post Oct 31 2008, 12:35 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Oct 30 2008, 11:10 PM)
so far, we try before about 97kb/s

Added on October 30, 2008, 11:18 pm
enh..... Synology and QNAP is testing the 1.5TB now... should take some time to certify...
but some Synology user claim that it work with 1.5TB, Seagate ST31500341AS ,1500TB, SATA II 

http://www.synology.com/wiki/index.php/Use...ble_Hard_Drives

I believe the new model of Synology/QNAP NAS will be able to support.

model like:
Synology
DS-508, RS408/DS408

QNAP
TS409/509 series....

anyway, once the disk is tested and working fine, than we can post here...smile.gif
I m using NAS DS107+. My download speed is worst. What can I do to speed up the download? The torrent I show you here, have been run for 1week. And it still at 48%

This post has been edited by ozak: Oct 31 2008, 12:36 PM
ozak
post Oct 31 2008, 12:46 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Oct 31 2008, 12:39 PM)
depends on ur torent file and ur house line speed one
I download halfway in Utorrent and transfer it to NAS synology download station and try. Compare to my PC download speed, the NAS download is damn slow.
ozak
post Nov 3 2008, 09:01 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Oct 31 2008, 11:58 PM)
Ok. pls try

1) use the latest firmware version  : DSM 2.0-0722; Build Date: 2008/09/20
2)  In download Station =>setting => set the BitTorrent Network Setting , BitTorrent protocol encryption: "Auto/Always "
3)  use the default BT port range ( unless u know the actual port)
4) Enable DHT network ( this normally will increase 25% )

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:38 am

one of the good buying point / value added to QNAP/Synology NAS is ,they will release new firmware with improved performance as well as new feature every 2~3 months.
so far, as what I know the first NAS come with BitTorrent protocol encryption: is QNAP TS-109 model. and than they apply to all the TS-109 , TS-209 series.. and also implement the DHT

and than Synology also implement this ......  (with new latest firmware upgrade for Synology :NEW Download Station 2: Supports two new download channels – eMule and NZB, and allows partial file download form BitTorrent.)
some idea of  DHT info
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
The Download Station enhancements include DHT support, 25% performance increase, BT encryption support, and flexible seeding rule settings. The download enhancements imply a shorter time needed to download the same files; this pushes the Green idea Synology has always kept in mind another step forward.

The DHT support allows trackerless torrents downloading. It means you do not need to connect to a tracker in order to download, but connect to a distributed DHT Network to find other peers. The upgraded Download Station also supports TCP trackers, UDP trackers, and Peer Exchange Protocol, all that are for increasing the ability to find more peers when downloading. In addition, flexible seeding options are also available in this release.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
others NAS which offer BT just normal BT... wihtout BitTorrent protocol encryption:... and download speed is just less than 19Kb/s...
personally, I manage to get the max is 120KB/s, and some time 97KB/s or even 55KB/s..... refer to the manufacture explaining is the total speed will depands on your ISP line, how many BT server/PC holding/storing the file that u need to download, the more service/PC online with that particular file than your speed will fast..

so, if you monitoring closely, you can "SEE" the download speed up and down.... and don't forgot to leave the file open for sharing at least 1~2 hours... let others ppl to BT your file.... BT is mainly for sharing...

if you like to try,

for synology: port 5000
http://midi.serveftp.net:5000 , 

for QNAP : port 8080 ( only IE, user can use others port, but for this example, we use port 8080)
http://midi.serveftp.net:8080 ,

or for QNAP you can use the  QGet  this is free utility.
How to use QGet to manage the BT download of multiple QNAP NAS servers remotely
you can use :
1) user ID: midi password :midi
2) user ID: test password :test
3) user ID: abc password :abc
4) user ID :admin password: admin

if you had jump out from the page that's mean others user using the same ID to login.... as this is a demo s
Thanks for your help. The setting you mention, I have done it early. The only different is the "Bittorrent protocol ecryption" was disable. I have found another way. To speed up the download, I ve to enable the DMZ in the router setting. But this would cause my NAS without a firewall protection. Here is the latest result. The speed is still about 30-40KB/s slow than the pc download speed.

