GAINWARD ATI USERS CLUB - All Welcome, News, Info, Queries, Support, Hot Pics

celciuz
post Sep 5 2008, 10:21 AM

14,033 posts

Hi all, 4850 Golden Sample reporting in.

QUOTE(NetRaid @ Sep 5 2008, 02:38 AM)
Support Issue:
2. Gainward will run some thorough diagnostics to see if this occur in their testing lab.
Regarding this, I did a little test of my own using Furmark as the stressing tool. What I've noticed is, I can run Furmark all day without problem with MSAA turned off. But when I set MSAA to 8x, I will experience the screen blackout. I had to use the esc key to turn off Furmark before the screen coming back (my desktop only appear maybe for 1 second or so only during the blackout). Screen came back instantly when Furmark was turned off, and before I turned it off I manage to take a screenshot of my desktop.

Funny thing is the FPS went much higher than average during the blackout period. And the donut (or whatever that thing is) has jerks when running with 8x MSAA. Maybe this could help you guys in your investigation smile.gif. My guess is this might be related to AA though. Doesn't look like a overheat issue either though.
celciuz
post Sep 5 2008, 12:50 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Sep 5 2008, 10:56 AM)
only 1 thing i dont like about gainward 4850gs is the vrm and memory chip is not cover with heatsink which force me to wasted money on heatsink lol other that than gainward 4850 is best bang for buck...
Your GS fitted with ram sink? can show some pics? I'm thinking of adding them as well. Need to open the black casing for it right? What about warranty? still there? since one of the screw has sticker.

celciuz
post Sep 5 2008, 08:45 PM

14,033 posts

I think the models are the same... or maybe for the long hair one only =/
celciuz
post Sep 5 2008, 09:40 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Sep 5 2008, 09:03 PM)
Hehe... Another 4850GS owner from PG. The card looks great especially the 2 heat pipes. But I juz dont understand why need the 8pin since the 6pin can supply the card with 75watt and PCIe with another 75watt. Reference 4850 only needs 105watts to operate. There are still plenty of power to spare. Really clueless...
Well, show off factor? drool.gif Though I would prefer it to use 6 pin instead... no need for a converter =/
celciuz
post Sep 5 2008, 10:40 PM

14,033 posts

Extra ground? I though the 2 extra pins are both 12v pins isn't it? From the looks of the 6 pin to 8 pin converter though.
celciuz
post Sep 6 2008, 06:30 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Sep 6 2008, 12:39 AM)
Yeah, I suppose you should buy those angled SATA cables.. but if you don't wish to, i guess you have to cramp it. I managed to cramp my power cables on the left side of the PCIE slot after inserting my Gainward card. There's a little gap that fits nicely.

Added on September 6, 2008, 12:40 amIt's a 90 degrees angled SATA cable.. One of it came with my LG DVD ROM.
Wah LG DVD drive provides those type of cable? Mine only provide normal ones... only my gigabyte mobo provided 2 =/

But I don't think can fit in le... seems very small... the L shaped connector I had is quite thick...
celciuz
post Sep 6 2008, 07:24 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Sep 6 2008, 07:00 PM)
guys, question. I installed the 4850GS and went through all the installation stuff. But one installation couldn't complete. It's the Microsoft UAA HD audio driver. The installation cannot proceed cos cannot find the location of the driver. I used the CD which came with the card and it couldn't find the driver there. Please help.

