Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

ruztynail
post Sep 9 2008, 05:46 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(aphrael @ Sep 9 2008, 02:12 PM)
^ Errr use an extrenal HDD to backup and transfer? Go to system settings > backup utility
in order to backup u need a fat32 HDD external to back-up.. i used my ipod to backup..

thn install the new HDD.. use tat same external back up HDD to reload b yr save files, psn id and etc.
ruztynail
post Sep 12 2008, 05:57 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

was wondering. for those who hv upgraded to 320gb.. any of you face this problem? whn starting up..
"cannot start. the correct hard disk was not found "

i found plenty of post in other forums stating above whn thy installed a 320gb..

usually whn i get it i off thn restart again.. its b to normal.. its jus annoying.. and i am afraid it might spoil the HD in the long run..

ruztynail
post Sep 12 2008, 07:51 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

Western digital..

no one has the same problem?

maybe it applies to the 60gb first version.. ai..
ruztynail
post Sep 12 2008, 11:54 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 12 2008, 09:23 PM)
Yea thats the issue with the first 2 batches of the 60GB and 20GB PS3s. Originally, the PS3 only officially support up to a 250GB HDD. But because not long after the PS3 was launched, 320GB HDDs were already around.

Later on, the last batch of 60GB PS3s before the release of the 80GB PS3 fixed this issue.

It shouldn't spoil the HDD in the long run though, its just a matter of not being recognised by the PS3's XMB. Try re-installing the HDD again properly into the PS3 and make sure it fits snuggly, nothing moving about. I've heard that it could also be the SATA connector in the PS3 giving the prob.
really!!?? sigh.. i took it out and push it b in already. tight.. in short. jus somehow.. ai.. hopefully it doesnt come out too often.. haha
thanks mate!!! hope there is some firmware to fix this gua
ruztynail
post Sep 13 2008, 02:10 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

so far happened like 3 times.. but its like stretch across 2 months.. so.. ok la can bear wit it.. its damn random..
ruztynail
post Sep 13 2008, 03:45 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Rocky @ Sep 13 2008, 01:25 PM)
hmm dunno ler.. should be the same as yrs gua.. i bought during the recent pc fair.. is yrs the first 60gb batch?? which region is yr ps3? mine is the HK set..

i dont think its my HDD problem. i reformatted bfr i installed it.. and i am not the only one tats facing the problem.. plenty are.. esp the old ps3 batches..

its comes at random. yrsterday no problem lo.. ai. hopefully it doesnt pop up too often can di. hahaha sweat.gif

cause if i wanna b up.. i hv no other bigger HDD di. hahaha
ruztynail
post Sep 21 2008, 09:35 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

photostat it... lol
ruztynail
post Sep 21 2008, 09:42 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

yea dear... can use.. like yr IC ma.. same thing no?

if u're really scared..

photostat the receipt. use yr cc statement. kumpul together.. take pic with the original receipt..

i am sure those would be fool proof
ruztynail
post Sep 29 2008, 10:48 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 29 2008, 10:39 PM)
i thought it has been cleared already in the previous thread.. tat sony msia warranty covers the lens as well...
ruztynail
post Sep 29 2008, 10:56 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

haha its alrite.. knowing LYN PS3 owners.. lol.. thread gets moved backwards about 1/100 th the speed of kopitiam. still reasonably fast!!!
ruztynail
post Sep 30 2008, 08:54 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

no there isnt a 40GB..its phased out arleady.. 160gb is wat we are lookin forward to now
ruztynail
post Oct 8 2008, 05:31 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 8 2008, 04:43 PM)
My PS3 is connected directly to the router via LAN cable.Still slow. Maybe it's bloody streamyx.
there are allot of causes why its slow.. namely streamyx. if u get the correct IP.. where i am staying.. i always try to get 60.48 any other IP and it will be dreadfully be slow.. 60.49, 60.50 worst is 60.53 the old 218 used to be an industrial line now is slower thn ever.. thn whn i usually get 219 as well.

try to check wat IP u are using. might hell

thn again the above applies to those who stay at subang. other states. diff IP

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Oct 8 2008, 05:31 PM
ruztynail
post Oct 12 2008, 09:57 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Oct 12 2008, 09:37 PM)
honestly speaking.. its not about the speed.. its about the quality of yr line.. i am running on 512kb.. but i can download demos and go online on a true 512kbps.. meaning my line really downloads at 60KB (divide 512 by 8) in a sec.. online multiplayer never lags. so i download 1gb in roughly about 4.5 hours.. if i changed mine to a 1mb.. i can do it in 2.. but 4 works out good already for me.

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Oct 12 2008, 09:58 PM
ruztynail
post Oct 12 2008, 10:10 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Oct 12 2008, 10:05 PM)
even download a patch for PSN games(300mb) take a long time...

grr.. dunno why..
maybe i should used a new router..

any thanks ruztynail
go narrow down your problem.. whn u use yr computer to download.. how long does it take? change yr ip address. find one tat fits u best.. u need to know all these stuff bfr changing your line. it wouldnt necessary be yr routers fault..
ruztynail
post Oct 12 2008, 11:59 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Oct 12 2008, 10:38 PM)
i have to wait 2 days to download 1 GB on a 512k line.(from PSN Store)

no idea why.
wat Ip address u running on? easiest way to find out. for every first 4 number or 6 numbers of yr Ip test it on a US site. download a random file. after awhile u'd know which IP works best for u. for eg. in subang 60.48 worst wonders for me.. if i get other ip adress like 60.50, 60.51, 60.53 or even 218.11 it sucks BIG time!!!
ruztynail
post Oct 13 2008, 12:19 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Oct 13 2008, 12:16 AM)
didnt bother checking my ip cos youtube and gametrailers download just fine on my pc

Added on October 13, 2008, 12:17 amjust kept restarting the router again and again and again....
u can actually go into yr router's menu.. thn disconnect and reconnect again. its much faster tat way. and u get to see which IP u're on. my two cents. thumbup.gif
ruztynail
post Oct 18 2008, 04:02 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

anyone tried deleting your friendlist.? doing some housekeeping. tried deleting those inactive ones.. somehow its stuck. it shows deleting pls wait. and it doesnt move. the ps3 isnt hang.. but i cant navigate out of the status. only way is to shut down.. anyone exp this symptoms?
ruztynail
post Oct 19 2008, 03:05 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(shadow_gouken @ Oct 19 2008, 01:46 AM)
  When i plug my Ipod classic(80gb), PS3 can detect it. But the it show remaining space 4gb nia. Anyone know why? rclxub.gif
..... u used up the remaining 76gb? for songs movies? how we know if u dont tell us how much u store music inside it? go check the ipod settings see how much u used up.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Oct 19 2008, 03:05 AM
ruztynail
post Oct 26 2008, 07:10 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

let me add to tat.. the longer u wait bfr u add an additional HDD. the more u hv to back up.. and tat would require u to hv another HDD the same storage as yr PS3.

so say u hv a 80gb to start of wit.. after updates downloads and safe files.. say another 80gb.. u'd need to back tat up to copy into the new 320gb (for eg.)

so if u plan to upgrade.. do it frm the start!
ruztynail
post Oct 27 2008, 02:32 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

haha there is no way u can fit the 3.5 inc in there..... its definitely an external HDD

0.0523sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:51 PM