ongbs
post Aug 30 2008, 03:40 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 30 2008, 03:29 PM)
ongbs,
inductor review is on hold. sweat.gif

I just removed the stock inductor and guess what? My new LCR showing a reading between 0-1 uH!  shocking.gif
Just sms xtorm informing him about it. He'll check with his distributor...
Would be nice to have the actual schematics of our T-Amp board.. tongue.gif

Close inspection of the stock inductor reveals very little/short length of Cu wires being used. I believe the max inductance would be one.
Having the experience wounding myself an inductor, I need 20" to get 10uH. Hmmm  hmm.gif

In the mean time, I'll work on my casing..  brows.gif
my meter read 0.05mH = 50uH.
You may install your own made inductors, it won't harm the T-amp, just not sure how it affects the output SQ.
As mine, I didn't notice obvious different shocking.gif

ongbs
post Aug 30 2008, 04:35 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 30 2008, 03:52 PM)
ongbs,
your meter 3 1/2 digit display?
If the range selected is 2mH, what would be the expected display? Now I am confused! tongue.gif
i think 1.999mH is the max reading.
mine at 4mH and max out 3.999

I suspected my meter problem, I hardly use Inductance sad.gif

Added on August 30, 2008, 4:37 pm
QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 30 2008, 04:03 PM)
if both of you got different value then the coil have serious QC problem. i think the supplier wasnt aware too, since most of them looks the same....

will ask him to test it out.
Will not be the QC issue but mostly cost by the meter.....
QC issue only max out 50%, but now look like a few hundred % wor

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 30 2008, 04:37 PM
ongbs
post Aug 30 2008, 06:40 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 30 2008, 06:01 PM)
I don't think it's my meter problem. It's new! tongue.gif
What ever it is, I plan to replace the inductors for one channel only so that I can compare the toroid inductors to the stock ones.. will report later tonite. wink.gif

Whoa.. RM10 each? Could be worth a try but IF there would be any difference at all, worth the 10 bucks? biggrin.gif
ya, go ahead smile.gif
ongbs
post Aug 30 2008, 06:57 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 30 2008, 06:41 PM)
Wah, yesterday just received my t-amp from xtorm. Soo... small. Hope to received my smps as soon as possible from jazzy. So I can have my time to test out this baby.
welcome to the club bro tongue.gif
ongbs
post Aug 30 2008, 07:12 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 30 2008, 07:08 PM)
but actually...whether the value correct or not it sounded great!!! hahaha, evenbetter then the surelectronics board tongue.gif

changing from ferite to aircoil should make noticeable difference. changing from coil to toroid shuld have difference too tongue.gif
haha...wait till you listen to the sound icon_idea.gif the packaging good?

ongbs, eh measure those smd cap beside the coil ler...hehe, but need to take it out, too bad didnt bring my father meter here
Leave this job to you as my board already inside the casing...kedai tutup doh.gif tongue.gif
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 12:00 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 30 2008, 11:54 PM)
UPDATE:

Just installed the two 10uH toroid inductors onto the first board with 2.0uF input caps.

Commenced audition around 2330 hrs... tongue.gif

Stay tuned!  brows.gif
taruh poison ah bro brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif whistling.gif
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 12:07 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 12:05 AM)
hehe brows.gif
Only a little bit.. wait till comes out with the review... tongue.gif
aiyo...i afraid need to wait you burn till morning again biggrin.gif
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 12:13 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

regulated and unregulated regulator with 12V 3A==> how much?
go for regulated 12V

Negaraku......teng teng.... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 31 2008, 12:14 AM
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 12:20 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 31 2008, 12:15 AM)
knn, i will sue you....pay me copyright! shakehead.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 31 2008, 12:25 AM
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 12:23 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 12:21 AM)
xtorm/ongbs,
ready for a preliminary report?tongue.gif
Wait....ing tongue.gif
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 01:35 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 31 2008, 01:28 AM)
eh....i measure so many times on mine, all 4 coils too...

hmmmm

Added on August 31, 2008, 1:31 amoh crap...

i totally forgotten

for really sensitive value, i need to add 1.2ohm....cheapo meter....hahaha
you need to short 2 probe to get the read value 1st, it is the internal resistance of your probe leads...let say 0.5 ohm
then measure the coil and deduct the previous value....

jazzy, what is the material of the round 'donut'?
Your current own made is how many uH?

