125 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

mys_terious
post Sep 29 2008, 07:30 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Sep 29 2008, 01:12 AM)
so if my pariah sub now not enuff OHmmm

i should face it down as "downfiring" ??
downfiring is not going to make your sub more powerful or more oomph... but the db should more even across the frequencies... then again i am not a pro.. maybe some sifu can correct me here
dirtrun
post Sep 29 2008, 02:50 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(howdynco @ Sep 26 2008, 05:59 PM)
Hi guys, i am quite interested in the SVS subs after reading so many good review about it. However since there are no local distributors here... we will need to buy online and import it right?

I did a simple calculation.

The SVS SB12+ is priced at US$699 (round up to 700)
Shipping another US250
Exhange rate 3.4
Malaysian tax 26%

so (700 + 250) x 3.4 x 126% = RM4070???????  ohmy.gif  shocking.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif

Such a simple affordable sub in the US become so expensive here???? Anybody knows how to bring it in at a cheaper rate or through any agent?

I tink u can shave a bit off de shippin chrg if u all do an MO n ship to one address..

Sg forummers do tis n get 50% off shippin .. n sumtimes theyll get an additional small % for mulitple sets - 10 n above, I tink..

Cheers
Dirtrun

Added on September 29, 2008, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 27 2008, 09:53 PM)
maybe dirtrun could help you on this
Try Hifi Choice..

Added on September 29, 2008, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(mys_terious @ Sep 29 2008, 07:30 AM)
downfiring is not going to make your sub more powerful or more oomph... but the db should more even across the frequencies... then again i am not  a pro.. maybe some sifu can correct me here

Yup.. agreed

Its alrdy in de design - whether its front , bottom or push/pull .. I guess if u tink it improves d sound if u put a front firing sub facin down then go ahead but I guess its sumtin like puttin it in a corner trick to add sum oomph..

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Sep 29 2008, 02:55 PM
dlyz
post Sep 29 2008, 07:42 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Anyone here use Wharfedale Powercube?

Also wanna ask, how come subs have connections behind for speakers? I know that you can connect a intergrated amp into it and from there connect a speaker which is useful (my friend does this). But normally its not used right?

This post has been edited by dlyz: Sep 29 2008, 07:58 PM
callmevil
post Sep 29 2008, 09:02 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Sep 29 2008, 07:42 PM)
Anyone here use Wharfedale Powercube?

Also wanna ask, how come subs have connections behind for speakers? I know that you can connect a intergrated amp into it and from there connect a speaker which is useful (my friend does this). But normally its not used right?
yap i got pc8 its ok for my small room. erm yah most active sub would have this speaker outs.. but i nvr use it though..
dlyz
post Sep 30 2008, 01:14 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Actually, powercubes are consider as more suitable for what sort of media? Music? Movie?

I didnt really properly audition that set. Cause busy auditioning the other 2 set in the living room and will go and audition his HT room when he completes it. He had another set in his toilet but i didnt fell like auditioning that one. lol
dirtrun
post Sep 30 2008, 02:01 PM

3,136 posts

Heres a link of wat I was referrin to .. SVS Mass Order In Xtremeplace
timothyy
post Oct 1 2008, 02:39 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Seems like my Valodyne is not fully utilised.

I can't seem to blast it... My whole house rattling... shakehead.gif
howdynco
post Oct 1 2008, 04:42 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 1 2008, 02:39 PM)
Seems like my Valodyne is not fully utilised.

I can't seem to blast it... My whole house rattling... shakehead.gif
Try getting Auralex Subdude or Gramma. They work very well to isolate the sub / speakers from the surface they're sitting on, so you will get to blast louder and at the same time minimize rattling and scaring your neighbours. There is a local dealer in Tmn Tun Dr. Ismail. I bought the MoPads from them and it worked wonders.

Alternatively you can also DIY by using high density foam... and should be very much cheaper.
megatron007
post Oct 3 2008, 11:29 AM

4,000 posts

gonna to try out later or weekend... anyone getting SPL1200? tongue.gif
timothyy
post Oct 3 2008, 02:05 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(howdynco @ Oct 1 2008, 04:42 PM)
Try getting Auralex Subdude or Gramma. They work very well to isolate the sub / speakers from the surface they're sitting on, so you will get to blast louder and at the same time minimize rattling and scaring your neighbours. There is a local dealer in Tmn Tun Dr. Ismail. I bought the MoPads from them and it worked wonders.

