126 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

law1777
post Oct 18 2008, 12:57 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Oct 18 2008, 11:50 AM)
new firmware doesnt mean will always better..
new one might fix previous bug but might have new bug too..
what about previous updates of BD profile 2.0 and DTSHD-MA? psn id list manager?(fine maybe u din use) etc etc.. previous bug u dun wanna solve is it? if u never update the latest one u will be forever missing

This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 18 2008, 01:04 PM
mistraldmx
post Oct 18 2008, 01:18 PM

20 posts

hi guys..
i wonder why when i try to enable wma playback, its promp ethernet cable is not connected? need that network
cable to enable it? and still, i cant play my mpeg-4 format video...
maskedchan
post Oct 18 2008, 01:37 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 18 2008, 12:57 PM)
what about previous updates of BD profile 2.0 and DTSHD-MA? psn id list manager?(fine maybe u din use) etc etc.. previous bug u dun wanna solve is it? if u never update the latest one u will be forever missing
for me if working fine i wont update.
if force to update nothing i can do...
as a IT person..never use latest firmware...
who know wat problem might come..
this is my opinion smile.gif
mike86
post Oct 18 2008, 02:53 PM

895 posts

ehh guys, some noob question
im using 1 monitor for ps3 and pc as well, but always need to plug and unplug the cable to swtich between pc and ps3, very troublesome
so i decide to use 2 cable, 1 for pc and 1 for ps3
the question is, when i change the source from pc to ps3 and ps3 to pc while both devide running, will it harm the ps3?
coz last time heard that if the ps3 was switch on, hook up whatever cable might damage the BD lens...so need some advise, thx
Kenishi
post Oct 18 2008, 02:57 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(Gfreak @ Oct 18 2008, 11:55 AM)
Hi kenishi,
ur having problem as well? Is it time out oproblem with the PSN network???? Since I'm having that as well. I'm able to surf the net (but slow) but whne trying to log in to psn network, ps3 would load and load and load and in the end it'll see connection timeout please check network setting. checked the network setting and see signal is around 70%...so how laa???  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Anyway vorchiel, changed to add 2.4 and re setup again the virtual server from 2.10 to 2.4 to open port. Also enabled upnpu (is it right?) and further dmz 2.4...... vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif nothing happen oso and still cannot log on to PSN network.....dang.....
Btw the problem faced by kenishi and me, is everyone else having problem? Think I've register for SG PSN. Anyone getting problem here?
Yup...i am having problem to login PSN network...
waiting for 30s then connection timeout, ask me to check network setting.

try all 3 different region PSN account...all give connection timeout....
All this strange behaviour happend to me, after i updgrade to 2.50.
Before that, I can connect into the PSN flawlessly.....and playing MGO, warhawk without any issue.

Gfreak,
I think ur problem most likely is the wireless setup, and plus the lousy streamyx. Both adding up and causing ur problem.

This post has been edited by Kenishi: Oct 18 2008, 03:00 PM
TSacougan
post Oct 18 2008, 03:02 PM

590 posts

^my experience with constant PSN DC is i will reboot my modem/router and change a new IP.

sometimes one IP i will DC every few mintues, i try another IP, i stay connected for hours, weird eh?

i'm using streamyx and LAN connection
SSJBen
post Oct 18 2008, 03:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Oct 18 2008, 03:02 PM)
^my experience with constant PSN DC is i will reboot my modem/router and change a new IP.

sometimes one IP i will DC every few mintues, i try another IP, i stay connected for hours, weird eh?

i'm using streamyx and LAN connection
acougan, I've did a test on my own connection as well.

When using 60.51.xxx.xxx IP, indeed I do get disconnected very often from PSN too. 124.xxx is also another IP that I face constant DCing. At this point in time, I'd suspect if somehow is screamyx blocking PSN or something.

I've got no other problems when using other IP like 60.49, 60.53, 60.54 and 218.xxx. I can't test 219.xxx because that IP doesn't cover my area anymore.

Can you test as well to see if 60.51 and 124.xxx is REALLY the culprit of constant PSN dcing?
law1777
post Oct 18 2008, 03:53 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Oct 18 2008, 01:37 PM)
for me if working fine i wont update.
if force to update nothing i can do...
as a IT person..never use latest firmware...
who know wat problem might come..
this is my opinion smile.gif
aiyo IT is IT la.. those are more to compure software's firmware like latest window got this bug got that bug. why relate it to ps3 its just a blu-ray player
ruztynail
post Oct 18 2008, 04:02 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

anyone tried deleting your friendlist.? doing some housekeeping. tried deleting those inactive ones.. somehow its stuck. it shows deleting pls wait. and it doesnt move. the ps3 isnt hang.. but i cant navigate out of the status. only way is to shut down.. anyone exp this symptoms?
SSJBen
post Oct 18 2008, 04:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 18 2008, 04:02 PM)
anyone tried deleting your friendlist.? doing some housekeeping. tried deleting those inactive ones.. somehow its stuck. it shows deleting pls wait. and it doesnt move. the ps3 isnt hang.. but i cant navigate out of the status. only way is to shut down.. anyone exp this symptoms?
I haven't got stucked at the friendlist yet, however I did got stuck when trying to send a message to someone.
I don't get stucked forver though, its only 2 minutes.

