and frankly, the forest hedgehog looks a bit tamer than expected.
Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout
Jan 13 2009, 05:16 PM
821 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
well, i don't think your wish will be too hard to come true. in nz at night times the wild hedgehogs will wander into residential backyards or gardens to search for food (insects), so i think you'll meet up again with the hedgehogs soon.
and frankly, the forest hedgehog looks a bit tamer than expected. |
Jan 13 2009, 06:37 PM
2,723 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Pekopon Planet ~~~ |
QUOTE In areas where hedgehogs have been introduced, such as New Zealand and the islands of Scotland, the hedgehog itself has become a pest. In New Zealand it causes immense damage to native species including insects, snails and ground-nesting birds, particularly shore birds. sorry u guys.. bitter truth.. it is consider as a pest here in nz.. same like possum between nz and oz.. |
Jan 13 2009, 06:40 PM
487 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
wow. msia we pay for hedgies ><
Jan 13 2009, 06:43 PM
2,903 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Somewhere in KL |
Lol, it's like BTS in Australia. They're pests and very common there, here we pay 300 to 400 for one baby BTS.
Jan 13 2009, 07:09 PM
whats a BTS @@?
Jan 13 2009, 07:13 PM
2,903 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Somewhere in KL |
Blue Tongued Skink. OkOK! Off-topic!
Jan 13 2009, 10:50 PM
143 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Jan 14 2009, 05:38 PM
37 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: KL |
yalo yalo, Marble so so...cute
my hedgehod seems dun like hard boil egg yeh...he bites 1 or 2 times onli and yesterday he act like try to escape again, owaz try to prison break ...make me so sad n worry..... yesterday i tried hand fed (gt switch on light) n he go bac to his hiding place n dun1 to eat. |
Jan 14 2009, 06:05 PM
249 posts Joined: May 2006 |
^
Hedgehogs also got different taste. Hehe. You can try other food. What about mealworms? (Mine doesn't likes mealworms already) Without wheels they are boring, provide them a wheel will usually keep them entertained. Works for mine and my friend's. If you get a good wheel, I believe is not easy for them to hurt themselves. |
Jan 14 2009, 08:01 PM
heard wat u say felt better, so it's ok if he dun like egg lor^^
i got gv mealworms but almost finish ady.... erm....u guys got gv vegetable or fruit ohh...? any example...? haha,then hope he likes it lar,if he want to prison break again, i'll very very sad jor... yesterday i tried hand fed (gt switch on light) n he go bac to his hiding place n dun1 to eat but if i switch off the light,i put my hand inside the box, he'll cum n smell de leh...but really jz for a while onli .... |
Jan 14 2009, 10:48 PM
249 posts Joined: May 2006 |
^
Don't worry, is their natural instinct to come out after all lights are off. You can try giving several kinds of fruits and vege in small quantity. In the wild they'll some times eat these but hardly. Last time I gave mine HPW diet (for sugar gliders), but now she doesn't likes it anymore. |
Jan 15 2009, 01:48 AM
Ma hedgie love strawberry jams...
But she never eat mealworm before...I try many times to make her eat it, but juz sniff sniff the worm.. i mix up the mealworm with the kibbles, she don't want to eat at all including the kibbles.. I try give her the big mealworm, also don't want...Then i give ulat gonggok...Juz kidding... But the thing is, she don't want to eat her worms...So got to substitute with another source of protein... Guys any suggestion to make her take the worm? |
Jan 15 2009, 12:41 PM
1,256 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: USJ Subang Jaya |
Meento : Demonstrate in front of her la! U eat one in front of her! Then u see she follow not, if not, eat again.
Jan 15 2009, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jan 15 2009, 12:41 PM) Meento : Demonstrate in front of her la! U eat one in front of her! Then u see she follow not, if not, eat again. Haha kelvin u play2 r...Come u eat first in front of me...then i follow u...How is Mr.Humprey...still fat fat like always? Share some pic of him lar Kelvin |
Jan 15 2009, 01:33 PM
humprey banyak gemuk
Jan 15 2009, 03:30 PM
821 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
although mealworms are a good source of protein, they also contain too much fat percentage for hedgehogs, so instead of finding ways to feed it mealworms, maybe boiled egg (only white, without yolk) will be a better choice?
that if your hedgehog takes eggs. some hedgehogs are just generally picky. i'm stuck with several types of RCs because one of them is extremely picky, even on catfood itself let alone treats. |
Jan 15 2009, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(meento @ Jan 15 2009, 01:48 AM) Ma hedgie love strawberry jams... strawberryjam..? But she never eat mealworm before...I try many times to make her eat it, but juz sniff sniff the worm.. i mix up the mealworm with the kibbles, she don't want to eat at all including the kibbles.. I try give her the big mealworm, also don't want...Then i give ulat gonggok...Juz kidding... But the thing is, she don't want to eat her worms...So got to substitute with another source of protein... Guys any suggestion to make her take the worm? QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Jan 15 2009, 03:30 PM) although mealworms are a good source of protein, they also contain too much fat percentage for hedgehogs, so instead of finding ways to feed it mealworms, maybe boiled egg (only white, without yolk) will be a better choice? now stil nt tat worry abt tis...coz my hedgehod nt fat(for me,he got a bit thin) n nt clumsy at all n i think he stil need sum fat that if your hedgehog takes eggs. some hedgehogs are just generally picky. i'm stuck with several types of RCs because one of them is extremely picky, even on catfood itself let alone treats. |
Jan 15 2009, 09:01 PM
1,710 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Klang, Selangor D.E. |
Wasai, you guys hedgehog so many food to choose 1
Most of time like to eat dry cat food and mealworm, sometime also eat the oat that stick with mealworm.. But if the hedgehog eat eggs, I think the yolk also give it, because it contain a lot nutrition, this I learn it when doing sugar glider mix food |
Jan 16 2009, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(zoeyhanz @ Jan 15 2009, 04:26 PM) I usually put some on a small plate...Mix up with some kibbles also..Let her smell 1st, then walaahhhhh..She eat like a pig hahaha... But seriously, very gelojoh lar ma girl when having her strawberry jam.. This post has been edited by meento: Jan 16 2009, 02:03 AM |
Jan 16 2009, 11:59 AM
haha....i was wonder why u hv the idea to let her hv strawberry jam
hey guys....Chinese New Year coming, bring ur hedgehod bac? but how? sounds hard yeh....i was keep thinking abt tis.. |
| Change to: | 0.0290sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:59 PM |