GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

buntutwoman
post Jun 27 2010, 02:45 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 24 2010, 09:46 PM)
Buy a good charger & dun buy those Cheapo RM10 can liao..Those cheap wan no powesurge/regulator thingy & thus if there is irregular voltage/surge can spoil...Those expensive wan got wor..but dunno how true....ehhh I use the cheapo wan..& yes I charge frequently using car charger
your phone is rubbish so it wont make much difference.
btw we need to go for dinner.

also check out my new baby

http://forum.mykopitiam.com/topic/8129-my-samsung-galaxy-s/

got this 2 months ago. thats how long i havent seen u.

This post has been edited by buntutwoman: Jun 27 2010, 02:46 AM
buntutwoman
post Aug 16 2010, 06:42 PM

182 posts

kl pj still ok. sabah not so ok.
buntutwoman
post Aug 17 2010, 11:28 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(MunDsuM @ Aug 16 2010, 07:50 PM)
hi, which brand of gps is the most user friendly? i'm getting one for my mother so it's best if is not a complicated unit.
tomtom and igo are the friendliest to seniors.
buntutwoman
post Sep 5 2010, 03:36 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Aug 11 2010, 01:43 AM)
What is the most common used GPS format in Malaysian food blogs ?
My garmin 60 csx cannot recognize the common one's.

I want to set to this format, which most food blogs use:
N 3 07.546 E 101 37.381
N 3 05.446 E 101 41.396

What format is above? Any idea?
Lat/Long hddd mm.mmmm
N3 07.546 E101 37.381

these co-ordinates are the preset grid readings from m'sian foodblogs like from v k e o n g.com

60csx uses Lat/Long hddd.ddddd which is
N3.12577 E101.62302
which is more professional. its the international standard whereby most gps users, uses this. only noobs use hddd mm.mmmm

anyway u can do math calculations to convert manually if needed.

just remember 60 seconds=1 minute, 60 minutes=1 degree. So for example if you have N2 59 24.7 (Degree Minute Second/hddd mm ss.s), the calculation is as follows:

N2 59 24.7 (Degree Minute Second/hddd mm ss.s)
= N2 59 + (24.7/60)
= N2 59 + 0.41167 = N2 59.41167 (Degree Minute Decimal/hddd mm.mmm)
= N2 + (59.41167/60)
= N2 + 0.99019 = N2.99019 (Degree Decimal/hddd.ddddd)
buntutwoman
post Sep 6 2010, 01:45 AM

182 posts

he said 60csx. go google up or ask around what it is.
geeeez
buntutwoman
post Sep 6 2010, 06:42 PM

182 posts

now u notice lor. abit slow lol.
buntutwoman
post Sep 14 2010, 03:58 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Sep 13 2010, 08:39 PM)
walao..like tat ahh..

ok..let's say Nokia 5230..it has got A-gps. smile.gif pls advise me of the following details.

Q1: if i use A-gps, telco charge me rite?...how baru can avoid being charged using gps?..

Q2: can i have the option of downloading the maps into my phone/memory card,and then whenever i wanna serach for direction, i serach it in the phone memory without connecting to any internet/data connection?..

q3: for those dedicated gps, do they get charged too when they use it to navigate?..
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
A1: switch off A-GPS.
A2: GMXT can only support 2 maps at any given 1 point of time. gmapsupp.img and gmapsup2.img (excluding worldwide basemap)
to workaround it, you can insert 2 into device assuming your device has space, and another 2 into the microsdkad. then you might have 4. most
nokias dont have sufficient main memory space so it leaves it back to just 2 inside the microsd.
A3: PND's are free except when there's TMC involved. at this moment, only singapore has TMC and that also not for Garmin. its for Galactio.
buntutwoman
post Jan 14 2011, 05:46 PM

182 posts

nope, in malfreemaps it gets filtered first
buntutwoman
post Jan 31 2011, 12:33 PM

182 posts

poem kenot use for 1 series.
if 4 not enough then have to overwrite gmapbmap instead.
buntutwoman
post Apr 11 2011, 09:24 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 5 2011, 07:40 PM)
This thread is about GPS in SYmbian system-lah. Nothing to do wth android or even dedicated GPS.

Anyway, those chinamade GPS, the battery will not last long, kaput within 2 mths & gps acquisition super slow
symbian is dead. time to move on.
buntutwoman
post Apr 19 2011, 10:14 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Apr 17 2011, 11:58 AM)
proof? and your thought is always wrong .. biggrin.gif Symbian will not die, Symbian like BN and Android is like OPPOSITION tongue.gif
gps noob has spoken !

This post has been edited by buntutwoman: Apr 19 2011, 10:18 PM
buntutwoman
post Apr 23 2011, 10:05 AM

182 posts

but it doesnt matter if its symbian or android or winmo or winphone7 or berrymaniac. he's still a gps noob before, currently and after who's acting all guru.
buntutwoman
post Sep 1 2011, 02:54 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 19 2011, 08:03 PM)
With these smartphone, we all paid our tuition fees the hard way. Mine was RM70 for 7MB of data before I wised up  mad.gif

Do report your comparison of both. For me:

Garmin Pros
1. Can read free Malfreemaps that has tons and tons of POI.

Garmin Cons
1. Terrible navigation instruction but then like I said earlier, it might be the fault of the maps. I don't know.
2. Outside of Malaysia/Singapore. I am sure there are free maps like Malfreemaps but couldn't be bothered to do the searching.
3. Due to the tons of POI, the map redrawing is slow but that's the Nokia phone's CPU fault, not Garmin.
stop providing people with wrong information.
polygons are the one that slows down the machinery, not poi's.

*to everyone else, please do not take this person seriously. he knows absolutely nothing but pretends to. this guy is one of those who is all talk but no show. btw i'm still waiting for you to make "your" own version of malfreemaps. is it ready yet ? lol
how is it progressing ah ? lol

0.0391sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:41 AM