All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk
azbro
Aug 5 2009, 09:54 AM
Help!
I'm using a 3.5inch hardisk (WD Blue 640GB) with a Vantec Nexstar Docker...since i just got the hardrive (bought it 2nd hard from a member), why is it so hot one huh?
I dunno the temperature, but I can't hold it more than 5 secs during operation. It is only warm during idle.
Is is normal for a hardisk to be hot when using a fanless hardisk docker?
Thanks in advance...
This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 5 2009, 09:55 AM
steventsc
Aug 6 2009, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 5 2009, 09:54 AM) Help! I'm using a 3.5inch hardisk (WD Blue 640GB) with a Vantec Nexstar Docker...since i just got the hardrive (bought it 2nd hard from a member), why is it so hot one huh? I dunno the temperature, but I can't hold it more than 5 secs during operation. It is only warm during idle. Is is normal for a hardisk to be hot when using a fanless hardisk docker? Thanks in advance... I think its normal. I have a old Seagate 7200.10 120GB which is in an external USB enclosure and even when idle its VERY warm to touch. (I didn't try to hold it though). But it has been this way for the past 2 years, almost one year in the external enclosure.
keeplwk
Aug 7 2009, 12:00 PM
still can find Hitachi hdd at lowyat?
mitodna
Aug 7 2009, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(everling @ Aug 4 2009, 02:48 PM) thanks for the link, I wondered if 7200.12 1TB can achieve that or not
super macgyver
Aug 8 2009, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(keeplwk @ Aug 7 2009, 12:00 PM) still can find Hitachi hdd at lowyat? yup, pczone and cycom.
cannavaro
Aug 10 2009, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Aug 8 2009, 07:58 PM) Plus viewnet. btw, is anyone using DATATALE raid enclosure? (2-bay or 4-bay)
dlwl
Aug 10 2009, 01:31 AM
yeah i got my hitachi from viewnet also. but sadly it failed on me a week ago. i dont really have an idea wha actually happened to it. i took it out so that i could clean my pc, didn't place it on the floor to avoid static, after that it ran fine, but then started to have cranking sound, and caused my pc to hang. it's still covered by 3 years 1-1 warranty by mlink. anyone rma-ed hitachi hdds before?
yeezai
Aug 10 2009, 03:43 PM
all sifus here i juz bought wd green caviar 500gb sata but when i plug it on my board bios cant detect the hd ..can tell me what to do ? my board is around 2 yrs old...how to check whether my board support 500gb sata or not?
kayden
Aug 10 2009, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(yeezai @ Aug 10 2009, 03:43 PM) all sifus here i juz bought wd green caviar 500gb sata but when i plug it on my board bios cant detect the hd ..can tell me what to do ? my board is around 2 yrs old...how to check whether my board support 500gb sata or not? Basically, any mobos that has SATA connection supports ALL SATA hdd irregardless of brand,size or SATA 1,2,3 or whatever the marketers call it. Do you have other SATA ports which u can try? Btw,does caviar green comes with jumper? This post has been edited by kayden: Aug 10 2009, 04:51 PM
alessamourner
Aug 10 2009, 08:08 PM

can I install pc window game into usb external 3.5 hdd and play through it ? will it decrease game speed or anything ? my internal hdd full liao
cannavaro
Aug 10 2009, 08:57 PM
Depends on the game. Modern games would be sluggish.
