youngkies
post Sep 20 2008, 02:13 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 19 2008, 08:04 AM)
may i know which month usually the semester in UK starts? very long time didn't in touch with education stuff adi...planning to do masters in UK

Scotland, England, Wales, Ireland....ermm which place has better universities (in terms of outdoor activities, friendly people and laidback environment?)
september.

different cities in different country has different cons and pros. there is no generalisation of which country in UK has the best universities.

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Sep 19 2008, 09:49 PM)
do we really need NHS ?
yes. you will get free treatment when you need it.

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Sep 20 2008, 12:00 AM)
i dont know whether i m with nhs or not , but i registered with my uni medical centre and able to see the GP for free , just had to pay for the medicine
yes, you are under nhs then.
hihihehe
post Sep 20 2008, 02:29 PM

13,799 posts

i think master also available at feb intake
youngkies
post Sep 20 2008, 04:08 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 20 2008, 02:29 PM)
i think master also available at feb intake
there is. but very rare.

usually february is the start of semester 2.
Carrielyn
post Sep 20 2008, 10:58 PM

69 posts

em, is there any architecture students are planning to study in UK?especially those who wish to study in London.wanna ask some advice about the school there,accommodation n living expenses. anyone can share.thanks a lot!!
navilink
post Sep 20 2008, 11:24 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

w00t asked my fren who stayed in hostel in uni of manchester, he said its about ~ 3500 pounds per year (got breakfast+dinner though, that's like 2-3years back, now with inflation even higher!!!)...i guess now its about ~4500 pounds now!! about RM30K liao for accomodation!! goddamm!!!
EDI_85
post Sep 20 2008, 11:43 PM

28 posts

is there any Agent or what ever that can help me to apply UK student visa,
i had the document all, but i fell like need people to supervise me, so that my application
wont be rejected or what.

TQ.
Arturia
post Sep 21 2008, 12:35 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(EDI_85 @ Sep 20 2008, 11:43 PM)
i had the document all, but i fell like need people to supervise me, so that my application

TQ.
Why don't you just ask ur doubts here? We might be able to help biggrin.gif that's wat community are for smile.gif
Xp3rT
post Sep 21 2008, 12:43 AM

1,028 posts

TQ.
just make sure all your documents are there and most importantly,

- acceptance letter from your uni, preferred with confirmation/proof of accommodation in uk, from the uni, or private.

- bank statement with sufficient fund (e.g. at least 1st year tuition fees + living fees) and further proof of financial capability from the sponsor.

my o my! forgotten to sign out bro's account. ~youngkies

This post has been edited by Xp3rT: Sep 21 2008, 12:44 AM
heavenhell
post Sep 21 2008, 11:10 AM

649 posts

TQ.
there are many agents out there tat are able to help u ,if you are not sure wat u r doin , can always refer to them ,n i think its free of charge. So in order to get everything right , its better to confirm with those agents , unless u r defintely noe wat u r doin.

This post has been edited by heavenhell: Sep 21 2008, 11:11 AM
jasperng
post Sep 21 2008, 11:30 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

anyone could reply my question in page 3 ? >.< where are you jinxx and geminist >.<
.wern
post Sep 21 2008, 03:15 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Sep 20 2008, 11:24 PM)
w00t asked my fren who stayed in hostel in uni of manchester, he said its about ~ 3500 pounds per year (got breakfast+dinner though, that's like 2-3years back, now with inflation even higher!!!)...i guess now its about ~4500 pounds now!! about RM30K liao for accomodation!! goddamm!!!
hi! this year uni of manchester's hostel rate is: 71 pound without catering // 91 pound with catering PER WEEK.
so if u are not staying for summer (41 weeks), is bout 2911 pound ~RM20k (without catering)// 3731 pound ~RM25k(with catering).

hope tat helps! XD
kelvinbongcn
post Sep 21 2008, 04:28 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Sep 20 2008, 01:46 AM)
I would like to know is it better to take ECUK exam or a MEng to get myself register with the body ? Is it better to get a MSc certificate as compared to ECUK exams ? Do they have class for ECUK exam ? ... how many papers in ECUK exam will I be expecting after BEng ?

not sure about that. still studying

One thing i realized is that I can work while taking ECUK exam... which is a advantage as i can gain working experience during the process. But ... it is also not easy to work and study for exam at the same time .... this worries me .

i think nor matter what sort of degree u take u still need to go through some assessment from ECUK. cuz even my lecture, Phd is asking my other lecture about the process in getting the charted status and he is short of preparing the work now.

