Chubby Hamster V11, Furball Friends

evilmashi
post Oct 5 2008, 12:30 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(XiaoDan @ Oct 5 2008, 12:22 AM)
Yup nod.gif That's right.
doesnt it smelly or something ? cuz i put my hamster house in my room..currently using the chipsi plus green apple..

Added on October 5, 2008, 12:31 ami just realise u r from malacca..normally which pet shop did u go ? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by evilmashi: Oct 5 2008, 12:31 AM
XiaoDan
post Oct 5 2008, 12:37 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(evilmashi @ Oct 5 2008, 12:30 AM)
doesnt it smelly or something ? cuz i put my hamster house in my room..currently using the chipsi plus green apple..

Added on October 5, 2008, 12:31 ami just realise u r from malacca..normally which pet shop did u go ?  tongue.gif
It don't smell.. Don't worry. Try to avoid Chipsi Plus Green Apple o.. It contains perfume thats is not really good for ur hamster's respiratory system..
You can use Chipsi Classic, but not Green Apple ya biggrin.gif I'll sneeze everytime I smell the Green Apple bedding.. dry.gif I visit Heng Tiong in Paya Ikan, you know that shop?
evilmashi
post Oct 5 2008, 12:46 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(XiaoDan @ Oct 5 2008, 12:37 AM)
It don't smell.. Don't worry. Try to avoid Chipsi Plus Green Apple o.. It contains perfume thats is not really good for ur hamster's respiratory system..
You can use Chipsi Classic, but not Green Apple ya biggrin.gif I'll sneeze everytime I smell the Green Apple bedding.. dry.gif I visit Heng Tiong in Paya Ikan, you know that shop?
hmm..where is paya ikan eh ? haha..actually im not from malacca, just study here..how bout that shop in dataran pahlawan ? have u been there ?
Andy0625
post Oct 5 2008, 12:55 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(XiaoDan @ Oct 5 2008, 12:22 AM)
Yup nod.gif That's right.
Wait , then why some of them say that the cat litter is for toilet? unsure.gif
XiaoDan
post Oct 5 2008, 01:05 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(evilmashi @ Oct 5 2008, 12:46 AM)
hmm..where is paya ikan eh ? haha..actually im not from malacca, just study here..how bout that shop in dataran pahlawan ? have u been there ?
Paya Ikan ar.. Dunno how to explain leh.. >< I went to the pet shop in Dataran Pahlawan before.. Quite small only o.. I get most of my hamster supplies from Heng Tiong and Pet Shack smile.gif

Added on October 5, 2008, 1:07 am
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 5 2008, 12:55 AM)
Breeder Celect looks like rabbit pellets. It IS a cat litter but we use it for small animals bedding. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by XiaoDan: Oct 5 2008, 01:07 AM
IcedNyior
post Oct 5 2008, 01:12 AM

1,768 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 5 2008, 12:55 AM)
that one is the cat toilet sand (non-clumping) that they also use for hamster toilet sand. If im not mistaken the brand is frisian. Again, make sure u get the non clumping ones.

we use the Breeders Celect (Select) cat litter for the bedding. its in bigger chunks, like rabbit food pellets, but its not food la. its compressed recycled paper.

btw guys, pls double check ur BC when you pour it into the cage, I've found bits of foil and plastic inside, so do sift it carefully
evilmashi
post Oct 5 2008, 01:22 AM

63 posts

anyway XiaoDan which hamster u have ? for the uncle taro smoothie which one ur hamster prefer ? id like to try one of them.. biggrin.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Oct 5 2008, 01:26 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Tortoy @ Oct 4 2008, 07:29 PM)
if u want to breed ur hammy, make sure u'll have enough room for them... smile.gif good luck buddy.
this is my roommate (from Syrian A.K.A Todd) n her home..still have no wheel coz I'm still looking for the most suitable wheel for my hammy. any comments about her home is most welcome as I still need public opinion on how to create the most convenient/pleasant environment for my new roommates.

nice cage. Seldom you see one with a bridge like that laugh.gif

Added on October 5, 2008, 1:27 am
QUOTE(XiaoDan @ Oct 4 2008, 10:56 PM)
Use Breeder Celect. It can last very long. smile.gif
where can I get this brand? And what packaging/price does it come in?

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Oct 5 2008, 01:27 AM
Andy0625
post Oct 5 2008, 01:29 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Oct 5 2008, 01:12 AM)
that one is the cat toilet sand (non-clumping) that they also use for hamster toilet sand. If im not mistaken the brand is frisian. Again, make sure u get the non clumping ones.

we use the Breeders Celect (Select) cat litter for the bedding. its in bigger chunks, like rabbit food pellets, but its not food la. its compressed recycled paper.

btw guys, pls double check ur BC when you pour it into the cage, I've found bits of foil and plastic inside, so do sift it carefully
Thanks for clearing up.

I'm still doesnt have the time to ask for the cheapest courier service , sigh.

So let me make it clear : (please correct me)

Cage : Zoo Zone2 or 2ft tank
Bedding : Breeder Celect
Food : Harry Hamster
Toilet sand : Frisian (non-clumping)
Accessories and Toys : Wodent Wheel (If budget allows) , Water feeder , Hamster ball(for exploring) and a toilet.

