125 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

timothyy
post Oct 8 2008, 12:41 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 7 2008, 08:59 PM)
i think putting in bass traps and acoustic panels will help a lot. the empty hard surfaces are reflecting too much sound energy especially low frequencies

you need to do something like this:

[attachmentid=620084]
Ha! Ha! laugh.gif laugh.gif
You can't expect your living room to have all these things right?

QUOTE(callmevil @ Oct 7 2008, 10:17 PM)
oooh ok i just read about rattling.. ehh remember ur physics? those rattling caused by resonance lerr.. everything (matter / compound) have a resonance limit one.. like in my room my window frames resonate most at 14hz i think.. my ceiling resonate most at around 17hz.

so meaning if ur ceiling rattling, it has nothing to do with ur curtains/windows because that does not effect the resonance threshold of ur ceiling.. so.. unless u treat ur ceiling properly (by finding out what exactly is causing the rattling, if its loose fitting then tighten + insulate with good shock obsorbers, and etc..

the thing about echo as mentioned by htkaki is also a cause to the rattle as the echo could be on a diff hz which may be the exact hz that creates the resonance.. so.. room treatment again very important.. avoid bare tiled floors, naked corners, shiny walls+shiny paint job, loose fittings..

and about ur thick curtains.. u have to understand that sound is not like light.. as curtain may be effective to damp light.. it may not be as effective to damp sound.. well not all spectrum of the sound.. those sound that create resonance most probably the low freq ones.. and with those sounds.. ur curtain will be audibly invisible.. u have to use proper sound obsorber, diffuser for this low/high freq.. same thing with wall cusions and wat not it may not be effective to low freq...

hmm typed too much.. should rest now.. haha im begining to enjoy Planet Drum as my goodnight sleep song hehehehe
WEll, for one on the resonance,,, it is correct. It is pure science.
Hope when ur house is done, you won't get all the rattling like mine.

Anyway, regarding the curtain... it is not the best sound absorber you can find but it does play 1 huge part in getting your acoustic right.
Just like egg tray, one of the best sound acoustic treatment you can find. He! He! He!

Well, what you guys say s true... I need to look into every nooks to solve the problem.
ycs
post Oct 8 2008, 08:55 AM

4,232 posts

if living room then a bit difficult. but can still put in fabric foam-filled feature wall.
JiauBoy
post Oct 8 2008, 10:01 AM

727 posts

make yr leaving room to be another play room. muahhaha
megatron007
post Oct 8 2008, 04:17 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 3 2008, 11:09 PM)
Bro, you buying ah?  drool.gif

This sub is in diff league compare to CHT-12R. My friend's SPL1200R tapao his very own B&W both 6 series sub. But, his room is nicely done with no vibration and very good acoustic treatment. When you are here, I ll bring you over to test it out. But, no antidote provided  tongue.gif
dun dare to go ur friend house la

tat one is 1 way tix....go home very jialat doh.gif
JiauBoy
post Oct 8 2008, 04:25 PM

727 posts

then u have more things to look forward
htkaki
post Oct 8 2008, 05:14 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 8 2008, 04:17 PM)
dun dare to go ur friend house la

tat one is 1 way tix....go home very jialat  doh.gif
laugh.gif Kena poison liao without antidote tongue.gif

There is another fella who is doing up his 40' x 60' HT room. Sld be ready by next mth end
JiauBoy
post Oct 8 2008, 06:01 PM

727 posts

that one ah, kena long ago lohhhhhh
bsl555
post Oct 8 2008, 06:06 PM

8,046 posts

I recently invested in a budget sub and modded it quite extensively. Its sounds a whole lot different from stock.
yes, I have plaster ceiling, I have aluminum windows and other house fixtures that can rattle. The sub is now so good it doesn't rattle anything. If it does rattle anything, its just too loud!.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Oct 8 2008, 06:07 PM
timothyy
post Oct 8 2008, 07:21 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Oct 8 2008, 06:06 PM)
I recently invested in a budget sub and modded it quite extensively. Its sounds a whole lot different from stock.
yes, I have plaster ceiling, I have aluminum windows and other house fixtures that can rattle. The sub is now so good it doesn't rattle anything. If it does rattle anything, its just too loud!.
You mod your sub or you mod your house to stop rattling?
ycs
post Oct 8 2008, 07:40 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 8 2008, 05:14 PM)
laugh.gif Kena poison liao without antidote  tongue.gif 

