47 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 09:51 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

IF I can get that casing to be manufactured here, how much would you guys be willing to pay for it? wink.gif
heyy.. don't be too observant lah.. I normally sleep around 2 and wide awake by 6.. has been routine for so many years.. tongue.gif

car amp.. lets wait until we know whats the value of 'less' hmm.gif

power hungry guys may want to move to ta2022.. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 18 2008, 09:26 AM)
yea i saw tht b4, its damn nice!!

eh btw your patient is clocking really fast tongue.gif and you and ongbs woke up at 6am!!?? but you guys slept at 3++ right? wow biggrin.gif

got new from my supplier, 4x100w car amplifier, complete with housing and so on, aspecting rm1k or less...

can be bridge to 200wx2!!

t-amp base, ta2022
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 12:44 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Basically there are two types, linear and switched mode. Do a 'google', there's a wealth of information with regards to these two in terms of design and applications.

This is an extract from wikipedia:

"Linear power supply

An AC powered linear power supply usually uses a transformer to convert the voltage from the wall outlet (mains) to a different, usually a lower voltage. If it is used to produce DC, a rectifier is used. A capacitor is used to smooth the pulsating current from the rectifier."

In other words, it's the normal AC to DC converter. Is this clear enough for you? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 18 2008, 11:23 AM)
Hi jazzy939 what is mean by linear PSU?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 18 2008, 12:53 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 12:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

For all intents and purposes,if you take the trouble to search and read the applicable links ( which was provided in some of the postings in this thread), you can draw your own conclusion whether it is 'audiophile' or not. My review in the earlier postings, included.
BTW, What is "car power sound"? Don't under estimate some of the current car audio systems as they are really in the audiophile league. laugh.gif

In the end of the day, its your money and your ears. A basic RM55 amp against a RM5K amp. You decide! wink.gif
As you can see it is not only the cost factor that is involved here, its the SOUND QUALITY, hence the modding and upgrade activities.

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Aug 18 2008, 11:34 AM)
Hi, can i know this T-Amp is more likely to audiophile ? Or more like car power sound?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 18 2008, 12:51 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 06:09 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
I believe so.. ie you're the one to use the TA2024 in the car! rclxms.gif
Who would believe a puny little amp would be capable of doing what big amps sometime fail to do tongue.gif
BTW, has Tripath gone out of business? hmm.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 08:02 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Well put najmods. And thats about it gabanyayaya biggrin.gif
Actually by changing the values of the input caps, you're changing the 'filter network' either to become low pass filter, also called high cut/treble cut filter OR high pass filter. In this case its a low pass filter.
A low-pass filter is a filter that passes low-frequency signals but attenuates (reduces the amplitude of) signals with frequencies higher than the cutoff frequency.
Read here for more info: low pass filters

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 18 2008, 10:28 PM)
muchas gracias sanyor....maybe uncle jazzy wanto to add more here smile.gif

Added on August 19, 2008, 8:09 amIt is sad and disheartening to know such a news.
Is this the end of Class D/Class T?
Conspiracy from other manufacturers? hmm.gif

Will other manufacturer able to license the technology for the manufacturing of such chips?

If not, we're dealing with a technology thats going to be obsolete.. Might as well grab as much chips as possible biggrin.gif

Chip amps will never be and sound the same again cry.gif

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Aug 18 2008, 11:50 PM)
t-amp is gonna be legend, there isn't gonna be any more t-amp in future

such a waste, they are attached to some big names and yet failed, so sad

www.tripath.com <-- no longer available
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 19 2008, 08:09 AM
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 08:25 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Ya lor.. why so quiet nowadys?
You guys have to excuse me as on weekdays I have no access to internet at night due to my location, however during office hours is not a problem biggrin.gif

Anyway, the toroid inductor I checked with farnell, they costs about RM5+ EACH. We need four that close to half the price of the T-Amp itself! tongue.gif
You guys wanna buy ready made? hmm.gif
I'm going to wound it myself! No big deal.. The cost may be half of that. Just that I don't have the time right now until weekends.. Let me do it first k. Then if anyone else wants it, I'll make more.. wink.gif

Now waiting for another pair to arrive.. whistling.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 19 2008, 02:15 AM)
oh yakah,..sad.gif

seriously too bad!

btw today awfully quiet tongue.gif all enjoying thier amp?

how abt others? like no respone...hahhaa
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 09:57 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

after some reading about inductors(as usual) tongue.gif
the air core will be the 'ultimate upgrade'. I think it's gonna be 'huge'.. so i'll test out with the ferrite ring first if it is worthwhile.. as it is now.. I am satisfied and comfortable with what I heard. thumbup.gif

now.. trying to either get an inductance meter, make or making an 'adaptor' to be used with my DMM..

