London. Should be here for a while.
Let me know if you ever pop by to London.
Events Club LYN UK V1, Cheers!
Aug 1 2008, 07:43 PM
2,928 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
London. Should be here for a while.
Let me know if you ever pop by to London. |
Aug 18 2008, 08:10 PM
Satay House sounds nice, I never really been there before as it wasn't very inspiring to eat Malaysian food while here
September - October seems to be a good season for seafood, anyone? http://www.lochfyne.com/ It's a bit costly but I heard the stuff that is pretty nice. |
Aug 20 2008, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(mr lappy @ Aug 19 2008, 12:06 PM) haha, i understand what u mean. btw, that place is pretty good i'd say if you didnt have the choice of coming back for the food. Haha, I spend a lot of time and money hunting for food around in London because there are quite a lot of good food here. For Lochfyne, I initially intend to go there this week with my friends but one of them doesn't take seafood so we're trying out a Mongolian BBQ in Angel. If you're in London, give me a buzz and we can try the Loch Fyne seafood platter!!btw, you sir, have good taste in food! i've been staring at lockfayne's menu for sometime and even had it bookmarked >_< the reason that i didnt end up going is that none of my 'peers' are willing to 'spend that kind of $' on a meal. anyway, im going to eat as much as i can while im still back Firedauz, how about 27th Sept? |
Aug 24 2008, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ Aug 24 2008, 08:20 PM) Whats the budget like for seafood? I think the seafood should cost about £25 minimum. I would suggest going for satay house as the seafood could turn people off and I didn't think the environment would be suitable to be noisy as well Satay house can also it was at the msian fair their food looks decently good About £650 pounds tickets now..If i do go back I was planning on October until March..but my mum won't lemme go back so soon since I just arrived here less than 3 months ago Besides, I think Satay House is halal? |
Sep 3 2008, 04:07 AM
Good stuff then, at least three of us are meeting up
I'm gonna pop by at London Borough Market this week to get some fresh oyster |
Sep 3 2008, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(firedauz @ Sep 3 2008, 06:28 AM) Understood, but there is one question before I make that thread; its regarding the time. Good point, what time buka puasa then? Is it 7pm?Hope you guys don't mind me saying this, but I think 1pm might not be quite a suitable time. As we have been discussing about Satay House being a halal restaurant, I think some are still fasting at 1pm. Just want to double-check, sorry |
Sep 4 2008, 02:58 PM
Yeap, what might be useful is either we have one at 1pm or another one at another date?
Depending on who's coming. |
Sep 13 2008, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(msrizhwan @ Sep 13 2008, 12:53 AM) er...i tought ure staying from tokyo...... If the Berkeley Square you are talking about is the same one I have in mind, it's quite an uptown and posh location. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/739760 by the way im going to work at london for 5 years starting this nov im working im goverment field...so i got transfered to their representative office there well this is my 1st time working overseas... well my future-office is at Berkeley square....well is this place is in central town.... issist black area? for those that already live in london... please give me some advise..... TQ.... i really hoping help from u guys... cheers matte.....? You might want to stay off places like Southeast, e.g. Peckham but as long as you stay sensible, London ain't such a dangerous place. What sort of advise are you looking for? If you have not got someone to show you around London, give me a buzz when you're here |
Apr 30 2009, 03:40 AM
So you should attend daicon and catch a glimpse of Minorin
Good luck to you Mr Lappy! |
Apr 30 2009, 07:56 PM
I'm doing good, still busy at work which is good! All the convention seems a bit pale in comparison as they are mixing in a lot of none anime related stuff as well
chizzu, if you can make a request during Daicon, it would be nice to request Minorin to sing the Minami-ke curry song! |
May 2 2009, 06:31 AM
Janice
Haven't seen you in a while as well, now that summer is around the corner, let's pick a weekend some time end of May and go renang renang! I had French a couple of weeks ago in Soho, the food was brilliant and the price tag was OK as well, about £22 for drinks, starter + main course. |
May 3 2009, 05:29 AM
My rent is £110 pw everything inclusive and it's in Zone 2, about 20 minutes cycle from where I work - hence I can afford an extra 20 minutes sleep everyday!