There is another fella who is doing up his 40' x 60' HT room. Sld be ready by next mth end
40' x 60' HT room-it must be a palace house! can go have look see ahh?
bsl555
post Oct 8 2008, 08:06 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 8 2008, 07:21 PM)
You mod your sub or you mod your house to stop rattling?
Mod the SUB..the electronics I mean, (as in VOID the warranty from Day 1) Not the house.
The mods increased the timing, coherence and keep pace with the music. Before that there's timing issues and issues quite common to cheap subwoofers, that even an untrained ear can fault it easily. This is quite a common phenomenon for subwoofers which make things more difficult in speaker system integration for stereo hifi. I won't say mine is damn good or whatever but I think my mods made it sound better..to my ears...less rattle and boom at lowest registers.
BTW, I use mine for hifi.. not AV as I'm not into it at all.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Oct 8 2008, 08:08 PM
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 8 2008, 09:08 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Oct 8 2008, 08:06 PM)
Mod the SUB..the electronics I mean, (as in VOID the warranty from Day 1) Not the house.
The mods increased the timing, coherence and keep pace with the music. Before that there's timing issues and issues quite common to cheap subwoofers, that even an untrained ear can fault it easily. This is quite a common phenomenon for subwoofers which make things more difficult in speaker system integration for stereo hifi. I won't say mine is damn good or whatever but I think my mods made it sound better..to my ears...less rattle and boom at lowest registers.
BTW, I use mine for hifi.. not AV as I'm not into it at all.
Hi! My I seek ur advice? Is there any way to use a car amp powered car sub-woofer in home av system? I have ask & poke around the net for answer. It seem that the power supply is an issue. So do u know anyway to supply high ampere steady 12V PSU? Any cpu psu with that high supply? Can mod or not??? Tq very much. Have a nice day! smile.gif
bsl555
post Oct 8 2008, 09:25 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Oct 8 2008, 09:08 PM)
Hi! My I seek ur advice? Is there any way to use a car amp powered car sub-woofer in home av system? I have ask & poke around the net for answer. It seem that the power supply is an issue. So do u know anyway to supply high ampere steady 12V PSU? Any cpu psu with that high supply? Can mod or not??? Tq very much. Have a nice day! smile.gif
A car amp can be used but you must connect it to the speaker input terminals provided at the subwoofer. By doing this, the subwoofer perform as passive type, and is limited to the car amp output power to drive it. If your powered active subwoofer is rated at say 100W power, then your car amp better be approximately around that figure. Driving a subwoofer passively with less power may limit the performance and result in some deficiencies in its actual potential.
A car amp (especially if its hi-power and current guzzler) requires quite substantial current at 12VDC. Thats one reason an optimum sized car battery has sufficient juice for the purpose and the car alternator charges the battery at high ampere's to maintain the charge, but building up a PSU just for a car amp may incur substantial cost and it must be a clean DC supply as possible. I never recommend PC PSU or SMPS boxes to power any amplification equipment as they're switched mode PSU's and with very "dirty and noisy" DC current which can impair the amplifier sonics. The noise floor of the amplifier is raised quite noticibly. In practice and maybe to lessen any hassle, I wouldn't use a car amp as part of a Home AV system. Most common subs are already active and let it function as one. Let the car amp be used where it's supposed to be..in the car.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Oct 8 2008, 09:32 PM
dlyz
post Oct 8 2008, 09:25 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

My friend is going to use his car amps in his HT. Im too noob to understand the technical stuff he was explaining to me. lol
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 8 2008, 09:32 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Oct 8 2008, 09:25 PM)
A car amp can be used but you must connect it to the speaker input terminals provided at the subwoofer. By doing this, the subwoofer perform as passive type, and is limited to the car amp output power to drive it. If your powered active subwoofer is rated at say 100W power, then your car amp better be approximately around that figure. Driving a subwoofer passively with less power may limit the performance and result in some deficiencies in its actual potential.
A car amp (especially if its hi-power and current guzzler) requires quite substantial current at 12VDC. Thats one reason an optimum sized car battery has sufficient juice for the purpose and the car alternator charges the battery at high ampere's to maintain the charge, but building up a PSU just for a car amp may incur substantial cost and it must be a clean DC supply as possible. I never recommend PC PSU or SMPS boxes to power any amplification equipment as they're switched mode PSU's and with very "dirty and noisy" DC current which can impair the amplifier sonics. The noise floor of the amplifier is raised quite noticibly. In practice, I wouldn't use a car amp as part of a Home AV system. Let the car amp be used where it's supposed to be..in the car.
I intended to connect:- Av sub out to car mono block amp in, which powered a car 12" sub woofer. hmm.gif It seem I am stuck at the power supply stage. Now where to get a 'cheap' PSU for the car amp??? rclxub.gif Tq for ur advice! biggrin.gif
bsl555
post Oct 8 2008, 09:38 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Oct 8 2008, 09:32 PM)
I intended to connect:- Av sub out to car mono block amp in, which powered a car 12" sub woofer.  hmm.gif  It seem I am stuck at the power supply stage. Now where to get a 'cheap' PSU for the car amp??? rclxub.gif  Tq for ur advice! biggrin.gif
I suppose the cheapest is still the SPMS PSU that can be found at Jalan Pasar. As I said, not the ideal but its likely the cheapest but a nasty solution. Its something of a variant of a PC PSU but more for industrial electro mechanical automation applications.
mikapoh
post Oct 10 2008, 01:51 PM

1,263 posts

Hi Sub fan,

One question, do u think it is worth to invest an active sub of RM800 to my exisiting LG HTIB system ?? I am quite pleased with the clarity produced by its satellite speakers but only want to add punch to the bass only.

I have shopped and found this brand Pro-Energy active sub of RM799. What do u think ?
shahdelee
post Oct 10 2008, 02:30 PM

32 posts

hi all, newbie here..

wanna ask one question;

currently i am using pioneer AV receiver + AE speakers set + active sub.
while watching dvd (dts/dolby mode), the sub is superb.. but when listening music in stereo mode, the sub is silent.. all the bass came from the front speakers.

is my setup correct?

TQ
JiauBoy
post Oct 10 2008, 05:16 PM

727 posts

think you should b able to change the listening mode at yr amp
timothyy
post Oct 10 2008, 06:23 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(shahdelee @ Oct 10 2008, 02:30 PM)
hi all, newbie here..

wanna ask one question;

currently i am using pioneer AV receiver + AE speakers set + active sub.
while watching dvd (dts/dolby mode), the sub is superb.. but when listening music in stereo mode, the sub is silent.. all the bass came from the front speakers.

is my setup correct?

TQ
That is pure direct right?
Pure direct should not have sub ma...

I might be wrong...

125 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:12 AM