full balance bi-amp.. sheesh.. don't tempt me! laugh.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 19 2008, 09:47 AM)
i think most of the time we 3 post nia tongue.gif

ongbs, u also put more piclah biggrin.gif nolah i havent replace those inductor, foil 1 are nice thos...but bloody expensive biggrin.gif

jazzy if you can do some air core low inductance and resistance unit, why not! they are easy to make...yes but no inductance metermah.

the other pair if no issue at all hopefully it arrive next monday!! biggrin.gif

eh you planing to do full balance bi-amp setup ah!! ahahaha

after some thinking i might play with the balance thing...hmmm
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 02:29 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

bro wui223,
the inductance meter would be a whole lot cheaper than the digital scope, yes? tongue.gif

the T-Amp is an almost ready product. Just plug(PSU/battery,input and speakers) and play.. laugh.gif

Found this LC meter kit... interesting.. drool.gif USD59.95 +12 shpg.

QUOTE(wui223 @ Aug 19 2008, 10:03 AM)
Quite tempting, i been looking for the T-amp chip for long time. gonna hold my desire first, need to save up some money before getting crazy into DIYing again.

Jazzy939: inductance meter is not cheap toy, if u consider china brand is different issue. but why not consider getting a digital scope?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 19 2008, 02:47 PM

Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 02:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Anyone interested to make a 'quick' buck here? tongue.gif
zzzxtreme, you're taking the fun out of this la.. biggrin.gif
Whats your budget then?
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 03:18 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.
You certainly don't waste time ya! biggrin.gif
I like your approach! Simplicity and resourceful! thumbup.gif
Now it makes waiting for your T-Amp more unbearable.. shakehead.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 03:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

The volume control is served by using a 20K,50K even 100K potentiometer.
I use a dedicated hi-fi preamp! tongue.gif

Yes, an audio mixer should be able to feed the T-Amp. My only concerned will be quality of output from the mixer.

As good as $10,000 amps? Are you sure? hmm.gif

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Aug 19 2008, 03:20 PM)
hi jazzy

on ebay, i could buy a t-amp for about USD$30, but has no volume control. So i'm quite confused. do i need to use pre-amp as volume control?

reviewers says T2024 amps sounds as good as $10,000 amps, so I think $300-$400 is decent price kua.....

Added on August 19, 2008, 3:27 pmOh, if i get those t-amps without volume control, i can just hook up with a audio mixer ?

(like those 4 channel mixers with sliders)
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 04:34 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

a preamp is a voltage amplifier.
a potentiometer in this case will act as a 'volume' control, controlling the amount of signal/current coming into the T-Amp. You do the same with your four channel mixer too! biggrin.gif

My volume control is on my pre-amp. It's a commercial pre-amp. Any pre-amp will do.

There will be some minor soldering required if you're using a potentiometer.
Even more if you want to house the T-Amp and then the hardware connections to the speakers terminal, RCA inputs, power supply connections etc tongue.gif

Easy way out is to buy ready made.. wink.gif

Soldering skills can be learned laugh.gif

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Aug 19 2008, 04:03 PM)
that's what audiophile reviewers said about the USD$30 sonicimpact t-amp

so jazzy, a preamp will amplify audio source ? yours have a volumne knob?

i dunno what's a potentiometer and wish not to do any soldering. i'm a coward sad.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 19 2008, 06:10 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
I found a better unit online.
NOT DIY, complete unit. biggrin.gif
However, NOT in the rush yet.. the air-core inductor will be the last upgrade due to test equipment investment. wink.gif

jazzy939
post Aug 20 2008, 07:55 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

gabanyayaya,
It's too much effort to make one ler..
I even try coaxing my tranny manufacturer to make one for me but he said too much investment for a low demand item.. ohmy.gif mad.gif

My other online source would be rsmalaysia.. the price will definitely set you back.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 19 2008, 07:40 PM)
OMG....there's a Tripath groupie building its territory here........
guys...you think you can make a homemade toroidal tranny here...????   hmm.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 20 2008, 08:24 AM
jazzy939
post Aug 20 2008, 08:23 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

That price is a STEAL! thumbup.gif
Last two pairs you say? mad.gif I am going hunting in JP this week, will buy ALL available pairs.. hahaha laugh.gif

I would normally use this:

This is also quite nice on the bantam kit:

the dualbinding is not bad too....

I would opt for these too! .. tongue.gif

choices.. choices.. doh.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 19 2008, 09:23 PM)
Hi, yesterday I also get the last 2 pairs of WBT style connectors in the electronic shop same as the picture show by Y.C. it cost me RM12.60 per pair.