Any way for me to download the driver directly? i can't find it on the net.
QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Sep 6 2008, 07:09 PM)
so do mine. tho i am not really bother about that. my concern is more on the blackouts.
I actually kena this thing, and found out that the hd audio thingy is actually the ATi HDMI feature for sound... Just go to the website and download the HDMI driver for ATi.
celciuz
post Sep 8 2008, 08:49 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Sep 8 2008, 07:49 AM)
how is gainward warranty? my location at malacca, how am i going to claim if the unit is faulty.
desmond1310 went directly through Netraid and got his card RMA. So yea I suppose you can go directly to Netraid (the distro).
celciuz
post Sep 8 2008, 09:40 AM

14,033 posts

You may try asking them to order though... but it will probably be priced higher than the resellers here.
celciuz
post Sep 9 2008, 05:07 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(lehteck @ Sep 9 2008, 04:44 PM)
I know what's the announcement...

the model gals r coming to msia ahhahah@
Maybe more peektures rclxms.gif
celciuz
post Sep 9 2008, 05:34 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 9 2008, 05:31 PM)
CF bridge not included in Gainward ATI cards?
Not with the 4850 GS, not sure with the rest of the Gainward ATi range or not.
celciuz
post Sep 9 2008, 06:16 PM

14,033 posts

Maybe can try buy from others... those with 2 cards and both comes with the bridge tongue.gif.
celciuz
post Sep 11 2008, 12:37 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Sep 11 2008, 12:36 AM)
Guys,isnt the Gainward includes 6-8pin converter?it is stated in the PDF(Netraid one).
Yes, the 6pin-8pin is provided with the 4850 Golden Sample. rclxms.gif
celciuz
post Sep 11 2008, 02:28 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(dertb @ Sep 11 2008, 02:24 PM)
so for Golden Sample version of 4850 and 4870.. the 6 pin to 8pin converter is 100% included ..... ?
Yes, included. If don't have... ask Netraid to send it to you lor, maybe left out in the packaging perhaps.
celciuz
post Sep 12 2008, 02:55 PM

14,033 posts

Netraid, if play games don't have but when using stressing software got means the card is faulty free? sweat.gif

The blackout appears when I use MSAA8X in furmark, but doesn't appear if MSAA is disabled. Maybe this should help you guys in figuring out what might be causing it.

Bout the pirated windows thingy, I'm running on an legit copy but still experience the blackout. Blackout does appear in games (occasionally) when I enable anti aliasing to the max. Only happens to games that really stress the GPU like Crysis. (for the sake of trying out ._. I set AA to 8x lol. fps was hovering around 25-30 ._. all on high since I only have DX9, WinXP sad.gif ). Blackout did happen after half an hour of play or so though. Screen went all black just like signal was lost, and comes back maybe 1 or 2 seconds later.
celciuz
post Sep 12 2008, 06:41 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Sep 12 2008, 03:49 PM)
Hehe smile.gif will consider it biggrin.gif Btw any idea why my psu make some sound when i stress test my 4850GS, like using ATI tools to scan artifact then theres some high pitched sound coming from my psu lol. When i stopped it, it seems normal laugh.gif my specs is in my siggy notworthy.gif
Yay, your PSU can join my PSU in the PSU singing team! My PSU is no longer alone brows.gif
celciuz
post Sep 12 2008, 07:33 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Sep 12 2008, 06:58 PM)
Haha, using the same model as mine? It only sings when i run the artifact scan on atitools laugh.gif doesn't sings when i play COD4 at max setting  smile.gif
Mine sings whenever the FPS goes very high, as in 500 and above or something.. when your atitools, the fps is 1k+ isn't it? if you listen properly.. the pitch follow the fps lol.

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 12 2008, 07:30 PM)
o_O...mine does not have those singing sounds..maybe it's male whistling.gif
Male more macho ma... dead silent.. mine aiyo... noisy... doh.gif But can be fixed with vsync though.
celciuz
post Sep 12 2008, 10:10 PM

14,033 posts

I think both of them came from the same place... just different badging only.
celciuz
post Sep 13 2008, 12:25 PM

14,033 posts

Change your fan speed to 55% man, mine idles at about 40c at that speed. To me, 55% is pretty much the same noise as the stock. biggrin.gif.
celciuz
post Sep 13 2008, 05:58 PM

14,033 posts

Disable AA and see if it appears... I notice mine happens only when I enable AA. If don't have so far not yet notice it happening.

20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:33 AM