Chubby Hamster V10, Rolling Fat Furballs

Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 03:04 PM

2,647 posts

Congrats V10!!!

Wah Ally, nice hammies! All look identical. laugh.gif Cute fuzzies~~~

@mecool: As everyone mentioned, your hamsters are a lil thin for 3 weeks plus right? They're not getting enough to eat. Always make sure that they have a lot of dry food, a lot of water. Your egg white can give everyday lor. I give everyday until I separate them. As experts mentioned, you can try syringe feeding for equal distribution of smoothies. Also, before you go out, give lots of fruits and vege. Not scared too much but scared too little mar.

I suggest bedding not be changed at all lar guys. It'll make the mum feel so stressed out to be in an environment diff from before while she's still with her babies (after 3 weeks can change). So if really wanna change wait till the babies turn 3 weeks.
Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 05:36 PM

2,647 posts

If your hamster is sick you should bring to a vet lo. Survivor powder only helps give energy and protein. The sickness might not go away. (sorry nezu. not insulting your products. Just scared the WW got virus).
Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 06:07 PM

2,647 posts

@unknownhammie: does it look like the eyes are stuck together a little? Maybe it's eye infection. Not sure what the symptoms are but hamsters are usually energetic when awake mar.

@mecool: boiled egg is protein source. You can give daily but make sure your mealie reduce number lo. sad.gif They're quite small for 1 month. And their fur don't look dense. They're not inbred, are they?

You don't have to take care of them 24/7 wan. In the morning when you wake up, give fresh smoothie (enough to tahan until evening. ), give a lot of fresh vege and fruit, make sure their water bottle and dry food got a lot. You can buy LC vit syrup to increase their appetite.

At night come back, give another bowl of fresh smoothie, fresh vege. Give mealies also lo.

You adjust adjust a bit. Giive them a little bit more than they usually eat so that the hammies still have food if they decide they wanna eat more. Their growing period is very important to determine their health and size in future.
Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 06:23 PM

2,647 posts

How many times has your female hamster given birth? How old is it?
Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 08:51 PM

2,647 posts

if want a big and healthy hamster, should pump from a young age. All animals stop growing after a certain age. If pass that age, only can become fat, cannot become big.

The size has many factors lo, such as genes of the parents, type and also food we give.
Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 10:53 PM

2,647 posts

Try wetting the suction area before you stick it on the cage. I do that and the suctions don't come off until I pry it off.
Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 11:04 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Aug 22 2008, 10:59 PM)
sad...My female hammie die jor...duno the cause also. cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
sad.gif May she rest in peace. Whatever the cause, at least she is free of pain and suffering now. And you still have the male right? She'll watch you both from hamster heaven.
Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 11:11 PM

2,647 posts

@unknownhammie: If just bought then could be that she was already sick before you bought her. sad.gif

@ss88: How is the ventilation of your enclosure? Robos tend to sweat a lot and need good ventilation.
Jamien
post Aug 22 2008, 11:20 PM

2,647 posts

shakehead.gif You wanna let go of them because they sweat a lot? That is irresponsible.

BTW have you seen them actually rolling in the sand bath?
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 12:13 AM

2,647 posts

rclxms.gif Dug out some old pictures of my dear Pastel. He was one of the most beautiful robos I have ever seen (besides being a white face tongue.gif). I just had to have him when I saw him when he was little.

He had very thick dense fur which he kept clean by frequently grooming and sand bathing. He was also very "manly". ahem... He grew to be big and had such cute looking wide ears. He was also the most intelligent robo I owned. My star trick master. Chubbiest robo I ever owned as well.

In loving memories, I give you, Pastel. smile.gif

Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 12:28 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(ss88 @ Aug 23 2008, 12:18 AM)
beautiful white face,,,it s hard to get...
In Malaysia, yup. The sellers don't know about it yet. And those who do know hike its price sky high.