Added on August 20, 2008, 8:32 amY.C.,
You're most welcome! You reminded me of a guy you built his gainclone using a square cooking pan:

Very original! thumbup.gif Maybe this might trigger something to the others! brows.gif

On my side I already have the casing, but keeping it under wrap and out of sight! Do not wanna rush until I am done with the necessary 'testing' laugh.gif

Say, when will the second batch coming in? I bought another two.. wink.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 19 2008, 06:50 PM)
jazzy,

Thanks for the compliment. I actually got inspiration to house my T-amp in a wooden jewellery box from diyparadise website under the "Honey I bought you a jewellery box" series. I thought if the volume pot, toggle on-off switch, led light and all connectors are fitted properly with holes drilled carefully and meticulously, the finished product will look cool and unassuming amongst my stacks of books and magazines instead of housing it in a high-priced metal box. And it is very inexpensive considering I only paid RM35 for the solid Rosewood box with beautiful floral carvings.

You are quite right, waiting for the arrival of my T-amp now is more unbearable. I guess I need to proceed at a slower pace.
zzzxtreme,

..snip..
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 20 2008, 12:31 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 20 2008, 12:36 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

mysghooi,
I am using a 3A power supply to feed the T-Amp, so the cable that I am using is rated at 5A.
Speaker cables, I am using my existing QED79 speaker cable and a set of TRANSPARENT speaker cables.
Do not sacrifice the quality of the speaker cables here. It would help in tapping all the T-Amp capabilities! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 20 2008, 08:41 AM)
Hi ong you sure cannot get the binding post in Ipoh ah? I get it in Ipoh leh. But now I already buy the last two pair from that shop. May be we can share share the experience when I get my T-amp.

Added on August 20, 2008, 8:42 amHi sifu here. which type of wire is recommended to build up this T-amp. The 12V and speaker wire?
jazzy939
post Aug 20 2008, 05:29 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Found this MONO class D module over the internet with the following spec.:

300W@8Ω

THD+N: 0.05%

SNR: 100dB

BW: 20Hz~45kHz@10W

η:92%@8Ω;88%@4Ω

Over load protect

Offset adjustable

Soft start

Ada orang minat? laugh.gif

Minimum power for a stereo module is 200W@8Ω! tongue.gif

No price was quoted/given...

jazzy939
post Aug 20 2008, 06:00 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Agreed. ie Tripath used the existing so called Class D and make it 'better' tongue.gif

If it's 'cheap' enough, I might give it a shot, ie the non-Tripath class D amplifier.. wink.gif

yes. the 2024 is more 'audiophile' than 2020, if that really mean anything.. laugh.gif

xtorm, anything new on your side?

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 20 2008, 05:40 PM)
wah good stuff wor smile.gif

tripath are famous cos they sound really nice, duno abt other tho...

my supplier got 200w ta2022 biggrin.gif

btw some search online found tht 2024 is much closer to tube amp sounding then ta2020, but 2020 is an all rounder
jazzy939
post Aug 21 2008, 08:15 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

gabanyayaya,
I am currently in contact with someone from the company trying to get a price quotation. They apparently do not have a pricelist. All prices are subject to curent cost and the quantity at the time of order/manufacture. They however entertain a minimum order of one, which is a good thing! thumbup.gif

It does NOT use Tripath chip but use discretes based on Class D amplification system, which is what Tripath chip is based on. If you need to know the basics of Class D do a 'google', there's a wealth of information about it, good and bad! biggrin.gif I have done the reading part! laugh.gif It's time to play! tongue.gif

Wow! 20uF poly! What would it be used for? No lah.. haven't a clue about the price.. unsure.gif
Whats the working voltage like for the poly? A quick check with farnell, with minimum WV of 250VDC, the cheapest is RM39.66! ohmy.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 20 2008, 09:17 PM)
Tempted and drooling.... drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  jazzy, you think this could be a good audiophile sounding kit or just excessive of useless power???? What Tripath chip it based on? Price????

BTW jazzy is is possible for you to look for me a set of 20μF Polypropylene Capacitors in JP? Any ideas how this will cost???
jazzy939
post Aug 21 2008, 08:19 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ongbs,
yes. one of the application for this Class D is as a sub woofer amplifier, pro amplifier and mixer amplifier.
Let me get an initial price quote. If its low enough for us to 'play play' may I'll do a bulk, yes? tongue.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 20 2008, 11:58 PM)
This amp can be used as sub woofer amp tongue.gif
might get one for "play play" if the price not too high smile.gif

47 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0595sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:16 PM