^^ Cat Lovers Version 3 ^^, !meow meow!

nonexno
post Sep 18 2008, 07:43 PM

570 posts

HELP!

My 6 month old cat fractured his femur last night.

I sent him to the Emergency Hospital last night and left him there.

I got a call this morning and had a confirmation that the cat has
fractured his femur. The joint between the hip and hind leg.

The fracture has caused the leg bone to move slightly

Doctor gave me 2 options. To have a surgery to correct the bone or leave it.
With the surgery, the cat will be able to walk normally but might have a bit of a shorter leg. Not noticeable. Or leave it. The cat might be ok but may limp or not walk properly and may have pain in the future.

I have also seek a 2nd option from another Orthepedic and he said that I need to do the surgery. I more or less set on the surgery but anyone else have the same experience and care to share their opinion? TQ

This post has been edited by nonexno: Sep 18 2008, 07:43 PM
TSelfreakz
post Sep 18 2008, 08:04 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Sep 18 2008, 07:43 PM)
HELP!

My 6 month old cat fractured his femur last night.

I sent him to the Emergency Hospital last night and left him there.

I got a call this morning and had a confirmation that the cat has
fractured his femur. The joint between the hip and hind leg.

The fracture has caused the leg bone to move slightly

Doctor gave me 2 options. To have a surgery to correct the bone or leave it.
With the surgery, the cat will be able to walk normally but might have a bit of a shorter leg. Not noticeable. Or leave it. The cat might be ok but may limp or not walk properly and may have pain in the future.

I have also seek a 2nd option from another Orthepedic and he said that I need to do the surgery. I more or less set on the surgery but anyone else have the same experience and care to share their opinion? TQ
like how the accident happen? hit by car?

i have 2 experiences with bones fractures problem which fall from 5th floor and 8th floor building.

none of them go into surgery. only the 8th floor is doing minor surgery adding clip on his jaw.

the 5th floor is kitten age 4-5 months.. she has internal bleeding, some bones move into different places... but vet told me the bone will move back to its own position because of the kitten is still small, and the bone is growing. she still can move, run and jump as normal now.

the 8th floor is adult cat, also internal bleeding, all his bone crumpling towards the body system, like the chest bones squeeze the heart, liver and everything in the middle. but slowly the bone move back to its on position again. he doesnt have any cracking, just bone moving different places. the jaw crack maybe the jaw fall on the ground first. they clip it there, and now its joint again. no surgery involve for other body bones.

did u see the X-Ray? do they give it to u? share us the xray sample.. i wonder how far that femur bone move away from its original position.

Added on September 18, 2008, 8:04 pmp/s if u can afford the surgery cost, then go for it smile.gif

Added on September 18, 2008, 8:07 pmI found this on the net.

What to Watch For

# Lameness
# Abnormally positioned leg
# Pain or inability to move

Diagnosis

A thorough physical examination and medical history are important in any illness or injury. Based on the results of the physical examination, additional tests may be recommended. No laboratory tests are required to make the diagnosis.

# Chest radiographs
# Complete orthopedic examination
# Radiographs of the affected leg

Treatment

Treatment will vary depending on the severity of the trauma. In general, anesthesia and surgical stabilization of the bone fragments are indicated for most femoral fractures because the femur cannot be adequately immobilized in a cast or splint to allow proper healing. Other treatment recommendations may include:

# Emergency care for concurrent problems caused by the trauma
# Treatment of concurrent soft-tissue injuries
# Injectable analgesics (pain medications) are given to the animal while being treated in the hospital and may be continued orally once discharged from the hospital.

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Sep 18 2008, 08:07 PM
nonexno
post Sep 18 2008, 08:43 PM

570 posts

the cat can heal without surgery. but it just will be limping or cause problems later on.

how to scan x-ray?