May i know is the placement you are referring equivalent to internship in malaysia ? .. 

Yep, in UK u usually got summer placement or one year placement. but internship in malaysia is more flexible i think

I am sure that I would take BEng too if I started my first year in UK because i can get into working world earlier. However, my case is different here. Im taking ELectrical and electroninc engineering degree at nottingham malaysia campus. If i take BEng, I will graduate in malaysia. Thus, i will not have opportunity to work in UK. In this case do you think i should take MEng to graduate in Nottingham UK in order to allow me to find job in UK upon graduation ? ... In addition, this not only allows me to have study experience in UK but also allows me to register with professional body. It's like hitting two birds with one stone.

That's what i feel so. cuz with MEng can directly register as an graduate engineer in Malaysia as well. But with BEng u cant. That what the IEM tell me before I come to uk.

Other way is to take MSc in UK after my BEng, this choice allows me to have more flexibility to choose my university for postgraduate.. However, I have difficulty in choosing course for my postgraduate study too as MSc is more specialize whereas MENg is more general and wider range..
May i know what is the account of english universities are you referring ? ... i dont mind to check it out if you allow me to =)

MEng has certain modules similar with MSc. others i donno but in uni of Birmingham here i actually mix with the ppl in MSc. some modules are their core but options for us. and we got one project which is call research project that actually want ask to work with PhD student and taking a small part out of them as our research title. so is kind of mixture between Master of taught and research.
If u plan to study MSc in uk u need to apply ATAS for student visa but for MEng u dont need

Added on September 20, 2008, 1:51 am

If you say that it will be a common standard in the future to have a master qualification, does it mean that taking MEng would help you more in the future ?  I do realize there are similarities between MEng and MSc syllabus .. I consulted my lecturer and he told me that MEng and MSc is on same leve of qualification although one is undergraduate and another is postgraduate master. But, im not sure how the actual employers perceive them ...
From my pt of view. MEng is kind of in the middle between taught and research. so if employer want this type of ppl may be they will look for MEng graduates? . but if is research base company, then may be they will look for MSc. i donno just my guess

This post has been edited by kelvinbongcn: Sep 21 2008, 04:30 PM
Criptonox89
post Sep 21 2008, 04:40 PM

2,792 posts

Guys, good day.

If i graduated with a BEng in UK, and achieved CEng title, would I be able to work in Malaysia?
jasperng
post Sep 21 2008, 06:33 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Sep 21 2008, 04:40 PM)
Guys, good day.

If i graduated with a BEng in UK, and achieved CEng title, would I be able to work in Malaysia?
It is under the discretion of our "Holy" BEM whether to accept it or not. They will asnwer you this if you ask them.

Btw, even without CEng title you will also able to work in malaysia. >.<

This post has been edited by jasperng: Sep 21 2008, 06:34 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 21 2008, 07:01 PM

12,696 posts

For those going to UK for the 1st time and in self catering flat, you might want to check this out.

http://www.all-unied.com/

Arturia
post Sep 21 2008, 07:52 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 21 2008, 07:01 PM)
For those going to UK for the 1st time and in self catering flat, you might want to check this out.

http://www.all-unied.com/
yup ... bought from them biggrin.gif you don need to know your room number. just as long as you know the address or hall where you are staying is good enough. i was a bit worried earlier when i don't know my room number biggrin.gif juz in case some1 have the same doubts as me.
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 21 2008, 08:04 PM

12,696 posts

Good to know they are reliable. But how's the product quality? Care to elaborate a bit more about them?
jinXxxx
post Sep 22 2008, 04:59 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Sep 20 2008, 01:46 AM)
I would like to know is it better to take ECUK exam or a MEng to get myself register with the body ? Is it better to get a MSc certificate as compared to ECUK exams ? Do they have class for ECUK exam ? ... how many papers in ECUK exam will I be expecting after BEng ?

