98 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

ryder_78
post Aug 19 2011, 10:07 AM

2,020 posts

Pardon this post as the answer may be somewhere in between the 95 pages of this thread. My question is quite specific and I can't find the answer in the first few pages.

I have both OVI maps and Garmin installed on my N8. My phone line is Prepaid Maxis. I tried connecting to the satellite and the phone automatically uses A-GPS. I checked the phone and the charge is RM0.50 as opposed to RM0.10 suggested by some folks. I fiddled around with the GPS and internet and I'm not sure what I did wrong, and suddenly I got charged for RM1.00+. I think I got into the internet or something.

For Nokia N8, may I ask where is the setting to enable or disable A-GPS? It appears that everytime I want to use GPS especially OVI, the phone will automatically connect to the phone line using A-GPS. Also, how long is this A-GPS valid after it has been activated? Let say after using the GPS for 2-3 hours we want to use the A-GPS again to get to another destination. Will there be an additional charge?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

yeakyau
post Aug 19 2011, 12:35 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 10:07 AM)
Pardon this post as the answer may be somewhere in between the 95 pages of this thread. My question is quite specific and I can't find the answer in the first few pages.

I have both OVI maps and Garmin installed on my N8. My phone line is Prepaid Maxis. I tried connecting to the satellite and the phone automatically uses A-GPS. I checked the phone and the charge is RM0.50 as opposed to RM0.10 suggested by some folks. I fiddled around with the GPS and internet and I'm not sure what I did wrong, and suddenly I got charged for RM1.00+. I think I got into the internet or something.
For Nokia N8, may I ask where is the setting to enable or disable A-GPS? It appears that everytime I want to use GPS especially OVI, the phone will automatically connect to the phone line using A-GPS. Also, how long is this A-GPS valid after it has been activated? Let say after using the GPS for 2-3 hours we want to use the A-GPS again to get to another destination. Will there be an additional charge?

there will be charge based on your usage, better don't uses AGPS unless you got unlimited maxis package for internet if not u may end up pay for a few thousand permonths.
and OVI is design uses with internet =D so u canot avoid..!

This post has been edited by yeakyau: Aug 19 2011, 12:36 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 12:51 PM

12,696 posts

Setting/Application Settings/Positioning/Positioning Methods/.......
aspire2oo6
post Aug 19 2011, 01:58 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

I have mention this to many people per lock is 10cent . Multple lock it will charge like i mention if u go under tunnel or places the gps signal gets interfere it will try to use a-gps it will charge.

How to prevent this two ways

Way 1 - Before you start your journey connect to a wifi zone and use ovi maps to connect then in positioning setting use only integrated gps

Way 2 - Before you start your journey turn on a-gps once u get a lock turn off a-gps and only leave integrated gps on.

Its located under MENU > SETTINGS > APPLICATIONS > POSITIONING

If it charge u more than 50cents then its not because of a-gps but also network based gps.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Aug 19 2011, 02:22 PM
ryder_78
post Aug 19 2011, 02:24 PM

2,020 posts

Thanks for all responses. Appreciated it.

This is the current setting in "Positioning Methods":-

Assisted GPS - Disabled
Integrated GPS - Enabled
Bluetooth GPS - Disabled
Wi-FI Network - Enabled
Network based - Enabled

Yeakyau - you are right. Ovi(Here & Now?) uses internet connection although I have set the "Assisted GPS" off. I experimented again and although the Assisted GPS is already disabled, the moment I click on the "Here & Now" icon, the message "Connecting 3G Maxis" pops up on the top left hand screen. Without wasting anymore time I quickly end the application. Just checked and fortunately I'm only charged RM0.10 this time. Pheww..

Garmin application is better than "Here and Now"(is this from OVI?) as it does not automatically connect to 3G Maxis. Only thing is I still can't connect to the GPS after 5 minutes now as the message "Awaiting better GPS Accuracy" still shows on the screen.

I don't know why "Here & Now" automatically connects to 3G Maxis although in the settings A-GPS is already disabled. Any idea why this application over-rule the settings in Positioning Methods?

Aspire2006, thanks for the information. I will PM you. I am just confused and surprised why "Here and Now", presumably OVI application, automatically connects to 3G Maxis internet line although the Assisted GPS is already turned off ie. disabled in the settings.

Doesn't matter if God-like sifu appears since forum is all about sharing information and ideas, unless they want to share more than what they actually know. :=)

Added on August 19, 2011, 2:30 pmAnd one more thing, yesterday when I was using the Garmin GPS to get to a destination, the display of the screen went dark as the lights go dim. I presume it is the light time-out which is set at 30 seconds to 60 seconds maximum. Then the screen/keylock time-out (currently set at 3 minutes) will cause the screen to turn blank. This will be annoying if one is driving and suddenly the GPS on the screen turns blank or with dim lighting.