This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 3 2008, 09:03 AM
ozak
post Nov 26 2009, 01:48 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(qzplx @ Nov 17 2009, 12:01 AM)

I just follow NAS Thread here and its nice...
I've planned to buy NAS for home user.

Basicaly I need NAS to connect to my iMac and PC both, and use for media streaming, and if possible the usb also can use as print server.
Is there any recomendation which Nas Product is good both in performance and featured ?

I saw this thread mostly use Synology, Qnap and Dlink.

Right now I need 2TB disk and I just abit confused with WD MyBook World II and Dlink.

Get the synology or qnap.

I m using synology for 2yrs. So far so good. A lot of function you can use. thumbup.gif
ozak
post Nov 28 2009, 01:26 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Nov 28 2009, 12:01 PM)
Great choice. Synology is a great product if $$$ is not the constraint.
It not really that expensive. You can get the cheaper model with 1 HDD. That is not much effect on speed or whatever if you are home user and mostly only one user.

Actually it save in long run. Don't just look at the initial price. For those who heavy BT and RS, this is the best NAS. Stable, no problem and good update firmware. For two yrs, I even can't finish explore the function. (lazy also tongue.gif )

Like you guys think, I did brought cheap china NAS to try. Yeah, it cheap but sucks like hell. mad.gif Even don't no how many times upgrade firmware, it still sucks. Now just use it as ext HDD.
ozak
post Nov 28 2009, 04:26 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(qzplx @ Nov 28 2009, 01:47 PM)
So.. If the question came to Synology or D-link, what should be more good ?
Of course synology. Check the spec and compare. You will know.
ozak
post Nov 28 2009, 04:47 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ojay @ Nov 28 2009, 04:40 PM)
so this nas thing..is it good for 24/7 dloding from RS and MU..most important is power usage compared to atom pc..
I running it without off for 2yrs. It consume only 23w compare your pc 300w. How much your atom pc consume?

Yes, it come with dl RS and MU. But not for free DL. Password and user require. I m free DL. So never try this function before. BT, no problem.
ozak
post Nov 28 2009, 10:48 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ojay @ Nov 28 2009, 07:19 PM)
i still dun have atom pc...but seriously considering it for downloading machine and also as media storage..and i thought NAS might be other alternative..

As for RS and MU..i'm also a free user..but i'm using some software to arrange all the downloads to be completely auto..dont mind the waiting too..so i need low power 24/7 downloading machine.

also wondering if the OS compatible with windows application.
In long run, it cost you alot to use atom pc to DL for 24/7.RS I use my laptop to dl 24/7 before. I will think NAS first before consider pc.

RS and MU free user cannot use this NAS. Cause it require user and password to DL. I m too using third party software to DL as free user. But on my laptop.

It using linux if not mistaken. But totaly compactible. The best thing is I can access this NAS anywhere in the world to manage DL and take file. Even can host my website on it and host email acc. (I m noob on this tongue.gif )

Added on November 28, 2009, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(qzplx @ Nov 28 2009, 08:19 PM)
Hi Mr. Ozak, thanks for ur recommendations...
I think I've planned to buy it on PC fair next month... Btw, I need 2 bay Disc for this, how much is the current price right now ?
or is there any reseller or distributor to sell this product in Malaysia ? Which store has a good price for this ??

Thanks again
I m not sure for the two bay price. But quite expensive if not mistaken. The price is pretty std. All can get it at LY. Pls ask denhock for further info. Search back few pages. I m just happy user only. smile.gif

For your info, you can get the price from the LY.net front page.

This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 28 2009, 10:56 PM
ozak
post Nov 29 2009, 12:16 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ojay @ Nov 29 2009, 12:02 AM)
haha..seriously i'm a noob too when it comes to this server thing...i do want to have that kind of setup-awesomeness-..but pity since i can't automated my download on NAS as a free user..not really interested paying premium yet on RS/MU..i really don't mind waiting but i really mind the bills though...decision, decision.. doh.gif
Better go for pc. Since RS/MU is your main. Well, for the bill, only long run will see the result.