This post has been edited by nonexno: Sep 18 2008, 08:43 PM
TSelfreakz
post Sep 18 2008, 09:03 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Sep 18 2008, 08:43 PM)
the cat can heal without surgery. but it just will be limping or cause problems later on.

how to scan x-ray?
im not so sure about femur part... isnt that part is the most important part of the cat body? the balancing bone right.

if u have the x-ray, put it facing light, get the digicam and snap it without flash... (put under sun or light so can see)

here is one example of taking x-ray image (what i did before):

nonexno
post Sep 18 2008, 09:41 PM

570 posts

pretty hard to see then bro if i just snap with the cam.

its a fracture. anyway I have just gone to pass the doctor back the X-ray and gave the cat some fancy feast. but he's not eating the fancy feast... must really be in pain! He usually jumps up and down when i give him the fancy feast. the others cats in their cages were meowing mad.

the femur is not broken. it's just fractured.

sorry back in describing.
TSelfreakz
post Sep 18 2008, 09:48 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(nonexno @ Sep 18 2008, 09:41 PM)
pretty hard to see then bro if i just snap with the cam.

its a fracture. anyway I have just gone to pass the doctor back the X-ray and gave the cat some fancy feast. but he's not eating the fancy feast... must really be in pain! He usually jumps up and down when i give him the fancy feast. the others cats in their cages were meowing mad.

the femur is not broken. it's just fractured.

sorry back in describing.
yea he is in pain, thats why not eating.

if u have the money now, u better continue with what the vet recommend. else if u don't go for surgery, will when u want to see your cat not eating right.

im not sure how serious is femur problem compare to drop from 8th floor. but my cat that fall from building was like admit in the vet for 7 days.

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Sep 18 2008, 09:48 PM
FamousLastWords
post Sep 18 2008, 10:52 PM

932 posts

there are these 2 kittens that were in the back yard of my house. since they were there, i started feeding them until now. its been like 3 months and they're still hanging around in my house waiting to be fed by me. they're tamed now smile.gif i feel like really keeping them for good. do i need to do anything? like bring them to vet to get an injection or something? is it necessary?thanks smile.gif
abang brother
post Sep 18 2008, 10:55 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Sep 18 2008, 09:48 PM)
yea he is in pain, thats why not eating.

if u have the money now, u better continue with what the vet recommend. else if u don't go for surgery, will when u want to see your cat not eating right.

im not sure how serious is femur problem compare to drop from 8th floor. but my cat that fall from building was like admit in the vet for 7 days.
You mean your kitty fall from veranda then to the ground???! shakehead.gif My friend's kitten died because of that. The kitten's tongue was ... errrrrr..... icon_question.gif

Added on September 18, 2008, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(FamousLastWords @ Sep 18 2008, 10:52 PM)
there are these 2 kittens that were in the back yard of my house. since they were there, i started feeding them until now. its been like 3 months and they're still hanging around in my house waiting to be fed by me. they're tamed now  smile.gif  i feel like really keeping them for good. do i need to do anything? like bring them to vet to get an injection or something? is it necessary?thanks  smile.gif
Injection as in Vaccination yes you need. Necessary if you don't want them to get diseases.

Don't forget basic equipments. If you plan them indoor, get ready for litter sand. biggrin.gif

And if you want them to be more tame, you can neuter them, by that, they will not think about sex but more onto life. biggrin.gif

I hope my Luffie will not runaway from me(Her mother neutered and runaway and got new owner, cry.gif ) after i neuter him next week.

This post has been edited by abang brother: Sep 18 2008, 10:57 PM
TSelfreakz
post Sep 18 2008, 11:33 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Sep 18 2008, 10:55 PM)
You mean your kitty fall from veranda then to the ground???! shakehead.gif  My friend's kitten died because of that. The kitten's tongue was ... errrrrr.....  icon_question.gif

Added on September 18, 2008, 10:57 pm
Injection as in Vaccination yes you need. Necessary if you don't want them to get diseases.

Don't forget basic equipments. If you plan them indoor, get ready for litter sand. biggrin.gif

And if you want them to be more tame, you can neuter them, by that, they will not think about sex but more onto life. biggrin.gif

I hope my Luffie will not runaway from me(Her mother neutered and runaway and got new owner, cry.gif ) after i neuter him next week.
speaking about vaccine and neuter, how bout your own kitten progress anyway? what did u decide for them?
FamousLastWords
post Sep 19 2008, 02:20 AM

932 posts

[QUOTE]

hmm..is spaying them a good thing? they won't feel normal will they? =/ and how much would it cost for vaccination ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by FamousLastWords: Sep 19 2008, 02:30 AM
TSelfreakz
post Sep 19 2008, 02:31 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(FamousLastWords @ Sep 19 2008, 02:20 AM)
hmm..is spaying them a good thing? they won't feel normal will they? =/ and how much would it cost for vaccination ? tongue.gif
everybody think spaying and neuter cat is something like cruel. me myself, when i first get into having cat as pet, honestly i say "animal cruelty".

