Sep 18 2008, 11:41 AM
241 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Asus network - top brand, great features! |
TO ALL GAINWARD 4850 GOLDEN SAMPLE & CUSTOM COVER USERS
NOT all 4850 have problems. Only FEW Gainward 4850 GS & CC cards from 15th August till 10th Sep 2008 batch. Please do not worry. Gainward explained that it's not a faulty chip, but an unstable one, so not many will have this problem. Just bring back your card to us for an exchange anytime between 11am to 6pm. Outstation users post it back to us. So sorry for any inconvenience caused. We just want to be safe. We would like to assure everyone that the latest batch (18th Sep onwards) comes will not have this problem. |
Sep 18 2008, 11:56 AM
1,357 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bukit Jelutong, Shah Alam |
Netraid, saturday can or not?
Sep 18 2008, 12:18 PM
1,072 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Somewhere... |
Sep 18 2008, 12:22 PM
869 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Big pot heated with Hell's Fire |
i wonder... y no 1 is making a gainward siggy... i want it so much... can show off i'm a gainward user... =.=
Sep 18 2008, 12:31 PM
5,602 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: The Holiest Of Hole |
Sep 18 2008, 12:50 PM
281 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
if i can play crysis for 1 hour means no problem right?
Sep 18 2008, 12:51 PM
1,779 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
my 4850gs intermittent got black screen during display full screen when play movie from media player classic software is this consider problem?? as of now no more blank screen in games compare to last time???should i exchange a new card?
Sep 18 2008, 03:04 PM
4,567 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Bangi, Selangor |
ok guys. i have both xp and vista on my comp. the blackout stuffs i got on the screen were on XP. so far testing games on vista, such blackouts never happened. it's weird. i havent got my psu yet (bought online before netraid announce the unstable thing). like i said, it's weird. i tested assassin's creed, crysis warhead and also half life 2 games like tf2 and so on. on xp, tf2 has several blackouts but not frequent. on vista, i never had any blackouts at all. so far so good. the xp is using 8.7 while on vista, it's 8.8. the 8.8 on xp was worse than 8.7 tho.
tho my only concern is that my comp became so hot just now after several hours of playing crysis. the game hang on loading. i just barely restarted my pc. was on the game from 11 am this morning. |
Sep 18 2008, 03:19 PM
869 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Big pot heated with Hell's Fire |
Sep 18 2008, 04:14 PM
14,033 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Wah so fast tried Crysis Warhead? got ahem ahem version already? =X I'm thinking to try my system non stop for this Warhead
Sep 18 2008, 04:16 PM
299 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
eh i tot i heard ccc 8.9 out? how?
good? |
Sep 18 2008, 04:19 PM
1,367 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Penang |
SO, the black out only happen in XP and not in Vista?
Sep 18 2008, 04:34 PM
Sep 18 2008, 04:37 PM
Must... get a copy soon... how much is it retailing ar?
Oh yes, Netraid the newer stock no problem one is those with a sticker on their fan? for the 4850 GS. |
Sep 18 2008, 04:50 PM
rm 109. if i can buy 4850 gs, of course i can buy original games as well.
Sep 18 2008, 07:51 PM
241 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Asus network - top brand, great features! |
QUOTE(tesla_rage @ Sep 18 2008, 11:56 AM) Netraid, saturday can or not? YES, can. Please come anytime from 12pm to 4pm. But new batch of 4850 GS will only arrive on Mon or Tue. Shipment delayed. Please come next Tue onwards. QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Sep 18 2008, 12:18 PM) Tried with FurMark, Yet to try with crysis. Haven't get a copy of the game myself lol cause I'm not interested in that game. I get blankscreen after 5mins of FurMark with MSAA on FurMark is a software that really stress the GC till max, to simulate extreme load and high temp. So it's not an accurate test for GC under normal condition. Try using your card to play games for few hours and see if any blackouts.QUOTE(squall_12 @ Sep 18 2008, 12:51 PM) my 4850gs intermittent got black screen during display full screen when play movie from media player classic software is this consider problem?? as of now no more blank screen in games compare to last time???should i exchange a new card? Like we said, NOT all cards have problems, and that also not often. So it's really up to you whether you want to exchange it. If you decide yes, we will gladly change it for you with a new card. We just want to make sure you are happy.QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Sep 18 2008, 03:04 PM) ok guys. i have both xp and vista on my comp. the blackout stuffs i got on the screen were on XP. so far testing games on vista, such blackouts never happened. it's weird. i havent got my psu yet (bought online before netraid announce the unstable thing). like i said, it's weird. i tested assassin's creed, crysis warhead and also half life 2 games like tf2 and so on. on xp, tf2 has several blackouts but not frequent. on vista, i never had any blackouts at all. so far so good. the xp is using 8.7 while on vista, it's 8.8. the 8.8 on xp was worse than 8.7 tho. One thing we noticed, blackouts happened more often in XP. Again like what we said, it's up to you. If you decide to change, we will do it for you.tho my only concern is that my comp became so hot just now after several hours of playing crysis. the game hang on loading. i just barely restarted my pc. was on the game from 11 am this morning. As for your PC temp, remove the side panel and use an electric fan (or switch on aircon) to blow into it. Then play games for several hours and see if any more games hang. If no hanging, then you really need to add more cooling into your PC, or leave your PC side panel open. QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Sep 18 2008, 04:19 PM) SO, the black out only happen in XP and not in Vista? Blackouts are caused by MANY reasons. We just want to be safe so we offer the exchange program with a new GC.That means if your blackouts are caused by Gainward 4850 unstable chip, then it should not happen anymore. But there is NO guarantee blackouts won't happen due to other reasons (unstable/unclean OS, driver, signals, hot temp, bad/broken connectors etc). Hope everyone understand this. QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 18 2008, 04:37 PM) Oh yes, Netraid the newer stock no problem one is those with a sticker on their fan? for the 4850 GS. Nope. The next batch will arrived next Mon/Tue with improved chip for both 4850 Golden Sample and 4850 Custom Cover. Nothing to do with sticker on fan. Anyone who bought their Gainward 4850 Golden Sample and 4850 Custom Cover from Sep 18 onwards is OK.We like to remind everyone that this exchange problem is ONLY for those with blackouts (whether due to our chip or other reasons - impossible to be 100% sure). Gainward will test the returned stock. So please be sure you do have blackouts before asking for exchange. Thank you everyone for your patience and understanding. |
Sep 18 2008, 08:01 PM
1,823 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
just recieved a nice little mp3 player from netraid
will snap a pic later This post has been edited by lolhalol: Sep 18 2008, 08:05 PM |
Sep 18 2008, 08:05 PM
I have a friend with 4850 GS with the white sticker G. He manage to run furmark with 8x MSAA for about 30minutes, no black screen or crashes. temp was about 70-71 though (mine lower...60+ but still crash... )
Sep 18 2008, 08:08 PM
5,250 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
@celciuz, netraid mention to use gaming to stress the card