[Home Appliances] Refrigerator

noobfm
post Sep 3 2023, 04:40 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Sep 3 2023, 04:03 PM)
Different capacity and layout, at least compare with a similar model.
However Panasonic is with 5 stars energy level while I don't see any energy level mention on Elba website.
ok yes, you're right. I was comparing Pana vs Elba because i had reward points that i can claim for Elba while Pana was on my list previously.
I was trying to look for energy efficient rating / power consumption from Elba website as well but not available. confused.gif
lankorn
post Sep 30 2023, 10:26 PM

125 posts

Hi,regarding the ice cube maker...i saw some water purifier like coway have ice cube maker.So which one is better to have the ice cube maker,fridge or water filter.Planning to go for LG fridge.Any 5 star LG fridge recommendatios?Top or bottom freezer better?

This post has been edited by lankorn: Sep 30 2023, 11:59 PM
ZeneticX
post Oct 1 2023, 12:36 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(lankorn @ Sep 30 2023, 10:26 PM)
Hi,regarding the ice cube maker...i saw some water purifier like coway have ice cube maker.So which one is better to have the ice cube maker,fridge or water filter.Planning to go for LG fridge.Any 5 star LG fridge recommendatios?Top or bottom freezer better?
Avoid ice makers or water dispenser in fridges

For LG fridge, avoid those with linear compressor
VeeJay
post Oct 1 2023, 12:50 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 1 2023, 12:36 PM)
Avoid ice makers or water dispenser in fridges

For LG fridge, avoid those with linear compressor
Zen, why is it so? just curious, since I hv mine with ice maker/water dispenser as well.
ZeneticX
post Oct 1 2023, 03:11 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 1 2023, 12:50 PM)
Zen, why is it so? just curious, since I hv mine with ice maker/water dispenser as well.
Its just an extra component to go wrong

VeeJay
post Oct 1 2023, 06:14 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 1 2023, 03:11 PM)
Its just an extra component to go wrong
hahaha, cant disagree there, the more components and sensors, chances of failure is higher, like any other product today from cars to aircon, today's world there are more gadgets and features, and correspondently the failure rate had increased. So one has to weigh the benefits and the feature they like.

mine so far so good...hope it stays the same.
ChinKoon.Nau
post Nov 6 2023, 04:45 AM

59 posts

Hi, any user here? Please share the review and experience and experience. Thanks!

LG Fridge GC-M257CGF

This post has been edited by ChinKoon.Nau: Nov 6 2023, 04:47 AM
ryder_78
post Nov 6 2023, 10:22 AM

2,041 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jul 25 2023, 09:25 PM)
Using a Panasonic Econavi NR-B468X inverter type
All of sudden the led lights are blinking and the Econavi panel will also blink off then on again.
The fridge still cools and freezes fine for now.
It is only 4 years old. Seems a bit early to be looking for a new fridge.
Hmmm
I have a Panasonic NR-B368XSMY in my apartment for about 4 years now, no issues yet touch wood. My Samsung 560L fridge has worked for more than 10 years without any issues also. If my Panasonic can last up to 7 or 8 years without any issue, my next fridge will likely be a Panasonic as well.

I think the design of most brands of fridge is almost the same, meaning you can find almost any design you like from small to big, 2-door bottom freezer, 2-door top freezer or multidoor etc. from Panasonic, Samsung, LG or Sharp etc. Price and reliability may be the next criteria since one can basically find the design that is suitable with any brand.

I didn't survey much but so far the price seems to be quite close. If I move to a new house, my next fridge will likely be Panasonic as it looks good. Haven't really surveyed other brands. The larger fridges 500L or 600L and above are mostly in the range of RM5k to 10k and I'm not sure if the equivalent Samsung or LG will have a lower priced equivalent.
b0rhui
post Nov 28 2023, 08:51 AM

689 posts

Hey sifus,

I'm hunting for a sub 400L nett capacity top/bottom freezer fridge which is the most affordable and has 5 star rating drawing 300-400kWh a year.

Sharp SJ4422MSS 380L nett capacity 343kWh a year
https://my.sharp/products/home-appliances/4...rator-sj4422mss

Hitachi R-VG490P8M 407L nett capacity 363kWh a year

Would you guys recommend any other 400L models around RM2k?

