5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?

anfieldude
post Jul 24 2008, 04:11 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 24 2008, 04:00 PM)
Make sure you have a stopwatch to get the disc loading time and report here. biggrin.gif
Hello,

I've been around these threads for some time now but have not posted before.

Some of you would know me since I purchased some BDs from you.

Panasonic BD50 just got reviewed. Looks good. Not sure when it will hit Malaysia or how much..

http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-cinema/...u-ray-Player/p1
anfieldude
post Nov 24 2008, 11:58 AM

3,858 posts

I read somewhere that the BD-55, BD-35 can actually output in 1080p/24Hz for DVD...Can the person who bought Corez's BD-55 confirm this. I read that you have to force the output to 24Hz for each disc and it is not automatic. If it has this function, then it would be great...One way to check it would be to hook it up to an AVR and check to see what the AVR is receiving.
anfieldude
post Nov 24 2008, 02:32 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Nov 24 2008, 02:22 PM)
That person (piscesguy) wont be replying any time soon, since he is curently enjoying all his BD in lossless sound  biggrin.gif

thumbup.gif  Analog 7.1 FTW  thumbup.gif
Never mind, the manual shows that it does output 24fps from a DVD source if selected. Now just need to wait for Malaysia release....or maybe modded unit...anyone bulking?
anfieldude
post Dec 11 2008, 10:08 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 11 2008, 10:03 AM)
Received my new toy "dildo" just now from DHL.  tongue.gif

Will post again later after everything is set.

Thanks to Bro Apisgogo for the excellent shipping service.
Looking forward to your review and comparisons to PS3 for PQ and AQ (bitstream vs pcm). If possible, pls check if the 24fps from NTSC is good and if it will show up as such on your AVR.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Dec 11 2008, 10:12 AM
anfieldude
post Dec 12 2008, 11:23 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 12 2008, 11:20 AM)
Don't know yet, not sure if it will be worth it.

BTW, your avatar make my tongue tingling.
Bro,
Had time to check the 24fps playback for DVD yet?
anfieldude
post Dec 18 2008, 11:23 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 18 2008, 09:54 AM)
Really ar? Well, for us outside EU, the price will always be the same. It's imposed based the original price, so when the VAT changes, only the price with VAT will change. We always pay the original price.

Me also not in hurry to mod, my BDs are mostly from US anyway, and I only purchase region free titles only from UK. For DVDs, I have separate player for it. biggrin.gif
Aiman,

I believe after your poison, Amazon received many orders from Malaysia. They are now out of stock from Amazon and only available from resellers, and the price is much higher now!
anfieldude
post Dec 20 2008, 07:49 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gatevalve @ Dec 20 2008, 07:08 AM)
thinking of upgrading my blu ray player from sony bdp 350 to pioneer bdp 51 fd or panny bd 35/55 ( btw i'm using panny plasma tv)
question is......is the profile is really important? 1.1. 2.0. bd live etc.
my style...put in the cd and enjoy the movie.use remote to start and stop only.
pioneer is much better than sony in terms of pq and aq. seen already
ht kaki can try to quote me (pm) price for panny bd player please?
Pioneer players are renowned for being the most accurate in terms of picture reproduction. I believe that Profile 2.0 is the final profile for BD players and there is not expected to be more. BD live is in its infancy, so only time will tell whether BD Live will be the next calling that drives BD players to the next level. As for now, there has not been too much about BD Live in terms of adding to the actual viewing experience. If you can wait then maybe you should wait for Oppo's BD30, then make a decision. Of course the highest end Pioneer will not hurt....
anfieldude
post Feb 27 2009, 03:38 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Feb 27 2009, 02:22 PM)
BDP price sure is falling......i saw the P1500 samsung for 175euro...that's approx rm800..
Short note, Oppo has already started releasing the Oppo BD83 Blu ray player to limited people in the states. The initial review is out and it looks good. It is not a professional review, I believe it is slated at a price of USD499-599. It has analogue 7.1 out, decodes all the lossless codecs and uses the Anchor Bay VRS chip for deinterlacing/upscaling. It also can extract 24fps from DVD. It is a private review. PM me if you want the link. I have not asked for permission to reproduce the link.

anfieldude
post Feb 27 2009, 04:13 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 27 2009, 04:08 PM)
siow..... so expensip
so wat anchor bay? buy bluray player to upscale dvd?
I guess it is for people who want to have 1 player to play all formats since the Oppo plays SACD, DVD-A (future), BD and DVD. That way you do not need separates. I think for people who already have a good DVD player and do not need bitstream audio capability, the PS3 is still a very good BD player.
Oppo also is renowned for the "source direct" mode, this shuts off all video processing and for those videophiles who have external scalars and expensive receivers like this. Also with the anchor bay chip capabilities, those projecting to large screens will definately see less video artifacts (DVD).
anfieldude
post Mar 16 2009, 01:57 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(eagle.ng @ Mar 16 2009, 11:11 AM)
how about for HDMI DVD Player? Got region code or not?
can blu-ray play HDMI DVD movie? Region code problem? Anyone know? sweat.gif

Added on March 16, 2009, 12:26 pmhelp!!!
If you are buying the DVD player from US, chances are it is region locked to Region 1. Meaning it will play region 1 and Region 0 NTSC DVDs only. There are ways to make a DVD player region free. Google it. Oppo is one exception in the US. Their DVD players are region free and play NTSC/PAL content. Their BD player is not. Most if not all the DVD players in Malaysia are region free and play NTSC/PAL.

