is this hedgehog or porcupine
coz it got stuck in our underground gutter.
afraid it might shoot its duri
coz this one i guess the wild one
Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout
Jan 13 2009, 06:37 AM
2,723 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Pekopon Planet ~~~ |
Jan 13 2009, 07:15 AM
QUOTE(empty_reg @ Jan 13 2009, 07:07 AM) ^ what should i feed it??Where did you snap the picture? Shouldn't be a porcupine, cause the colour and size doesn't match above. Looks like some sort of salt and pepper to me, think I can see the nose at 6 o'clock. As long as you have a thick fibre (tower, thick gloves, your shirt) on hands you can carry it. Tricky part is getting it our from there, won't be easy. took it out already.. lol it's 12pm rite now.. and i called the city council, they said this one might be ill thinking to release it.. coz don wanna add burden to my pocket would like to keep it though coz this country doesnt have hamster |
Jan 13 2009, 07:24 AM
Jan 13 2009, 07:57 AM
Jan 13 2009, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jan 13 2009, 08:53 AM) Is it tame? Does he rools up when u approach him? If he shows no sign of aggresiveness, then maybe u can put him up for adoption, rather than releasing him to the bush. yeap, Please find another hedgehog owner near ur place to have him checked. This hedgehog is too cute to be put in a bush. and i think the nose is wet. flu maybe. i put vege and water. .but no reaction. how to make it drink the water.. This post has been edited by fantagero: Jan 13 2009, 09:02 AM |
Jan 13 2009, 09:40 AM
Jan 13 2009, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Jan 13 2009, 11:43 AM) it's pretty similar to forest hedgehogs or west european according to wikipedia, from the photos that you've posted. i'm not in malaysia.do you know of any hedgehog owners where you stay (johor if i've mistaken from your sig)? or maybe someone who'll be interested to take care of them for the time being? i don't think these hedgehogs belong in the wild, so they're unlikely to survive if released back to nature. we do not have hedgehogs in our forests, and they're most likely pets released by owners. contacted Rspca, they said to release them bcoz afraid they got virus or worm.. so.. tonite gonna hard-boil egg and try to feed it.. |
Jan 13 2009, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Jan 13 2009, 12:58 PM) ah, no wonder. then would it be too personal to ask you about your whereabouts? that's what i'm thinking.. gonna release it in an hour.. bye bye hedgie.. lolsince you're not in malaysia, i can't make more assumptions, but if you're in countries like nz, australia and others, it's pretty common to find wild forest hedgehogs in the garden or backyard, which in this case, the hedgehogs you rescued could be from the wild. malaysia doesn't have wild hedgehogs but there are many countries that do, so perhaps it's only lost or got stuck. it might be from bush infront of our flat.. dang.. the spine so damn sharp hard to lift it This post has been edited by fantagero: Jan 13 2009, 01:10 PM |
Jan 13 2009, 01:33 PM
YES
hedgie ate hard boiled egg lol.. i do really wanna keep hedgehog as a pet back in msia.. but too expensive for me.. now i found two of em rite in front of my flat gonna upload one video when i released one today This post has been edited by fantagero: Jan 13 2009, 01:38 PM |
Jan 13 2009, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(meento @ Jan 13 2009, 01:46 PM) utube ruined my videos.. lol uploaded at sendspace.com instead. http://www.sendspace.com/file/qzgzdx that area is the bush in front of our flat.. This post has been edited by fantagero: Jan 13 2009, 01:59 PM |
Jan 13 2009, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(meento @ Jan 13 2009, 02:50 PM) Back to the wild little durian...Thanks 4 the vid... ur a good person 4 taking good care of the hedgie... I tink the hedgie going to do fine since it shows up from the same area... BTW, where is the other 1? I thought u found 2 of them... QUOTE(zoeyhanz @ Jan 13 2009, 03:21 PM) wah...feels like many things happen wor... the one in the video is the 2nd one.. i released it rite away after i found it.cant watch the video,coz my coll wifi so lag nw.. haha~i oso try hard boil egg today^^ yalo yalo~ so hw n whr is the 2nd one? the one in picture is the 1st one.. i just released it about an hour ago.. will try to upload the vid asap Added on January 13, 2009, 3:42 pmreleased the 1st one, the one in the pictures http://www.sendspace.com/file/qgvs0r pt1 http://www.sendspace.com/file/8cle9n pt2 thanks all This post has been edited by fantagero: Jan 13 2009, 03:42 PM |
Jan 13 2009, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(zoeyhanz @ Jan 13 2009, 03:42 PM) hand feed... lol.. coz i really wanted a hedgehog back in msia. but that time no money.. haha....toilet train...mine one learn a bit on toilet train ady yeh...jz a bit onli but happy ady hope he wont poo n pee at the wheel after i get he 1 fantagero : hihi...but actually u sounds happy n fun for the whole progress frm rescue,feed,everything yeh now found 2 at the same time.. but released edy since they belong to the wild.. hahha the bush is just infront of my flat.. so maybe can meet them again.. lol i want to keep a hamster but nz doesnt have hamster.. they have the big guinea pig i think.. too big.. not the same as my mine back in msia.. lol |
Jan 13 2009, 06:37 PM
QUOTE In areas where hedgehogs have been introduced, such as New Zealand and the islands of Scotland, the hedgehog itself has become a pest. In New Zealand it causes immense damage to native species including insects, snails and ground-nesting birds, particularly shore birds. sorry u guys.. bitter truth.. it is consider as a pest here in nz.. same like possum between nz and oz.. |
| Change to: | 0.0455sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:10 AM |