And thanks. He was a beautiful and lovable boy. Never had a more attention loving robo. He's one of the reasons why robos are my top hamsters.
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 12:43 AM

2,647 posts

sweat.gif You want because he's a white face or he's chubby?

Anyway, try your luck and look at pet shops selling robos. You might see one or two. I've only ever seen 3 and owned 2. Shop owners won't be able to help you out to look for one because they don't know about white face hamsters.

Good luck in hunting!
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 01:06 AM

2,647 posts

I honestly don't know because both my white face robos never produced any pups when I pair them up with normal robos. It could be that they're sterile or that the females didn't like them.
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 01:19 AM

2,647 posts

sad.gif Ouch... Must hurt a lot. But getting bitten by a syrian isn't pleasant since they have such long and sharp teeth.

I suggest you use bribery. It's much better to get your hamster to think that you're a food provider, not a threat. Then from there, proceed from food provider to "interesting living thing".

Try cutting veges into long pieces and you hold one end and extend the other end to him.

@bytefreezer: no idea dude. Jus no pups. I miss my pastel. cry.gif
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 03:46 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(mDinie @ Aug 23 2008, 02:15 PM)
haha...how i know..

they do seem to be playing with each other a lot. kissing and hugging..
Your robos are fine together. The best species of hamsters if you wish to keep many together. I've never seen "gay" robos no matter how many I house together (one sex per tank of course). And robos don't kiss. It just looks like our kissing. wub.gif But thheir friendliness to each other is also one of the points of what makes them adorable.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Aug 23 2008, 03:47 PM
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 05:29 PM

2,647 posts

sweat.gif Well, what do you expect. You suddenly pop your new robo into a tank that she can clearly smell belong to other robos.

What you can do, is change the shavings and clean the enclosure. Deodorize the whole thing by putting a lil vinegar on it then wash. If can, re-arrange all the items in it so it doesn't look like the old cage. Then dump your robos in and see how it goes.
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 07:49 PM

2,647 posts

In garage sales I guess. WTExchange maybe?

Why wanna exchange?
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 10:14 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(bytefreezer @ Aug 23 2008, 10:06 PM)
haha, i looking for one male robo, but not exchange smile.gif

Added on August 23, 2008, 10:09 pm

Thanx for the comparison... rclxms.gif
Now i'm having headache on my old pair of robos and my new female robo.
What's the prob? Still can't introduce?
Jamien
post Aug 23 2008, 11:25 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Aug 23 2008, 11:04 PM)
I notice my WW...when want to sleep he will push the bedding aside then sleep de wor. He dislike the bedding?
I think i'm using pine shaving as bedding, not sure thou...i asked the shop owner recommend and he gave me brown colour bedding.
Long time no 'yong' hamster le..forgot all the basic stuff.  sweat.gif
Well, think of it this way. Shavings are very warm. But the tank plastic or glass is cooling. So they pus shavings away when they're hot and gather shavings when they're cold.

Anyway, pine is bad for small animals. I suggest you not buy that brand agai. Get Chipsi Classic or chipsi super. sweat.gif And wood shavings of course is brown colour right.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Aug 23 2008, 11:26 PM
Jamien
post Aug 24 2008, 03:54 PM

2,647 posts

The stick or chew bar mentioned is basically a chew toy. wooden chew sticks and those like that.

You can try using it but it does not necessary solve your problem. If your hamster is only teething then providing a chew toy can help solve the problem.

But if your hamster is chewing because it likes the taste of metal, like many hamsters do, then it cannot be solved with a chew toy. Only changing to a tank will solve your problem.

biggrin.gif BTW, Roche had her first heat yesterday. I took her out of the cage and plopped her on my brother's shoulder yesterday night. Then he was stroking her when he said "something smells bad". Roche never smelt bad so I picked her up and smelled her. Then there was a horrid musty smell... It stuck on my hands even after i wash with detergent.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Aug 24 2008, 04:02 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0387sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:13 AM