-pWs-
post Dec 24 2010, 08:27 AM

8,545 posts

Create a DDNS entry. (NO-IP, DYNDNS)
Fill in the DDNS info either in Synology or Router.

And port forward 5000 (Default) for access to your NAS.

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Dec 24 2010, 08:28 AM
ozak
post Dec 24 2010, 10:43 AM

17,018 posts

You have to register too to get your IP address. Cause you are in dynamic IP. Go here --> www.dyndns.com
wildwestgoh
post Dec 24 2010, 04:28 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Dec 20 2010, 10:48 AM)
not only this difference.

DS211+ support more user , more ipcam and others..

Added on December 20, 2010, 10:50 am

if you want upgrade, wait for DS1511+ , will be release soon. ( this box can support total up to 15 uts HDD with the Dx510 )

15 x 3TB HDD..... alot of space....
I think I saw the price for this unit before, can buy a whole new PC + 6 HDDs with that price sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Dec 24 2010, 04:30 PM
beebee
post Dec 24 2010, 04:40 PM

3,091 posts

hi guys, wanna know if qnap nas support download from premium rs/mu/hotfile?
Johannbeckham
post Dec 26 2010, 02:27 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 24 2010, 08:27 AM)
Create a DDNS entry. (NO-IP, DYNDNS)
Fill in the DDNS info either in Synology or Router.

And port forward 5000 (Default) for access to your NAS.

-pWs-
I already did this. I create a DDNS entry DYNDNS

I also fill in the DDNS info both in Synology and Routre and port forward 5000 for access to my NAS. Has anyone successfully done it with their Synology 210j NAS and DIR-615 version 7 firmware on their Unifi? Please help and give step by step procedure how to do this
-pWs-
post Dec 26 2010, 10:43 PM

8,545 posts

Try NSLOOKUP to the address (DDNS address)
Is the IP Address resolved correctly matching your WAN IP Address?

-pWs-
denhock
post Dec 27 2010, 11:12 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Dec 26 2010, 02:27 PM)
I already did this. I create a DDNS entry DYNDNS

I also fill in the DDNS info both in Synology and Routre and port forward 5000 for access to my NAS. Has anyone successfully done it with their Synology 210j NAS and DIR-615 version 7 firmware on their Unifi? Please help and give step by step procedure how to do this
if you are uing Synology DDNS function, please check the STATUS : "NORMAL" ( normal mean your setting is correct)

another setting need to be take care is your DNS and gateway

if still cannot access, please double check did u enable the firewall setting in synology admin page. if yes, u must enable the port 5000 admin page access .

This post has been edited by denhock: Dec 27 2010, 11:14 AM
Johannbeckham
post Dec 29 2010, 07:50 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Dec 27 2010, 11:12 AM)
if you are uing Synology DDNS function, please check the STATUS : "NORMAL" ( normal mean your setting is correct)
another setting need to be take care is your DNS and gateway
if still cannot access, please double check did u enable the firewall setting in synology admin page. if yes, u must enable the port 5000 admin page access .
Thanks guys, now im able to connect remotely and I'm so glad.

By the way, has anyone of you tried to mapped Synology Drive (in my case DS-210j) on your WIndows 7 64 bit machine?
jchue73
post Dec 31 2010, 12:04 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(icelc @ Dec 19 2010, 08:59 AM)
The Microserver still price at RM919, with a little bit of bargaining it can be lower.
Just as I suspected, price has gone up a little. Took this two nights ago.

icelc
post Dec 31 2010, 12:10 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Dec 31 2010, 12:04 PM)
Just as I suspected, price has gone up a little. Took this two nights ago.
hmm bought 3 weeks ago and its still price RM919.

Somehow I found the download speed in my microserver (Win 7 Enterprise + ethernet) is much slower than my laptop (Win 7 Home + Wifi).

Tried to tweak alot of stuff but still slow. Anyone face the same problem?
jchue73
post Dec 31 2010, 12:40 PM

2,496 posts

I don't download files using my Microserver though but the network card on the Microserver hits close to 120++ MB/s on transfers from my other PCs. I leave the settings as is and use HP's driver downloaded from the website.

