134 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 03:11 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

xtorm, knn ask your supplier got only PCB and T-Amp boh...seem like all components we kasi tukar...

Added on August 31, 2008, 3:13 am
QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 31 2008, 03:10 AM)
yea good nite...me dong the same too

gona test balance setup tomolo tongue.gif hope i dont burn anything
apa takut? you got another 11 pcs order soon tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 31 2008, 03:13 AM
TSxtorm
post Aug 31 2008, 03:15 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hahaha....

tht call moddingmah tongue.gif

so little component, wont hurt i guess tongue.gif

will do a review after i tested out the balnce setup
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 11:10 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

A Happy Merdeka morning to all.. rclxm9.gif
Quiet eh in the morning, this place tongue.gif

Since most of the shops will be closed, including ones in JP. I though of working on my casing. wink.gif
Also need to wound few more toroid inductors.. brows.gif

TSxtorm
post Aug 31 2008, 11:39 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haha great

good morning.. tongue.gif

hows the 1uh sounding now tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 11:45 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

'Airy' tongue.gif
TSxtorm
post Aug 31 2008, 11:53 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

aiy is nice!! drool.gif but izit harsh? tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 11:55 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Definite not. Not in my system at least.. wink.gif
TSxtorm
post Aug 31 2008, 11:57 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

but compare to the original 1uh?

much define highs rather then harsh 1?
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 12:04 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I'd say the harshness has been tamed/reduced. This may be also contributed by the el-cheapo input caps.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 31 2008, 11:57 AM)
but compare to the original 1uh?

much define highs rather then harsh 1?
TSxtorm
post Aug 31 2008, 12:06 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

yea the input cap is a big leap...

hmm then not sure what value sound best
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 12:09 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

You have to experiment, trial and error.

A 2.2uF is definitely a good start for general applications.

I found the 10uF suits my system and my ears fine! thumbup.gif The bass is 'meatier' the way I like it drool.gif
I will also use 2.0uF to drive my tweeters.. sharp and sweet highs.. laugh.gif
I have a spare 1uF which I have not test.. later.. wink.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 31 2008, 12:06 PM)
yea the input cap is a big leap...

hmm then not sure what value sound best
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 31 2008, 12:12 PM
TSxtorm
post Aug 31 2008, 01:06 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hmmm lets see how much have we spend for a good sounding t-amp

the 0.47uf + 0.1uf + 20k 1% resistor set for 1 board around rm34, if we take the aircore from diyparadise as example then another rm40

tht total of rm74. + say 3300uf 16v panasonic fm power supply cap (around rm7.50 each) = rm89

ok some good input cap, for exmaple the 1 i plan to bring in, 2.2uf, 400vdc copper foil audiophiler rm25 each,

tht will get us rm139, + the board rm194 in total

casing and so on, say around rm50 for something decent?
then power supplt, rm55 as mention

ended up rm300, but it will sound really really nice..included power supply and casing, a whole built up...
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 01:28 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I'd say its a RM300 well spent to get something that sounds at a value of RM3000? tongue.gif brows.gif More maybe wink.gif
And the best part is 'tuning' the amp to sound just like you want it to.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 31 2008, 07:54 PM
TSxtorm
post Aug 31 2008, 02:47 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

yea agree tongue.gif
i think we can actually take out rm34, the sum up for 0.47uf, 0.1uf n 20k resistors

power supply cap, input cap and aircore inductor is enough to make this thing sing really good.
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 07:53 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
I would not argue with that! tongue.gif

Anyway.. It was fun spending 1/2 day in a great sunday afternoon, installing the 'whole stuffs' into a casing.. The measuring, the drilling, the filing, the soldering, the wiring, have not done this for a while tongue.gif
Only completed one half of the bi-amp. The second amp not installed as I need some stuffs from JP. Dunno if the shops are open tomorrow? Have to call first..

Now enjoying the fruit of my labour... brows.gif

My T-Amp singing away in a spanking new housing! rclxm9.gif

Will post pix later if you guys wanna see it. No big deal. You see one casing, you see them all! Right? wink.gif Hahahah brows.gif

P/S.
Where is everyone? Merdeka holiday huh? tongue.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 31 2008, 02:47 PM)
yea agree tongue.gif
i think we can actually take out rm34, the sum up for 0.47uf, 0.1uf n 20k resistors

power supply cap, input cap and aircore inductor is enough to make this thing sing really good.
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 31 2008, 07:58 PM
wui223
post Aug 31 2008, 07:57 PM

941 posts

i am working on my amp as well, but not as lucky as u guys, blown 2 fuses. not a T-amp though..guess i am not the club member yet
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 08:00 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

wui223,
It's all part of the fun and experience! tongue.gif
What's blowing one or two fuses? I blew my power supply today.. need parts for replacement! wink.gif

EH? Not a club member? How come? hmm.gif

QUOTE(wui223 @ Aug 31 2008, 07:57 PM)
i am working on my amp as well, but not as lucky as u guys, blown 2 fuses. not a T-amp though..guess i am not the club member yet
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 08:52 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Hava look:

Nahhhh not mine! tongue.gif Just wanna share a gook looking T-Amp casing.. brows.gif
Cute and compact! thumbup.gif

wui223
post Aug 31 2008, 09:41 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 08:00 PM)
wui223,
It's all part of the fun and experience! tongue.gif
What's blowing one or two fuses? I blew my power supply today.. need parts for replacement! wink.gif

EH? Not a club member? How come?  hmm.gif
I blew another fuse just now..actually repairing a guitar tube amp. i wire up the power transformer and rectifier bridge and filter caps. as soon as i flick the standby switch the fuse blown. still havent figure out why it happens. ald run out of fuses to replace.

btw, the casing is COOL thumbup.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 31 2008, 09:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

wui223,
Blown fuse generally mean one thing: shorting!
Just check no short circuits or 'live/hot' conductor shorting to ground..

Yep.. nice/cool casing there.. Unfortunately it's hard to get/buy nice casings in malaysia...

BTW, is that your guitar amp?

QUOTE(wui223 @ Aug 31 2008, 09:41 PM)
I blew another fuse just now..actually repairing a guitar tube amp. i wire up the power transformer and rectifier bridge and filter caps. as soon as i flick the standby switch the fuse blown. still havent figure out why it happens. ald run out of fuses to replace.

btw, the casing is COOL  thumbup.gif

134 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:18 AM