127 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?

hsiengloong
post Aug 5 2009, 04:01 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Was emailing them as i haven made up my mind yet... Even until now i have not committed anything as i wanna do my research further tongue.gif At the end of the day, this is still my first set of HT hehe

rthj
post Aug 5 2009, 06:05 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 5 2009, 10:52 AM)
then y in the 1st place u wasting ur time searching for the dune, and emailling here and there?

but from my point of view, most prolly, if u gotten the dvico, and dun think u will be pumping money into a bd player
well.....i have bought a standalone bd player after i got the dvico.

i think there are some benefit to get separate units....
ar188
post Aug 5 2009, 07:24 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 5 2009, 02:19 PM)

Display is the primary component of the HT, BD players and all are secondary.
dam right! thumbup.gif
rthj
post Aug 5 2009, 07:28 PM

1,048 posts

speaking of display in HT, this tagline by Blu Ray association (i think its them who came up with this) is quite true as well..

"Without Blu Ray, your HDTV is JUST a TV"

ar188
post Aug 5 2009, 07:34 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Aug 5 2009, 07:28 PM)
speaking of display in HT, this tagline by Blu Ray association (i think its them who came up with this) is quite true as well..

"Without Blu Ray, your HDTV is JUST a TV"
but it is a TV.. biggrin.gif unless you gonna download blu-ray signales into your brain directly you still need your eyes to look at the TV right? biggrin.gif
rthj
post Aug 5 2009, 07:52 PM

1,048 posts

no one denies that it is a tv or display, depends on how you perceive it.

think the idea of the tagline means that it wont utilize its full potential without blu ray.

thought that message is obvious enough.

ar188
post Aug 5 2009, 08:27 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Aug 5 2009, 07:52 PM)
no one denies that it is a tv or display, depends on how you perceive it.

think the idea of the tagline means that it wont utilize its full potential without blu ray.

thought that message is obvious enough.
not really, it's just a BD centric/biased message, anything other hi-def video media with 720p or 1080p or even computer source at XGA or more, would also have made a HDTV display feel more than just a TV... think about it.. smile.gif

HD satellite/cable broadcast with the ability to watch HDTV 24/7 would be more important than singlular event blu-ray discs..
rthj
post Aug 5 2009, 08:46 PM

1,048 posts

and these hi-def media is available due to...?

isnt the HD sat/ca broadcast still limited to 720p?
hsiengloong
post Aug 5 2009, 08:51 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

I agree that the PQ of high def videos (720p) and above is a beauty.

I started with Dvd, and after i watched my first 720p movie, i became addicted and started to download 720p movies..

I've yet to view a true 1080p on my LCD yet
ar188
post Aug 5 2009, 10:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Aug 5 2009, 08:46 PM)
and these hi-def media is available due to...?

isnt the HD sat/ca broadcast still limited to 720p?
these hi-def media is made available due to broadcast channels way before there is such a thing called BD la..

err.. HD standard and TVs with resolutions above NTSC/PAL (EDTVs and later HDTVs) came out years before blu-ray... so I think it's BS to think blu-ray made HDTV..

why limited to 720p?.. they first came out in 1080i.....
rthj
post Aug 6 2009, 01:20 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 5 2009, 05:19 PM)
these hi-def media is made available due to broadcast channels way before there is such a thing called BD la..

err.. HD standard and TVs with resolutions above NTSC/PAL (EDTVs and later HDTVs) came out years before blu-ray... so I think it's BS to think blu-ray made HDTV..

why limited to 720p?.. they first came out in 1080i.....
think they're just saying that blu ray bring the most of the HDTV.

by the way, you guys get HD TV broadcast nowadays?
ar188
post Aug 6 2009, 05:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Aug 6 2009, 01:20 PM)
think they're just saying that blu ray bring the most of the HDTV.