My main DL is still BT. NAS is suitable for me. I don't like to see my laptop running 24/7. sweat.gif
ozak
post Nov 29 2009, 12:53 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(babylis @ Nov 29 2009, 12:21 AM)
Seems like a hot topic here. I'm interested with this thingy. Anyone can explain to me pls? Coz my connection is super slow.. I dunno why. It's 1Mb but my downloads max can go till 30+kb only.. So this thingy sounds interesting to boost my download speed.

Appreciate you guys effort if willing to explain to me. I'm a noob in computer thingy.

Thanks in advanced~ smile.gif
Forget it my friend. save your money and upgrade the bandwidth.

This NAS won't boost your speed. It only help you to BT, RS easlly 24/7. And many others function if you interest.

I did try this NAS on TMnut. The speed suck. Not the NAS problem. It is TMNUT. Now running on maxis BB. Full speed running wihout throttle. thumbup.gif
ozak
post Nov 29 2009, 09:33 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(babylis @ Nov 29 2009, 02:07 AM)
Upgrade bandwidth is always the same. The connection is forever slow and fyi i'm from Labuan. There's no other isp other than TMNut. gggrrrr.. So unfair, WM has a lot of choices! hmmm
Can't do anything my friend till the TMNut improve the speed. Anyway, there is always a choice. Shift over here WM. He.... tongue.gif

Added on November 29, 2009, 9:45 am
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 29 2009, 02:21 AM)
Any pros & cons between DLink DNS-323 & Linksys NMH300?

Thanks notworthy.gifnotworthy.gif

-pWs-
Why you look for this two model? nothing special.

This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 29 2009, 09:45 AM
ozak
post Nov 29 2009, 11:19 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(cwk88 @ Nov 29 2009, 05:55 PM)
plan to get DS110j next week =)
Is there such model?
ozak
post Nov 30 2009, 08:29 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(cwk88 @ Nov 30 2009, 01:53 AM)
yes.. it will replace ds109j

here is datasheet of ds110j:
http://download.synology.com/download/ds/D...a_Sheet_enu.pdf

Added on November 30, 2009, 2:22 amds109j..
- CPU: 266MHz, 32bit@133, with floating point
- RAM Size: 32 MB

while ds110j..
- CPU: 800MHz, 16bit@DDR800
- RAM Size: 128 MB

ds110j price is same with ds109j
Look like my model. But my 1 is slower cpu with esata. DS107+.

I don't no what different if higher cpu. Most of the speed is depend on ISP.
ozak
post Nov 30 2009, 11:15 AM

17,013 posts

I don't think the price will be cheaper during PC fair. Unless the drisbuter here have a cheap sale during promotion. But NAS not an important pc component. Would they cheap sale?

Well, with a price range of around rm599 should be good. The model I buy, 2yrs ago cost me almost rm1000 without HDD.
ozak
post Nov 30 2009, 12:48 PM

17,013 posts

Yeah, It fund. Just feel like you own a server. He....
ozak
post Nov 30 2009, 07:22 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Nov 30 2009, 03:07 PM)
ozak
does the download manager 2.2 allows download queue whereby u can upload few torrents/HTTP/FTP task and let it run simultaneously or one-by-one
Yes. as many as you want. All this can be setup. I set it to 20 torrent and let it Q run itself. If you have over 20 torrent, others will be Q up till it have empty slot.

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Nov 30 2009, 03:07 PM)
higher clock speed contributes to high file transfer speed according to various reviews 
will be more beneficial if handle multiple tasks at a single time e.g. downloading/HD video streaming/FTPing etc

Let say current 500mhz cpu speed can transfer 100m/s. But can I transfer 200m/s if I using 1G cpu? But the bottle neck of the lan is 100m/s? Need less to say over the internet. rclxub.gif

Added on November 30, 2009, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(Boat Collector @ Nov 30 2009, 02:25 PM)
Wow... What a coincidence... this thread comes back alive just before the PC fair.. and when I am considering buying a NAS.

