannavaro
post May 9 2009, 01:18 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

2TB WD is already available. RM999 at viewnet. I'm not referring to the external version btw.
cannavaro
post May 21 2009, 12:34 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

WD640 (blue) x 3 on RAID0:

Testbed:
Vista x64
i7 920
Gigabyte EX58 Extreme
6GB memory (2GB x 3)
(not mine)

cannavaro
post May 21 2009, 07:57 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(everling @ May 21 2009, 09:06 AM)
Nice.

What if it was only two disks?
I didn't save the benchmark but it was around 140MB maximum, 90MB minimum, 120 average.
It was running on gigabyte's so called hardware raid though (the purple sata ports).
After seeing the pathethic result I switched to the normal Intel Matrix Storage raid setup, albeit with 3 disks.
cannavaro
post May 24 2009, 03:07 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Price of WD 2TB has dropped a bit. RM989 at viewnet (previously RM999).
cannavaro
post May 28 2009, 10:57 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ May 28 2009, 04:22 PM)
I am planning to get a 1TB Western Digital HDD. There are two types. One is normal and another one is black edition. Just wonder got any different other than 5 years warranty? Performance wise or reliability matter?
Yes and yes. You can see the benchmark at tomshardware.

cannavaro
post Jun 2 2009, 11:00 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Seagate Freeagent Go 2"5:
320GB = RM269
500GB = RM384

Price from Viewnet (31st May).
cannavaro
post Jun 22 2009, 11:07 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(steellusion @ Jun 22 2009, 12:51 PM)
hi guys.. just asking.. between seagate baracuda n wd , which one is better? plan to buy another hdd for my pc.. tq
Used to be a SG loyalist but after their firmware fiasco I've jumped to WD, coupled with the fact that Seagate no longer offers 5-year-warranty for disks purchased after around the 1st week of January 2009.
cannavaro
post Jul 4 2009, 04:04 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jun 28 2009, 01:17 PM)
bro where can you get at that kind of price? OEM version?
Now it's RM350 at czone (2 July pricelist)

Added on July 6, 2009, 12:48 amWD's 808GB HDD is now available at lyp. RM249 at viewnet.

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Jul 6 2009, 12:48 AM
cannavaro
post Jul 21 2009, 11:47 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Of course you can. It won't make your disk unusable.
cannavaro
post Aug 10 2009, 12:54 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Aug 8 2009, 07:58 PM)
yup, pczone and cycom.
Plus viewnet.

btw, is anyone using DATATALE raid enclosure? (2-bay or 4-bay)
cannavaro
post Aug 10 2009, 08:57 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Depends on the game. Modern games would be sluggish.

0.0413sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:04 PM