But then, you need to do research on why do they neuter/spay cats. See the advantages of spaying cat. After my study about this, then i realize its nothing to do with cruelty at all.

So then i start spay/neuter my cats.. and walla, the advantages they mention is so real! my cats become much better condition than before.

true story example (first image before neuter, next image after neuter) :-

user posted image user posted image

I bought Mia when she was 5 months old. I believe, nobody want to buy this cat with that condition, some more she is tortie color. The owner of Mia is not responsible at all.. because I feel pity with her condition, i grab her although the price is RM500 for this ugly betty (that time lah). So kesian she was sitting the cage all time. Grab her, and direct to the vet.

Vet was surprise why I bought cat at her condition, because im actually paying RM500 for a ugly cat + not healthy! Mia has a small lung condition which makes her hard to breath and keep on sneezing. Vet keep asking why, why, why you pay RM500 for this. I was like telling the vet, because i feel pity for her to spend the rest of her life with that owner. I pay RM500 to save her life. Even my friends was surprise im paying RM500 for her that time. They said i can get healthy + beautiful cat with that price.

I do not regret on my purchase of saving life. Pity Mia, she deserve to be in good home. It took me 6 months to make over her to become like the 2nd image. Vet was surprise when looking at her improvement. She's neutered. And vet even surprise her serious lung issue has kinda almost solve. She breath easily now and very less sneezing.

I guess my RM500 worth it to have Mia accompany me. People say she is ugly betty, but see.. the ugly duck change into beautiful swan (do you remember the childhood story?) tongue.gif

----------------

vaccine price is different from one vet to another vet. my vet charge RM35 per vaccine.

This post has been edited by elfreakz: Sep 19 2008, 02:41 AM
ashbutt
post Sep 19 2008, 04:41 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Sep 19 2008, 02:31 AM)
everybody think spaying and neuter cat is something like cruel. me myself, when i first get into having cat as pet, honestly i say "animal cruelty".

But then, you need to do research on why do they neuter/spay cats. See the advantages of spaying cat. After my study about this, then i realize its nothing to do with cruelty at all.

So then i start spay/neuter my cats.. and walla, the advantages they mention is so real! my cats become much better condition than before.

true story example (first image before neuter, next image after neuter) :-

user posted image    user posted image
I bought Mia when she was 5 months old. I believe, nobody want to buy this cat with that condition, some more she is tortie color. The owner of Mia is not responsible at all.. because I feel pity with her condition, i grab her although the price is RM500 for this ugly betty (that time lah). So kesian she was sitting the cage all time. Grab her, and direct to the vet.

Vet was surprise why I bought cat at her condition, because im actually paying RM500 for a ugly cat + not healthy! Mia has a small lung condition which makes her hard to breath and keep on sneezing. Vet keep asking why, why, why you pay RM500 for this. I was like telling the vet, because i feel pity for her to spend the rest of her life with that owner. I pay RM500 to save her life. Even my friends was surprise im paying RM500 for her that time. They said i can get healthy + beautiful cat with that price.

I do not regret on my purchase of saving life. Pity Mia, she deserve to be in good home. It took me 6 months to make over her to become like the 2nd image. Vet was surprise when looking at her improvement. She's neutered. And vet even surprise her serious lung issue has kinda almost solve. She breath easily now and very less sneezing.

I guess my RM500 worth it to have Mia accompany me. People say she is ugly betty, but see.. the ugly duck change into beautiful swan (do you remember the childhood story?) tongue.gif
----------------

vaccine price is different from one vet to another vet. my vet charge RM35 per vaccine.
Elf,

reading the origin bout Mia...ure surely her hero and such and angel rclxms.gif Bless u my friend.. thumbup.gif

abang brother
post Sep 19 2008, 06:37 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Sep 18 2008, 11:33 PM)
speaking about vaccine and neuter, how bout your own kitten progress anyway? what did u decide for them?
Which kitten? hmm.gif

Btw, i would also pay RM500 to save Mia. blush.gif Btw, hows the doctor heal her lungs problem?

