post Dec 1 2008, 04:33 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Dec 1 2008, 04:29 PM)
aldy hotel is not bad..n kinda cheap..
or bayview try find online can get RM100 a night.. but must book early lar

Added on December 1, 2008, 4:30 pmas for food..of course jonker street....
laksa, cendol~!! chicken rice ball (not sure halal or not)
sate celup.. nyonya food ..
Chicken rice ball non halal
stimix
post Dec 1 2008, 04:55 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I hv merged 2-3 related Melaka threads on food, places of interest & also accommodations.

However I maintained the following threads on directions & also specific threads on Eye On Malaysia & A farmosa..Not sure whether to merge all these into All-in one?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=843047&hl=melaka
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=742001&hl=
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=804659&hl=
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=819128&hl=

FerrariST
post Dec 9 2008, 04:48 PM

340 posts

Hi All,

I will be going to malacca this coming thursday, since it is a public holiday for the selangor state i'll like to spend the day with my fiance together. The current problem i facing is, how do i travel to Jalan Hang Jebat (jonker street) via Air keroh? Anyone can kindly direct me from Air keroh toll to Jonker street, which sign board should i follow etc?

where exactly is Mahkota Parade ? i was advice by a friend of mine to park my car at mahkota parade and walk towards jonker streets, or tourist attraction spot. this way i dont need to worry about looking for parking spot while having to jam or having hard time to look for parking.

Agenda of the day:
1- Hoe Kee Chicken rice ball
2- No.88 dessert for some delicious durian cendol
3- walk around the jonker street to look out for snack
4- Satay Celup at ban lee siang

Anything else i have missed out?

Cheers
stimix
post Dec 9 2008, 11:19 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mahkota Parade located opposite A-Farmosa & Dataran Pahlawan mall U can park inside the pahlawan undergroun carpark as well (Nearer)

I was wondering why Hoe Kee (Hei Jia??) instead of much better Chung Wah located opposite the clock tower??
Ban Lee Siang is rather far...probably u wanted to try Capitol which is located not far from St Paul hill (Bdr Kaba)
QUOTE(FerrariST @ Dec 9 2008, 04:48 PM)
Hi All,

I will be going to malacca this coming thursday, since it is a public holiday for the selangor state i'll like to spend the day with my fiance together. The current problem i facing is, how do i travel to Jalan Hang Jebat (jonker street) via Air keroh? Anyone can kindly direct me from Air keroh toll to Jonker street, which sign board should i follow etc?

where exactly is Mahkota Parade ? i was advice by a friend of mine to park my car at mahkota parade and walk towards jonker streets, or tourist attraction spot. this way i dont need to worry about looking for parking spot while having to jam or having hard time to look for parking.

Agenda of the day:
1- Hoe Kee Chicken rice ball
2- No.88 dessert for some delicious durian cendol
3- walk around the jonker street to look out for snack
4- Satay Celup at ban lee siang

Anything else i have missed out?

Cheers
QD_buyer
post Dec 9 2008, 11:25 PM

John and Paulâ„¢
2,047 posts

Masjid Tanah anyone ?

d4rkholeang3l
post Dec 9 2008, 11:32 PM

1,373 posts

ban lee siang nt in jalan temenggong?

Added on December 9, 2008, 11:44 pmHi, I am a malaccan....here,the food n its location:

Sate celup: Capitol ( Jalan Temenggong(opposite bukit cina soya bean) or another shop at Ong Kim Wee....go for the older shop...better taste...

Ikan bakar: go Alai...lolz....

Curry Mee: Damn nice one...go Jalan Temenggong ( Tung Fang Restaurant)...
at nite oni gt...but u need to bare wif d sombong old lady...

Cendol: If you wan nyonya one,go to jonker street,I think the shop name is Jonker88...Or else,go opposite The Stadhuys...gt one indian selling cendol...oso very famous.

Nyonya rendang : jonker88..

Chicken Rice: go for the one wif the Astro Ah Xian picture....red colour one...dun go to famosa chicken rice...super expensive....