I need help. Looking for a NAS server for the following purposes.
i) I'm interested in installing my home with IP/Network cameras (I know it is more expensive than the analog CCTV cameras, but I'm expecting a new kid and since both my wife and I are working, will have to leave baby at home with maid- Wife works 5mins away from home- Need to have the peace of mind doing so.) Looking for a PTZ IP camera with 2-way voice capabilities to complement the NAS.

ii) As a storage for BD movies (which I can back-up and play on my media player) since each BD movie is about 20-40GB in size I better get alot of space - hence considering NAS with 4-bays and loads of disk space. I don't intend to use it for back-up (running it in Raid 0/JBOD)

iii) As a torrent download machine. smile.gif to download nice HD TV programmes..

The planned setup would be to connect the NAS to a router. I know probably wrong forum, but can anyone also suggest a wireless router? I intend to connect the NAS and Media player to the router wired and wireless to my PC/laptop.

Can anyone please give me advise on which brand/model you think will best suit my purpose? I'm considering QNAP, Synology and Thecus, but am open to any other suggestion. Also am open to advise if you think the set-up above won't work well. Fingers crossed there will be a sale for NAS during the PC fair.
Synology and Qnap is the answer for your solution. Get the one that many people use and alot selling here. Otherwise you have difficult get help.

The NAS can't connect thru wifi. You can connect to wifi router with lan line. My setup is in this way. But no point if you connect wifi since the speed is slow. Somemore BD file. rclxub.gif

You don't need till 4bay if your budget limit. Get two bay with external HDD later.

Added on November 30, 2009, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Nov 30 2009, 04:16 PM)
any custom built NAS server here? (OpenNas, FreeNAS).  Any tips, advantages. 

Or is it better to build a dedicated server running linux or freeBSD, compare to NAS only function.
I think before. But the power consumption is killing me. So scrap my project and get the synoloy NAS.

Added on November 30, 2009, 7:34 pm
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 30 2009, 06:48 PM)
Recommend pls.  notworthy.gif

-pWs-
You must specific, you want to use for what.

This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 30 2009, 07:34 PM
ozak
post Nov 30 2009, 09:00 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 30 2009, 08:54 PM)
@ ozak
To download (Direct Link, Torrent & etc)

If there is a link w/ password protected in order to download, will the device support?

-pWs-
If not mistaken RS and MU can DL using password and username. There is others type DL also. Emule, netbiz etc.
ozak
post Nov 30 2009, 10:54 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Nov 30 2009, 09:22 PM)
Ermm. How bout normal download (DLNext)?
The files are protected w password in order to download from the server. Is it work the same as RS & MU?

-pWs-
Do no what DL is that. I didn't try before. Pls go to synology forum to check or the NAS specification.

I only know BT. sad.gif
ozak
post Nov 30 2009, 11:36 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Nov 30 2009, 11:04 PM)
beside power consumption, is there any cost advantage by using custom built NAS?  I think there are intel low power platform floating around in the market.
During my project, I plan to bulit HTPC. Powerfull one. flex.gif Can watch HD, bluray, game, surf and DL BT. All in 1 and put at the hall with LCD tv.

But after calculate the initial cost and running cost, it not worth. And the wear and tear for running 24/7 with such an expensive HTPC. So scrap it. sad.gif

Any advantage you can think? Have a reason for me to start back my project. he....
ozak
post Dec 1 2009, 10:58 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(Boat Collector @ Dec 1 2009, 10:33 AM)
Thanks. you're right. planned to connect the NAS to the router physically. I'll also have to connect my media player physically to the router (I think this would be the fastest connection). The wireless router is so that I can connect to the internet with my PC/Laptop which will be in a different room. NAS/Router/Media player will be in the living room next to the AV Receiver and TV. So a quieter NAS would also be an advantage.

Hmm... yeah, maybe two bay (hot swappable) will do it for me. But the problem is at the moment, I have external hard drives all over the place... A mess of wires at the back.. doh.gif

Any suggestion which model? and does anyone know if there will be promo for NAS during the PC Fair? icon_question.gif
Pls read back few page here. Denhock have post some usefull NAS connection and streaming with media player solution. Another solution, you can find it at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1166235 . Which using synology streaming to this player. Search denhock.

I only recomend synology cause I m using it now. You will easlly pick one model from thier website.

Even my media player 2m from the NAS, but I didn't connect each other. I use pc to transfer the media file to the player. Cause most of the time, I need to check, rename, delete and tidy up the media file before store it properlly in the player.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:49 PM