March05
post Aug 16 2008, 09:30 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 06:47 AM)
On top of that, it will be the cheapest way to power up the T-Amp... tongue.gif
It's the KISS principle, bro jazzy.

BTW below is my T-amp in current testing configuration. Waiting for more inspiration from you folks rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ...probably it'll go into a defunct but solid AKAI amp chassis for proper shielding, rip off the useless front facade/control panel, and voila, I guess it's something I can live with the next 10 years.

This post has been edited by March05: Aug 16 2008, 09:31 AM

jazzy939
post Aug 16 2008, 10:30 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Of course! How can I forget! tongue.gif
Bro March, still 'testing'? Long test eh? wink.gif
Hey whats stopping you ler? Chassis/casing sudah ada...
But then again, looking at what you have.. I can live with that for quite awhile... long while even! brows.gif
Hopefully mine can last that long also.. unless something (better and cheaper) comes up! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(March05 @ Aug 16 2008, 09:30 AM)

BTW below is my T-amp in current testing configuration. Waiting for more inspiration from you folks  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif ...probably it'll go into a defunct but solid AKAI amp chassis for proper shielding, rip off the useless front facade/control panel, and voila, I guess it's something I can live with the next 10 years.
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 16 2008, 10:31 AM
TSxtorm
post Aug 16 2008, 12:18 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Aug 16 2008, 09:30 AM)

BTW below is my T-amp in current testing configuration. Waiting for more inspiration from you folks  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif ...probably it'll go into a defunct but solid AKAI amp chassis for proper shielding, rip off the useless front facade/control panel, and voila, I guess it's something I can live with the next 10 years.
ermmm, what is KISS tongue.gif damn those trans are sexy, ta2024? i think its a 2022 right?

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 10:30 AM)
Of course! How can I forget! tongue.gif
Bro March, still 'testing'? Long test eh? wink.gif
Hey whats stopping you ler? Chassis/casing sudah ada...
But then again, looking at what you have.. I can live with that for quite awhile... long while even! brows.gif
Hopefully mine can last that long also.. unless something (better and cheaper) comes up! biggrin.gif
cheaper and better then this..you goto kill me then, rm55 each ler tongue.gif

yesterday my friend try my 9 watter, then water come out from his mouth icon_rolleyes.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 16 2008, 12:19 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 16 2008, 12:30 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
Its' Keep It Simple, Stupid tongue.gif or
Keep It Short (&) Sweet or
Keep It Sweet (&) Simple... biggrin.gif
Take your pick. They all mean the same... wink.gif

Your friend, lucky not water coming out from his eyes... laugh.gif

First pix here, showing the T-Amp on top of two 'massive' 10uF caps.. still process of burning in.
Playing Sean Ghazi's album SEMALAM make my hair stands on end... brows.gif

TSxtorm
post Aug 16 2008, 01:15 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 12:30 PM)
xtorm,
Its' Keep It Simple, Stupid tongue.gif or
Keep It Short (&) Sweet or
Keep It Sweet (&) Simple... biggrin.gif
Take your pick. They all mean the same... wink.gif

Your friend, lucky not water coming out from his eyes... laugh.gif

First pix here, showing the T-Amp on top of two 'massive' 10uF caps.. still process of burning in.
Playing Sean Ghazi's album SEMALAM make my hair stands on end...  brows.gif
wow...

you should take out those original caps, 10uf is kinda too much tho tongue.gif

jazzy939
post Aug 16 2008, 01:21 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I know but I kinda like what I hear now! brows.gif
Let's see, the onboard caps (2 in parallel,) I measured to be 2uF plus my 10uF, total caps is now 12uF. Too much? ohmy.gif

As the burn in process is progressing.. it gets closer and closer to my preference sound...

Will removed the the existing caps after I am satisfied that the burn in process no longer make any improvements.. wink.gif See if there would be any/much difference..

