120 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamster V11, Furball Friends

hiroko_jiayi
post Oct 5 2008, 01:53 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(ballista10 @ Oct 5 2008, 11:41 AM)
my hamster got into a fight today with his cellmate... sigh..
he's bleeding! what can i do to help him to cure the wound?
mine ... i just apply some salt water(less salt) to clear the wound wor ...
Andy0625
post Oct 5 2008, 02:03 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(XiaoDan @ Oct 5 2008, 12:38 PM)
Mine is a sable-banded Syrian. smile.gif Smoothie ar.. My hamster prefer Mango Frappe and Real Refresh.. Give it a try lah blush.gif

Added on October 5, 2008, 12:44 pm

That's all you need. For food, use Prestige + 1/4 Britter Bunny if you can. But you can use Harry Hamster if you like. For Wodent Wheel, get a Junior 1.. smile.gif You can place your hammie in ur room if you can change the bedding often. It won't smell unless you don't change it for a long time.
I read that change of temperature will actually leads the hamster to go into hibernation.
Since you say it's possible , then It'll be much better for me then as most of the time I'll be in my room after work. biggrin.gif
For the Wodent wheel , Junior is better when compare to Senior ? hmm.gif
sangels
post Oct 5 2008, 02:08 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 5 2008, 01:29 AM)
Thanks for clearing up.

I'm still doesnt have the time to ask for the cheapest courier service , sigh.

So let me make it clear : (please correct me)

Cage : Zoo Zone2 or 2ft tank
Bedding : Breeder Celect
Food : Harry Hamster
Toilet sand : Frisian (non-clumping)
Accessories and  Toys : Wodent Wheel (If budget allows) , Water feeder , Hamster ball(for exploring) and a toilet.

Did I missed out anything ?
You go for a 2ft tank and save the money for courier and all for the Wodent Wheel cos it's more important for the hammy.

QUOTE(Ifrits @ Oct 5 2008, 08:48 AM)
hye ppl, i gonna ask a very very very noob question. and some might flame me for not reading the forum. but i cant just scroll page by page(actually i did).
i really really like hamster and i would like to rare one. but parents wouldnt allow me to because they say hamster is smelly? is it true? =( or they are just giving me excuses so that i wouldnt be able to rare one.
Well, lots of parents don't like rodents. So make sure you get a agreement on it before getting it and risk the small fella cos I saw lots of people ended up give away the poor hammy and etc etc...

Hammy won't smell much if you keep them clean. Especially their pee, must toilet train them as it will be easy for you to take care of the smell. Change the bedding once the bedding is wet with pee cos the pee smell is terrible.

QUOTE(transit @ Oct 5 2008, 10:34 AM)
Just bedding side may have some little smell as we use corn base bedding. I think ham ham not that strong smell that I am aware of. We clean their cage daily so not significant smell I found in my Jia2 and Leh2. However u may need to take care of their poo poo as some may come out from cage overnights. Just put a paper outside the cage may help, I think  smile.gif  thumbup.gif

I like the way the ran, the way when they eating their fruit is so cute  rolleyes.gif
Not their poo, their poo don't smell, their pee is stink.

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 5 2008, 11:47 AM)
Anyone can answer my question above ?
I would like to ask can I keep the hamster in my room aswell ? It's air-conditioned room though.
Like I said before, go for the Wodent Wheel if you do not have much budget, go for a 2ft tank instead of ZooZone2. Your hammy will be more happier with the Wheel. Get some glass bowl for their food. Get a hiding house for it also. For what you wanna get on the above, I believe you need to have budget above RM200 at least to get those things. If you go for a ZooZone and Wodent wheel, it is already RM200+ not included the bedding, food and accessories yet, plus everything maybe RM300++

Added on October 5, 2008, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 5 2008, 02:03 PM)
I read that change of temperature will actually leads the hamster to go into hibernation.
Since you say it's possible , then It'll be much better for me then as most of the time I'll be in my room after work.  biggrin.gif
For the Wodent wheel , Junior is better when compare to Senior ?  hmm.gif
Hamster need Wodent Wheel junior only, senior is for Gliders and bigger animals. My Fatsoso can use Wodent junior also.

This post has been edited by sangels: Oct 5 2008, 02:10 PM
Aeon_Clock
post Oct 5 2008, 04:10 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

what's the difference of wodent wheel compared to silent wheel?
XiaoDan
post Oct 5 2008, 04:55 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Oct 5 2008, 04:10 PM)
what's the difference of wodent wheel compared to silent wheel?
Wodent Wheel is good for hammie's legs and back. It is the only wheel that is approved by ASPCA. Wodent Wheels feature a unique design with a safe solid running surface and a support stand without any dangerous pinch areas. Silent Wheel does not produce any sound when hammies are running on it. smile.gif
Sophiera
post Oct 5 2008, 05:25 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Wodent wheel is quite complex compared to other wheels you know. Every time I have to clean it, have to use the playar to pull out the pin then remove the casing XD

But very durable, worth buying one for your hamster

This post has been edited by Sophiera: Oct 5 2008, 05:26 PM
blurjoey
post Oct 5 2008, 06:54 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Oct 5 2008, 05:25 PM)
Wodent wheel is quite complex compared to other wheels you know. Every time I have to clean it, have to use the playar to pull out the pin then remove the casing XD

But very durable, worth buying one for your hamster
Wodent wheel is a simple wheel with a few parts holding it together. Yes it is easy to clean but it is also prone to being a toilet and home for the hamster. The pee will get into those little spaces. I have to use old toothebrush to scrub those little places sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

From wodent wheel site:
http://www.transoniq.com/
The semi-enclosed design and the solid rear wall also makes rodents, who are natural “wall-huggers,” feel much safer as they run

Ifrits
post Oct 5 2008, 07:21 PM

127 posts

omgg.. how to toilet train em?
anyway i bought 2 hamsters already! but its not for me. buying for my friend as her birthday present. =(
anyway im told they are winter winter!

blurjoey
post Oct 5 2008, 07:39 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Ifrits @ Oct 5 2008, 07:21 PM)
anyway i bought 2 hamsters already! but its not for me. buying for my friend as her birthday present. =(
OMG! Read the thread first! Anyway it's WW = Winter White not WW = Winter Winter.

