105 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Food Fine Dining Recommendations, Romantic, Birthday & special occassions

shauno
post Jun 10 2009, 10:36 PM

249 posts

MFM like you said is only good for their prawns which i enjoy too biggrin.gif but nothing special besides that. their service sucks for sure. too darn slow. sad.gif
i think vintry near Pusat bandar damansara serves rather nice food, with a nice enough setting. but its non halal tho. Las Carritas is another great choice definitely falls in your budget, but i don't think there's one in a mall. but imo, eateries in a mall don't really ooze nice ambiance for a special dinner =/
goldfries
post Jun 10 2009, 10:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jun 10 2009, 06:40 PM)
not sure about malay fine-dining... sure there are hotels serving malay cuisine at ridiculous prices (especially near the fasting month or hari raya), but i doubt they taste better than the real deal (the ones prepared by the orang kampungs)... there's a place called "seri melaka" besides chili's at one utama, and they're charging about rm188 for 2 person, for some malay cuisine consisting of white rice, some rendang, some kerabu, etc. rm188 for that? seriously ridiculous...
so u like malay food? i like chinese food! cos my mom is chinese, so she knows how to cook some halal chinese cuisines. she just replaces the pork with chicken in her recipes. hehe, indian food is quite universal, cos every race also go to mamak stalls. hehe. biggrin.gif

maybe cos

a) i come from a region with 90%+ Malays
b) i might have blood from other race. brows.gif

but this being M'sia - we actually enjoy food of race that are not ours.

however, i refuse to pay premium for something that's not better than what's outside.

the thing is this la, when it comes to Western food, those at higher-end places really DO serve much better food.

even in TGIF / Chilis, you can have a delicious burger for RM 20, get it to be done medium-rare and voila, beats the crap out of the expensive Wendy's, Carls and BK.

same can't be said for those Malay / Chinese food, often over priced equivalent of what could be found other place.

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jun 10 2009, 06:40 PM)
u guys ever went to manhattan fish market? what's ur opinion? i've been there a few times, but the dishes are disappointing IMO... i thought they really have branches in manhattan, but it turns out they only have a few branches in m'sia, s'pore and indonesia.. it's just that they're using the concept of the real fish market in manhattan... the only meal i like from them is the flaming prawns...

for me, their fish & chip set. the dory fish with that sauce of theirs, it's good.

other than that, i haven't try them.

Added on June 10, 2009, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(shauno @ Jun 10 2009, 10:36 PM)
i think vintry near Pusat bandar damansara serves rather nice food, with a nice enough setting. but its non halal tho. Las Carritas is another great choice definitely falls in your budget, but i don't think there's one in a mall. but imo, eateries in a mall don't really ooze nice ambiance for a special dinner =/

Las Carretas! biggrin.gif been there, i find the food ok la. it's nice and special but don't feel like going back.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 10 2009, 10:46 PM
danny_sp15
post Jun 10 2009, 10:49 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jun 10 2009, 10:36 PM)
MFM like you said is only good for their prawns which i enjoy too biggrin.gif but nothing special besides that. their service sucks for sure. too darn slow. sad.gif
yup, their prawns (although a bit small) are way much better than their fish servings. i thought my fried dory was a bit fishy and tasteless and weird texture cos it's a cheap fish, so i ordered a grilled salmon during the next visit, and it's still the same... or maybe i just dunno how to appreciate those kind of dishes... tongue.gif
anyway, yeah, eateries in malls arent as exquisite as the ones outside, and the atmosphere is different too, but eating outside is quite a hassle for her... she doesnt like having to go to many places in one day... unless it's just dinner, then i can take her outside... but knowing her, she would like to shop and watch a movie afterwards, so i'll have to settle for something inside the mall... thanks for ur suggestion though sweat.gif
goldfries
post Jun 10 2009, 10:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

eateries in mall also depends la. you see places like Vietnam Kitchen (less crowded area of 1U new wing), Zanmai Sushi (less crowded area of 1U new wing), Chilis (less crowded area of 1U new wing), Good Evening Bangkok (hidden corner of 1U new wing), TGIF (hidden corner of 1U old wing) and so on - they're actually ok mah in terms of ambience.

i didn't like Good Evening Bangkok dishes though. lucky eat for free. brows.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jun 10 2009, 10:55 PM
danny_sp15
post Jun 10 2009, 11:03 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 10 2009, 10:44 PM)
a) i come from a region with 90%+ Malays
b) i might have blood from other race. brows.gif

the thing is this la, when it comes to Western food, those at higher-end places really DO serve much better food.

even in TGIF / Chilis, you can have a delicious burger for RM 20, get it to be done medium-rare and voila, beats the crap out of the expensive Wendy's, Carls and BK.

same can't be said for those Malay / Chinese food, often over priced equivalent of what could be found other place.
u're from... kelantan? and u're a... mix too? hehe. anyway, agree with the bolded sentences. i'm a big fan of prawn mee, and it seems that the ones sold by the hawkers or made by my mom beat the ones sold at those kopitiams, little penang, penang this, penang that cafe... same goes for nasi lemak, and some other traditional recipes...
i ordered a burger at chili's once, it was medium-rare, and the burger was really huge and the meat was really juicy! but i guess my stomach wasnt used to half-cooked meat, i got diarrhoea for 3 days... so painful i cant even walk to the toilet, need to crawl... next time i'm ordering well done...

for me, their fish & chip set. the dory fish with that sauce of theirs, it's good.
oh, the same thing i had... but mine was terrible though...