snowcandy
post Sep 19 2008, 08:31 AM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

Hi guys, new kitten owner here. (:
I'll be adopting a male ginger-coloured kitten tomorrow. I really hope he gets along with my pet rats though. biggrin.gif

He's the lazy looking one on the bottom right. xD

tartputat
post Sep 19 2008, 10:20 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Sep 19 2008, 08:31 AM)
I'll be adopting a male ginger-coloured kitten tomorrow. I really hope he gets along with my pet rats though. biggrin.gif

happy adopting..nice cat though..very cute...
hope u guys will get along well..
keep on update his progress with u.. rclxms.gif
jaykay.young
post Sep 19 2008, 10:26 AM

125 posts

I feel sorry for u nonexno ...hope ur kitty get well soon..

elfreakz, wow tat's such a tremendous change of ur cat...now she's reli a beauty..so kind of u bringing her back and saving her life... rclxms.gif

bout the spay/neuter...i think if the cats keep breeding and when it gets too many,owners abonden them or release them and tats cruelty...there's too many homeless cat out there..also,correct me if i m wrong, if u dun neuter/spay them,they'll try to escape to find other cats..
nonexno
post Sep 19 2008, 10:32 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(jaykay.young @ Sep 19 2008, 10:26 AM)
I feel sorry for u nonexno ...hope ur kitty get well soon..

elfreakz, wow tat's such a tremendous change of ur cat...now she's reli a beauty..so kind of u bringing her back and saving her life... rclxms.gif

bout the spay/neuter...i think if the cats keep breeding and when it gets too many,owners abonden them or release them and tats cruelty...there's too many homeless cat out there..also,correct me if i m wrong, if u dun neuter/spay them,they'll try to escape to find other cats..
Thanks for the concern guys.

If you want to see the cat's picture

smellycat.fotopages.com
dien
post Sep 19 2008, 10:33 AM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Sep 19 2008, 09:31 AM)

welcome to cats and kittens world..

erm, before i have cats and hamsters..
so far they can "get along"..
krynzpeaches
post Sep 19 2008, 10:35 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(jaykay.young @ Sep 18 2008, 01:25 PM)
1? i dun think he's enuff wit 1 lor...hehe...I got 14 ferrets smile.gif he might grab all...hav to put my 2 hedgehog at the back of the door to trip him.... tongue.gif

Oh isit?mmh...mayb will hav to visit him 1 day.... hmm.gif

OKOPlus is wooden pellet one? Breeder's select can absorb very fast bt not so good wit d smell..btw,i bought 1 pack and it's almost finish before 1 mth..n tat also i scoop up those wet ones and throw...but change entirely every 3-4 days..

Leo doesn't chew his food..he swallow...is it okay?should i giv him some bones to chew?

He? Me?

Hehehe laugh.gif

Yes, I wanna furkid nap your babies!

Ohh, hedgies... I can hedgie nap also... Hahaha...

Just kidding!

But your house sounds like fun to visit!

Yes, OKOPlus is wooden pellets. What's great is the clumping part. So great!

Breeders Celect absorb the pee, but it doesn't clump so it ends up like a huge wet piece of paper which you have to throw all of it. I've tried Breeders Celect as well last time, have to change quite frequent the whole thing...

Doesn't chew?? Last time one cat I adopted that doesn't chew actually had teeth problem... hmm.gif

QUOTE(abang brother @ Sep 18 2008, 06:22 PM)
Argh! Bengal have this really odd design. Really awesome. rclxms.gif

They do!

I love the marble ones!

Rawrrr...

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Sep 19 2008, 08:31 AM)

Hi Snow!

Long time no see. Fancy meeting you here smile.gif

KP

QUOTE(jaykay.young @ Sep 19 2008, 10:26 AM)

Absolutely correct!

KP

snowcandy
post Sep 19 2008, 10:52 AM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Sep 19 2008, 12:05 PM)
Hi Snow!

Long time no see. Fancy meeting you here smile.gif
Hey there KP! biggrin.gif
How are your suggies?

Anyway, I've been busy settling down in Australia, hardly have enough time to browse through forums anymore.
Since my new landlord allows cats in the house, I've finally decided to get a new companion. smile.gif

This post has been edited by snowcandy: Sep 19 2008, 10:52 AM

103 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:01 AM