Am running Windows Server 2008 R2 for what it's worth.
icelc
post Dec 31 2010, 12:51 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Dec 31 2010, 12:40 PM)
I don't download files using my Microserver though but the network card on the Microserver hits close to 120++ MB/s on transfers from my other PCs. I leave the settings as is and use HP's driver downloaded from the website.

Am running Windows Server 2008 R2 for what it's worth.
I see. I didn't update any driver as I leave it as it is when I installed Win 7.

Hows the performance on Win Server 2008 R2? Any difference running it compare to Win 7?

Performance wise, I can stream 720p movies to 3 different devices (Wifi) in my house without any problem.
Johannbeckham
post Dec 31 2010, 02:59 PM

78 posts

Hi! My 1TB hardisk on my Synology DS-210j is almost full and i want to replace it with new one. Anyone has done this? Will my set-up be retained?Or do i have to re-configure everything again from scratch? How about those on download cue that has not yet been completed, how to transfer them to the new hard disk?
jchue73
post Dec 31 2010, 07:28 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(icelc @ Dec 31 2010, 12:51 PM)
I see. I didn't update any driver as I leave it as it is when I installed Win 7.

Hows the performance on Win Server 2008 R2? Any difference running it compare to Win 7?

Performance wise, I can stream 720p movies to 3 different devices (Wifi) in my house without any problem.
I have not installed Windows 7 on the Microserver.

But 3 x 720p streams off the Microserver is not bad. But I must credit it to your wifi router more than anything since it's quite difficult to maintain 3 streams via wifi. May I ask what wifi router is that?

1x 720p stream is roughly about 0.8 MB/s. For easy calculation, let's take it 1 MB/s. 3 of those stream will total up to 3MB/s max. That's very easily done on the Microserver actually. I usually stream BD isos and complete BDMV folders with no problems. They stream about 5 to 6MB/s.

Anyway, if you want to check the network performance of the Microserver (not the wifi router), install something like a bandwidth monitor to see what is the real time input / output. You can also check using the performance tool under Task Manager.
denhock
post Jan 1 2011, 05:15 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Dec 31 2010, 02:59 PM)
Hi! My 1TB hardisk on my Synology DS-210j is almost full and i want to replace it with new one. Anyone has done this? Will my set-up be retained?Or do i have to re-configure everything again from scratch? How about those on download cue that has not yet been completed, how to transfer them to the new hard disk?
if you are use RAID-1 setup for your DS210j, you can replace 1 HDD first and rebuild the RAID, after done this process, replace the 2nd HDD and rebuild RAID again. Once done, you can expand to bigger volume size like for 1TB upgrade to 2TB.

all your data and setting will remain the same. more details as below:

How_to_expand_the_RAID_Volume_with_larger_disks

jchue73
post Jan 5 2011, 11:06 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Dec 18 2010, 10:26 PM)
On a side note, I thought I came across a newspaper advert that that the Microserver is now at RM 1200++ or something like that? The specs remained the same though.  rclxub.gif
Indeed, this morning I opened the Star papers and saw this advert sad.gif

Hopefully the shops still maintain old prices.

erickyoko
post Jan 7 2011, 12:38 AM

532 posts

hi everyone...im thinking to get either NAS or DAS...i would like to ask what other advantages for NAS other than bt and sharing files between few pc?i have one desktop and laptop at home while my laptop is seldom used...i heard than we can access to NAS while outside,want to ask how fast to access to nas?
bux
post Jan 10 2011, 09:29 PM

360 posts

Hi guys, anyone owns DLINK DNS-323?

Can pull out (one of the) hard disk while it is still running?
thankyou
post Jan 11 2011, 01:53 AM

1,941 posts

I don't think DLINK NAS is hot plugable, better don't try...
nyunyu
post Jan 11 2011, 04:06 AM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

Got DNS323 oso. But, can anyone help me find an ac adapter for this unit? Mine dead edy.

85 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:42 PM