Alternatively you can also DIY by using high density foam... and should be very much cheaper.
Oh... how much it costs?
dirtrun
post Oct 3 2008, 02:13 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 3 2008, 02:05 PM)
Oh... how much it costs?
Ha ha Bro Tim,

Its not cheap la.. can diy wif sum Brothers (car acc shop) sound proofin foam oso..

Kekeke tongue.gif
Dirtrun
JiauBoy
post Oct 3 2008, 02:48 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Oct 3 2008, 02:13 PM)
Ha ha Bro Tim,

Its not cheap la.. can diy wif sum Brothers (car acc shop) sound proofin foam oso..

Kekeke  tongue.gif
Dirtrun
some noob question... where to insatll ah?
dirtrun
post Oct 3 2008, 03:45 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Oct 3 2008, 02:48 PM)
some noob question... where to insatll ah?
Install??

DIY la bro J.. means u do it urself..
timothyy
post Oct 3 2008, 07:29 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Oct 3 2008, 03:45 PM)
Install??

DIY la bro J.. means u do it urself..
dirtrun... we all noob la..

I think I know what the poor guy is asking... just like me asking...
Where do u put it? Under the sub?

arremie
post Oct 3 2008, 07:53 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Velodyne already came with soft rubber foot. Mine sitting on marble floor but still I can't set the volume exceed 50% or every windows and glass picture frames will rattle. I think the vibration caused by sound wave and not transmitted thru the floor.
ycs
post Oct 3 2008, 07:55 PM

4,232 posts

maybe something like this-high density pu foam underneath my sub

howdynco
post Oct 3 2008, 09:33 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 3 2008, 07:53 PM)
Velodyne already came with soft rubber foot. Mine sitting on marble floor but still I can't set the volume exceed 50% or every windows and glass picture frames will rattle. I think the vibration caused by sound wave and not transmitted thru the floor.
Yeah Velodyne's soft rubber foot works quite well on it's own without any additional isolating foam but 50% volume is quite high already. No doubt at high volumes the sound waves on their own can cause items to resonate and rattle but for most people, the first sign of rattling or most of their 'rattling issue' is caused by the transfer of energy and vibration through the platform that the sub is sitting on.
htkaki
post Oct 3 2008, 11:09 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 3 2008, 11:29 AM)
gonna to try out later or weekend...  anyone getting SPL1200? tongue.gif

Bro, you buying ah? drool.gif

This sub is in diff league compare to CHT-12R. My friend's SPL1200R tapao his very own B&W both 6 series sub. But, his room is nicely done with no vibration and very good acoustic treatment. When you are here, I ll bring you over to test it out. But, no antidote provided tongue.gif

timothyy
post Oct 4 2008, 10:13 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 3 2008, 07:53 PM)
QUOTE(howdynco @ Oct 3 2008, 09:33 PM)
Yeah Velodyne's soft rubber foot works quite well on it's own without any additional isolating foam but 50% volume is quite high already. No doubt at high volumes the sound waves on their own can cause items to resonate and rattle but for most people, the first sign of rattling or most of their 'rattling issue' is caused by the transfer of energy and vibration through the platform that the sub is sitting on.
So, which is which now? Kekekeke...
So, will the foam help? Or I should buy squash ball cut them into halves... and use as the isolator?

1 more question... why when I'm watchin movie, I can't adjust the sub woofer volume?
dirtrun
post Oct 4 2008, 11:16 AM

3,136 posts

De superlon foam I m talkin is relatively cheap if anybody wans to diy.. U can try it urself n c if it really makes any diff..
On where to erhm 'install' tis.. well I tink u can try buildin a a 5sided box wif de foam n c... biggrin.gif Kekeke biggrin.gif LOL tongue.gif

To me .. it dont so I dont bother wif tis.. I plonk my 2 subs on marble slabs n it works for me..

Cheers
Dirtrun

125 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:06 AM