Pork soup: go for the one near jonker...quite near actually,can walk to there...at nite gt sell...
next to it gt few goldsmith shop....an old shop actually....

Bak Kut Teh : Go to melaka raya..TEO CHEW bak kut teh

Wan tan mee: go to the road next to jalan temenggong...nt sure which road...at nite oni gt sell...

Prawn Mee : go to tengkera...opposite the old badminton hall ( saturday and sunday oni) super duper nice....yummy

Roti Canai: Go to bukit baru...beside the stall gt one used car shop....d stall kinda dirty...

Malay food : go to Lot85 if i m nt mistaken (sell nasi bryani)...
at durian daun( on the way to bukit baru from bukit cina)

This post has been edited by d4rkholeang3l: Dec 9 2008, 11:48 PM
FerrariST
post Dec 10 2008, 08:48 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 9 2008, 11:19 PM)
Mahkota Parade located opposite A-Farmosa & Dataran Pahlawan mall U can park inside the pahlawan undergroun carpark as well (Nearer)

I was wondering why Hoe Kee (Hei Jia??) instead of much better Chung Wah located opposite the clock tower??
Ban Lee Siang is rather far...probably u wanted to try Capitol which is located not far from St Paul hill (Bdr Kaba)
Hi Simix,

Thanks for the replied, appreciate your help by providing me the information for parking, regarding the chicken rice ball and i can't really decide on it because i have yet to patronize either of them. No comment about it. blush.gif

Any kind soul here can direct me from Air keroh toll to Jonker street, which sign board should i follow etc? Thanks

Cheers

fenixtx
post Dec 11 2008, 02:58 AM

120 posts

where to find halal food in mlk? lol
as i have muslim friends visiting mlk soon..
Putraskyline
post Dec 11 2008, 08:43 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(fenixtx @ Dec 11 2008, 02:58 AM)
where to find halal food in mlk? lol
as i have muslim friends visiting mlk soon..
A lot!

- Roti Canai with Kari Kepala Ikan : Opposite Sk Bkt Beruang
- Lot85 - Lunch (Durian Daun)
- Umbai/Serkam/Anjung Batu : Dinner (Ikan Bakar)
- Cendol : Jonker88
- Ikan Bakar Malim : Malim (Lunch)
- Roti John/Ayam Golek : Roti John Barkat (Pantai Kundor)
- Jiki
- Tomyam : D' Nangka
fenixtx
post Dec 11 2008, 11:14 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Dec 11 2008, 08:43 AM)
A lot!

- Roti Canai with Kari Kepala Ikan : Opposite Sk Bkt Beruang
- Lot85 - Lunch (Durian Daun)
- Umbai/Serkam/Anjung Batu : Dinner (Ikan Bakar)
- Cendol : Jonker88
- Ikan Bakar Malim : Malim (Lunch)
- Roti John/Ayam Golek : Roti John Barkat (Pantai Kundor)
- Jiki
- Tomyam : D' Nangka
wheres is this jonker88? lol

is this the one in jonker street
or
the one behind jonker street which is near to the old pasar borong?

and where is this ikan bakar malim?
im staying nearby malim..
nvr see before aso shocking.gif

tomyam dnangka?

This post has been edited by fenixtx: Dec 11 2008, 11:18 AM
FerrariST
post Dec 12 2008, 10:56 AM

340 posts

Some update from yesterday trip in melaka.

Reached jonker street around 230pm and pay Hoe kee chicken rice a visit, waited for awhile and got serve by the friendly "da jie" on the entrance, pretty nice place to had my lunch, consider the crowd was lot but waiting doesnt take long. The chicken is really tender and still retain the juicy-ness in it, the taste is exactly the same as Singapore's Hai Nan style Chicken Rice except that they dont prepare in rolled chicken rice ball, 4/5 for the delicious chicken rice. rclxms.gif

After the chicken rice, i immdiately proceed to Jonker 88 for some delicious durian cendol, but i was a kind of disappointed, the cendol doesnt taste that great as mention by few food blogs, consider over rated, i prefer the shop opposite jonker 88. 2.5/5 for it. sweat.gif