One thing i realized is that I can work while taking ECUK exam... which is a advantage as i can gain working experience during the process. But ... it is also not easy to work and study for exam at the same time .... this worries me .
May i know is the placement you are referring equivalent to internship in malaysia ? .. 
I am sure that I would take BEng too if I started my first year in UK because i can get into working world earlier. However, my case is different here. Im taking ELectrical and electroninc engineering degree at nottingham malaysia campus. If i take BEng, I will graduate in malaysia. Thus, i will not have opportunity to work in UK. In this case do you think i should take MEng to graduate in Nottingham UK in order to allow me to find job in UK upon graduation ? ... In addition, this not only allows me to have study experience in UK but also allows me to register with professional body. It's like hitting two birds with one stone.

Other way is to take MSc in UK after my BEng, this choice allows me to have more flexibility to choose my university for postgraduate.. However, I have difficulty in choosing course for my postgraduate study too as MSc is more specialize whereas MENg is more general and wider range..
May i know what is the account of english universities are you referring ? ... i dont mind to check it out if you allow me to =)

Added on September 20, 2008, 1:51 am

If you say that it will be a common standard in the future to have a master qualification, does it mean that taking MEng would help you more in the future ?  I do realize there are similarities between MEng and MSc syllabus .. I consulted my lecturer and he told me that MEng and MSc is on same leve of qualification although one is undergraduate and another is postgraduate master. But, im not sure how the actual employers perceive them ...
Sorry for the late reply. Was away in Manchester over the weekend smile.gif

ECUK exam - It's probably best to check online and read up on their website about the exam. I'm on an MEng course so I haven't been looking into that as yet.

May i know is the placement you are referring equivalent to internship in malaysia ? .. Yes it is basically an internship.

MEng/BEng?.. Well you're in NMC. So I guess you're in your 3rd (final) year now? If you're adamant on actually working in the UK and achieving your chartered status, then yea, you should extend your course to MEng.
What I'm wondering though is the fact that you can actually come to the UK even if you're on the BEng course. If you're in your 2nd year than you should be able to do that next year, but if you're in your 3rd year then I guess it's too late now sad.gif

May i know what is the account of english universities are you referring ? .. I study at the University of Bath and that was mainly where my description was derived from. However, I've also visited other universities, namely University of Bristol (not UWE), Nottingham UK and Manchester as well and they all seem to have the same sort of atmosphere. I have to say though, Bath is a campus uni and so is Notts. However, Notts UK is a super-huge campus whilst Bath's campus is just fractionally larger than NMC. Bristol and Manchester on the other hand are city universities and they're sort of scattered/integrated into the city. Some would prefer the bustling streets to the calm and quiet of the campus. And do check out the universities, surf around, look at some pictures, ask some friends, it will help you make your decision.

This post has been edited by jinXxxx: Sep 22 2008, 05:02 PM
Criptonox89
post Sep 22 2008, 07:19 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Sep 21 2008, 06:33 PM)
It is under the discretion of our "Holy" BEM whether to accept it or not. They will asnwer you this if you ask them.

Btw, even without CEng title you will also able to work in malaysia. >.<
Without the CEng, but with BEng, I can work in Malaysia as well? I mean professional development...If I'm not mistaken, either BEM or IEM doesn't recognize BEng. Correct me if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by Criptonox89: Sep 22 2008, 07:19 PM
tuRtL3
post Sep 22 2008, 09:01 PM

674 posts

QUOTE(Carrielyn @ Sep 20 2008, 10:58 PM)
em, is there any architecture students are planning to study in UK?especially those who wish to study in London.wanna ask some advice about the school there,accommodation n living expenses. anyone can share.thanks a lot!!
Heya, you could refer to the good university league tables.

The Complete University Guide

Times Good University Guide

Sorry not an architecture student here, can't advice much on that.

Cheers

127 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:03 AM