Traveler
post Jun 12 2009, 10:36 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 12 2009, 08:47 AM)
many forumer here is not $$$ rich wat, not can afford hardcore fine dining with foie gras, truffles and expensive wines...
That may be so.. but I would still consider fine dining to be the prim & proper places like Lafite, Frangipani, etc.. Chinese food is also fine if it's places like Chyna, Shang Palace, etc.. but decor and ambience must be of a minimum standard la. I would say if the food/ambience can't match a bottle of Lafite-Rothschild, Margaux, or d'Yquem, then it's not fine dining.

Places like kopitiams and all that.. aren't fine dining.. but maybe tasty dining instead biggrin.gif

Fine dining is not always tasty, and tasty dining is not always fine.
SUSahjames
post Jun 12 2009, 11:22 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Jun 12 2009, 10:36 AM)
Fine dining is not always tasty
well said.
its like art. u may not appreicate wat the chef has done to the dish.

i personelly prefer my food presented neat, fresh and tasty. fine dine, well, once in a while if i can get a worthy date wink.gif

SUSbuntutman
post Jun 12 2009, 12:47 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Jun 12 2009, 10:36 AM)
That may be so.. but I would still consider fine dining to be the prim & proper places like Lafite, Frangipani, etc.. Chinese food is also fine if it's places like Chyna, Shang Palace, etc.. but decor and ambience must be of a minimum standard la. I would say if the food/ambience can't match a bottle of Lafite-Rothschild, Margaux, or d'Yquem, then it's not fine dining.

Places like kopitiams and all that.. aren't fine dining.. but maybe tasty dining instead biggrin.gif

Fine dining is not always tasty, and tasty dining is not always fine.
gwailou fine dining = atmosphere

Asian fine dining = quality food.

danny_sp15
post Jun 12 2009, 01:44 PM

==============
3,045 posts

well, i actually opened up a new topic for dining recommendations at a decent place for 2 people with a low budget. not fine dining like the ones u guys mentioned. but mod moved the thread here, so it's in fine dining now. huhu... but u guys still helped out a lot. cant wait to celebrate her birthday next month! biggrin.gif
Vintage
post Jun 12 2009, 08:27 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 11 2009, 08:48 AM)
Ok this another of my rekomen

Star HIll Gallery (lower ground)
FISHERMAN'S COVE

http://eatdrinkkl.blogspot.com/2009/05/fis...downstairs.html

I eated there few times, very enjoi the fish dishes, is consider of fine dining to me.

dinner for 2 set me back RM200++ (easily 300++)

Taste wise is real good, but location caveat: the walking pathways in Starhill Feast is pebblestones. Not for those lady who seldom wear heels!

YES! I have to agree with you. Fisherman's Cove is a great place to eat in terms of atmosphere and food. The scallops were cooked very well and their ratatouille dish is amazing! And I think it's one of the few places to eat a souffle.
GroundMan
post Jun 13 2009, 12:19 AM

210 posts

hey guys, i will be going to Tamarind Springs this coming weekend.

Anyone knows how to get there? I know its in Ampang, and im not familiar at all with the roads going there. And oh i will be going from Subang SS15.

Thanks smile.gif

goldfries
post Jun 13 2009, 04:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Jun 12 2009, 12:47 PM)

i beg to differ, i think to Asian - anything more expensive than their usual is FINE DINING. biggrin.gif

and who's to say our non-Asian counterpart does not think fine dining as quality food?
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 13 2009, 04:20 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Jun 10 2009, 03:48 AM)
better sos to read about fine dining.
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/15254472
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 13 2009, 04:10 AM)
i beg to differ, i think to Asian - anything more expensive than their usual is FINE DINING. biggrin.gif

and who's to say our non-Asian counterpart does not think fine dining as quality food?
u can clicky @ reliable sos. no virus punya. post #208 sudah taip.
goldfries
post Jun 13 2009, 04:41 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Jun 13 2009, 04:20 AM)
u can clicky @ reliable sos. no virus punya. post #208 sudah taip.
see, that's the thing. the article you posted doesn't even support what you're saying.

QUOTE(buntutman @ Jun 12 2009, 12:47 PM)

the way you put it, is like Asian FD has quality food while non-Asian is on atmosphere............ and that's not what the article said.

all the article said was.