How to prevent the screen from going dim or blank completely due to the "light time-out" and "Screen/keylock time-out" features in the Display settings?

THanks.

Added on August 19, 2011, 2:56 pmJust checked. The maximum time limit for "Screen/keylock time-out" is 30 minutes. So, if the time to get to the next destination is more than 30 minutes, the screen will go blank as the screen saver pops up. I guess there is nothing much we can do about it?

The maximum time limit for "light time-out" is 60 seconds. After 60 seconds, the lights will go dim and not as bright. I guess there is nothing much we can do about it? In order to have the lights to be bright, we need to touch the screen in every 1 minute? Hmmm..

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Aug 19 2011, 02:56 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 03:20 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 02:24 PM)
Thanks for all responses. Appreciated it.
This is the current setting in "Positioning Methods":-

Assisted GPS - Disabled
Integrated GPS - Enabled
Bluetooth GPS - Disabled
Wi-FI Network - Enabled If it's WiFi, then no charge but not sure about the 'Network' part. Does it mean free WiFi or Maxis Network?
Network based - Enabled You should disable this
ryder_78
post Aug 19 2011, 04:37 PM

2,020 posts

I tried going into OVI maps for less than 1 minute and I've got charged RM11.70. That's it. I'll stick with Garmin for good.

Added on August 19, 2011, 4:43 pmBy using OVI maps the phone will automatically connect to the internet line(Maxis 3G) and not A-GPS, and the charges are crazy high.

I'll stick with Garmin now as the charge is RM0.10 for A-GPS, I think, since the Garmin application does not connect to the internet line. I am already freaked out using OVI.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Aug 19 2011, 04:50 PM
yeakyau
post Aug 19 2011, 04:50 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 04:37 PM)
I tried going into OVI maps for less than 1 minute and I've got charged RM11.70. I don't know how the charges come by. That's it. I'll stick with Garmin for good.

Added on August 19, 2011, 4:43 pmBy using OVI maps the phone will automatically connect to the internet line(Maxis 3G) and not A-GPS, and the charges are crazy high. I don't know how the charges are derived from.

I'll stick with Garmin now as the charge is RM0.10 for A-GPS, I think. I am already freaked out using OVI.
helo bro get one gps device is much better it recevied and detect ur loaction using satellite =D and start from rm299 only
ryder_78
post Aug 19 2011, 05:25 PM

2,020 posts

Yeakyau, thanks for the information. Actually my N8 is already preloaded with Garmin software(Mobile XT) and unlike OVI the Garmin does not connect to the internet line. Hence, every satellite lock using A-GPS it will only use RM0.10, I believe.

OVI connects to the internet whenever in use, I believe(please correct me if I'm wrong), so internet charges will apply. I've got charged RM11.70 for about 1 minute usage as the rate is 10 sen per 10kB data.

I'm sticking to Garmin for GPS navigation purposes and have taken out OVI from the main window page.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 07:22 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 05:25 PM)
Yeakyau, thanks for the information. Actually my N8 is already preloaded with Garmin software(Mobile XT) and unlike OVI the Garmin does not connect to the internet line. Hence, every satellite lock using A-GPS it will only use RM0.10, I believe.

OVI connects to the internet whenever in use, I believe(please correct me if I'm wrong), so internet charges will apply. I've got charged RM11.70 for about 1 minute usage as the rate is 10 sen per 10kB data.

I'm sticking to Garmin for GPS navigation purposes and have taken out OVI from the main window page.
Beside OVI, I have had Garmin in my device. May be it's the problem with Malfreemaps (small town) or what I don't know but I find OVI better.
ryder_78
post Aug 19 2011, 07:32 PM

2,020 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 19 2011, 07:22 PM)
Beside OVI, I have had Garmin in my device. May be it's the problem with Malfreemaps (small town) or what I don't know but I find OVI better.
I am actually not commenting on which maps are better, the OVI or the Garmin in my previous posts. I am suggesting that OVI maps require telephone charges since it connects to the internet whereas Garmin does not. If one has subscribed to mobile internet packages with low rates(or unlimited access to the internet), then using OVI will not be an issue. I do not subscribe to any internet packages and high telephone charges will be imposed if I use OVI maps as a form of navigation.
aspire2oo6
post Aug 19 2011, 07:38 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

actually both are free if u set it right. Ive been using it since October 2010

For big road and city ovi maps is way better because of its lane assist.

