127 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?

aiman04
post Aug 5 2009, 09:05 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 5 2009, 08:36 AM)
I thought universal adapter means 110-240V, i.e. can accept all voltage.

So confusing isn't it when "universal" has different meaning for different things  rclxub.gif
That's called power adapter and is usually heavy and doesn't have many type of pins. I meant the ones with many type of pins, the "universal travel adapter".

I actually own that. tongue.gif
jimmyteng18
post Aug 5 2009, 09:34 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Aug 4 2009, 03:14 PM)
Agreed
A one-stop player to do all with PQ produced on par with standalone BDP
Moreover the price to purchase separate units of BDP and Media Player is almost the same with just purchasing this unit
U can avoid the trouble of having to switch in between them  smile.gif

Added on August 4, 2009, 3:15 pm

this is the BDP bought by anfieldude bro actually
it's not universal BDP as claimed
need a mod to hack doh.gif
How much is this Oppo BDP-83 and Dune? Which is a better unit?

robinlim
post Aug 5 2009, 09:36 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:05 AM)
That's called power adapter and is usually heavy and doesn't have many type of pins. I meant the ones with many type of pins, the "universal travel adapter".

What I meant is this laugh.gif
used it before in taiwan which is 110V

this word of 'universal' really causing ppl rclxub.gif

Added on August 5, 2009, 9:37 am
QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:34 AM)
err... I have no idea
I do not own anyone of these tongue.gif

This post has been edited by robinlim: Aug 5 2009, 09:37 AM
aiman04
post Aug 5 2009, 09:41 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Aug 5 2009, 09:36 AM)
What I meant is this laugh.gif
used it before in taiwan which is 110V

this word of 'universal' really causing ppl  rclxub.gif

If you use it with your phone's power adapter it should be fine as they're usually 110-240v. smile.gif
robinlim
post Aug 5 2009, 09:50 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:41 AM)
If you use it with your phone's power adapter it should be fine as they're usually 110-240v. smile.gif
I used it for my handycam there as well smile.gif
as long as the power adaptor of the device can accept 100V~240V range
u can use it anywhere in the world
anfieldude
post Aug 5 2009, 09:51 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:34 AM)
Oppo BD83 is USD499 and SGD999 (with region free mod).

Dune was USD499 (up till July31) and USD599 now. It can be bought in Spore as well.

When you say better, what do you mean? What are you looking for?

Dune is more of a Media Player with a BD drive. It uses Sigma Designs SOC. It plays almost all formats and supports E-sata. It is aimed at a different market.

Oppo is a BD player with limited media capabilities. It uses ABT VRS chip. It has superior deinterlacing and scaling.

ar188
post Aug 5 2009, 09:55 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 5 2009, 09:51 AM)

Dune was USD499 (up till July31) and USD599 now. It can be bought in Spore as well.

Dune is more of a Media Player with a BD drive. It uses Sigma Designs SOC. It plays almost all formats and supports E-sata. It is aimed at a different market.

Oppo is a BD player with limited media capabilities. It uses ABT VRS chip. It has superior deinterlacing and scaling.
deinterlacing and scaling -> more of a DVD feature.. as most commercial BD release is 1080p... smile.gif
anfieldude
post Aug 5 2009, 10:09 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:55 AM)
deinterlacing and scaling -> more of a DVD feature.. as most commercial BD release is 1080p... smile.gif
For sure, but it depends on what the person needs. If it is used for only BD, then i think the Panny BD60 is good enuf.

ar188,
I have seen some BD players even mess up 1080p/24fps signals.

I left out some other stuff, but if you are interested there is a colour space conversion as well.

BD is encoded in YCbCr 4:2:0.

All BD players need to do some colour space conversion.

The signal needs to be converted and sent out in YCbCr 4:2:2 , 4:4:4, RGB 0-255 or RGB 16-235.

Some chips do this very badly. Some convert the signal to RGB then reconvert to YCbCr. Some do the other way.

Some of the other things that a BD player needs to do is chroma upscaling error detection/correction and if necessary frame rate conversion and progressive signal reprocessing.

As I said earlier, some BD players convert a 24Hz signal to a 60Hz signal and then reconvert it to 24Hz. I know fo 2 players that do this and they mess it up.

BD players are different. Its just that it will not be noticeable unless you look closely. It is more prominent in displays that exceed 60inches.

Thankfully, the PS3 is a very good BD player in terms of PQ. Most BD players get the stuff almost 90% right. The 10% wrong people don't normally see unless they look.

The Dune is one heck of a set, I would like to get my hands on one to test out its capabilities. If you are viewing media, one thing that is important is the ability to handle non standard cadences. The Oppo does this well even though it is not touted as a media player. I want to test the Dunes capabilites of handling odd cadences to see how if fares.

Will you see all this on a BD? No, so if all u need is a BD player, save ur money and get a Panny BD60! It will keep u satisfied for many years to come.
ar188
post Aug 5 2009, 10:29 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 5 2009, 10:09 AM)
For sure, but it depends on what the person needs. If it is used for only BD, then i think the Panny BD60 is good enuf.

ar188,
I have seen some BD players even mess up 1080p/24fps signals.