But unlike in Asia, European restaurants place more emphasis on the trappings of fine dining, and Gordon Ramsay is no exception. Bouquets of fresh flowers adorn the 13-table dining room, and the menu includes rarefied dishes like pigeon and Cornish lamb.

feel free to point out any error on my end, because i don't see the article supporting your point.

from what i see, what i see it still says fine dining in both places are still a matter about atmosphere and quality food, just that the non-Asian people (in the article, Europeans) pay more attention to the details in atmosphere.

that is certainly not like what your simplified equation is saying.
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 13 2009, 04:53 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 13 2009, 04:41 AM)
see, that's the thing. the article you posted doesn't even support what you're saying.
the way you put it, is like Asian FD has quality food while non-Asian is on atmosphere............ and that's not what the article said.

all the article said was.
feel free to point out any error on my end, because i don't see the article supporting your point.

from what i see, what i see it still says fine dining in both places are still a matter about atmosphere and quality food, just that the non-Asian people (in the article, Europeans) pay more attention to the details in atmosphere.

that is certainly not like what your simplified equation is saying.
this paragraph..... i bet u looking for pretty waitresses pics oni
sez european place more emphasis on ......... and if its unlike in asia, means asians place more emphasis on quality of food rather than atmosphere. btul tak?

Of course, you can fork over major dough for your bread in many other countries as well. In China, people pay thousands of dollars for shark fin, abalone and bear paw. And at the three-Michelin-starred Gordon Ramsay in London, Zagat surveyors estimated the cost of dinner and an alcoholic beverage for one, plus tip, at close to $200. But unlike in Asia, European restaurants place more emphasis on the trappings of fine dining, and Gordon Ramsay is no exception. Bouquets of fresh flowers adorn the 13-table dining room, and the menu includes rarefied dishes like pigeon and Cornish lamb. Interested? Pick up your planner: Reservations must be made at least two months in advance.
goldfries
post Jun 13 2009, 05:05 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

that's the paragraph that i quoted in my post la. biggrin.gif

my point was that your EQUATION is so simplified that it look like you're saying Asian is about FOOD, and non-Asian is about PLACE.

it's not something like

Asian - 30% place, 70% food
non-Asian - 70% place, 30% food
(that's something like how you put it, put it any % you may)

if you read carefully, the entire article, you'll see that it doesn't say that way. it just says that Euros pay more emphasis on trappings.

and while the example is on China, that doesn't mean non-Asians don't pay for expensive food either. get it?

again i re-iterate my point - I'm saying that both side are paying premium for FOOD and PLACE, just that non-Asians place more emphasis on the atmosphere.

assuming if we go by equation. perhaps you could scale it like

Asian = 100% food, 100% place
Non-Asian = 100% food, 110% place

not going to argue on who appreciates more, but the % above is just to illustrate my point.

i hope this is clear already. if not then i donno how to better explain to you.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 13 2009, 05:06 AM
noprob
post Jun 25 2009, 07:19 PM

1,982 posts

Restaurant Bandar Putri Puchong
IINM ..
Latitude 3.01363
Longitude 101.61577
SUSahjames
post Jun 25 2009, 09:23 PM

My Name James
1,337 posts

what do they serve there or should i just go there and be surprised?
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 25 2009, 09:47 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 2 2009, 08:56 AM)
Loon Sing not very good le. The place only looks very grand, like castle. Inside look like highclass restaurant. The food prepared like fini dining, got decoration and all. But the taste....ok ok la. It is nice but nothing spectacular. Not worth the money. Go there only if want to eat expensive stuff that;s not sold elsewhere. Like shark fin, lobster, big big fish, exotic animal etc etc.
u dunno how to order oni.
noprob
post Jun 25 2009, 10:11 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 25 2009, 09:23 PM)
what do they serve there or should i just go there and be surprised?
mostly malaysian style cook, western, and oso thai kopitiam style restaurant

http://www.foodstreet.com.my/food-street/o...n+Bandar+Puteri
TSpilotHans
post Jul 13 2009, 04:08 AM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

hi, just want to remind u guys, whatever food u take, please do not consume shark fin smile.gif
miss-steph18
post Jul 13 2009, 11:18 AM

102 posts

Any suggestion for nice & good environment restarant? I went to the Look Out Point in Hulu Langat. Great place. Any other places similar to this restaurant? My purpose is to celebrate my friend's birthday
SUSahjames
post Jul 13 2009, 12:22 PM

My Name James
1,337 posts

look out point is not fine dining liao
fine dining must have candlelight and romance music and foie gras one liao
deodorant
post Jul 13 2009, 12:42 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

loon sing only certain dishes are really good, the rest ok-ok only.

i like the tungpo yuk (black). also they got one dish i forgot the name, it's like a fist-sized prawn ball with strands of ... uh ... edible decoration ... haha don't know how to describe.

but i've never tried their super exp stuff. like the rm250/pax fat *** cheong, walau ... that is half my monthly food budget ...
SUSbuntutman
post Jul 13 2009, 10:42 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 13 2009, 12:42 PM)
loon sing only certain dishes are really good, the rest ok-ok only.

i like the tungpo yuk (black). also they got one dish i forgot the name, it's like a fist-sized prawn ball with strands of ... uh ... edible decoration ... haha don't know how to describe.

but i've never tried their super exp stuff. like the rm250/pax fat *** cheong, walau ... that is half my monthly food budget ...
they have the RM 6000 for 10 pax ftc. special pre-order.

105 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0281sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:42 AM