amecon which is 1 of the biggest in the uk (con) was quite good. went for the first time 2 years ago. the costumes were actually pretty good.
Events Club LYN UK V1, Cheers!
Apr 30 2009, 03:02 PM
398 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: boring melaka |
there's a whole bunch of cons in the summer if you want something less commercial
amecon which is 1 of the biggest in the uk (con) was quite good. went for the first time 2 years ago. the costumes were actually pretty good. |
Apr 30 2009, 07:27 PM
1,357 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Londinium, Albion |
Too bad i am not in UK right now
mr lappy next time if there is such event please let me know |
Apr 30 2009, 07:56 PM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
I'm doing good, still busy at work which is good! All the convention seems a bit pale in comparison as they are mixing in a lot of none anime related stuff as well
chizzu, if you can make a request during Daicon, it would be nice to request Minorin to sing the Minami-ke curry song! |
May 1 2009, 11:29 AM
1,009 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Shah Alam |
Hi there. I will be traveling to Uk this July and would stay there for 5 month. I just want to ask about the cost of living in Bristol. Me and my other 2 friends will rent a house there for less than 500 pound. So, how about the groceries and entertainment? Is it expensive and how much would normally people spend? Im not a big eater and we prefer cooking than eating outside. I just need an average amount. Can someone help me?
May 1 2009, 12:13 PM
876 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tokyo, London, Singapore, KL, Space |
bonzaimy, bring me along, I cook for you guys for free! (lol just kidding)
May 1 2009, 01:30 PM
261 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: London |
QUOTE(mr lappy @ Apr 28 2009, 08:25 PM) sorry lar girl, i dont check the group as often as i should. heck, i dont usually check on the groups that im in >_< haha. ok ok. Will tell you! Where do you normally go makan at? Any good place to recommend?next time got makan meetup msg me or text me also can. on weekends im usually ok since i usually eat out during weekends..... when u going beck m`sia? QUOTE(Geminist @ Apr 30 2009, 03:40 AM) WAH STILL ALIVE! =Pwhen are we going for a weekend trip? haha gosh train tickets cost a bomb! |
May 1 2009, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ May 1 2009, 11:29 AM) Hi there. I will be traveling to Uk this July and would stay there for 5 month. I just want to ask about the cost of living in Bristol. Me and my other 2 friends will rent a house there for less than 500 pound. So, how about the groceries and entertainment? Is it expensive and how much would normally people spend? Im not a big eater and we prefer cooking than eating outside. I just need an average amount. Can someone help me? Bristol, i guess you will have to ask youngkies. overall i spend like 20+ pounds a week for groceries. usually i buy 2 weeks worth of groceries and its never exceed 50 pounds. that is for myself. i am not sure about others |
May 1 2009, 06:05 PM
Thanks Chizzu cause I budget 1000 pound every month including rental and transportation. So, i think 1000 pound a month should be enough right? Thanks ya
Added on May 1, 2009, 6:11 pm QUOTE(firedauz @ May 1 2009, 12:13 PM) haha..u too far la...This post has been edited by bonzaimy: May 1 2009, 06:11 PM |
May 1 2009, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ May 1 2009, 06:05 PM) Thanks Chizzu cause I budget 1000 pound every month including rental and transportation. So, i think 1000 pound a month should be enough right? Thanks ya i think 1k is enough as its about the same as i spend in london excluding the 'extras'Added on May 1, 2009, 6:11 pm haha..u too far la... |
May 1 2009, 11:35 PM
May 2 2009, 12:59 AM
actually im pretty careful with my monies now compared to what i was blowing through when i was in my gap year
i dont spend that much on entertainment really, my course dont exactly allow me to have much of a social life i spend most my $ now on eating really surprising eh? |
May 2 2009, 03:48 AM
558 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: kUalA LuMpuR |