Did I missed out anything ?
Tortoy
post Oct 5 2008, 08:32 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Oct 5 2008, 01:26 AM)
my hammy seldom use that bridge, she preferred to climb the cage wall to get to the other side.. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif sweat.gif doh.gif ..hehehehe
Ifrits
post Oct 5 2008, 08:48 AM

127 posts

hye ppl, i gonna ask a very very very noob question. and some might flame me for not reading the forum. but i cant just scroll page by page(actually i did).
i really really like hamster and i would like to rare one. but parents wouldnt allow me to because they say hamster is smelly? is it true? =( or they are just giving me excuses so that i wouldnt be able to rare one.
Tortoy
post Oct 5 2008, 08:57 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(Ifrits @ Oct 5 2008, 08:48 AM)
hye ppl, i gonna ask a very very very noob question. and some might flame me for not reading the forum. but i cant just scroll page by page(actually i did).
i really really like hamster and i would like to rare one. but parents wouldnt allow me to because they say hamster is smelly? is it true? =( or they are just giving me excuses so that i wouldnt be able to rare one.
it's ok smile.gif ...it's depend on how u take care of ur hamster, the most important thing to do is to clean the cage and change bedding frequently. FIY, i put my hammy in my room n i change her bedding once in two days. my hammy is my best friend..never stabbed me from behind like most people do... wub.gif depan macam baik...blakang tembak dgn nuklear bomb...sorry emo ckit...huh..

This post has been edited by Tortoy: Oct 5 2008, 11:10 AM
Aeon_Clock
post Oct 5 2008, 10:17 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

solution - buy lots and lots of Ambi Pur laugh.gif
they're excuses...some people don't like pets, especially the rodent category.
transit
post Oct 5 2008, 10:34 AM

360 posts

Just bedding side may have some little smell as we use corn base bedding. I think ham ham not that strong smell that I am aware of. We clean their cage daily so not significant smell I found in my Jia2 and Leh2. However u may need to take care of their poo poo as some may come out from cage overnights. Just put a paper outside the cage may help, I think smile.gif thumbup.gif

I like the way the ran, the way when they eating their fruit is so cute rolleyes.gif

IcedNyior
post Oct 5 2008, 11:34 AM

1,768 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Oct 5 2008, 01:26 AM)

Added on October 5, 2008, 1:27 am
where can I get this brand? And what packaging/price does it come in?
its like RM20++ (under Rm30) if im not mistaken for the 6lt one

Added on October 5, 2008, 11:36 am
if you clean it alot, then it wont be smelly. Depends on what kind of bedding u use also. whether it absorbs the smells well or not. If u malas then it'll stink

tortoy: i think ur signature size is a bit over the forum limits la.

This post has been edited by IcedNyior: Oct 5 2008, 11:36 AM
Andy0625
post Oct 5 2008, 11:47 AM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 5 2008, 01:29 AM)
Thanks for clearing up.

I'm still doesnt have the time to ask for the cheapest courier service , sigh.

So let me make it clear : (please correct me)

Cage : Zoo Zone2 or 2ft tank
Bedding : Breeder Celect
Food : Harry Hamster
Toilet sand : Frisian (non-clumping)
Accessories and  Toys : Wodent Wheel (If budget allows) , Water feeder , Hamster ball(for exploring) and a toilet.

Did I missed out anything ?
Anyone can answer my question above ?
I would like to ask can I keep the hamster in my room aswell ? It's air-conditioned room though.
XiaoDan
post Oct 5 2008, 12:38 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(evilmashi @ Oct 5 2008, 01:22 AM)
anyway XiaoDan which hamster u have ? for the uncle taro smoothie which one ur hamster prefer ? id like to try one of them.. biggrin.gif
Mine is a sable-banded Syrian. smile.gif Smoothie ar.. My hamster prefer Mango Frappe and Real Refresh.. Give it a try lah blush.gif

Added on October 5, 2008, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 5 2008, 11:47 AM)
Anyone can answer my question above ?
I would like to ask can I keep the hamster in my room aswell ? It's air-conditioned room though.
That's all you need. For food, use Prestige + 1/4 Britter Bunny if you can. But you can use Harry Hamster if you like. For Wodent Wheel, get a Junior 1.. smile.gif You can place your hammie in ur room if you can change the bedding often. It won't smell unless you don't change it for a long time.

This post has been edited by XiaoDan: Oct 5 2008, 12:44 PM
Tortoy
post Oct 5 2008, 12:50 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(ballista10 @ Oct 5 2008, 11:41 AM)
my hamster got into a fight today with his cellmate... sigh..
he's bleeding! what can i do to help him to cure the wound?
go to vet. sad.gif
s0ts0tdandelii0n
post Oct 5 2008, 01:11 PM

Safe Trader
864 posts

ya lo sad.gif
XiaoDan
post Oct 5 2008, 01:51 PM

254 posts

My Hammie smile.gif

Pebble : I'm The King !! laugh.gif