4agze, I recall you're working as QS? How's work coming along? |
May 3 2009, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(liew_jls @ May 3 2009, 09:04 AM) Whereabouts of Zone 1? If it's South of the river, I'd recomend Canada Water area. I'm staying there at the moment and I like this place. QUOTE(4agze @ May 3 2009, 09:27 AM) My rent is about uhm... £90 inclusive everything... Ah! Government funded projects, i.e. school and hospitals are like hot cakes at the moment where everyone just wants a share of it. That's good to hear though.My job is ok so far *touchwood*... as part of my project is funded by Government he he.. |
May 4 2009, 03:25 AM
QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ May 3 2009, 02:54 PM) Serious!??! SWIMMING?! YES!!!!!!! 4th June is my birthday! Haha, I'll let you know in a couple of days time, but I think no problem if it's a Saturday morning. Let's go! Lets go 1st week of June. How's that? =D I went to Brighton yday. gosh so crowded. QUOTE(liew_jls @ May 3 2009, 02:57 PM) i suppose it's should be in southwark area (the postcode for southwark is SE1 right?). actually i'm applying a job in that area, still waiting feedback from the company. sighh.. not sure it's worth it, if moving to london since the living cost is so high. but if i don't take london as my preference, i afraid i need to wait till next year to get a job. Yeap, I think it's called Southwark Park, I think. But I would suggest Canada Water especially if you're working in Southwark as there's where I work too. It's quite near and only takes about 20 minutes cycle (by tube could be between 30-40 minutes from house door to office door). lol.. mr lappy, my requirement is simple.. close to ASDA/Tesco/Morrison (so that i can get groceries easily), not much 'blackberry' walking around and terrorist stay near to the house. that's all. hahaha... geminist, canada water? should a nice place, it's near to southwark park am i right? There's the Canada Water dock areas near to where the station is, this place is absolutely brilliant, it cost a bit more, about £700 per month but it's really nice as you stay near to the dock. Or else move a bit further from the station and the rent should come down. Becareful not to wander too far into Lewisham area though. Guess what? There's a huge Tesco beside the station with a small shopping centre which you can get most of your stuff. |
May 4 2009, 05:48 AM
QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ May 3 2009, 07:57 PM) Lets go makan celebrate! May 30 (Saturday) pre celebration. Hows that? Sounds good, depending on the number of people, we could try the Korean I mentioned some time ago. The place is a bit tiny I'll make another cheesecake! haha Or you want chocolate cupcake? I've torn a hummingbirds choc cupcake recipe from Metro newspaper awhile ago. Maybe I should try. No guarantee as good haha but no risk no gain yeah? =P liewjls: u can stay at upton park, there's a tesco metro just outside the station and lotsa cheap anene shops. lol. upton park zone 3 is a cheap place. QUOTE(liew_jls @ May 3 2009, 08:13 PM) i see.. wow, £700 per month I think if you factor in the comfort, the tranquility and the environment, the £700 isn't that bad. I am paying £110 which is really good as well because I stay with a very good landlord (who's not home all the time + when they're home I get home cooked food!). ok, thanks for the infor. Added on May 4, 2009, 4:19 am yeah yeah.. agree. wow, you are making cheesecake?! hahaha... i think should be eatable.. upton park? alright, will check it out. thanks. but need to see how things work.. hope things go well... Becareful though if you're looking for house on gumtree because there's quite a number of scammers on there. Anyone that wants you to pay upfront and payment involves Western Union etc are all scammers. The cheesecake Janice made the last time was brilliant (though I suspect the food poisoning the next day had something to do with the cheesecake |
May 5 2009, 05:10 AM
QUOTE(liew_jls @ May 4 2009, 07:30 AM) you are right. I thought £700 per month for 1 room. The £700 I quoted was per room ok, thanks... i'll remember this if i'm looking for room on gumtree. QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ May 4 2009, 09:14 AM) Wow Edmund, so cruel. blame me for food poisoning. I'm sure it was some other desert that you greedily bought from Tescos! =P Nah, my gut feeling tells me it was the cheesecake. We'll see how it goes this time with the chocolate cupcakes! I can't remember who Beve is? Was she there when we had Thai the last time?I think there would only be a few of us. My housemate, me, you, ur gf? Simon?, Beve and probably her friend. 