I left out some other stuff, but if you are interested there is a colour space conversion as well.

BD is encoded in YCbCr 4:2:0.

All BD players need to do some colour space conversion.

The signal needs to be converted and sent out in YCbCr 4:2:2 , 4:4:4, RGB 0-255 or RGB 16-235.

Some chips do this very badly. Some convert the signal to RGB then reconvert to YCbCr. Some do the other way.

Some of the other things that a BD player needs to do is chroma upscaling error detection/correction and if necessary frame rate conversion and progressive signal reprocessing.

As I said earlier, some BD players convert a 24Hz signal to a 60Hz signal and then reconvert it to 24Hz. I know fo 2 players that do this and they mess it up.

BD players are different. Its just that it will not be noticeable unless you look closely. It is more prominent in displays that exceed 60inches.

Thankfully, the PS3 is a very good BD player in terms of PQ. Most BD players get the stuff almost 90% right. The 10% wrong people don't normally see unless they look.

The Dune is one heck of a set, I would like to get my hands on one to test out its capabilities. If you are viewing media, one thing that is important is the ability to handle non standard cadences. The Oppo does this well even though it is not touted as a media player. I want to test the Dunes capabilites of handling odd cadences to see how if fares.

Will you see all this on a BD? No, so if all u need is a BD player, save ur money and get a Panny BD60! It will keep u satisfied for many years to come.
even though the above symptoms and video artifacts sounds bad like chroma bug etc, in most cases people don't really notice them.. they just show up when playing test discs or only on certain movie discs at certain parts of the movie. main upgrades like full HD TV or projector will bring more improvement to visual quality than nitpicking on the current crop of BD player's minor visual flaws..

hence why I said the oppo doesn't really bring much food to the table compared to a RM900 BD60... cos 90-95% of the time the image comes out just well (using BD-60 as reference compared to oppo) especially with people using 42-50 inch screens..
while a dune is totally different set of capabilities although it's within USD100 price range from this oppo while probably within the same 90-95% visual performance of standard BD players like BD-60..

aiman04
post Aug 5 2009, 11:04 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 5 2009, 10:09 AM)

Bro, mind telling us which 2 players? Just curious. sweat.gif

By the way, great informative post as usual. thumbup.gif
rx330
post Aug 5 2009, 11:05 AM

11,811 posts

suddenly all u guys sound like from the bluray industry itself thumbup.gif
ar188
post Aug 5 2009, 11:09 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:04 AM)
Bro, mind telling us which 2 players? Just curious. sweat.gif

By the way, great informative post as usual. thumbup.gif
yes, I also recall some players do that..

anyway, anfield is sifu with many insights.... thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Aug 5 2009, 11:09 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:05 AM)
We're early adopters bro, we have to know all these to feel good about it. Most of us learn about it the hard way, thanks for our LYN community here that we got to share our knowledge and experience.

Too bad you're no longer a serious BD supporter, as you're one of the earliest BD adopters really. nod.gif
ar188
post Aug 5 2009, 11:10 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:05 AM)
TVIX considered from blu-ray industry or not? biggrin.gif

Added on August 5, 2009, 11:12 am
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:09 AM)
We're early adopters bro, we have to know all these to feel good about it. Most of us learn about it the hard way, thanks for our LYN community here that we got to share our knowledge and experience.

Too bad you're no longer a serious BD supporter, as you're one of the earliest BD adopters really. nod.gif
what is there to "support" anymore? last time support cos there was format war, and BD won.. now just take own sweet time to get good deals... no need to rush anymore , but that's just me la.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Aug 5 2009, 11:12 AM
rx330
post Aug 5 2009, 11:18 AM

11,811 posts

aiman... gone were the days...

im with ar188, its boring liao
even all this player, there really aint anything innovative, the only one i see so far that i can really praise it, is the dune player

the rest are all the same, end of the day still the hd audio thing la, 24p la, nothing new
jimmyteng18
post Aug 5 2009, 11:54 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 5 2009, 09:51 AM)

I'm planning to download HD movies from net to my laptop/desktop, then play them. How should I set it up in order to enjoy the HD capabilities? Do I need a Dune, Oppo or BD60?

moomoos
post Aug 5 2009, 12:04 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 5 2009, 09:05 AM)

To clarify matters, the pic above is solely a Universal Adaptor only which does not has any electrical circuits (or does it have circuits)but
have various retractable adaptor legs to suit different countries only ( that's y its called UNIVERSAL adaptor, and it [color=red]does not support any AC conversion
)
then you have to check your AC adaptor which voltge it supports

a true Universal AC adaptor always with a two pin and supports 110V~220V

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 5 2009, 12:11 PM
ronnt88
post Aug 5 2009, 12:12 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:54 AM)
I'm planning to download HD movies from net to my laptop/desktop, then play them. How should I set it up in order to enjoy the HD capabilities? Do I need a Dune, Oppo or BD60?
wah... open challenge?? tongue.gif
moomoos
post Aug 5 2009, 12:16 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

sorry,brothers, if were to get the OPPO 83 in singapore wats the tax scale like
rx330
post Aug 5 2009, 12:16 PM

11,811 posts