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 16 2008, 01:30 PM
Y.C.
post Aug 16 2008, 02:00 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 15 2008, 04:01 PM)
tongue.gif

Wow.. you must have been a good salesman eh, selling items which you yourself don't have!! laugh.gif  thumbup.gif

I have NOT seen Neutrik RCAs in JP, they might have them but I never need them (yet). I normally got mine, a normal gold plated RCAs from NIXIE Electronics. I know one shop, at the end of the road after the traffic light heading towards Kg. Pandan. They have 'Neutrik' connectors there.. the one that I saw and bought was an audio jack for my headphones.. I'd say the best bet would be a 50K log pot.
As I am turning the T-Amp into a pure power amplifier, I have a separate preamplifier to drive it.

Btw, when will the stuffs be coming? tongue.gif
jazzy, my friends and I actually heard the Charlize amp (with Tripath TA-2020 chip) at the KLIAV 2008 in the diyparadise room; I thought the sound was very natural and hence the eagerness to build and own one.

Thanks for the info. Neutrik RCA connectors are available at Farnell for RM6.50 each and not really expensive unless the normal gold plated ones are much cheaper in JP. At diyforums, some diyers are saying that the 20Kohm non discreet type of potentiometers actually suits the class T amps more. The recommended PSU seems to be 13.5V DC 5A.

My T amps are expected to arrive in roughly 10 days from now, as xtorm puts it.

I look forward to read the sonic improvements brought about after your tweaks. Meanwhile, enjoy the music.

jazzy939
post Aug 16 2008, 02:15 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
Wahhh no wonderlah you are 'sold'.. tongue.gif
At RM6.50 from Farnell, I think its a 'steal'.. wink.gif
For the pot, I can't help much as I don't use them at this point of time biggrin.gif

Further update:

I took xtorm advice and remove stock caps from the 'virgin' second T-Amp board...
Bear in mind, this second board has 0(zero hours) burn in..
Plug in the board and... voila! rclxms.gif
My jaw kinda dropped! Now the low end frequencies are somewhat 'heavier' and almost full bodied.. it definitely sounds better than my first T-Amp that has clocked 11 hours of burn in... Is this the same T-Amp?

I think the problem is the polarised 1uF input caps that came with the T-Amp.
I will remove the polarised caps only on the 1st. T-Amp and re-connect the two big yellow unpolarised caps in parallel, we'll see whats gonna happen next... rolleyes.gif

Here's the moded second T-Amp:

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 16 2008, 03:05 PM

ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 04:11 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 02:15 PM)

walau bro, what is the brand/type of your little "cute" 10uF NP caps? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 16 2008, 04:12 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 16 2008, 04:26 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

It's EPCOS. Taken from my Yulong's PCM58 DAC board. That board no longer have any input caps wink.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 16 2008, 04:11 PM)
walau bro, what is the brand/type of your little "cute" 10uF NP caps?  sweat.gif
gabanyayaya
post Aug 16 2008, 04:43 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

some how I'm in the corner between gainclone and tripath.....which choice should I choose....??? hmm.gif
mysghooi
post Aug 16 2008, 04:59 PM

254 posts

Hi all sifu here, can this T-amp power up by using my Honda EX5 battery?
TSxtorm
post Aug 16 2008, 05:18 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

Y.C.,
Wahhh no wonderlah you are 'sold'.. tongue.gif
At RM6.50 from Farnell, I think its a 'steal'.. wink.gif
For the pot, I can't help much as I don't use them at this point of time biggrin.gif

Further update:

I took xtorm advice and remove stock caps from the 'virgin' second T-Amp board...
Bear in mind, this second board has 0(zero hours) burn in..
Plug in the board and... voila! rclxms.gif
My jaw kinda dropped! Now the low end frequencies are somewhat 'heavier' and almost full bodied.. it definitely sounds better than my first T-Amp that has clocked 11 hours of burn in... Is this the same T-Amp?