Any sellers out there feel free to PM me as well thank you
andrekua2
post Nov 28 2023, 09:01 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Nov 6 2023, 10:22 AM)
I have a Panasonic NR-B368XSMY in my apartment for about 4 years now, no issues yet touch wood. My Samsung 560L fridge has worked for more than 10 years without any issues also. If my Panasonic can last up to 7 or 8 years without any issue, my next fridge will likely be a Panasonic as well.

I think the design of most brands of fridge is almost the same, meaning you can find almost any design you like from small to big, 2-door bottom freezer, 2-door top freezer or multidoor etc. from Panasonic, Samsung, LG or Sharp etc. Price and reliability may be the next criteria since one can basically find the design that is suitable with any brand.

I didn't survey much but so far the price seems to be quite close. If I move to a new house, my next fridge will likely be Panasonic as it looks good. Haven't really surveyed other brands. The larger fridges 500L or 600L and above are mostly in the range of RM5k to 10k and I'm not sure if the equivalent Samsung or LG will have a lower priced equivalent.
Oh man, fridge is such a low tech appliance... why are you guys willing to spent 5-10k on this shit?
lowyat101
post Nov 28 2023, 03:04 PM

2,546 posts

Got the Hitachi top-bottom fridge VG750PM for less than 3.5k during Lazada sales. SO far running fine but during the startup when compressor is under load, the humming sound is quite obvious even if i stand a few feet away from it. Maybe due to my house is still empty as I haven't move in the stuff yet. Will keep on monitor this.

BTW those interested getting bigger fridge, pls do pay attention to the depth as my cabinet supplier recommended the standard 600mm depth for my fridge cabinet and this big fridge is protruding out a bit too much than my liking. A 650mm depth would be perfect.

ZeneticX
post Nov 28 2023, 03:26 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 28 2023, 09:01 AM)
Oh man, fridge is such a low tech appliance... why are you guys willing to spent 5-10k on this shit?
Wait till you see the prices for Liebherr fridges

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Nov 28 2023, 03:04 PM)
Got the Hitachi top-bottom fridge VG750PM for less than 3.5k during Lazada sales. SO far running fine but during the startup when compressor is under load, the humming sound is quite obvious even if i stand a few feet away from it. Maybe due to my house is still empty as I haven't move in the stuff yet. Will keep on monitor this.

BTW those interested getting bigger fridge, pls do pay attention to the depth as my cabinet supplier recommended the standard 600mm depth for my fridge cabinet and this big fridge is protruding out a bit too much than my liking. A 650mm depth would be perfect.
You didn't measure before buying?

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 28 2023, 03:33 PM
lowyat101
post Nov 28 2023, 03:32 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 28 2023, 09:01 AM)
i believe it's for those direct japan import models, with some fancy drawers etc

ZeneticX
post Nov 28 2023, 03:40 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Nov 28 2023, 03:32 PM)
i believe it's for those direct japan import models, with some fancy drawers etc
Just to add on why these fridges are so expensive other than import cost, tax etc. These made in Japan fridges use some special insulation for their bodies, so they can be placed in very tight spaces without the need of minimum gaps unlike typical fridges
lowyat101
post Nov 28 2023, 04:07 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 28 2023, 03:40 PM)
Just to add on why these fridges are so expensive other than import cost, tax etc. These made in Japan fridges use some special insulation for their bodies, so they can be placed in very tight spaces without the need of minimum gaps unlike typical fridges
i see, thanks for the info.

but i do believe the heat still has to go somewhere else. just wondering how they manage this? maybe they reduce the cooling speed to minimise the heat generation?

ZeneticX
post Nov 28 2023, 04:31 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Nov 28 2023, 04:07 PM)
i see, thanks for the info.

but i do believe the heat still has to go somewhere else. just wondering how they manage this? maybe they reduce the cooling speed to minimise the heat generation?
some have air vents at the bottom and top of the fridge, so the hot air was vent out from the top and bottom instead

some china brands also start to utilise this design

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 28 2023, 04:40 PM
Matchy
post Nov 30 2023, 12:17 AM

1,325 posts

Any recommendation for side by side fridge?
ZeneticX
post Nov 30 2023, 12:58 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Nov 30 2023, 12:17 AM)
Any recommendation for side by side fridge?
budget? spacing size?
Matchy
post Nov 30 2023, 10:40 AM

1,325 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 30 2023, 12:58 AM)
budget? spacing size?
budget around 3k++... size looking at 650L++

ZeneticX
post Nov 30 2023, 02:19 PM

stars for what