Yes, for life. Don't worry, they will not get lonely. They prefer to live alone. The reason they fight is because they don't like to stay with each other. So why force them?
Chubby Hamster V10, Rolling Fat Furballs
Aug 26 2008, 08:35 PM
2,647 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Yes, for life. Don't worry, they will not get lonely. They prefer to live alone. The reason they fight is because they don't like to stay with each other. So why force them?
Aug 26 2008, 08:45 PM
What breed are your hamsters again Aeon?
Aug 26 2008, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Aug 26 2008, 09:14 PM) What about mine? What breed again? The only breed that actually likes company until I can almost say as NEED company are robos. All the others do fine on their own. Especially not syrians. Syrians NEED to be alone. I guess mine is 1 male and female. Both of them like to smell each others genital then each time i open my Habitrail Ovo cover and check on them what they doing, the male always run then find things to do or act sleep. Not sure whats happening..they sometimes walk together then run in the wheel together. (Sorry for my Poor english + duno how to explain If you don't want to breed them please separate them. Syrians don't like living together and can breed a lot. I'm sure you're aware that 1 syrian needs 1 tank. If you don't separate them soon, you'll need to buy 10 more tanks as opposed to 1 more that you have to buy now. |
Aug 27 2008, 12:01 AM
I'm interested. We are talking about RC nutrition and smoothie right?
This post has been edited by Jamien: Aug 27 2008, 12:09 AM |
Aug 27 2008, 12:38 AM
Lol, my syrians like red devil the best. Although they haven't tried cool and crazy yet.
Anyway, I'm just interested because I didn't know RCs needed special diets. Who knows, I might get a RC one day.. So for anyone who believes in nezu's products, you can continue feeding. With those that don't basically just don't feed la. It's really just that simple. Sometimes I feel sad that my robos never had a chance to eat smoothies. At least my syrians get them. |
Aug 27 2008, 04:19 PM
Then use the switch methods cage. Basically let each robo stay in their cage for a week. Then switch the robos to each other's tanks. Switch it for 2 weeks and try another re-intro.
Aug 28 2008, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(jayniel @ Aug 28 2008, 02:49 PM) regarding eating dead hamster in petshops, i wouldnt say it's becos there is insufficient food.. cos my fren forgot to feed his hamsters for 3 days, and both look sickly & weak but didnt eat each other.. i would believe that the hamsters in petshops died from fighting, and it's their natural instinct to clear the carcass, which is why they eat the dead hamsters.. @goldfries : |
Aug 28 2008, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Aug 28 2008, 05:20 PM) Actually I think that the hamsters in pet shop don't die from starvation due to insufficient food but the lack of food make them fight and killed each another for the food. That's what I meant from insufficient food or nutrients. It means not enough food or nutrients by the way. When they don't have enough food or a certain nutrient, any animal will resort to finding a means to get it, may that be looking for it or cannibalizing a fellow hamster to get nutrients his body can give. |
Sep 1 2008, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(sky_haunter @ Sep 1 2008, 12:57 AM) just got a pair of robos last week... very shy maa...always hide in the house luckily...they wont bite me,even when "suap" them wif the green and red "cereal" |
Sep 1 2008, 01:46 AM
QUOTE(sky_haunter @ Sep 1 2008, 01:27 AM) seriously...dun hav any brand name Then i suggest you stop feeding that. There was once a case when the petshop re-packaged human cereal like honey stars and coco crunch and sold it as hamster treat. It could be happening for you too. And human cereal is not suitable;le for hamsters. It makes them obese in a SUPER unhealthy way.it stated... "Golden Hamster hamster mixed seed" just a sticker mention above on the plastic aso..a picture of hamster |
Sep 1 2008, 03:51 AM
I saw about RM 22.90 at zooological Pets Supplies (was just in there cuz s happen to be around that area). Pet Safari also has Prestige but I don't remember the price.
Sep 1 2008, 09:49 PM
Hi, congratulations on being a new owner! And they're so lucky to have such an understanding owner like you. If they really are syrians they should never be housed together. So good job!
My female is also a lot tamer than my male when they firs arrived. It depends on how your hammies were brought up, as in how much human contact they had. Roche was born in a home breeder's place so she's a lot tamer than my Ferro whom I bought from a pet shop. Although now they're both very tame lar. Taming doesn't happen overnight. Bribe them more often and try to handle them daily for half an hour or more. Let them be comfortable with the idea that you're their provider. Love = patience + sacrifice. Good luck! |
Sep 2 2008, 12:32 AM
Sep 2 2008, 01:16 AM
Why don't you use actual shavings for bedding? Hamsters use shavings quite economically wat.
Sep 2 2008, 02:27 AM
for robos i suggest u use the bribe and trust. Put a lot of food on your fingers and put your hand on top of teh shavings and temp your robos to come et it. Slowly everyday, put the food a lil higher up your hands until they climb onto your hand to get food.
When they're used to climbing on your hand for food, try lifting yor hand off the shavings a bit. If your robo gets frightened let it run back to the enclosure. Put your hand back on top of the shavings and try again. Your robo will get used to the fact that your hand moves. I feel this taming trick to get your robo to clamber into your hand is very important. It enables quick removal of your robo from its enclosure if need be. |
Sep 2 2008, 02:39 AM
^ Well my robos and my syrians, and even bitey RCs respond to me using my technique. You can try lo. It's a bit time consuming but very useful and worth it.
But don't expect it to happen all in 1 day. Love = patience + sacrifice. Good luck! |
Sep 2 2008, 02:50 AM
well it might happen. for robos that are often hand caught, they usually scramble whenever they see a hand.
Sep 2 2008, 03:21 AM
use a big tank. don't use cage. My robos don't chew but metal barred cages aren't good for any kind of hamsters. I would like to change to a tank but my mum won't let me.
Sep 3 2008, 09:05 PM
Jeabjean, can I ask what kind of hamster food you usually feed your hamster? They look unusually "chubby".
And treat is treat, don't feed too often. My hamsters have only ever eaten brocolli once in the time they've been wit me, and only very little of it. This post has been edited by Jamien: Sep 3 2008, 09:06 PM |
Sep 4 2008, 01:32 AM
Wow chin, your hamsters are really cute! And the picture looks clear lar. Wait for the WW and RC expert.
| Change to: | 0.0204sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:45 AM |