I think the problem is the polarised 1uF input caps that came with the T-Amp.
I will remove the polarised caps only on the 1st. T-Amp and re-connect the two big yellow unpolarised caps in parallel, we'll see whats gonna happen next...  rolleyes.gif

oh rm6.50 is good to buy? then i might get few too tongue.gif as im ordering stuff form farnell next week.
yea those input caps kinda crappy actually, those input caps makes quite a different

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 16 2008, 04:43 PM)
some how I'm in the corner between gainclone and tripath.....which choice should I choose....??? hmm.gif
prices vs performance...hmmm, and this unit basically you will need a 12v battery only thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 16 2008, 04:59 PM)
yea probably if its 12v

Y.C.
post Aug 16 2008, 05:22 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

jazzy, all I could add after seeing the picture of your 2nd T-amp with gigantic caps is that I'm really excited and awaiting eagerly for my own T-amp to arrive.

xtorm, FYI the part numbers for Neutrik connectors are: Red NYS 367-2 (5008529) at RM6.50 each and White NYS 367-9 (5008566) at RM6.54 each. BTW how much did you pay for your RCA connectors? Problem with Farnell is, they don't stock up anymore in Malaysia and will courier the items ordered after payment directly to us if the minimum order exceeds RM20.

mysghooi, the recommended PSU is 12V DC 2.5A

This post has been edited by Y.C.: Aug 16 2008, 05:37 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 16 2008, 05:47 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Yes. I think its a 12V 4A battery. Definitely can power the TA2024 T-Amp! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 16 2008, 04:59 PM)
mysghooi
post Aug 16 2008, 05:51 PM

254 posts

Hi jazzy939 is the Honda EX5 battery DC battery, So I can direct hold up the wire to the battery. Is the Honda EX5 battery will lower the performance of T-amp?
jazzy939
post Aug 16 2008, 05:55 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.
Your patience will be worthwhile! tongue.gif The blue 'gigantic' EPCOS cap was recommended by my son as he says, that cap received rave reviews about it's sonic performance, and I concur!! thumbup.gif
It is definitely better! Best part is, it cost me nothing! rclxm9.gif

Using premium parts will be worthwhile here as we're trying not to reduce a 'super duper' amp performance. laugh.gif
I'd say if you can afford it, BUY IT. Don't regret not buying it later.. wink.gif

I am running my PSU at 12.5 VDC max.. I did try 13VDC, there's a touch of graininess.. just. shakehead.gif 12VDC would be the absolute minimum!

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 16 2008, 05:22 PM)
jazzy, all I could add after seeing the picture of your 2nd T-amp with gigantic caps is that I'm really excited and awaiting eagerly for my own T-amp to arrive.
xtorm, FYI the part numbers for Neutrik connectors are: Red NYS 367-2 (5008529) at RM6.50 each and White NYS 367-9 (5008566) at RM6.54 each. BTW how much did you pay for your RCA connectors? Problem with Farnell is, they don't stock up anymore in Malaysia and will courier the items ordered after payment directly to us if the minimum order exceeds RM20.

mysghooi, the recommended PSU is 12V DC 2.5A
jazzy939
post Aug 16 2008, 05:59 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Hi mysghooi,
yes. all batteries are DC biggrin.gif Your EX5 battery included! tongue.gif
Yes.. you can connect the battery terminal wires to the T-Amp, observing the correct polarities...
Nope, will definitely NOT lower the performance!

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 16 2008, 05:51 PM)
Hi jazzy939 is the Honda EX5 battery DC battery, So I can direct hold up the wire to the battery. Is the Honda EX5 battery will lower the performance of T-amp?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 16 2008, 06:00 PM
mysghooi
post Aug 16 2008, 06:14 PM

254 posts

hi jazzy939 the EX5 battery got Red and black which one to connect to +12v and which one to connect to ground?
March05
post Aug 16 2008, 06:17 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 05:55 PM)
The blue 'gigantic' EPCOS cap was recommended by my son as he says, ....

Wah, now anak can ajar the ayah, bagus nya! notworthy.gif

Do you guyz think any of your cap mods will work on my TA2022 board....feeling so left out lah.

This post has been edited by March05: Aug 16 2008, 06:17 PM

134 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:04 PM