Added on June 10, 2009, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 10 2009, 10:54 PM)
eateries in mall also depends la. you see places like Vietnam Kitchen (less crowded area of 1U new wing), Zanmai Sushi (less crowded area of 1U new wing), Chilis (less crowded area of 1U new wing), Good Evening Bangkok (hidden corner of 1U new wing), TGIF (hidden corner of 1U old wing) and so on - they're actually ok mah in terms of ambience.
vietnam kitchen cannot eat cos they serve pork... but there's a similar diner at shah alam, called asiari, serving the same stuff like vietnam kitchen but without the pork dishes... thank god they have a halal branch! the food is really good for the low prices... the vietnam coffee is highly recommended! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Jun 10 2009, 11:15 PM
goldfries
post Jun 10 2009, 11:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jun 10 2009, 11:03 PM)
u're from... kelantan? and u're a... mix too

not mixed, but often mistaken to be a Malay.

suspect may have ancestors of other race. not sure, since i come from the North. biggrin.gif

speaking of makan, you can try Cozy Corner. Ampang Park | Jaya 33 | Great Eastern Mall.

i would go GE Mall wan la, you see a lot of Malays go there for their lunch on Sunday - so i believe it's Halal la. waitress seems to be Malay too. so yeah, i guess confirm lor.
danny_sp15
post Jun 10 2009, 11:24 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 10 2009, 11:13 PM)
not mixed, but often mistaken to be a Malay.

suspect may have ancestors of other race. not sure, since i come from the North. biggrin.gif

speaking of makan, you can try Cozy Corner. Ampang Park | Jaya 33 | Great Eastern Mall.

i would go GE Mall wan la, you see a lot of Malays go there for their lunch on Sunday - so i believe it's Halal la. waitress seems to be Malay too. so yeah, i guess confirm lor.
ohh... maybe u do have mixed blood... hehe.. maybe that's why u like malay food... brows.gif
hmm, i went to cozy corner once in ampang park... their chinese-style beef steaks are to die for! just rm20 for 3 generous slabs of tender juicy meat, i have no idea how are they making profit... great service too.. looking forward to another visit soon.. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jun 10 2009, 11:27 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

their chicken chop too pricey la. i got better place to go at around 1/3 the price.

but i like the GE Mall branch for their food la. good choice, clean place. decent service and speed.
danny_sp15
post Jun 10 2009, 11:47 PM

==============
3,045 posts

guess they use the profit from the chicken chop to cover for the chinese-style steak... hmm.gif anyway, will consider this diner as well.. smile.gif
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 11 2009, 12:19 AM

324 posts

i rekomen u eat fine dining at pappa rich kopitiam !
FlameMe
post Jun 11 2009, 12:31 AM

125 posts

i rekomen hailam kopitiam!
danny_sp15
post Jun 11 2009, 12:47 AM

==============
3,045 posts

pappa rich i always see, but hailam kopitiam never heard of them...
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 11 2009, 02:48 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jun 11 2009, 12:47 AM)
pappa rich i always see, but hailam kopitiam never heard of them...
i wish i didnt hear of hailam kopitiam b4 also. stimix always bring me there cry.gif
wKkaY
post Jun 11 2009, 04:15 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

How the heck did the fine dining thread degenerate into this??!
SUSahjames
post Jun 11 2009, 08:48 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

Ok this another of my rekomen

Star HIll Gallery (lower ground)

FISHERMAN'S COVE

http://eatdrinkkl.blogspot.com/2009/05/fis...downstairs.html

I eated there few times, very enjoi the fish dishes, is consider of fine dining to me.

dinner for 2 set me back RM200++ (easily 300++)

Taste wise is real good, but location caveat: the walking pathways in Starhill Feast is pebblestones. Not for those lady who seldom wear heels!

Traveler
post Jun 11 2009, 09:21 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jun 11 2009, 08:48 AM)
Star HIll Gallery (lower ground)
FISHERMAN'S COVE
Fisherman's Cove is very nice. Ate there a few times. Good tasty food and nice ambience, especially if you are seated upstairs.
SUSahjames
post Jun 11 2009, 09:57 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

but do not be suprising at the portions, esp the appetizer.

some are REALLY small. dainty. but flavorful is much.
SUSbuntutman
post Jun 12 2009, 12:36 AM

324 posts

i am not rekomen fine dining at lobsterman in pj ss2. really manyak kedekut. sos oso wanna kedekut how to do business la like dat.
my thermidor, fuah RM 200++. sos given is worst than kicap ok. gimme kicap oso better.
goldfries
post Jun 12 2009, 05:21 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jun 11 2009, 04:15 AM)
How the heck did the fine dining thread degenerate into this??!
haha. well this happens when people have their own definition of fine dining.

have been explaining it since February........
SUSahjames
post Jun 12 2009, 08:47 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Jun 12 2009, 12:36 AM)
i am not rekomen fine dining at lobsterman in pj ss2. really manyak kedekut. sos oso wanna kedekut how to do business la like dat.
my thermidor, fuah RM 200++. sos given is worst than kicap ok. gimme kicap oso better.
i have to say d lobsterman SS2, per lobster cost is reasonable but yeah the sos really kedekut.
i eat the lobster with yee mee also less sos.

go for baked one or sashimi lor. bring ur own kikkoman kicap to dip the sashimi la.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 12 2009, 05:21 AM)
haha. well this happens when people have their own definition of fine dining.

have been explaining it since February........
many forumer here is not $$$ rich wat, not can afford hardcore fine dining with foie gras, truffles and expensive wines...

105 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:03 PM