Skipped Ban Lee Siang and go for Capitol satay celup instead. Reached capitol around 730pm and thats already quite some queue there and the weather is not favor at all, it's been raining wholeday. But at least i did have my Satay before heading back to Klang. brows.gif

This post has been edited by FerrariST: Dec 12 2008, 10:58 AM
Putraskyline
post Dec 12 2008, 11:56 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(fenixtx @ Dec 11 2008, 11:14 AM)
wheres is this jonker88? lol

is this the one in jonker street
or
the one behind jonker street which is near to the old pasar borong?

and where is this ikan bakar malim?
im staying nearby malim..
nvr see before aso  shocking.gif

tomyam dnangka?
- Jonker88 situated along Jonker Street.
- Ikan Bakar Malim - Situated at the junction nearby Cheng Condominium.
- Dnangka - Situated at Bukit Katil
fenixtx
post Dec 13 2008, 01:47 AM

120 posts

ok.. thx

hfz
post Dec 13 2008, 12:40 PM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

Looking for Halal Western Food and Historic Modern hotel to sleep?
My suggestion :

Food : The Baba Cafe, and the Mamak Restaurant behind The Baba House.
Hotel : The Baba House, located nearby the Jonker Street.

tennis4life
post Dec 14 2008, 12:29 AM

278 posts

one question here,

Is AMIGO Steak and Grill restaurant nice? Passed by there a few times already but everytime CROWDED one.
Putraskyline
post Dec 14 2008, 01:03 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(tennis4life @ Dec 14 2008, 12:29 AM)
one question here,

Is AMIGO Steak and Grill restaurant nice? Passed by there a few times already but everytime CROWDED one.
If you mean to have nice cut and good steak, the answer is No.
psyeo
post Dec 18 2008, 04:22 PM

2,605 posts

I like the He Kiao Mee in Jalan Tengkera and the one near Ping Ming Primary School in Jalan Tun Sri Lanang, Nearby also got very nice duck noodle.

There is another Wantan Mee (Colourless) opposite Sekolah Tun Tuah in Jalan Kampung Lapan (I think all the 3 colourless Wantan mee seller are related) me and my cousins normally call the wantan mee in Kampung Lapan as "Yao Tou Mien" (ecstasy noodle -.-''' )

Satay celup = i prefer that old shop in Ong Kim Wee

Satay = the one in Kota Laksamana

Bak Kut Teh = I like the one that is used to be in Jalan Taming Sari called "Piao Xiang" Ever since its closure, I never really had any Bak Kut Teh as good as that, even the teo chew bak kut teh in Melaka raya just can't beat it...

for Halal Chinese food, I recommend Long Feng Chinese Restaurant in Renaissance aka Ramada (awarded as one of the best Chinese restaurant in Malaysia for many years now by Malaysian Tatler)
the Sweet & Sour Chicken is the best ever, even beat many if not all Sweet & Our Pork.

Italian food, can try Olio in Renaissance hotel as well. Best Italain restaurant in Town rclxms.gif (However I still prefer the previous Capers[now Olio] east meet west concept restaurant that won many awards as well)

For nice Thai food, you can try the one in Kings Hotel opposite Pantai Hospital, nice food and environment (there is a pretty Thai girl there as well wub.gif )

This post has been edited by psyeo: Dec 18 2008, 04:51 PM
ahbubu
post Dec 19 2008, 10:20 PM

icon_question.gif is there any car rental or bicycle rental??
if yes how about the prices???
i wonder how to getting around malacca rclxub.gif
stimix
post Dec 19 2008, 10:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

There are few motorbike rental available around town...saw brochures at the Taming Sari Tower..about RM50-RM80/day..abit pricey for just a bike...probably u can get better by googling around hmm.gif
QUOTE(ahbubu @ Dec 19 2008, 10:20 PM)
Putraskyline
post Dec 19 2008, 11:56 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(ahbubu @ Dec 19 2008, 10:20 PM)
I have a few friend in MMU Melaka that having business in car rental. PM me if you need. Ranging from 60(Kancil) - 90(Wira).

103 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0192sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:26 PM