30 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 >Bottom

Pentium Dual Core E5200, new processor has arrived!

ooiwbng
post Apr 25 2009, 12:23 AM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

BIOS =D old school FTW!!!
goldfries
post Apr 25 2009, 12:25 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

take note of what jinaun mentioned.

E2xxx are based on Conroe, the E6xxx processors. Hyper-threading stopped at the P4 series, now introduced in the Core i7 series.
ooiwbng
post Apr 25 2009, 12:28 AM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

goldfries...it isnt introduced...its reintroduced..but i dunno why dey stop HT @ C2D and C2Q i heard it was uncompatible? rclxub.gif
goldfries
post Apr 25 2009, 12:43 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yes. re-introduced. or re-implemented. tongue.gif whichever.
jinaun
post Apr 25 2009, 01:00 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

i believe C2D/Q has HT logic in them.. but Intel does not enable them for reasons best known to them.

iirc... according to Intel HT takes only about 5% of the die size
ooiwbng
post Apr 25 2009, 01:10 AM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

lets ask Ryaz Patel to tell us why Intel didnt enable dem...actually if C2D/Q had HT, i7 wouldnt sell off like hot cakes..HT is i7's main selling feature...but still E5200 is Pentium Architecture..why dun haf HT lerh..reason simple = Intel kiam siap
goldfries
post Apr 25 2009, 01:11 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ooiwbng @ Apr 25 2009, 01:10 AM)
lets ask Ryaz Patel to tell us why Intel didnt enable dem...actually if C2D/Q had HT, i7 wouldnt sell off like hot cakes..HT is i7's main selling feature...but still E5200 is Pentium Architecture..why dun haf HT lerh..reason simple = Intel kiam siap
it was named Pentium but the architecture is of the Core series.

ooiwbng
post Apr 25 2009, 01:15 AM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 25 2009, 01:11 AM)
it was named Pentium but the architecture is of the Core series.
=X my bad..forgotten its a Wolfdale...sry sry... doh.gif
goldfries
post Apr 25 2009, 01:18 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah, even the earlier gen PDC were Conroe. smile.gif some how Intel decided to have it named Pentium for the low end.

There's the Celeron E1xxx based on Allendale, same as the E4xxx series.
ooiwbng
post Apr 25 2009, 01:22 AM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

mind to ellaborate on Allendale? heard of it but nvr seen any procs use it..btw Celeron, isnt it b4 Pentium 4? its has dual core also? wow i really haf to brush up my knowledge abt old tech
goldfries
post Apr 25 2009, 01:26 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Celeron has been around for ages.

The most popular Celeron was the 300A. biggrin.gif 300mhz OCed to 450mhz. 50% OC. I only have the 333 and 400.

Those days Celeron were a hit, people bought Celeron instead of Pentium III because (based on my really really old information entry) they had on-die cache while Pentium III's cache was off-die. so the Celeron when OCed to equivalent P3 speed, can do faster. smile.gif

Even P4 days had Celeron. Pentium was the top of the consumer line, Celeron for the lower range.

Nowadays it's Core / Pentium / Celeron.

ahhh. something like that. btw off-topic a bit - computer shop in Taiping? biggrin.gif if got then, next time i drop by Taiping can visit.

Added on April 25, 2009, 1:26 ambut really, we're straying from the E5200 topic. Allendale you can see in E4xxx series. read the reviews on them la. smile.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 25 2009, 01:26 AM
ooiwbng
post Apr 25 2009, 01:33 AM

Tech Frix
1,206 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 25 2009, 01:26 AM)

ahhh. something like that. btw off-topic a bit - computer shop in Taiping? biggrin.gif if got then, next time i drop by Taiping can visit.

Added on April 25, 2009, 1:26 ambut really, we're straying from the E5200 topic. Allendale you can see in E4xxx series. read the reviews on them la. smile.gif
lol...im 14..pls dun misinterprate..i build(assemble) ur comp for u nia..nt sell comp stuff...oh u mean i.e. Pentium = i7, Celeron = i5? wow Intel dominates man..ya i agree we are straying..hmmmm im still wondering who sells the cheapest E5200 in LYN coz im building a 2nd rig for my cousin
skan1
post Apr 27 2009, 12:14 AM

45 posts

hi , posting some mild overclocking results of the new e5200 r0 revision on stock vcore and here's the result. Using mobo Gigabyte GA-G31M-E2SL and DDR 800 with 2.66 divider.

This post has been edited by skan1: Apr 27 2009, 03:42 AM

-pWs-
post Apr 27 2009, 01:52 AM

8,545 posts

vDrop I guess. smile.gif

-pWs-
skan1
post Apr 27 2009, 03:43 AM

45 posts

dude mind explaining whats vdrop ?
linux11
post Apr 27 2009, 09:04 PM

104 posts

Interesting to see the E5200 is revision R0.
I wonder how low the voltage can go while the cpu remain stable, and how high the cpu can OC while running at the default voltage. smile.gif

yeap, the most famous Celeron was the 300A (back in year 1998), which was launched when Intel's top model was Pentium II 450 with 512kb half speed L2 cache. The Celeron 300A was set to run on a 66MHz bus with a 4.5x multiplier and a 128kb native L2 cache. Abit BH6 was the most popular motherboard to pair with the 300A, since it allowed the 100MHz bus on the 300A, giving performance on par with the PII 450. My best bang for the buck since it's a 50% OC.
Oxburg
post Apr 27 2009, 11:16 PM

857 posts

BTW can i know your all core0 core1 load temperature? I found out my proccessor temp and core0 core1 have a big different.
motherboard_barai
post Apr 28 2009, 10:07 AM

98 posts

So this model is more better form Core 2 duo??
OC4/3
post Apr 28 2009, 05:20 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(motherboard_barai @ Apr 28 2009, 10:07 AM)
So this model is more better form Core 2 duo??
Nope,it is the basic vanila strip down version of wolfdale core smile.gif
But cheap@RM240 or so,with 4ghz clockspeed on right combo is nothing to complain lor laugh.gif
Oxburg
post May 1 2009, 08:03 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 14 2008, 02:05 PM)
is a e6300 great jump if i buy this proc at oc it around 3.5ghz? Rm275 is damn good price.
For what i think if your E6300 can reach 3.0Ghz dont change.The increase performance isnt that big from E6300 -> E5200 since the cache is same.But only the temperature is lower and more energy efficiency.

30 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 >Top

0.0338sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:36 PM