Thinking of upgrading my rig soon. Seriously time for an upgrade. Should I go for I7 or save cash and go for C2Q? Really cannot tahan my P4 already.
Any advice? Thanks bros
INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V7<<,, The Journey Continues Here!
Jan 19 2009, 02:36 PM
7,757 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Subang |
Yo guys
Thinking of upgrading my rig soon. Seriously time for an upgrade. Should I go for I7 or save cash and go for C2Q? Really cannot tahan my P4 already. Any advice? Thanks bros |
Jan 19 2009, 02:50 PM
4,431 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Soviet Sarawak |
@pengster
Haha.. Wrong channel la pengster! Later u'll just make all old school user here get envy. What i can say is, if u going to do alot of work @ a time (multi-task) )hen Quady lo.. Casual use E8xxx series would be right the corner for u. |
Jan 19 2009, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Jan 19 2009, 02:50 PM) @pengster Haha but the thing is I7's mobo and rams are damn expensive Haha.. Wrong channel la pengster! Later u'll just make all old school user here get envy. What i can say is, if u going to do alot of work @ a time (multi-task) )hen Quady lo.. Casual use E8xxx series would be right the corner for u. yup i'll be multitasking quite alot.encoding and editing pictures etc lately with my P4 and running lightroom, it takes a really long time for the pictures to load and also to process |
Jan 19 2009, 03:22 PM
LOL.. Thats good. Quady will be enough for ur usage lo. Rmb to add more ram.
Anywasys, Im on low budget setup now. Unable to hook up powahful E8xxx series. This post has been edited by fylon: Jan 19 2009, 03:22 PM |
Jan 19 2009, 05:06 PM
1,029 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: All Blue |
QUOTE(pengster @ Jan 19 2009, 03:18 PM) Haha but the thing is I7's mobo and rams are damn expensive For multitasking + editting + encoding, i7 would be a better choice yup i'll be multitasking quite alot.encoding and editing pictures etc lately with my P4 and running lightroom, it takes a really long time for the pictures to load and also to process QUOTE(fylon @ Jan 19 2009, 03:22 PM) LOL.. Thats good. Quady will be enough for ur usage lo. Rmb to add more ram. If your rig is classed as "low budget setup", then mine is super low budget edi Anywasys, Im on low budget setup now. Unable to hook up powahful E8xxx series. Btw, what's the point of opening 100 firefox tab? surf prawn? |
Jan 19 2009, 06:44 PM
@ac_N1
Haha.. But I7 is still expensive. Eventhough performance is good, but not much ppl willing to fork out such a big amount of $ to buy it. O/t: Hehehe! 100 tabs for crab instead of prawn man. |
Jan 19 2009, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Jan 19 2009, 03:22 PM) LOL.. Thats good. Quady will be enough for ur usage lo. Rmb to add more ram. Yup. My rig most probably will consist of a Q9400/9550, 4GB ram, 9800GTX+/HD4870 and some mobo Anywasys, Im on low budget setup now. Unable to hook up powahful E8xxx series. With that upgrade, I dont think I'll be upgrading for another 6 years |
Jan 19 2009, 07:59 PM
1,333 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: World of Fettish |
QUOTE(fylon @ Jan 19 2009, 11:49 AM) Heyo.. How's everyone? ic. well, i dun game much, mostly dong alot of design work and multitasking is important for me! @~Rogue~ Ah.. Dont think there is a good move for shifting P4 proc into DDR2 and PCIE era as the will gona be a great overall bottlenecking in ur system. QUOTE(Jcsy @ Jan 19 2009, 11:56 AM) just shift to new system if u have the money yeah was planing to get a C2Q, coz i wanna use dual monitor to do my work, and i sked my P4 cant support.......u got a point there! upgrading like that really painful and doesnt cut it much |
Jan 19 2009, 07:59 PM
481 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: from da land of dori dori |
Hi, i would like to ask.
Biostar P4 S478 mobo izzit gud? saw LYP selling RM170 quiet expensive though.... |
Jan 19 2009, 09:48 PM
5,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Guys,you all wnat to upgrade to new system already? C2D or C2Q is a good move for you all.