OMG! Don't tell me they are male and female pair!

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Oct 5 2008, 07:40 PM
IcedNyior
post Oct 5 2008, 07:39 PM

1,768 posts

QUOTE(Ifrits @ Oct 5 2008, 07:21 PM)
u mean winter white?
One way to toilet train is to collect all the taik2 and put inside a bowl with the toilet sand. if it pees in the wheel, wipe the wheel with tissue and put it into the bowl as well
Ifrits
post Oct 5 2008, 07:50 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Oct 5 2008, 07:39 PM)
u mean winter white?
One way to toilet train is to collect all the taik2 and put inside a bowl with the toilet sand. if it pees in the wheel, wipe the wheel with tissue and put it into the bowl as well
Thanks! i'll try!

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 5 2008, 07:39 PM)
OMG! Read the thread first! Anyway it's WW = Winter White not WW = Winter Winter.

OMG! Don't tell me they are male and female pair!
sry. sry my bad. yep they're male and female. why? anything wrong?
Jamien
post Oct 5 2008, 07:53 PM

2,647 posts

Eh... If the male and female are from the same shop then the likelihood that they are siblings is high. Then if they breed, they will be inbreeding.

Inbreeding has the same meaning as incest to humans by the way. And the babies produced are less healthy and more prone to diseases and sickness.

And of course 1 male and 1 female means they'll breed non stop since hams can mate right after giving birth.
sangels
post Oct 5 2008, 07:54 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(Ifrits @ Oct 5 2008, 07:50 PM)
Thanks! i'll try!
sry. sry my bad. yep they're male and female. why? anything wrong?
Well, congrates then, ask your friend prepare for more cages and tanks for the babies in few weeks time. And FYI, most WW will end up fighting even they are siblings.
Ifrits
post Oct 5 2008, 07:54 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Oct 5 2008, 07:53 PM)
Eh... If the male and female are from the same shop then the likelihood that they are siblings is high. Then if they breed, they will be inbreeding.

Inbreeding has the same meaning as incest to humans by the way. And the babies produced are less healthy and more prone to diseases and sickness.

And of course 1 male and 1 female means they'll breed non stop since hams can mate right after giving birth.
omgg... how arr then? the shopfella didnt even tell me such thing? aiks!
means now i hav to seperate them izit?

QUOTE(sangels @ Oct 5 2008, 07:54 PM)
Well, congrates then, ask your friend prepare for more cages and tanks for the babies in few weeks time. And FYI, most WW will end up fighting even they are siblings.
i kept asking the shopfella if they will fight, and the fella keeps saying no. vmad.gif
sigh. guess i'll hav to warn my friend 1st. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Ifrits: Oct 5 2008, 07:56 PM
blurjoey
post Oct 5 2008, 07:56 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Ifrits @ Oct 5 2008, 07:54 PM)
OMG! Of course he won't tell you la. He wants your money more than selling less. You have to separate as soon as possible.
sangels
post Oct 5 2008, 07:56 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Oct 5 2008, 07:53 PM)

#Jamien:

How come your siggy don't have Ferro and Roche already? What happen?

Added on October 5, 2008, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(Ifrits @ Oct 5 2008, 07:54 PM)
i kept asking the shopfella if they will fight, and the fella keeps saying no.  vmad.gif
sigh. guess i'll hav to warn my friend 1st.  sweat.gif
Warning your friend? What can she do then? Sit and watch them fight, breed and tell them not to do that? You can consider go back to the shop to exchange the sex, or you can keep one of them, or you can give it for another friend for her birthday.

This post has been edited by sangels: Oct 5 2008, 07:59 PM
Jamien
post Oct 5 2008, 08:01 PM

2,647 posts

@Sangels: Haha... The staff thought my siggy was too long so I have to omit. I also have other pets that never made it into my siggy so I write down lor. They are still very healthy and chubby plus very much alive. laugh.gif

@ifrits: Yes please separate. Shops don't know much about inbreeding. All they know is, 1 male + 1 female = lots of babies = more money from selling them. Inbreeding is really bad and even sad in a lot of cases so please avoid.
Sophiera
post Oct 5 2008, 08:21 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

The wheel is simple, yes. But compared to other wheels, it's more complex.

Lol me and my mom take turns to wash the wheel because really become house and toilet for Bean.
Ifrits
post Oct 5 2008, 08:24 PM

127 posts

anyway, thanks ppl! i mean for advice and everything.
now that im keeping my friends hammy. i find that they're sooooo cute!
hehhe, gonna pujuks my mommy to let me rare one after my exam! =D
Tortoy
post Oct 5 2008, 08:38 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(XiaoDan @ Oct 5 2008, 01:51 PM)
My Hammie smile.gif

Pebble : I'm The King !! laugh.gif
hehehe laugh.gif looks like lion king.. rclxms.gif

120 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top