Maximp
Aug 10 2009, 11:10 PM
guys i planning to buy an external hd~
size 1TB
but there is so many brand to choose such as western digital, seagate and other...so any bro got good suggestion which external hd to buy?
kayden
Aug 11 2009, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(Maximp @ Aug 10 2009, 11:10 PM) guys i planning to buy an external hd~ size 1TB but there is so many brand to choose such as western digital, seagate and other...so any bro got good suggestion which external hd to buy? Some ppl's Seagate 1TB has firmware problem which causes their hdd to fail. Refer to here.For recommendation, i would suggest 1TB Western Digital Black Caviar @ RM340~350. Its performance is just slightly below WD Velociraptor. The blacks are quite fast. I am onna get one too ^^ This post has been edited by kayden: Aug 11 2009, 10:21 AM
kayden
Aug 11 2009, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(alessamourner @ Aug 10 2009, 08:08 PM) can I install pc window game into usb external 3.5 hdd and play through it ? will it decrease game speed or anything ? my internal hdd full liao  Yes u can install games and play through it. But bear in mind, USB 2.0 max transfer speed is 480Mbps while Sata connection offers speed up to 3.0Gbps. If ur mobo and external enclosure supports E-Sata, then better use it
Maximp
Aug 11 2009, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(kayden @ Aug 11 2009, 09:52 AM) Some ppl's Seagate 1TB has firmware problem which causes their hdd to fail. Refer to here.For recommendation, i would suggest 1TB Western Digital Black Caviar @ RM340~350. Its performance is just slightly below WD Velociraptor. The blacks are quite fast. I am onna get one too ^^ i have one caviar and green (internal)~ both death on arrival..but i think those problem with courier service. might get black caviar..but will there any significant improvement even if im using usb 2.0 on such high end hardisk? another brand i used before samsung story station, bought it long ago and works fine till today, but it seems that no one selling thing at lowyat~ i got it from a friend as bday present.
kayden
Aug 11 2009, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(Maximp @ Aug 11 2009, 03:49 PM) i have one caviar and green (internal)~ both death on arrival..but i think those problem with courier service. might get black caviar..but will there any significant improvement even if im using usb 2.0 on such high end hardisk? another brand i used before samsung story station, bought it long ago and works fine till today, but it seems that no one selling thing at lowyat~ i got it from a friend as bday present. Hi there, Black caviar has dual processor built in so the performance (seeking & reading) is above the rest in its class. With 32MB cache buffer, it further enhances the seeking speed of Black Caviar. About the usb 2.0, it can carry up to 480Mb of data/sec. Opposed to SATA it can carry up to 3.0Gb/sec. So for your case, if u are talking about transferring file into the Black Caviar it has no significant improvement. But if u are seeking for files inside the Black Caviar, yes, it is faster than normal 16mb 1tb hdd.
Maxieos
Aug 11 2009, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(kayden @ Aug 11 2009, 04:21 PM) Hi there, Black caviar has dual processor built in so the performance (seeking & reading) is above the rest in its class. With 32MB cache buffer, it further enhances the seeking speed of Black Caviar. About the usb 2.0, it can carry up to 480Mb of data/sec. Opposed to SATA it can carry up to 3.0Gb/sec. So for your case, if u are talking about transferring file into the Black Caviar it has no significant improvement. But if u are seeking for files inside the Black Caviar, yes, it is faster than normal 16mb 1tb hdd. how noisy is black caviar ? compare to blue ?
yeezai
Aug 11 2009, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(kayden @ Aug 10 2009, 04:51 PM) Basically, any mobos that has SATA connection supports ALL SATA hdd irregardless of brand,size or SATA 1,2,3 or whatever the marketers call it. Do you have other SATA ports which u can try? Btw,does caviar green comes with jumper? my board have 2 sata ports but non of them can detect the disk...when i plug into my other comp it can detect the disk but the other comp is running vista and my 1 pc is running xp...but the weird thing is my bios cant detect it... green caviar doesnt come with jumper...
kayden
Aug 11 2009, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(yeezai @ Aug 11 2009, 06:12 PM) my board have 2 sata ports but non of them can detect the disk...when i plug into my other comp it can detect the disk but the other comp is running vista and my 1 pc is running xp...but the weird thing is my bios cant detect it... green caviar doesnt come with jumper... Yee zai, try the steps listed at http://www.wdc.com/en/library/sata/2079-001042.pdfMake sure ur power connection is correctly plugged. This post has been edited by kayden: Aug 11 2009, 07:33 PM