7? haha. I'll ask. Whereabouts the korean restaurant again? name and address? Not expensive rite? I gotta tell everyone to budget. haha. Choc cupcakes it is. Gotta go dig my recipe out =P Hey I'm a professional chef! Lol! I think 7 should still fit in, because the place is quite small and it feels like a family run restaurant. It's just behind the Centre Point building at Tottenham Court Road station (tube). The price should be about £15 per person but should come down if we have more people there. It would be a bit difficult to do order separately so it's a order and share thing. My friend mentioned in passing to me there's a nice English restaurant around there as well and cost about £17 for a three course meal, I'll find out where it is. By the way, someone who can only make cheesecake and cupcakes can't be considered as a professional chef QUOTE(mr lappy @ May 4 2009, 11:13 AM) on may 30th? i should be able to come, but i wont be hanging out for too long as its only about a week b4 my exams Sure. I would strongly suggest you avoid Janice's cupcakes though (not that I want to have an extra for myself!) as I don't think you would be happy if you're down with food poisoning btw, no cheeze cake pls, i want choco! This post has been edited by Geminist: May 5 2009, 05:12 AM |
May 5 2009, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ May 5 2009, 05:58 AM) Insults! I not only can make cheesecake and cupcakes mind you. Sigh. Do not make your own assumptions just because I've suggested these two. Heartbroken. Don't wanna make edy hmph. Noone else had food poisoning except u and there were more than 10 ppl there. Beverly is the girl who brought her guai lou friend for the bday party. She was fashionably late and her food went cold. She was also one of the ones who blew the cake with win ni and i. Ok. Check it out and see. My friend went to a Korean bbq place before. She said it was nice and about 10 pounds sharing per head. She can find out from her friend where it is coz she forgot. p/s: Will there be anything decent like just normal fried rice? Lol. I'm not a Korean fan or more like I hate korean food. Everyone else loves Korean so it's okay for Korean. Added on May 5, 2009, 1:59 pm Sounds like a GREAT! IDEA! Lol! Oh! I somehow was under the impression she's got a different name, Grace. Quite possibly I confused her with someone else then. Hmm, the Korean BBQ sounds very good as well because I never had it before. We could try that out! There are normal things there as well, I think, but mostly are Korean oriented. I didn't know you dislike Korean, we could always try something else! |
May 6 2009, 04:36 AM
QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ May 5 2009, 07:21 PM) Haha. Grace. Funny. This IS the restaurant I was on about >_> Yeap, they do hotpot but not steamboat but the hotpot is very good stuff. The restaurant is called Assa Korean Restaurant 53 St Giles High Street Charing Cross, London, WC2H 8LH 020 7240 8256 Nearest station is Tottenham Court Road. It's actually hotpot / steamboat, not bbq. Sorry was mistaken. Hmm I'm a fussy person x_X. You'll probably end up eating the same things like Satay House or Malaysian Hall if u were gonna ask me to suggest =p The soup base is something Korean and a bit spicy, and they put in the usual things like vege, beancurd, mushroom, kimchi, and beef/fish etc. |
May 7 2009, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(chizzu @ May 6 2009, 07:14 AM) We'll think about you when we have them!QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ May 6 2009, 12:18 PM) oh what a coincidence LOL! Ok. Go there lor then Looking forward to it! I have only been there for lunch once before, but I think we ought to check out if they serve the hotpot during lunch as well. I think Beve been to this restaurant before as I recommended it to her when we met last time!Ok. You're in the list of attendees. It's near the Centre Point. I haven't been there before so I dunno. Do you know a girl called Josephine in the School of Pharmacy? Apparently final year, Hongkie. Lol because we dun wan to make you fat. See we are so considerate! 30 May 2009, Saturday, 12:30pm Food: Hot pot Korean food (approx £15 / head or less depending on the number of ppl and order) Assa Korean Restaurant 53 St Giles High Street Charing Cross, London, WC2H 8LH 020 7240 8256 Nearest station is Tottenham Court Road. Attendees: 1. Geminist 2. mrlappy 3. xcutelilgal 4. beve 5. jaclyntyp Anyone bringing anyone else please keep me updated! =P QUOTE(grammar @ May 6 2009, 03:37 PM) guys, i'm studying in london soon in london college of accountancy. yes, sadly, it's in central london. can u guys recommend any areas for me to choose from? give me a zip code or street name and i'll look it up. I think £100 should be the average in a good area. Going any lower means you'll really have to look very hard for a bargain or you might settle in a slightly far/less preferred area.i was told that avg rent is around 100 pounds per week but i'm sure private tenants will offer lower rate. all i need is a place to cook and i'm alrite. any tips is appreciated. |
May 8 2009, 04:10 AM
I am always under the impression that steamboat = you get to continuously dump things in there whilst hotpot = one hotpot served with everything in, finished it and that's it.
grammar, There's always studio flats available but these are generally more expensive and you could be looking at a guesstimate of £700+ a month, which could be higher depending on location. Also, not just McD and KFC, there's subway, Starbucks etc. |
| Change to: | 0.0250sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:46 AM |