by the way, you guys get HD TV broadcast nowadays?
no we don't (and I'm sure you are fully aware about that..malaysia don't have HD broadcast biggrin.gif ) but I'm sure that tagline which you mention from BD association isn't born from malaysia right?
most likely was coined in a country like USA where there is HDTV broadcast since 1998-99.. and where BD isn't the only source of HD materials.. while competing with video on demand and the likes.. smile.gif

anyway, your place got sky HD rite?.. how's the broadcast.. nice ar? 24/7 is HD rez? in 720p or 1080i? surely dem nice... switch on tv already HD.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Aug 6 2009, 05:59 PM
moomoos
post Aug 7 2009, 01:12 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

Just tested the BDP-52,
on first looks, the picture depth is fantastic, sound is excellent
Colours too red and blacks too dark, dealer said not calibrated and tuned to the HD ready projector

Seems funny, he ask me to take the cheapest, sony 350 or the higher end 71 or wait for 72, dont go in the middle, ( rely dont understand wat he meant, said 52 is good but not worth the price, rclxub.gif
didn't mention about Pana 60 oso

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 7 2009, 01:15 AM
ar188
post Aug 7 2009, 01:27 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 7 2009, 01:12 AM)
Just tested the BDP-52,
on first looks, the picture depth is fantastic, sound is excellent
Colours too red and blacks too dark, dealer said not calibrated and tuned to the HD ready projector

Seems funny, he ask me to take the cheapest,  sony 350 or the higher end 71 or wait for 72, dont go in the middle, ( rely dont understand wat he meant, said 52 is good but not worth the price,  rclxub.gif
didn't mention about Pana 60 oso
should take the BD60 with you and replace the BDP52 in the setup to see any visual improvement on the more expensive pioneer.. laugh.gif
aiman04
post Aug 7 2009, 07:10 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

After I updated my BD35 to firmware 2.0, it load discs significantly faster now. Almost as fast as the PS3. thumbup.gif
megatron007
post Aug 7 2009, 07:44 AM

4,000 posts

waa good news... looking fwd for BD60/80 firmware 2.0 biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
htkaki
post Aug 7 2009, 08:48 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Aug 7 2009, 07:44 AM)
waa good news... looking fwd for BD60/80 firmware 2.0 biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
I haven't update mine since the day I got it blush.gif
moomoos
post Aug 7 2009, 09:13 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 7 2009, 01:27 AM)
should take the BD60 with you and replace the BDP52 in the setup to see any visual improvement on the more expensive pioneer..  laugh.gif
precisely, tapi mana dapat BD-60, dealer not selling le,
only selling pioneer, dont have Sony for comparison.

Any forumers compared b4, is pioneer 52 vs pana 60 / sony 350 really worth the extra $$
i know BD60 very good as i saw it at the Pana booth in KLAV, tapi no side by side compare le
thank you,
the funny thing also is the pana guy say if really quality go for pioneer 71(he himself oso using 71, that is b4 BD-60 available in market)

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 7 2009, 09:21 AM
choontoy
post Aug 7 2009, 09:32 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 7 2009, 09:13 AM)
precisely, tapi mana dapat BD-60, dealer not selling le,
only selling pioneer, dont have Sony for comparison.

Any forumers compared b4, is pioneer 52 vs pana 60 / sony 350 really worth the extra $$
i know BD60 very good as i saw it at the Pana booth in KLAV, tapi no side by side compare le
thank you,
the funny thing also is the pana guy say if really quality go for pioneer 71(he himself oso using 71, that is b4 BD-60 available in market)
Me not keen into Pioneer 71BDP.FYI,i got few member have this higher model Pioneer 71 BDP,cannot play T2 Skynet Edition even software updated.
Sori for not offended thos Pioneer kaki. sweat.gif
ronnt88
post Aug 7 2009, 09:37 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Aug 7 2009, 09:32 AM)
Me not keen into Pioneer 71BDP.FYI,i got few member have this higher model Pioneer 71 BDP,cannot play T2 Skynet Edition even software updated.
Sori for not offended thos Pioneer kaki. sweat.gif
woi woi woi.... sure boh? i know 1 case and it's the LX91 not 71 leh.... u sure u not kap siao boh? tongue.gif

anyways, i just received my skynet edition, will test on my 52 tonite.

127 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:18 PM