What do you mean by HDMI DVD movie?

Blu Ray players in the states will only play region A (and region free) BD and region 1 (and region 0) NTSC DVD only.

There are no region free Blu Ray players out there (yet). There are aftermarket mods to make your player region free. Google it.

The Blu Ray Association is currently very clear about the region locking mechanism for BD and there is no exception (yet).

Why is it confusing?

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Mar 16 2009, 02:00 PM
anfieldude
post Mar 18 2009, 11:02 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(skyxsg @ Mar 18 2009, 10:39 AM)
hi guys,

any1 knw where i can purchase the pioneer BDP-51FD at a good price ...... currently SenQ is selling at RM 2199 wt 2 FOC unknown blueray disc send by pioneer.

thanz
Maybe u can pm htkaki. He might be able to work out something for u.
anfieldude
post Mar 25 2009, 08:05 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Mar 25 2009, 03:45 PM)
hi guys,

i just wanna ask, how significant is the Profile 2.0 on a BD player? its just giving u access to live content on a BD disc right? nothing to do with the PQ & SQ of the player itself..am i right to say that?  If i'm not bothered with live-contents etc, then, a profile 1.1 shud be sufficient?

another thing is, Pioneer BDP-51FD doesn't have on board DTS-HD Master Audio decoding..

1) if my AVR is able to decode the above-mentioned, then the fact that the BD player itself doesn't do the decoding dun really matter?

2) Any significant difference between decoding the DTS-HS MA onboard on the player & letting the AVR do the decoding?

3) How do one 'update' the firmware (if its available from Pioneer) onto the BD player since it doesn't come with Ethernet port or internet connection?

reason i'm asking is got good offer for the Pioneer unit...mayb will consider it since Panny new BD player (BD35, BD55, BD60, BD80)is still N/A here...

thanks!!
Profile 2.0 is only for BD Live no PQ or AQ differences. Yes 1.1 shd be enuf if u don't care abt BD Live

1. No does not matter
2. Theoretically no, but based on many people listening, they prefer if the AVR does the decoding
3. Normally by burning the update on a DVD or CD.

anfieldude
post Apr 7 2009, 09:16 AM

3,858 posts

New Region Free BD Player review from DVDBeaver. Momitsu....modified by HKFLix to be region Free (USD350)

DVDBeaver Review
anfieldude
post Apr 11 2009, 06:08 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Apr 11 2009, 05:01 PM)
hey fellas, i was at the KL pc fair today and stopped by the panasonic booth. they are taking order for the BD60 at RM1999 comes with 1pc of blu-ray of your choice (select at speedy). the thing is the sales people there are very confident that the machine is region free....it sure wasnt convincing to me anyone here has a BD locked to region B? they were eager to try it to prove it. look for Ryan Kwan at the booth.
Interesting...I hv one but i'm in Pg. Wish someone can confirm this. I believe it might be DVD region free. If BD region free....what r we waiting for!
anfieldude
post Apr 13 2009, 03:00 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 13 2009, 02:39 PM)
Fuyooo......... drool.gif  Buy a step-down transformer for it and add in courier fee (or 'special fee'), probably abt RM1.2K only  thumbup.gif
No one considering the Momitsu Region Free Player....
anfieldude
post Apr 28 2009, 08:54 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(tepetlah @ Apr 28 2009, 08:50 PM)
mayb looking region B player..MAYB..smile.gif..pm me lah best price..brows.gif
Buy a region free player bro...Momitsu from HK Flix!
anfieldude
post Apr 29 2009, 10:00 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Blastomuss @ Apr 28 2009, 10:22 PM)
How much is this player?
USD350 + USD70 to ship to Malaysia (switchable power supply so no transformer needed). See link below.

Momitsu from HKFlix

I am contemplating. The only thing holding me back is whether they will be doing firmware updates religiously.
anfieldude
post May 2 2009, 08:25 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ May 1 2009, 11:53 PM)
Oooo??? care to explain more? sorry dont know much abt this. but i bought a dvd cum vcr player for my dad last september from oz & he is using it. not sure abt BD. anyone?
Australia is RegionB. So u will not be able to play Region A BD that is from US and Asia. You must get ur BD from UK or Australia. Of course, u can still play the region free BDs.

anfieldude
post May 2 2009, 01:15 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 2 2009, 09:48 AM)
are most Region A movies locked?
cos for the past years, we only bother checking wether the B's are locked or not
Yes, Fox, Disney, Lionsgate from Region A almost 100% locked. Warner, Paramount and Universal are almost always free. Criterion might be also locked not sure.
anfieldude
post May 5 2009, 09:27 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ May 2 2009, 10:02 PM)
Oppo BDP-83 should be out this May 18 for sale to the open public. Supports SACD and DVD-A playback.
Yeah, I got an email to purchase it as part of a early adoption plan. There might be limited stock during the May18 release.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0416sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:18 AM