Other than tat garmin is better

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Aug 19 2011, 07:42 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 07:48 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 07:32 PM)
I am actually not commenting on which maps are better, the OVI or the Garmin in my previous posts. I am suggesting that OVI maps require telephone charges since it connects to the internet whereas Garmin does not. If one has subscribed to mobile internet packages with low rates(or unlimited access to the internet), then using OVI will not be an issue. I do not subscribe to any internet packages and high telephone charges will be imposed if I use OVI maps as a form of navigation.
I have successfully used OVI outside of Malaysia and did not incur any charges. It's definitely something wrong with the setting.

Beside the Positioning Method, I just remember there is another setting you need to tackle.

Maps/Option/Settings/Internet
Change connection to offline.

See how it goes.
ryder_78
post Aug 19 2011, 07:57 PM

2,020 posts

Aspire2006 just sent me a link via PM and yes, it has got something to do with the settings. I have adjusted the settings and OVI now does not automatically connect to the internet line now. Yes, I can use OVI maps now~!

Optiplex330, yes, it is the settings. Just wasted about RM20 meddling around with the applications and got charged for nothing when the apps hook up to the internet.

Now I will have the chance to compare between the Garmin and OVI and see which one is more user friendly. I guess both will work as fine, just a personal preference on which is better.

Cheers.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 19 2011, 08:03 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Aug 19 2011, 07:57 PM)
Aspire2006 just sent me a link via PM and yes, it has got something to do with the settings. I have adjusted the settings and OVI now does not automatically connect to the internet line now. Yes, I can use OVI maps now~!

Optiplex330, yes, it is the settings. Just wasted about RM20 meddling around with the applications and got charged for nothing when the apps hook up to the internet.

Now I will have the chance to compare between the Garmin and OVI and see which one is more user friendly. I guess both will work as fine, just a personal preference on which is better.

Cheers.
With these smartphone, we all paid our tuition fees the hard way. Mine was RM70 for 7MB of data before I wised up mad.gif

Do report your comparison of both. For me:

Garmin Pros
1. Can read free Malfreemaps that has tons and tons of POI.

Garmin Cons
1. Terrible navigation instruction but then like I said earlier, it might be the fault of the maps. I don't know.
2. Outside of Malaysia/Singapore. I am sure there are free maps like Malfreemaps but couldn't be bothered to do the searching.
3. Due to the tons of POI, the map redrawing is slow but that's the Nokia phone's CPU fault, not Garmin.

kouga
post Aug 27 2011, 12:50 PM

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 19 2011, 09:03 PM)
With these smartphone, we all paid our tuition fees the hard way. Mine was RM70 for 7MB of data before I wised up  mad.gif

Garmin Pros

Garmin Cons
1. Terrible navigation instruction but then like I said earlier, it might be the fault of the maps. I don't know.
2. Outside of Malaysia/Singapore. I am sure there are free maps like Malfreemaps but couldn't be bothered to do the searching.
3. Due to the tons of POI, the map redrawing is slow but that's the Nokia phone's CPU fault, not Garmin.
which garmin apps u install? is it garmin tracker? free version?
buntutwoman
post Sep 1 2011, 02:54 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 19 2011, 08:03 PM)
With these smartphone, we all paid our tuition fees the hard way. Mine was RM70 for 7MB of data before I wised up  mad.gif

Garmin Pros

Garmin Cons
stop providing people with wrong information.
polygons are the one that slows down the machinery, not poi's.

*to everyone else, please do not take this person seriously. he knows absolutely nothing but pretends to. this guy is one of those who is all talk but no show. btw i'm still waiting for you to make "your" own version of malfreemaps. is it ready yet ? lol
how is it progressing ah ? lol
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 1 2011, 03:00 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Sep 1 2011, 02:54 PM)
stop providing people with wrong information.
polygons are the one that slows down the machinery, not poi's.
*to everyone else, please do not take this person seriously. he knows absolutely nothing but pretends to. this guy is one of those who is all talk but no show. btw i'm still waiting for you to make "your" own version of malfreemaps. is it ready yet ? lol
how is it progressing ah ? lol
Ha ha. This is one butt headed mad mad woman. So what are you going to do next?

POI, Polygons or whatever. It sure take processing power to draw whatever 'gons' and Nokia isn't exactly a fast machine. Compared to the relatively simple maps of OVI, Malfreemaps sure is slow in redrawing. No?

micked
post Sep 6 2011, 01:41 AM

hi guys...i have a question for all...

as i have been planning to get a gps soon but just don't know what to get as there's just so many choices out there...

kindly guide me through the experience that everyone have here...

thanks...

khakim
post Sep 8 2011, 11:33 PM

hai,, anybody help me to install garmin for htc hd mini, tell A.... to.... Z..

98 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:42 AM