It happens when I immediately send a mail right after I login into the PSN, that means when my friendlist is loading.
mike86
post Oct 18 2008, 05:11 PM

895 posts

Ben, can give me some opinion on my issue for post #644?
need some advise smile.gif
SSJBen
post Oct 18 2008, 05:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ Oct 18 2008, 02:53 PM)
ehh guys, some noob question
im using 1 monitor for ps3 and pc as well, but always need to plug and unplug the cable to swtich between pc and ps3, very troublesome
so i decide to use 2 cable, 1 for pc and 1 for ps3
the question is, when i change the source from pc to ps3 and ps3 to pc while both devide running, will it harm the ps3?
coz last time heard that if the ps3 was switch on, hook up whatever cable might damage the BD lens...so need some advise, thx
Sorry missed your question.

The answer is no, it will not harm your PS3 at all. The lens and the visual output of the PS3 is irrelevant to the cable being switched when its on or not.
Infact, I'm using my PS3 and PC simultaneously anyways. I change my source very often and theres no problems at all(which I think won't have a problem at all in the first place).
mike86
post Oct 18 2008, 05:22 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 18 2008, 05:18 PM)
Sorry missed your question.

The answer is no, it will not harm your PS3 at all. The lens and the visual output of the PS3 is irrelevant to the cable being switched when its on or not.
Infact, I'm using my PS3 and PC simultaneously anyways. I change my source very often and theres no problems at all(which I think won't have a problem at all in the first place).
alright...then i shall go and buy another cable to do switching rather than plug and unplug
thx ben for the answer rclxms.gif
law1777
post Oct 18 2008, 05:53 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

i've got a very noob question too.

since my PS3 is a US set.. the power plug seems to be very annoying because it doesnt match our malaysia plug. i dun wanna use a multi-use adaptor. can i use the monitor power plug because i have one extra. or any good power plug which is better in quality?
vorchiel
post Oct 18 2008, 05:57 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 18 2008, 05:53 PM)
i've got a very noob question too.

since my PS3 is a US set.. the power plug seems to be very annoying because it doesnt match our malaysia plug. i dun wanna use a multi-use adaptor. can i use the monitor power plug because i have one extra. or any good power plug which is better in quality?
my ps3 is from japan (~100v), and i use random cord taken from kettle/pc/other devices.. it works because ps3 has a universal power supply inside the unit.. that's why ps3 dont have xboxhueg power brick.
law1777
post Oct 18 2008, 06:11 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Oct 18 2008, 05:57 PM)
my ps3 is from japan (~100v), and i use random cord taken from kettle/pc/other devices.. it works because ps3 has a universal power supply inside the unit.. that's why ps3 dont have xboxhueg power brick.
owhh.. so i can use the monitor one.. thanks so much.. does any better quality(more expensive) cord than a random one makes a diff to ps3??

This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 18 2008, 06:11 PM
vorchiel
post Oct 18 2008, 06:20 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

err i dont think so.. sorry i dont know sad.gif
maskedchan
post Oct 18 2008, 06:35 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 18 2008, 03:53 PM)
aiyo IT is IT la.. those are more to compure software's firmware like latest window got this bug got that bug. why relate it to ps3 its just a blu-ray player
i believe is same concept..
update firmware just to fix bug and giv new feature...
and the firmware is coding...might get bug too smile.gif

Added on October 18, 2008, 8:53 pmi have one question....
when i see BD..
my download doesnt work..
are this normal?
can i download while watch bd?

This post has been edited by maskedchan: Oct 18 2008, 08:53 PM
TSacougan
post Oct 18 2008, 09:29 PM

590 posts

^when watching DVD/BD, the PS3 OS will turn off other HDD activtiy and sign off from PSN.

they say it makes watching movies a quieter and smoother experience tongue.gif
maskedchan
post Oct 18 2008, 09:31 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Oct 18 2008, 09:29 PM)
^when watching DVD/BD, the PS3 OS will turn off other HDD activtiy and sign off from PSN.

they say it makes watching movies a quieter and smoother experience tongue.gif
ah..what a waste of time...
if can use for download..can download alot thing

126 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0372sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:52 PM