QUOTE(mr lappy @ Apr 29 2009, 06:44 PM) i cant help it as i really dont know my plans for this summer due to the coming incredibly scary exams.... and i might possibly be doing a small placement somewhere in europe hence the last minuteness placement in europe good wat.. not easy to get a placement nowadays... the stupid recession cause a lot students can't get a offer.. good luck btw.. Added on May 2, 2009, 3:55 am QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ Apr 28 2009, 07:26 AM) Simon. Last 2 weeks I went makan ler. posted in fb group noone replied! Lol haha.. didn't go to facebook group for ages, besides login into facebook also not very frequent hehehe.... unless got the receive any message...i go bek msia bring me eat good chee cheong fun! =P aiseh... chee cheong fun, i missed that when i went back last time.. Added on May 2, 2009, 3:59 am QUOTE(chizzu @ May 1 2009, 08:50 AM) Bristol, i guess you will have to ask youngkies. overall i spend like 20+ pounds a week for groceries. usually i buy 2 weeks worth of groceries and its never exceed 50 pounds. that is for myself. i am not sure about others walau... £300-400 a month? wat did you spend huh? i suppose ebay also doesn't require that much?This post has been edited by liew_jls: May 2 2009, 03:59 AM |
May 2 2009, 05:51 AM
QUOTE(liew_jls @ May 2 2009, 03:48 AM) placement in europe good wat.. not easy to get a placement nowadays... the stupid recession cause a lot students can't get a offer.. good luck btw.. 3-400 a month isnt that much if you socialise often and shop around everynow and then the numbers add up quite quickly....placements arent that hard to get. you just need to know where to apply. there are plenty of student bodies that does that kind of thing. btw, my placements arent paid, most of them arent. so its costing me monies to be in a placement walau... £300-400 a month? wat did you spend huh? i suppose ebay also doesn't require that much? |
May 2 2009, 06:31 AM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Janice
Haven't seen you in a while as well, now that summer is around the corner, let's pick a weekend some time end of May and go renang renang! I had French a couple of weeks ago in Soho, the food was brilliant and the price tag was OK as well, about £22 for drinks, starter + main course. |
May 2 2009, 07:56 AM
Guy, if we rent a house, how much normally we have to pay to the landlord?Well, that's what my friend who is from UK told me just now. He said in London is about 100 pound a month.Is it the same in Bristol?
May 2 2009, 08:18 AM
100 pounds a month as rent? dont think theres so cheap rent in the uk unless its in come really dodgy place....but then dodgy place also never heard b4 got so cheap.
100 a week then i believe. rent are different depending on area. |
May 2 2009, 08:18 AM
9,511 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ May 2 2009, 07:56 AM) Guy, if we rent a house, how much normally we have to pay to the landlord?Well, that's what my friend who is from UK told me just now. He said in London is about 100 pound a month.Is it the same in Bristol? i would say 100 a per week instead.in bristol, a room cost from 250 - 400 per month. way more if you are renting a house instead, or have to foot the bill yourself. it works out about 100 for 3 months of gas and electric or more in the winter, 100 for 3 months of water bills, 130 per year for tv license, 10-30 monthly for broadband connection, and 700-1500 per year of council tax if you have to pay it too. |
May 2 2009, 08:38 AM
No no no. Not the rental but as what my friend who is from Uk told me that I have to pay to someone. Its like tax.
Added on May 2, 2009, 8:41 amThe correct word is council tax.. This post has been edited by bonzaimy: May 2 2009, 08:41 AM |
May 2 2009, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(mr lappy @ May 2 2009, 05:51 AM) 3-400 a month isnt that much if you socialise often and shop around everynow and then the numbers add up quite quickly.... i shop alot living alone here so nobody to share my expenses with QUOTE(bonzaimy @ May 2 2009, 08:38 AM) No no no. Not the rental but as what my friend who is from Uk told me that I have to pay to someone. Its like tax. council tax is around that figure. but some ex council flats (like mine Added on May 2, 2009, 8:41 amThe correct word is council tax.. if rental in london is 100 per week i will undoubtly move there |
May 2 2009, 08:07 PM
london you can get 100 or less a week, but not central london. you'd be talking probably from zone 2-3 onwards....
| Change to: | 0.0249sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:46 AM |