@~Rogue~ ,do you found any good GC for your own? @Klemann C ,Biostar was a low end mobo during P4 time. You want to buy it? Is it a S478 mobo? |
Jan 19 2009, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 19 2009, 09:48 PM) oic. see those price list from specific shop in LYP.....most of them selling this S478 mobo only.....not much any available choices....yea, planing to get S478 mobo to revive back my P4 system for home mini theather & torrenting machine lol... |
Jan 19 2009, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(Klemann C @ Jan 19 2009, 09:54 PM) oic. see those price list from specific shop in LYP.....most of them selling this S478 mobo only.....not much any available choices....yea, planing to get S478 mobo to revive back my P4 system for home mini theather & torrenting machine lol... Good idea to set up HTPC with old school P4. |
Jan 19 2009, 11:34 PM
@ray
When will be ur turn to moving? Hahah.. Guess left not much P4 lover around now.. Beside u, KahLooN, edmin, kabu... |
Jan 20 2009, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 19 2009, 11:07 PM) yea,coz i still have DDR ram,PSU and GC lying around getting dust lol.....so better rebuild for daily task etc.to me but kinda seldom to hear Asrock, coz so far i've heard MSI,Abit,Gigabyte are pretty gud brand.... btw, which brand u're using? QUOTE(fylon @ Jan 19 2009, 11:34 PM) @ray hey...hey....i'm 1 of P4 supporter too & and my home got another P4 1.8GHz still running but is my parent using it....When will be ur turn to moving? Hahah.. Guess left not much P4 lover around now.. Beside u, KahLooN, edmin, kabu... rite now i'm planing to revive my P4 2.4 for HTPC & torrenting |
Jan 20 2009, 03:58 AM
1,333 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: World of Fettish |
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jan 19 2009, 09:48 PM) Guys,you all wnat to upgrade to new system already? C2D or C2Q is a good move for you all. i'm looking fowards for the x1950XT, but still wonder it willbottleneck or not?@~Rogue~ ,do you found any good GC for your own? @Klemann C ,Biostar was a low end mobo during P4 time. You want to buy it? Is it a S478 mobo? |
Jan 20 2009, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(fylon @ Jan 19 2009, 11:34 PM) @ray @fylon,so far stil have no plan to move. No budget for me. When will be ur turn to moving? Hahah.. Guess left not much P4 lover around now.. Beside u, KahLooN, edmin, kabu... QUOTE(Klemann C @ Jan 20 2009, 12:15 AM) yea,coz i still have DDR ram,PSU and GC lying around getting dust lol.....so better rebuild for daily task etc. Asrock is another company from Asus,their mobo is having similar bios setting like low end Asus mobo. to me but kinda seldom to hear Asrock, coz so far i've heard MSI,Abit,Gigabyte are pretty gud brand.... btw, which brand u're using? hey...hey....i'm 1 of P4 supporter too & and my home got another P4 1.8GHz still running but is my parent using it.... rite now i'm planing to revive my P4 2.4 for HTPC & torrenting QUOTE(~Rogue~ @ Jan 20 2009, 03:58 AM) Bottleneck is still here but is not as bad as AGP HD3850. |
Jan 20 2009, 10:45 AM
1,029 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: All Blue |
QUOTE(fylon @ Jan 19 2009, 06:44 PM) @ac_N1 crab!!! Haha.. But I7 is still expensive. Eventhough performance is good, but not much ppl willing to fork out such a big amount of $ to buy it. O/t: Hehehe! 100 tabs for crab instead of prawn man. My 8800GTS is G80. The performance is 20% lower than G92 but the price is 50% cheaper 320bit processing power is good enough for me |
Jan 20 2009, 11:21 AM
@~Rogue~
Haha.. Bottleneck is always there bro.. Just see the gap is big or not.. @ac_N1 OT lo.. Haha! Icic.. Thats great.. I'm waiting for my G92 GTS too. After CNY probably. |
Jan 20 2009, 12:04 PM
1,940 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Soviet Sarawak |
who is still the strong backer for s478? so far the oldies here are ray, kabu, me.. the rest planning 2 migrate or already migrate...
Jan 20 2009, 12:22 PM
19,321 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
Eh I am still with my P4 babeh~~no plans for upgrading rig atm....not necessary
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:34 PM |