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 31 2008, 01:36 AM
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 01:42 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 01:39 AM)
Yes.. thats kinda standard practice before taking resisitance readings.. tongue.gif

The donut, which I bought from NIXIE, is 'ferrite ring'.
I made 10uH value.

anything?
coz your review about the inductors good loh tongue.gif

nah...nothing to do with "1:30am"...when you answer xtorm's Q, just type...dun stare at his avatar doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 31 2008, 01:43 AM
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 01:47 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 31 2008, 01:44 AM)
wahahaha, let see how the 1uh go...

eh ongbs, any good lcd monitor ah? tongue.gif u pc expert tongue.gif

samsung 931bw rm450 wor use 1 year++ edi
that monitor should be OK, how much new set now?
samsung should carry 2 to 3 yrs warranty.

If got budget go for 22" wide....good smile.gif
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 01:50 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 01:46 AM)
Ohreally?  blush.gif

Now burning the 1st. board (remember 1st. patient thingy?) with this 10uH coil.. kinda like it now after 2 hours.. wink.gif
Am playing Sean Ghazi's Semalam.. old song sounding laid back.. very good indeed!

I've also made two 1uH value toroid inductors. Thought wanna replace the stock inductor.. tongue.gif Can't stop the music yet!  laugh.gif

I am immune to that avatar oledi.. biggrin.gif
sure lah...you see, you can understand all my Qs right? Even close to 2am now tongue.gif

can't stop music then take out your 2nd patient loh! rolleyes.gif
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 02:05 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 02:00 AM)
Take it out, bring it on, I am ready!  laugh.gif

Yes. This is important! My gut feeling say its will oncertain aspects of the sounds.. need to find it out, right? biggrin.gif

Will have to try out air core next!  brows.gif
wonder how many "turns" to get 10uH shocking.gif hmm.gif
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 02:10 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 02:08 AM)
About 23 turns of a 0.055mm enamelled copper wire tongue.gif
and about 14 for a 1uH inductor. biggrin.gif
walau...bro jazzy really yawn.gif liau, i mean "air core" tongue.gif
faster go "recharge" by your music whistling.gif
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 03:11 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

xtorm, knn ask your supplier got only PCB and T-Amp boh...seem like all components we kasi tukar...

Added on August 31, 2008, 3:13 am
QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 31 2008, 03:10 AM)
yea good nite...me dong the same too

gona test balance setup tomolo tongue.gif hope i dont burn anything
apa takut? you got another 11 pcs order soon tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 31 2008, 03:13 AM
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 10:13 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 08:52 PM)
Hava look:

Nahhhh not mine!  tongue.gif Just wanna share a gook looking T-Amp casing.. brows.gif
Cute and compact!  thumbup.gif
Nahhh bro...dun play play ah...I am about to type:

Wow bro...where you korek that nice casing! shakehead.gif doh.gif tongue.gif

btw, which power supply you blown huh?
ongbs
post Aug 31 2008, 11:41 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 31 2008, 10:18 PM)
My 0-30VDC Bench PSU.. tongue.gif
Was trying to check out my collection of LED's. Shorted the output! I think the regulator power transistor went to transistor heaven.. brows.gif

What's your progress today for the T-Amp? tongue.gif More burn in? wink.gif
Merdeka became family day sad.gif
less than 1 hr burning cry.gif
ongbs
post Sep 1 2008, 12:15 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 1 2008, 12:03 AM)
Not really that 'merdeka' huh? tongue.gif
Family first.. it always has been, right? biggrin.gif

I managed a good few hours.. like a FULL Day!  thumbup.gif

I am back to my 2nd. board, which is now installed in the casing.
Weird/funny sensations when not listening using the toroids inductors.. 
I have a feeling, the 'airiness' is missing..  hmm.gif

Have to schedule a procedure tomorrow, new toroid inductors implants! biggrin.gif

Any more work to be done on your 'patient'?
hehe...after your inductor review maybe will go for "donut' inductors...simple mod as I no need to take out the board from casing tongue.gif
i am chasing the "airiness" laugh.gif

19 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0560sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:52 AM